Black Butte Ranch, OR 
Black Butte Ranch DGC Share
Uploaded By: frasnow Hole #9 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 333ft.   3 / 333ft.   3 / 333ft.   3 / 333ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket



Reviews: 3
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Simple But Good Play

2-4    7/2/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: rstaats
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -New Tees are great
-Well maintained
-BBR Seems interested in acitve improvements
Cons: -simple layout
-too many wide open holes
-Tees and baskets are unnumbered
Other Thoughts: This course is just a fantastic addition to a nice vacation spot. I wouldn't go out of my way to play it, but while at Black Butte, it's a nice 30-45 minute play.

The folks of BBR seem to be interested in improving the course. Fairly recent tee pours are well done, and right sized. Throw up some signage and it'll be Grade A setup, even if the course layout isn't overly challenging.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Much improved. Nice concrete tees.

5+    9/1/2012   8/29/2010
Review By: frasnow
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/9/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great concrete tees.
- Fairly easy to get around, since most tees are visible from the previous basket.
- The woods can be quite challenging on holes 7-9. Perfect warm-up for close-by Hyzer Pines.
- Nice length for each hole, and a good variety. Better grab the birdies on holes 3 and 4, because 5 and 9 are well protected and can be difficult to par.
- Gorgeous views of the Cascade Mountains on the first 6 holes. Even holes 7 through 9 in the woods have a great view of Black Butte.
- Easily reachable by bike for people staying at Black Butte Ranch.
- Can pick up free golf range balls on holes 5 and 6.
Cons: - Hole 1 plays through the soccer field, so it can be "closed" at times.
- No signage numbering the holes, but the wood posts have potential.
- Holes 1 through 4 are fairly open shots with few obstacles and not much elevation change.
- The walkout from 6 to 7 needs a sign, since it isn't clear without a map.
- Possibility of hitting someone doing some other activity on holes 1 and 6.
- Some of the baskets are showing their age with missing/broken chains.
- The tall grass on holes 2 through 5 can leave you looking for your disc. On other courses I often use orange discs so they standout, but my darker orange discs blend into the ground and brush on this course.
- Proximity of ball golf driving range to holes 5 and 6. I've seen balls come flying over the fence. Big con: my wife makes me wear a helmet to play this part of the course.
Other Thoughts: This is an updated review for a much improved course. The terrible u-shaped dirt and wood tees have been replaced by nice concrete tees. The tees may be a little small for my run-up, but they are definitely some of the better tees I've played. I'm really glad the old dangerous blind left turn over a bike path onto a multi-use playing field has been removed. The new hole 6 is a much better use of this piece of land. The woods housing holes 7 through 9 used to have 5 baskets with some jokingly short holes; now the three new holes form a challenging loop worth playing twice.

Black Butte is clearly trying to make improvements to the course. The baskets used to be painted green, due to some of the residents finding them unsightly. Now they are a bright red, which makes them easy to see.

When I heard Black Butte Ranch has a disc golf course I had hoped it was through the woods on the other side of Hawks Beard road. The land is still there; maybe someday BBR will have a disc golf course on par with its two ball golf courses. I'd love to have an additional 9, or perhaps 18.

I highly recommend making the 15 minute drive to Hyzer Pines, but if you don't have time BBR DGC can satisfy your desire to play some disc golf. It can also be a good warm-up course for Hyzer Pines, or a cool-down course for late in the day.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 *updated* Revised course with teepads... almost a really good course!

2-4    6/27/2012   6/26/2010
Review By: castigo
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery, quiet course, clean air and grounds
Well-maintained bathroom
Playground for the rugrats
Cons: No signage. None.
Some VERY short holes
*update*: They added tee pads recently (see below)
Please give us a course map and some signage!
Other Thoughts: *update*: This course has recently changed layouts. Another hole has been added to the first section (drives through the field), and one of the "short woodsy" holes on the back 4 have been removed. Also, the last 3 holes are played in a triangle through a more open forested area than the previous 100-feet-or-less-but-I-can't-see-the-pin-cuz-of-the-dense-brush layout.
These changes, plus the addition of concrete tee pads, have made this course a lot more fun. It still plays like two courses (long drives through the field for the first 5, then put your driver away and rock that mid-range game for the last 4). The changes to this course warrant a bump in rating.
The last three holes were kinda hard to puzzle out what went where, but with a little scouting you can figure it out.
Add some signage and maps, and you've got yourself a very nice course, BBR.
*6-20-10 review: Black Butte Ranch offers golf, tennis, hiking, biking, etc., and this small course seems like an afterthought. The first thing that you will notice is there are no tee pads - not even boards, or a cleared-off area to show you where to tee from. I did not see any information regarding the course map, and if it weren't for the small hand-drawn map found in "Files" on this site, I would have had no direction.
The first hole tees from the drinking fountain at the playground. The first three holes are huck-it-far material-you play through a field of tall grass (which can become a swamp if there has been any rain).
Holes 4-9 involve playing through the short trees. You won't use a driver past hole 4. Many of these holes are incredibly short. It may seem Par 3 for some of these are generous, but since you have virtually no clear path, you will probably need all 3 shots.
This course seemed very unusual. The dense trees you have to shoot through make the last half a game of luck. A higher rating would be warranted if they would add some maps & some tee pads (is it tough to put in some boards?). That being said, it is a beautiful and peaceful short course, and worth a stop on your way to Hyzer or COCC.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.