Fort Myers Beach, FL 
Bay Oaks DGC Share
Uploaded By: Roller Coasters Hole #11 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 410ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Mid-Fairway: The basketball courts are a frequent landing zone. The hole is behind all of the trees by the fence.

Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Fort Myers Beach

1    8/25/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: RussMB
Played: 110  Reviewed: 96  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/5/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful Recreation Park; very clean and well taken care of
Fairways: Mixed Strategic Doglegs, Open air shots, and one water carry
Teepads:a wooded 2x4 buried on its side/painted on sidewalk/Natural tee that you'll have to guesstimate using the map
Maps available at the clubhouse near 1 tee, next to the front door.
Great for beginners, rec players, and those vacationing on Ft Myers Beach
Open field shots, Dog legs, shot shaping on various lines, and turn over shots.
Can be played as a nine hole course during the times when half the park is closed.
Other Activities available at the park as well. Playground, Soccer, Basketball, Baseball, Kayak rentals.
Cons: Subject to Park goer interactions
Plays to close to other activities, a playground, a soccer field and a fenced off area of the neighboring school.
Some tees aren't there . You'll have to make your own teepad.
If other activities are going on, you may have to make your own teepad
2/3rds of the course share a basket
Plays across other activities in the park (Throws across a basketball court)
You'll have to throw around parked cars
There is a funky sulfer smell emanating from the marsh in the woods.
If school is in session, most of the back 9 (8-16) section will be locked down and off limits. Leaving 17 & 18 to cap off a 9 hole course during the closed times.
Other Thoughts: If you happen to be staying in or near Ft Myers Beach, then it's going to be a pleasant course to play. I didn't hate it, as a matter of fact, I found myself having a good time here. Bay Oaks falls into the "It is what it is" category. It's not easily accessed if you are traveling down I-75. On top of that, timing is everything. It's only open when school is out, and if tourist season is in full swing, then expect a lot of traffic congestion on the way to the park. We played here the day before a Hurricane in the off season, so the town was empty, but the park was still pretty active. Imagine what it's like on a normal day.

I did have fun here, but there was way too much park interaction to play around. I don't look favorably about throwing near a playground, and you play near one twice. Also, shot shaping through a parking lot of vans and employee cars is more than nerve racking. Is it worth the drive? Nope! It is a very long drive to play here, and that doesn't include the beach traffic. This course is for the person that lives or is staying in Ft Myers Beach. If you are looking to road trip here so you can add it to your "Played List", then pay attention to the times when will be playing here. If it's too busy, then it may not be worth the drive and/or the frustration.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Urban Warfare Course

2-4    8/25/2012   8/25/2012
Review By: thrembo
Played: 93  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 40.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/13/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Located in the Ft Myers Beach area, Which is good if you live there, or are vacationing in the area.

+ It has good baskets.

+ The tees are mostly grass marked with a 4x4 board set in the ground, or marked out on the pavement. Most of the tees are also marked with a metal post, and there are tee signs to aid with navigation.

+ Course maps are available at the main park building. I highly advise getting one.

+ There is a variety of shot types, with several holes offering multiple flight paths.

+ The park was litter free and well maintained.

+ Friendly locals.
Cons: - The course is tight, for the most part, and plays over and aroud Basketball, Baseball, Tennis, playground, park buildings, sidewalks, roads, and parking lots, intentionaly I believe, which makes for a very interseting round of disc golf. Constant attention must be paid to avoid hitting other park users, their cars, the buildings etc.

- Half of the course is only playable when the nearby school is not in session.

- Some baskets are used for two holes.

- Some tee areas are hard to find and/or missing. The tee signs do help though.

- The park had a stong odor about it (like manure) mostly around the perimiter.
Other Thoughts: After hearing all of the horror stories about this course, I finaly decided to make the drive down and play it, and have to admit it was better than I expected.

It did have a kind of urban warfare feel to it, with all of the obstacles, but with care, a fun round of golf can be had here.

I don't think that I would go out of my way to play it again, but if down here for vacation, and can't get out to some of the better courses in the area, give it a throw!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Bay Oaks

1    10/9/2011   10/9/2011
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 78  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 12.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first thing I want to say is how to find the course, for those reading on their phone, or looking around for this course. You have to park by the pool and walk between the baseball courses to the rec-center. You cannot drive to the rec center (at least that is what the pool staff told me). Hole 1 will be on your left as you walk up to the rec center doors.

Really nice to have disc golf this close to the beach. The only course closer to the beach I have ever played is Tocobaga, which used to have a hole right on the edge of the Gulf. This course is easy to play and hard to lose a disc on. It is short with few obstacles to keep you from getting birdies on most of the holes.

There were enough looks and obstacles to keep things somewhat interesting. 18 is the signature hole, throwing over a small pond to a guarded pin.
Cons: It is unnerving to have to throw over all kinds of man-made obstacles, next to baseball fields and tennis courts with people on them, over vehicles, etc. I made the mistake of not getting a map. Make sure you get a map! Very frustrating...but I wouldn't lower my rating of this course due to my own mistake.

The course needs concrete tees. At a minimum it needs signs on every tee area to make them easier to spot, even if they just printed some off. Some were missing. Too many obstacles you don't want to hit that it becomes distracting. I don't like throwing over parked vehicles and near by-standards.
Other Thoughts: It would have probably been better to make this course a high quality 9 hole course with some challenge and less dangerous obstacles instead of squeezing in 18 re-using pins.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 packed in tight

1    10/31/2008   10/31/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 17.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -It can be fun if empty and playable
-Marked out, map online, some cement tees used
-Pretty drive getting to it
Has some decent shot variety and difficulty
Cons: -Dangerous: if anyone is in the park, like the kids who go to the school that is in play by one basket, then you must skip holes or risk hurting someone.
-Plays too close to parked cars, fence, building, tennis courts and playground.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.