Fort Myers Beach, FL 
Bay Oaks DGC Share
Uploaded By: Roller Coasters Hole #11 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 410ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Approach



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Fort Myers Beach

1    8/25/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 9.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/5/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful Recreation Park; very clean and well taken care of
Fairways: Mixed Strategic Doglegs, Open air shots, and one water carry
Teepads:a wooded 2x4 buried on its side/painted on sidewalk/Natural tee that you'll have to guesstimate using the map
Maps available at the clubhouse near 1 tee, next to the front door.
Great for beginners, rec players, and those vacationing on Ft Myers Beach
Open field shots, Dog legs, shot shaping on various lines, and turn over shots.
Can be played as a nine hole course during the times when half the park is closed.
Other Activities available at the park as well. Playground, Soccer, Basketball, Baseball, Kayak rentals.
Cons: Subject to Park goer interactions
Plays to close to other activities, a playground, a soccer field and a fenced off area of the neighboring school.
Some tees aren't there . You'll have to make your own teepad.
If other activities are going on, you may have to make your own teepad
2/3rds of the course share a basket
Plays across other activities in the park (Throws across a basketball court)
You'll have to throw around parked cars
There is a funky sulfer smell emanating from the marsh in the woods.
If school is in session, most of the back 9 (8-16) section will be locked down and off limits. Leaving 17 & 18 to cap off a 9 hole course during the closed times.
Other Thoughts: If you happen to be staying in or near Ft Myers Beach, then it's going to be a pleasant course to play. I didn't hate it, as a matter of fact, I found myself having a good time here. Bay Oaks falls into the "It is what it is" category. It's not easily accessed if you are traveling down I-75. On top of that, timing is everything. It's only open when school is out, and if tourist season is in full swing, then expect a lot of traffic congestion on the way to the park. We played here the day before a Hurricane in the off season, so the town was empty, but the park was still pretty active. Imagine what it's like on a normal day.

I did have fun here, but there was way too much park interaction to play around. I don't look favorably about throwing near a playground, and you play near one twice. Also, shot shaping through a parking lot of vans and employee cars is more than nerve racking. Is it worth the drive? Nope! It is a very long drive to play here, and that doesn't include the beach traffic. This course is for the person that lives or is staying in Ft Myers Beach. If you are looking to road trip here so you can add it to your "Played List", then pay attention to the times when will be playing here. If it's too busy, then it may not be worth the drive and/or the frustration.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

The Good, the Bad and the Smell

1    8/25/2012   8/25/2012
Review By: thrembo
Played: 84  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 39.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Located in the Ft Myers Beach area, Which is good if you live there, or are vacationing in the area.

+ It has good baskets.

+ The tees are mostly grass marked with a 4x4 board set in the ground, or marked out on the pavement. Most of the tees are also marked with a metal post.

+ Course maps are available at the main park building. I highly advise getting one.

+ There is a variety of shot types, with several holes offering multiple flight paths.

+ The park was litter free and well maintained.

+ Friendly locals.
Cons: - The course is tight, for the most part, and plays over and aroud Basketball, Baseball, Tennis, playground, park buildings, sidewalks, roads, and parking lots, intentionaly I believe, which makes for a very interseting round of disc golf. Constant attention must be paid to avoid hitting other park users, their cars, the buildings etc.

- Half of the course is only playable when the nearby school is not in session.

- Some baskets are used for two holes.

- Some tee areas are hard to find and/or missing. Needs tee signs.

- The park had a stong odor about it (like manure) mostly around the perimiter.
Other Thoughts: After hearing all of the horror stories about this course, I finaly decided to make the drive down and play it, and have to admit it was better than I expected.

It did have a kind of urban warfare feel to it, with all of the obstacles, but with care, a fun round of golf can be had here.

I don't think that I would go out of my way to play it again, but if down here for vacation, and can't get out to some of the better courses in the area, give it a throw!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  HORRIBLE!!

1    6/10/2012   6/11/2012
Review By: motomann250
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.1 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: There are none... ok maybe the park its in is well maintained and nice.
Cons: It seems like whoever designed this course had never played disc golf a day in there life. Or maybe I'm just used to playing in ohio, NC, and kentucky. The only disc needed on this course is your putter. I may go back, when my kids are old enough and need a super simple beginners course.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/30/2012   6/6/2012
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bay Oaks is an interesting course with a layout you're not likely to see in too many other places.

On the positive side, the park itself was very well manicured when I played. The baskets were all in good shape and easy to spot. While navigation is not always clear, the baskets are aligned in a logical order, so you can figure things out for yourself without much difficulty.

I doubt this course sees a lot of traffic, so you should be able to play at your own pace.

Variety is pretty good here. There are a couple opportunities to use your driver, and various obstacles force you to shape your lines carefully.

#18 is a pretty cool water hazard shot to a basket protected by some hedges.
Cons: The layout here is hilariously dangerous, and the majority of holes are only playable when nobody else is around. It was a ghost town when I played (weekday evening in late May) so maybe this is the case often. Tee shots go around a tennis court, right next to a playground, two shots over a parking lot, directly over a basketball court, and a couple over sidewalks. Aside from possibly endagering non-DGers on basically every tee shot, these obstacles can beat up your discs pretty quickly.

I found tee signs on only a couple holes, and you're pretty much on your own for navigation since there are no teeboxes. Little wood plans in the ground serve as a makrer, but these can be hard to find. As I mentioned in the Pros, you can see the next pin from almost every basket, so it's not impossible to figure it out for yourself.
Other Thoughts: If you're on the island you're probably there for reasons other than disc golf, but it's cool to have the option of packing up early at the beach and discing.

Despite the low rating, it's worth checking out if you have the time, if for nothing else than the novelty of the layout. But again, this place is most likely unplayable if you go when other areas of the park are in use. Check it out with that caveat in mind.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/16/2011   3/9/2012
Review By: parTake30
Played: 41  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: a pretty fun course, located in a nice park across the street from fort myers beach. theres a decent array of hole layouts, with open long shots, to shorter obstructed shots.
Cons: there are a few holes where you have to throw by cars, and a small playground. the course is not marked well, and the tee pads consist of a board marking the end of the tee area.
Other Thoughts: if you havnt played it, give it a shot, its still a pretty good course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Bay Oaks

1    10/9/2011   10/9/2011
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 63  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 11.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first thing I want to say is how to find the course, for those reading on their phone, or looking around for this course. You have to park by the pool and walk between the baseball courses to the rec-center. You cannot drive to the rec center (at least that is what the pool staff told me). Hole 1 will be on your left as you walk up to the rec center doors.

Really nice to have disc golf this close to the beach. The only course closer to the beach I have ever played is Tocobaga, which used to have a hole right on the edge of the Gulf. This course is easy to play and hard to lose a disc on. It is short with few obstacles to keep you from getting birdies on most of the holes.

There were enough looks and obstacles to keep things somewhat interesting. 18 is the signature hole, throwing over a small pond to a guarded pin.
Cons: It is unnerving to have to throw over all kinds of man-made obstacles, next to baseball fields and tennis courts with people on them, over vehicles, etc. I made the mistake of not getting a map. Make sure you get a map! Very frustrating...but I wouldn't lower my rating of this course due to my own mistake.

The course needs concrete tees. At a minimum it needs signs on every tee area to make them easier to spot, even if they just printed some off. Some were missing. Too many obstacles you don't want to hit that it becomes distracting. I don't like throwing over parked vehicles and near by-standards.
Other Thoughts: It would have probably been better to make this course a high quality 9 hole course with some challenge and less dangerous obstacles instead of squeezing in 18 re-using pins.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Meh....

1    3/27/2006   9/27/2011
Review By: KGB84
Played: 107  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Didn't have to pay to play. The baskets are nice and in good shape. You can rent discs at the YMCA.
Cons: Horrible hole layouts. Playing to same baskets for different holes. Can't play part of course when school is going on.
Other Thoughts: Wouldn't play it again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 About What I Thought it Would Be

1    10/22/2010   10/25/2010
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 60  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 3.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course located in a small park adjacent to an elementary school and across the street from Ft. Myers Beach. Baskets all work well, are numbered (albeit crudely) on the inside support pole and are visible from the tee. Grass is more plush than I thought it would be in this area of Southern Florida. Some trees provide obstacles at some holes to challenge players.
Cons: Navigation a nightmare. Two holes had the remnants of laminated, xeroxed tee markers- that was the extent of the help given to find your way around. No directional markers or visible signage to speak of. Some baskets apparently play as dual holes, as multiple numbers appeared on at least a couple of them. Railroad tie tee off areas are submerged to the point of being almost invisible. Many baskets located close to the fenced-in perimeter of the park, making it a distinct possibility you'll have to climb the fence and chase errant throws. Cannot play with elementary school children playing at the park.
Other Thoughts: While in the Ft. Myers area for a couple of days, I decided to play the course. Rather than jam in 18 baskets, this course would be much improved with 9 baskets and a clear way to navigate. It's obvious Bay Oaks gets little use and even less TLC. I actually liked the coziness of the course, but as it stands, it really is for nothing better than to work on some short shots. Not enough people have put in the type of effort necessary for its maintenance and upkeep. Wish I lived in the area- I'd do it for free.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Don't bother playing it!

1    7/27/2010   7/27/2010
Review By: gsklein
Played: 60  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Holes Number 5,9 and 10 are the only holes in the park that are even worth throwing a disk at. This park is a rec. park that is tring to be too many things in the same small patch of land. If you Enjoy the sport and need to practice shots then use some of the baskets to work on your shots but dont play it as a course.
Cons: Too many to count! So little room to smash too many sports into. 9 of the baskets should be taken out in hopes of making it an even close to enjoyable course.
Other Thoughts: If you really need to throw plastic, then go. Otherwise don't bother wasteing your time

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 DG and Beach, What More Could You Ask For?!?!

1    6/29/2010   6/29/2010
Review By: zud00
Played: 116  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There aren't too many great things about this course; perhaps the best is that it is a course with nice baskets and it's near the beach.

There is a nice variety of holes-most holes are generally short and will require a putter or midrange, but there are also a few longer holes requiring a driver. In addition, the course seemed to fair to both lefties and righties. There was also a nice mix of fairways on this course, ranging from pretty tight to mostly open.

I was able to find all tee areas, I guess you could consider this a pro because of the fact that they are there. Along with the teepads, some of the holes had a tee sign which was only a laminated piece of paper zip-tied to a tree or fence.

Risk-Reward comes into play on many holes. Some baskets are dangerously close to fences or the woods meaning if you go long, or over, you could be in trouble. Hole 18 plays over a small pond, begging to snag your disc with an errant throw.
Cons: Navigation at this course can be very difficult if you're not prepared. I had looked at the map and read reviews prior to playing, so I had a decent idea of where I was going. Also, the baskets that are used for multiple holes have stickers on them of each hole they are used for, so keep an eye out for that. Oh yeah, did I mention some baskets are used for more than one hole? That's not a terrible thing for this course, but a con nonetheless.

Teepads are marked with a board in the ground or painted on the concret/asphalt with spray paint. Most tee signs were missing, and there was a box for scorecards near hole one, but as you may have guessed, it was scorecardless and full of trash. Speaking of trash, there was a lot of trash on this course.

One more thing....this course plays around and over manmade obstacles, such as tennis courts, fences, basketball courts, parking lots, cars, playgrounds, ball fields, and near a school. Of course all of this was necessary to squeeze the course into this small area; this is definitely something you would want to avoid with any course.
Other Thoughts: Despite all the cons listed, I had a great time playing this course. I went into this adventure with low expectations, and I think that helped tremendously. If I had not the slightest clue of the course layout or the fact that some baskets were used for multiple holes or the fact that I would need to look for spray painted tees on the ground, this would have been a frustrating day of DG. Prop's to all the DGCR'ers out there who take the time to write reviews and list this vital information.

Like I mentioned earlier, I really enjoyed the variety this course had to offer, mostly short holes, but a few long holes, and obstacles came in variety as well. I really liked hole 18...short and over a pond. If you're long, your O.B. (driveway). If you go right, your disc might be snagged by the tree and dropped into the pond. Basically you get to throw right into the fountain and take an ace run:).

I'd only recommend this course if you are in the area. I drove 15 minutes to play, but am not sure I'd go out of my way to play here. If you do, come with low expectations and a map. Expect to scuff up a few discs along the pavement or fences, and have a good time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.