Fort Myers Beach, FL 
Bay Oaks DGC Share
Uploaded By: Roller Coasters Hole #5 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 301ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee: Tee area is on the parking lot. The hole is by the back corner of the tennis court, tucked behind the bushes.



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Urban Warfare Course

2-4    8/25/2012   8/25/2012
Review By: thrembo
Played: 85  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 39.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/28/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Located in the Ft Myers Beach area, Which is good if you live there, or are vacationing in the area.

+ It has good baskets.

+ The tees are mostly grass marked with a 4x4 board set in the ground, or marked out on the pavement. Most of the tees are also marked with a metal post, and there are tee signs to aid with navigation.

+ Course maps are available at the main park building. I highly advise getting one.

+ There is a variety of shot types, with several holes offering multiple flight paths.

+ The park was litter free and well maintained.

+ Friendly locals.
Cons: - The course is tight, for the most part, and plays over and aroud Basketball, Baseball, Tennis, playground, park buildings, sidewalks, roads, and parking lots, intentionaly I believe, which makes for a very interseting round of disc golf. Constant attention must be paid to avoid hitting other park users, their cars, the buildings etc.

- Half of the course is only playable when the nearby school is not in session.

- Some baskets are used for two holes.

- Some tee areas are hard to find and/or missing. The tee signs do help though.

- The park had a stong odor about it (like manure) mostly around the perimiter.
Other Thoughts: After hearing all of the horror stories about this course, I finaly decided to make the drive down and play it, and have to admit it was better than I expected.

It did have a kind of urban warfare feel to it, with all of the obstacles, but with care, a fun round of golf can be had here.

I don't think that I would go out of my way to play it again, but if down here for vacation, and can't get out to some of the better courses in the area, give it a throw!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/16/2011   3/9/2012
Review By: parTake30
Played: 44  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: a pretty fun course, located in a nice park across the street from fort myers beach. theres a decent array of hole layouts, with open long shots, to shorter obstructed shots.
Cons: there are a few holes where you have to throw by cars, and a small playground. the course is not marked well, and the tee pads consist of a board marking the end of the tee area.
Other Thoughts: if you havnt played it, give it a shot, its still a pretty good course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 DG and Beach, What More Could You Ask For?!?!

1    6/29/2010   6/29/2010
Review By: zud00
Played: 119  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There aren't too many great things about this course; perhaps the best is that it is a course with nice baskets and it's near the beach.

There is a nice variety of holes-most holes are generally short and will require a putter or midrange, but there are also a few longer holes requiring a driver. In addition, the course seemed to fair to both lefties and righties. There was also a nice mix of fairways on this course, ranging from pretty tight to mostly open.

I was able to find all tee areas, I guess you could consider this a pro because of the fact that they are there. Along with the teepads, some of the holes had a tee sign which was only a laminated piece of paper zip-tied to a tree or fence.

Risk-Reward comes into play on many holes. Some baskets are dangerously close to fences or the woods meaning if you go long, or over, you could be in trouble. Hole 18 plays over a small pond, begging to snag your disc with an errant throw.
Cons: Navigation at this course can be very difficult if you're not prepared. I had looked at the map and read reviews prior to playing, so I had a decent idea of where I was going. Also, the baskets that are used for multiple holes have stickers on them of each hole they are used for, so keep an eye out for that. Oh yeah, did I mention some baskets are used for more than one hole? That's not a terrible thing for this course, but a con nonetheless.

Teepads are marked with a board in the ground or painted on the concret/asphalt with spray paint. Most tee signs were missing, and there was a box for scorecards near hole one, but as you may have guessed, it was scorecardless and full of trash. Speaking of trash, there was a lot of trash on this course.

One more thing....this course plays around and over manmade obstacles, such as tennis courts, fences, basketball courts, parking lots, cars, playgrounds, ball fields, and near a school. Of course all of this was necessary to squeeze the course into this small area; this is definitely something you would want to avoid with any course.
Other Thoughts: Despite all the cons listed, I had a great time playing this course. I went into this adventure with low expectations, and I think that helped tremendously. If I had not the slightest clue of the course layout or the fact that some baskets were used for multiple holes or the fact that I would need to look for spray painted tees on the ground, this would have been a frustrating day of DG. Prop's to all the DGCR'ers out there who take the time to write reviews and list this vital information.

Like I mentioned earlier, I really enjoyed the variety this course had to offer, mostly short holes, but a few long holes, and obstacles came in variety as well. I really liked hole 18...short and over a pond. If you're long, your O.B. (driveway). If you go right, your disc might be snagged by the tree and dropped into the pond. Basically you get to throw right into the fountain and take an ace run:).

I'd only recommend this course if you are in the area. I drove 15 minutes to play, but am not sure I'd go out of my way to play here. If you do, come with low expectations and a map. Expect to scuff up a few discs along the pavement or fences, and have a good time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 perfectly playable.

5+    5/2/2009   5/5/2009
Review By: xfourevertruex
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is (like most parks in southwest florida) kept-up well. There is little land, yet a full 18 holes. Great location and a decent level of difficulty for beginners/casual players. I am thankful to see the DGA baskets.
Cons: Well-experienced players -- here's the deal. This course is great for your ego...not so hot for your game. Very forgiving holes, mostly on the short side. Several fairways cross and baskets are shared. Also, the locals are not the type to return lost discs. Not cool.
Other Thoughts: All in all, I have no problems driving to this course to get a round in whenever possible. Southwest Florida is beautiful and this course really lets you enjoy the weather. Its disc golf AND the beach...how can that be bad?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Fun on the Beach

5+    3/23/2009   4/11/2009
Review By: Roller Coasters
Played: 39  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun little course, just one block off Fort Myers Beach. It makes use of very little space, but is done effectively. Course maps are available in the rec center by the first tee and online at the link provided. You should really refer to these. Without the map, the course layout can be very tricky to navigate. With the map, tees and holes are very easy to find it is simple to get around the course.

The tees are a mix of natural with a board laid in the ground and paved, using existing sidewalks and parking lots.

The first three holes are extremely short, but by no means easy with plenty in the way of obstacles. You then get the first shot over a fence, shed and usually cars. Hole 7 is always maddening to me as it is tucked behind a storage shed. After hole 7, you head out into the Fort Myers Beach playground. As almost everyone else mentioned, you can't access these holes until after 2:30 p.m. on school days. Out here the course opens up quite a bit. The space is utilized by using the same pins for different holes. Holes 9 and 14, 10 and 13 and 6 and 17 share a basket. Another local rule that comes into play is that you cannot throw over either tennis court. There are two holes that wrap around corners of a fenced in tennis court. You must shoot around the fences. There are a wide variety of shots and really no place to lose a disc, except for hole 18. Hole 18 goes across a pond to a pin protected by bushes.
Cons: Multiple pins for different holes can be confusing for some.

Finding your way around without the scorecard map can also be frustrating.

Having to negotiate man made obstacles can be a major negative for the disc golf purist.
Other Thoughts: This is the course I learned to play disc golf on and it is the course that I take my friends who want to learn. It is a perfect little training course that is beginner friendly. Of all the Fort Myers courses, this one is the most friendly to the less experience player. You will see a lot of college kids playing during the months of February and March as Spring Break is in full swing.

It is no championship run, but it is a fun course, and will be a definate change of pace for most of you.

Take my advice and treat yourself to Rum Runner at The Cottage after your round. The Cottage is next to the Lani Kai about a half mile down the beach. Be sure to add the 151 floater for maximum effect.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 by the beach

1    3/3/2009   3/7/2009
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 101  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's close to the beach and it is disc golf!
They really accomplished a lot with very limited space. Very nice course map available at the first tee. The local high school kids were very friendly and helpfull. Personally I like wooded courses, but the man made obsticles were fun for a change of pace. Where else can you hit a tree on one hole and basketball backboard on another?
Cons: Even with the course map it was still difficult finding some tees. most tees are grass, some are marked on the sidewalk. There are numerous concrete or paved landing areas to wear discs. The bigest con is the possibility of hitting people with a disk. There are numerous pedestrians useing the park and many holes either cross or in some cases baskets are used fur multilple holes and you are useing the same fairway. With the limited space available you really need to be paying attention.
Other Thoughts: Granted there is limited space here but they have taken maximum advantage of what space they had. My wife and I had a blast here, just remember the space available was limited.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.