Fort Myers Beach, FL 
Bay Oaks DGC Share
Uploaded By: Roller Coasters Hole #4 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee: Tee area is on the sidewalk. Have to shoot over the fence, the hole is behind the two sheds on the left.



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nice it's there, but poor set up

1    10/28/2009   11/17/2009
Review By: Lanomode
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Something fun to do on Fort Myers Beach besides being at the beach. It's nice that the predominantly elderly community of FMB has included a younger persons activity in the park. My wife and I have only been playing for a little while so I can't say much in terms of difficulty level. As a beginner however, I felt the holes were quite easy, finding them was a different story.
Cons: I printed out a map from the website just to make sure, only to get there and find out most of the holes have been switched around. Multiple holes that have the same baskets just seems like a last ditch effort to squeeze in more holes. Some of the Tee's are a faded painted line on a random part of the side walk or parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Throwing across a parking lot, then a mud hole, then a pond... Area is too cramped. Also, course set up includes, on hole #2, throwing down a right angle fairway because of a tennis court fence. This does not add more challenge to the course, just frustration.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 What!!!!! Urban Disc Golf????

1    10/8/2009   10/8/2009
Review By: nrohtlaw
Played: 37  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 21 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I liked #1 and #3.
Cons: Absolutely no signage,walked around for twenty minutes looking for some tee's("oh, it's the little spray paint mark on the walking path next to a building where I have to throw over a parking lot with cars on it").Next hole,("where is the next one,hmm I don't know there is five baskets within 100 feet of each other,maybe its the one tucked in surrounded by fence by the gate to the baseball diamonds").
Other Thoughts: This course is a prime example of what happens when someone who has no clue of the game decides to build and design a course.They could have made a descent 9 hole,but instead they crammed 18 holes into an area half the size of Bonita Springs Rec..I will admit I did not have a map the first time,my bad.Next time I will be sure to bring one,Wait there won't be a next time,I would'nt want to waste my time.I'll give it a 0.5 rating just for the fact that it actually had baskets.Next to Spinski's in MI,WORST PARK EVER,and i've played a few.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not Enough Room

1    5/11/2009   5/11/2009
Review By: sonicsbeer
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I would say that if you are a brand new player - and are definitely NOT using your own discs (they have loaners available in the rec center) - then this would be an easy course on which to get a feel for the game.
Cons: There was nowhere near enough room for a proper 9 hole course here - let alone a full 18. In addition, the fairways are very often criss-crossed with tennis courts, basketball courts, parking lots, side walks... basically all manner of pavement. NOT very kind at all to a plastic disc.
Other Thoughts: I appreciate that they tried to squeeze a course in the best they could with the room they had, but it just DOES NOT work. A disc golfer should not have to worry about the huge raccoon that just crawled out of a dumpster five feet off the fairway to investigate their disc. And yes, half the course is on an elementary school playground for heaven's sake!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 perfectly playable.

5+    5/2/2009   5/5/2009
Review By: xfourevertruex
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is (like most parks in southwest florida) kept-up well. There is little land, yet a full 18 holes. Great location and a decent level of difficulty for beginners/casual players. I am thankful to see the DGA baskets.
Cons: Well-experienced players -- here's the deal. This course is great for your ego...not so hot for your game. Very forgiving holes, mostly on the short side. Several fairways cross and baskets are shared. Also, the locals are not the type to return lost discs. Not cool.
Other Thoughts: All in all, I have no problems driving to this course to get a round in whenever possible. Southwest Florida is beautiful and this course really lets you enjoy the weather. Its disc golf AND the beach...how can that be bad?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Fun on the Beach

5+    3/23/2009   4/11/2009
Review By: Roller Coasters
Played: 39  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun little course, just one block off Fort Myers Beach. It makes use of very little space, but is done effectively. Course maps are available in the rec center by the first tee and online at the link provided. You should really refer to these. Without the map, the course layout can be very tricky to navigate. With the map, tees and holes are very easy to find it is simple to get around the course.

The tees are a mix of natural with a board laid in the ground and paved, using existing sidewalks and parking lots.

The first three holes are extremely short, but by no means easy with plenty in the way of obstacles. You then get the first shot over a fence, shed and usually cars. Hole 7 is always maddening to me as it is tucked behind a storage shed. After hole 7, you head out into the Fort Myers Beach playground. As almost everyone else mentioned, you can't access these holes until after 2:30 p.m. on school days. Out here the course opens up quite a bit. The space is utilized by using the same pins for different holes. Holes 9 and 14, 10 and 13 and 6 and 17 share a basket. Another local rule that comes into play is that you cannot throw over either tennis court. There are two holes that wrap around corners of a fenced in tennis court. You must shoot around the fences. There are a wide variety of shots and really no place to lose a disc, except for hole 18. Hole 18 goes across a pond to a pin protected by bushes.
Cons: Multiple pins for different holes can be confusing for some.

Finding your way around without the scorecard map can also be frustrating.

Having to negotiate man made obstacles can be a major negative for the disc golf purist.
Other Thoughts: This is the course I learned to play disc golf on and it is the course that I take my friends who want to learn. It is a perfect little training course that is beginner friendly. Of all the Fort Myers courses, this one is the most friendly to the less experience player. You will see a lot of college kids playing during the months of February and March as Spring Break is in full swing.

It is no championship run, but it is a fun course, and will be a definate change of pace for most of you.

Take my advice and treat yourself to Rum Runner at The Cottage after your round. The Cottage is next to the Lani Kai about a half mile down the beach. Be sure to add the 151 floater for maximum effect.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 by the beach

1    3/3/2009   3/7/2009
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 101  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's close to the beach and it is disc golf!
They really accomplished a lot with very limited space. Very nice course map available at the first tee. The local high school kids were very friendly and helpfull. Personally I like wooded courses, but the man made obsticles were fun for a change of pace. Where else can you hit a tree on one hole and basketball backboard on another?
Cons: Even with the course map it was still difficult finding some tees. most tees are grass, some are marked on the sidewalk. There are numerous concrete or paved landing areas to wear discs. The bigest con is the possibility of hitting people with a disk. There are numerous pedestrians useing the park and many holes either cross or in some cases baskets are used fur multilple holes and you are useing the same fairway. With the limited space available you really need to be paying attention.
Other Thoughts: Granted there is limited space here but they have taken maximum advantage of what space they had. My wife and I had a blast here, just remember the space available was limited.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Stay at the Beach

1    1/3/2009   2/17/2009
Review By: HB553
Played: 294  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 44.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It is near the beach, with good food near by. There is baskets.
Cons: Hard to find the way around due to lack of signage, Holes cross parking areas, other activities, run along fence lines.
Other Thoughts: Nice baskets in park thatdoes not lend its self to disc golf due to lack of room.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Average Course, Manmade obstacles

2-4    1/6/2009   1/6/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 4/5/2009
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some tight, some open holes. Although some baskets are used multiple times, the tees that re-use the baskets give a different perspective and it changes whatever wind you may be experiencing.
Cons: Too many manmade obstacles (buildings, sheds, fences, gazebos, play areas, vehicles, asphalt).

Not enough length overall.

Not enough signage,

Tough to see where the tee areas are.
Other Thoughts: Will go back and play again, but not overerly excited. Maybe I will enjoy it more as I get more into the sport. I will update the review when I return next winter.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  nice

5+    1/2/2009   1/2/2009
Review By: sv2342
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: You usually will have the course to yourself.
Hard to lose discs as long as you are willing to look in mangroves / hop fences.
Good variety of shots.
Lots of other things to do nearby including tennis, nature trail, rec center, playgrounds, pool, beach, etc.
Cons: Other park users can be an obstacle.
Mosquitoes can be bad during summer.
Signs subject to vandalism, print your own map or use cheatsheet on course web site and you'll be okay.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 seeing eye disc golfer...

1    12/1/2008   12/1/2008
Review By: amanandhisdiscs
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The course is a block from Fort Myers Beach.
- It has a variety of play, from tight narrow shots (#2), to distance (#15), to water plays(#18)...

Cons: - A majority of the course CANNOT be played during SCHOOL HOURS (as there is a school on the course)...after 3:30PM is open...
- Lots of pedistrians, as it weaves throughout playgrounds, tennis courts and basketball courts
-The course map (that can be obtained from the park office) is not correct. Most tees are/were marked by poles with pieces of paper identifying them. Obviously, most of the paper has weathered or been torn down. The result is a dizzying attempt at locating the next tee. Some are spray-painted on the ground, others have a timber in-layed in the ground, others have simply a fence post.
- some holes share the same catcher, which creates further confusion for first-timers
Other Thoughts: Its worth a shot, but be prepared to make up a couple of your own holes when you are unable to locate the tee.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.