Aitkin, MN 
Aitkin City Park Share
Uploaded By: jskatt21 Hole #4 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 223ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

2-4    9/27/2011   9/27/2011
Review By: Johnson
Played: 36  Reviewed: 12
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The crystal clear river adds character to this course and It's a good beginner course minus the confusion that ensues around hole four. This is the only somewhat cool place to hang out in an otherwise dismal, failing, morally depleted town.
Cons: Where do I start?! Besides new baskets this course is really bottom of the barrel. Had the designers used common sense there would be many less lost discs, less confusion navigating, and many shots would be more technical.
Other Thoughts: Please let a real disc golfer re-design your course Aitkin! It could be a lot better.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Strange and awkward

2-4    9/18/2010   9/20/2010
Review By: Guurn
Played: 82  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 28.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the most confusing courses to write a review of I have ever encountered. I'm not sure wether to call it a begginer course, which the hole distances and difficulties justify, or an intermediate/advanced course, which the water on many tees justifies.

This course is in a lightly treed, well mowed and maintained park that happens to have a shallow but fairly wide stream running through the middle of it. All holes are about 220' except for hole 3 which is around 300'. This, coupled with the design of the fairways, which use a few trees as obstacles, clearly says begginer to me. Every hole other than 3 is easily reachable with a putter or midrange by an intermediate player.

The course is clean, has bathrooms, very good signage (see photos), and nice baskets. Hole 1 starts right next to the parking area. The city or an organized person put money into it. Each hole was sponsored.
Cons: Many holes have water hazards very near the baskets. Yeah, whine some more you are saying. Given the distances of all the holes this course it is clearly intended for beginners. The problem is that it would be hard to have fun learning disc golf when you keep throwing things into a stream which is the likely scenario for any beginner playing here.

Teepads are grass. Not a huge con on a begginer course.

Hole 9, the last hole, is the furthest place in the park from the parking area.
Other Thoughts: This course could be fixed very easy, expecially holes 6-9. You wouldn't even need a good designer, just someone that has played for a while and has common sense. If whoever put this course in just makes the teepads throw away from the water instead of towards it and makes hole 9 go toward the parking area instead of even further from it you will have a very good begginer course.

Why is it every time I drive into Aiken a cop car follows me until I get out of my car? I don't have a record of any type and I am old.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 aitkin fair

1    7/21/2010   7/21/2010
Review By: discordye
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: New equipment, good for the small town to add new entertainment for the locals.
Cons: Couldn't even finish through the course because design was so horrible. Props for the city to put a course in though. Walking back and forth is a pain, hole three to six are confusing. That's when I quit. Should of had certified designers or even people that play disc golf design it.
Other Thoughts: Meaning to email the city about modifying some things about the course.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Weekend of June 4th-7th

2-4    6/7/2010   6/7/2010
Review By: jskatt21
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Course uses a great mix of open shots and shots with Trees and Water as obstacles.
-7 out 9 baskets are visible from Tee Signs, making them easy to spot.
-Hole 3 is a fun shot featuring a shot over the stream, and a hard long hook to the left.
-Hole 7 is another great hole, placed behind the trees, making 3 good approaches possible. To the left, to the right, and even through the trees.
-Brand new baskets and Tee signs! Always so much to play with new stuff.
Cons: -I am a big advocate of tee pads, not really a con but a want.
-Going from hole 5 to hole 6 can be difficult to find your first time through.
-Sometimes it feels like there is a lot of walking, but considering the space limitations, it is fine.
Other Thoughts: Great hole for beginners and experts. Challenging enough for good players, and yet has elements that make it fun for new players. Great course!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.