Deshler, NE 
Rattlesnake Run Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish   (Taken 6/2010)
Course Sign



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Needs some definition

1    5/2/2014   5/18/2014
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 258  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 4.4 Years
Pros: This is well maintained course that offers shorter length and moderate length holes.
There is a small amount of water threat with the small creek that runs throughout the course.
This is an entry level course where a more seasoned player could work on their midrange game.
Rounds should play quickly here.
There are footbridges to help you in crossing the creek. Also there are other amenities in the park, like a playground, and there are rv spots so if you would like to camp here you could do so.
Here are my hole observations:
Holes 1 & 2 are open holes with the creek to the left
Hole 3 throws over the creek
Hole 4 the basket is up on a hill
Hole 5 is another open hole
Hole 6 is an open hole with the creek on your left
Hole 7 is a slight dog leg right
Hole 8 has a gap to hit
Hole 9 plays L to R with the basket protected a bit
Cons: Upon my visit holes 2 and 6 tee pads were missing. These holes were still playable but it just felt a bit incomplete. It appears there was some construction going on with cement being poured so maybe they will make new tee pads when they get done.
Most of the holes here are wide open with nothing to block the wind. In the summer time I can see the heat being oppressive here due to lack of shade.
As others have mentioned I can easily see the tall grass by the creek hiding a disc or two so keep you eye on your throws.
There wasn't much variety to the holes here and the planting of some trees might help spice things up a bit.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course and with a few improvements could be a solid play. Its nice to see a small town have a good 9 hole course. I just wished there were more trees here to challenge your shots. If you're in the area and want to stretch you legs then give this course a play.

Nice little course off the beaten path

5+    9/1/2013   4/1/2014
Review By: NCK1990
Played: 25  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 12.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course for short game or players who are new to the sport.
Well taken care of park; Grass is short, concrete t-pads, clean grounds.
Most holes are well placed along the creek and trees.
Shouldn't have a problem finding parking unless the county fair is going on. Not a highly used course so most of the time you would have the course to yourself. 20-30 times I've ever played there, I've only shared the course with another group twice.
OH, and the creek is not very deep unless there's an occasional rain.
Cons: #4 & #5 are wide open(WINDY!!!) shots. Can be a challenge or an annoyance, depending on how you look at it.
You'll have better luck finding your disc if it goes in the water of the creek vs the rough tall grass surrounding it. Just better if you stay out of there.
Other Thoughts: #2- Keep in mind that the 4-H building can really change wind patterns on breezy days.
#3,6&7- are going to be the tighter holes on the course.
I can't say much about the lack of trees because if memory serves me, right after this course was put in a tornado wiped out the park. I never played it before the twister but I remember this park having more older trees before the disc golf course. The trees are growing back. Just need to plant some out on #4 & #5
Nice place to change it up if I get tired of playing Lovewell Lake or Lost Creek

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Don't forget to see the dinosaur on #9!

2-4    5/15/2013   7/29/2013
Review By: phantom51
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: #1-2 are largely open with little elevation changes. Fairly easy to birdie here.
#3 is the most interesting shot on the course from the tee. Keep it flying straight over the creek and fade left past the trees, which should set up a close 2nd shot.
#7-8 play near the crreek with #8 using the woods for a nice tunnel shot.
#9 is the most scenic hole. A gazebo, windmill, and willow tree protect the right, thereby giving a tight fairway next to the creek.
Cons: #4-5 are open but not very creative in layout. 4 brings you out and 5 brings you back towards the course. Lack of obstacles makes these holes easy to birdie.
#6 is by far the most challenging and frustrating on the course. The creek to the left is OB, a long row of trees directly in front of tee, plus a road to the right that is often filled with cars visiting the park's playground. Either throw short and hope for the best, or throw wide hoping the same.
Other Thoughts: Rattlesnake Run is by far the best course I have visited in Nebraska. Its a rare gem to find out in the country and saved me from boredom this summer while visiting family on the farm. The course could use updated basket locations to make things interesting but its hard to see how the park's limited space could be put to better use.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little course

1    7/2/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: JerryM
Played: 23  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Nice flat concrete tee pads. Well groomed fairways and trees. Baskets in great shape. Good course for beginners or to work on your short game. Signs in good shape and easy to read and follow. Good map of the course at the beginning. Public pool and playground for kids. Camping and picnic areas in the park.
Cons: Mostly smaller trees so very little shade on a hot day. Mostly open area if the wind is blowing.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.