Taft, CA 
"A" Street Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #1 (Taken 3/2012)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    8/5/2014   8/5/2014
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I tried to play this course but it was pretty difficult. It plays all around what was a very busy park complex/facility, at least while I was there. The elevation is kind of fun but pretty typical for this area. I am originally from Florida so I really enjoy the elevation! The people around were friendly, parking was easy and convenient. It is pretty accessible from the main highway through town...all a plus if you just want to run over for a quick round passing through town.

If you hit the park at a non-busy time you could make up some really fun shots around the park to come up with some sort of 9/18 hole combination from various made up tees.

I wish I could give some direction on how to play the course as it is intended but I couldn't figure that out.
Cons: Very confusing layout. Nearly impossible to find your way around or figure out where the first tee is. Some signage and at least some landscape timbers to mark tees like the other park in town has would be helpful. Again, very busy park...I get all nervous when there are pedestrians around and the park was really busy. I am sure it is not always that busy.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't go out of my way to play this course. A little TLC and this could be a 2.5.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Older Course In A Nice Hilly Park Missing Some Important Parts!

1    6/24/2014   7/12/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The "A" Street DGC course in Taft actually sits in a very pretty little city park. Unfortunately, the course has no signs or tee pads of any kind. That basically makes it a nice little safari course. That's a shame because this course is pretty and has nice some elevation to play with. The baskets are older models (DGA)?
# 1 is a fun throw down to a basket set well below you beside the BB courts in the trees.
Cons: One basket is totally broken with it's basket part lying on the ground. A number of others have been welded back together. Seems like someone here might have a thing against disc golf!
No tee pads.
No signs.
No directions or map.
Safari only unless you have a local guide.
Park probably can get crowded.
Other Thoughts: I could really like this course if it only had marked tee pads. They wouldn't even have to be concrete. I'm kind of a black and white type of guy and I need structure on my courses and this mainly means having marked tee pad areas. It's too bad because this park has these nice rolling hills, lovely shade trees and some very soft spongy grass to walk on.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Short Open 9 in Small Park

1    12/13/2012   12/13/2012
Review By: Hazer
Played: 141  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/15/2013
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good baskets. One basket is well placed and well protected in a small grove of Juniper trees, requiring a more technical shot. Several ace runs. Slight elevation change on a couple holes. Restrooms on site. Low traffic on the disc golf course (although the soccer field and basketball courts seem to see plenty of use). Good course for practicing putting and approach shots. Fairly well maintained park.
Cons: No signs or tees (at least nothing marked or worn in and obvious). Very small, very open park with only a small number of trees. Very low difficulty. Some holes play close to a soccer field and a playground. All short holes with none over 250'. Most of the numbers on the baskets are worn off.
Other Thoughts: This is a beginner course and I would not recommend any experienced disc golfer make a special trip to Taft to play this course or the other course in town, but if you are passing through make the stop and play both as they are not out of the way and quick and easy to play. That being said, if you are in Taft this could be a nice course to get a quick round in on a lunch break or to practice different shots as there are many possibilities for alternate hole layouts due to the openness of the course and low traffic. It is a very small and easy course to play and can easily be played in under 30 minutes.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Short, tricky and fun

1    6/4/2010   6/6/2010
Review By: Raider Dave
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.4 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 4 or 5 of the holes are interesting. one basket is surrounded by 5 or 6, 10 to 15 foot tall juniper trees, fun hole. A couple of window drives... Somewhat hilly, strange wind currents come up the hill and can really mess with your disc.
Cons: Tee's could be a whole lot better. No signs, can be hard to follow, I had a local show me the way, not impossible to find your own way around. Can get super crowded with soccer and basketball.
Other Thoughts: I'm what most would call a Noob, less that 2 yrs exp. so I am far from the best reviewer, but I definitely think this is the better of the two courses in town. Even the two guys who designed the other course think this one is better...(Really, why did you change it to begin with?) Some have said this course is gone or only 3-4 baskets, it definitely is here, it definitely is 9 baskets, and it's definitely worth playing!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.