Apple Valley, MN 
Alimagnet Lake Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: kjtw55 Hole #6
3 / 227ft.   3 / 228ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Pleasantly surprised

2-4    9/24/2011   9/24/2011
Review By: bigbeano
Played: 22  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/21/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice mix of open and wooded holes
-Simple, basic signage but gives you all the required info (and are pretty vandalism-proof)
-Concrete tee pads are decent for the first 7 holes
-Makes good use of the woods
-Course isn't overly easy even though it's relatively short
-Plenty of elevation change throughout
Cons: -Dirt tee pads for the last 5 holes are eroded and can get slick (I slipped on #12 and threw it sideways directly into the woods)
-Course is pretty short as essentially everything is reachable
-You have to share the trails in the woods with people that are walking (oftentimes with dogs who like frisbees and don't give a hoot how long they are taking to get out of your way)
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty nice course for a fairly short municipal course that was put in to a park that was already there. Despite the fact that the course is an after-thought in the park it doesn't really have that feel.
There is a lot of elevation change throughout the course, which adds a fair amount of difficulty to a course that would be really easy without it. The holes throughout the woods are pretty short for the most part, which is a shame because a long hole weaving through the woods could really give this course the signature hole that it lacks. The closest thing to it is #12, which is a deceivingly difficult uphill battle of a hole. There is barely a lane to throw through, and there's very little chance that you're going to end up within striking distance off of your drive.
This course is a lot of fun, it's not too serious of a course so don't take it as such… but it is one of the better courses in a municipal park that I've seen yet. It provides some challenge, which the same cannot be said for a lot of these types of courses. My one complaint is that I'd like to see concrete tee pads in the woods as well. I guess this course can get pretty busy at times, but I didn't run into that problem. It's a nice course to have a quick round on. If you play these types of courses (ones that are located in city parks) give this one a try; it is one of the better ones you'll find.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 alibomber

5+    9/21/2011   9/22/2011
Review By: alimagnetbomber
Played: 34  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/19/2012
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: great course to learn on, has all the shots hyzers annies and some pretty long holes but overall pretty fun easy course great front 7 out in the grass for beginners
Cons: occasionally you might have a dog run through and swipe your disc, also got pretty heavy populated during the summer but the biggest issue is the natural tees on holes 9-12 eroded and not easy to throw from
Other Thoughts: super fun course just watch out for hole 12 she will bite you in the a**

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Fun Course For This Noobie

5+    8/13/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: jrote88
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.5 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I'm new to the sport and I really enjoy playing this course. The front seven are open holes that have a good mixture of straight shots and doglegs. The back five snake through the woods and provide more of a challenge with their tighter fairways and greater elevation changes.
Cons: One issue I have with the course is the wait. It's not terrible but there have been times when there were five groups waiting to tee off. Another issue I had was the condition of the back five when we get a lot of rain. Some spots can get water logged.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Well Designed and Engineered Rec Course!

1    7/25/2011   8/13/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.5 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It seemed like every HS kid in the state was here on the sunny afternoon that I played. Group after group were lining up to tee it up. And I saw something I've never seen on a disc golf course before. Two cute high school girls were playing the course alone. What a great opportunity for an enterprising young man! I can see it now. "Oh ladies, Can I show you the course?"
Back to the course, beside being packed to capacity, this is just a great little Rec course. It's mostly short but tight and technical in places. There are three holes reaching over 300'. The baskets were lined with pavers. Lots of engineering and hard work has gone into this course with steps built in places where they are needed, paths are clear and well marked. Many ACE ops as #'s 1, 2, 7, 9 and 10 are all under 200'.

I liked # 4 a lot. It's an open 356' very slight uphill shot across the lawn to a cool engineered basket under the trees, just a very pretty hole. And then following that # 5 is a fun little downhill toss with a slight anhyser at the end.
Cons: The crowds could be a pain. I'd try to play this course at odd hours if I lived around here. It's short and has to be considered a Rec course. The pads in the woods are natural. I wonder if they could use patio blocks or something out there if they can't do concrete.
Other Thoughts: I like this little course a lot. It seems to get a ton of play and I can certainly see why. It's fun, it's easy to shoot under par and there's HS girls playing there. What more could a disc playing HS boy want?

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 I am like metal . . .attracted to Alimagnet!

1    6/17/2011   6/30/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) 6x6 post with Par, Distance, Hole # . . . Map on another post.

2) Plenty of garbage cans on this course to keep the litter to a minimum.

3) Rules sign at the first tee always a welcome sight on a course.

4) Very nice balance of shots on this course needing to throw some hyzers, some annys and some straight shots. You can get creative on a couple throws also like a roller or and tamahawk.

5) Practice Basket is available on the other side of the parking lot from #1.

6) Nice elevation on this course using the changes in topography very well to create some really unique holes.

7) Directionals are helpful in a few spots.

8) Water in play on the left of the final hole even though it is blind from the tee. You shouldnt go there, but a ricochet can put you there and it may only be around during high rain times because it is well above the actual lake.

9) Great balance of foliage density on this course. Some more open holes, some parklike wooded holes and then some tight wooded fairways. I love this kind of course and it is a true test of all skills.

10) Concrete tees on the first 7 holes but the wooded holes it must not have been allowed.

11) 5' ring of blocks around the basket. Helpful to prevent lucky skip ins, but they also stop low putts or upshots that might normally skip. I could go either way with these if they are good or bad.

12) Wood chipped paths in many spots are always appreciated.

13) Some really unique holes on this course. I have yet to play a hole like #6 and the basket location on #1 is pretty unique too. Then you get into the woods and those are always one of a kind holes. I love seeing good holes, and this course is packed full of them.

14) Nice park with playground, bathrooms, and a shelter . . . I could spend a whole day here!
Cons: 1) Mailbox at the first tee but nothing inside of it. If you are going to provide an amenity at least keep it usable.

2) Discatchers are getting a little older and starting to show some wear. They have their chains painted red in a few spots which may be an Apple Valley thing because they seem to be accentuating the red of the apple all over the place.

3) Stumps and some smaller stuff can create some trippers in a few spots.

4) Long walks between a few of the holes and they head not in the most intuitive directions a few times. The other paths can create some confusion, fortunately they have most of those spots marked with directionals.

5) Concrete really would be great to have in the woods. I just hate teeing off on natural tees especially in the woods when you are trying to have pinpoint accuracy.

6) A lot of compaction around the baskets and bare soil is visible. Woods chips were used in most spots but could be used in a few more areas.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course . . . a friend I met in league in town told me this was his favorite course in the Twin Cities where he used to live . . . I can see why. It isn't the most picturesque, it isn't the most challenging, but I would have to say it is one of the most well balances courses I have played.

I would play this daily if I lived nearby for sure.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Short and cute little course

1    8/26/2010   8/26/2010
Review By: Daveman3000
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great landscaping with alot of pin levels tall and short. wood chip paths and for the most part signs directing you around. A practice basket is always nice.
Cons: Very short course, I don't believe any of the holes should be par 4's. the tees in the woods are banged up, watch your step not to twist an ankle.
Other Thoughts: Great for beginners, busy little course. I will be playing it again, looking to lower my first score.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 All Around Fun

5+    5/5/2010   5/13/2010
Review By: Chillers86
Played: 105  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Alimagnet has a great mix of wide open fairways and big trees, not to mention it is a great course for beginners as well as advanced players. If you are in a slump, I suggest stopping by to destroy the course. Anybody who plays often should be able to finish under par. I am a little bias towards this course because I learned how to play here, but it is just a fun course to play.
Cons: There are only two issues that I have with this course. First of all, prepare for foot traffic. Since Alimagnet is located in the middle of suburbia you can probably guess there are going to be a ton of people. I recommend going during the week to avoid the crowd. Finally, hole #12 oh do I hate thee! This hole is possibly the worst disc golf hole ever constructed. Its a longer, up hill, S-curve fairway that follows a gravel road. It doesn't help that the tee box is non-existent, and you have to throw on a 50 degree uphill. Props to all those who can make it in three. I have done it once, but had to make a forty foot putt. Good Luck!
Other Thoughts: Just a side note as well, for those of you who enjoy a nice cold beer while chuckin some plastic, avoid this course. Because of the abundance of families around, there are also undercover cops at this park. Don't believe me? Ask my three friends who received a $120 open container ticket, Yay! (insert sarcasm) Anyways, just wait until hole #8 before you crack one open.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Home Course is getting very crouded

5+    4/14/2010   4/15/2010
Review By: paintmyworld
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -good baskets
-decent variety of shots.
-good chances of 'aces' on almost any hole.
-good placement of baskets and tees
-well maintained
Cons: -can get very crouded
-no long tees
-dirt tee offs on the wooded holes
Other Thoughts: I love this course, its my home course and I do very well shooting there, however it has been overrun by little yuppy kids that just 'f' around the course. parking lot is nearly always full everyday from say 3-10pm. GO BEFORE THIS TIME TO AVOID THE HUGE CROUDS.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Your Friendly neighborhood disc course

5+    9/15/2009   9/15/2009
Review By: reverand_redbeard
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: this course is very well kept, the city of Apple Valley has spent alot of time and money maintaining the course and equipment (if a basket is vandalized it will be fixed within a day or two)
This course also has a great mix of easy to difficult holes, I love to bring my girlfriend here because its not intimidating to her but making par on every hole can be still be difficult for me.
Cons: This course plays more of a tight technical style, i only wish that they had more room for a couple of longer holes, or holes that made use of the lake and pond the course runs next to, there needs to be more risk/reward type shots

it could also really benifit from concrete tee pads on #9, #10, #11, and #12
Other Thoughts: beer is now legal at this park, they lifted the ban on alcohol this spring, but don't abuse the privilage this course is under alot of scrutinee by the neighbors and the police, they are all just looking for one reason or another to shut it down.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Quiet City

5+    6/25/2008   2/16/2009
Review By: Guurn
Played: 82  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 28.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course features a quiet neighborhood with a well laid out design that uses the abundant natural terrian to its best advantage.

From the first tee on you will find things to like. Hole 1 is a short hyzer shot that is perfect for the design of this course. It plays as a warmup hole for advanced players but also lets you explain the goals and rules of the game to beginners. I have used this course as an intro for newbies several times. By that I am not saying it is an easy course, rather that the holes start off fairly rudimentary and get harder as it moves along. None of the holes, however, are so basic they are silly.

After the first few holes you move to a more wooded area. Again there is much to like. The first wooded hole (hole 5) is a 288 foot downhill through sparse trees. It can be played either as a straight on shot or a slight anhyzer (rhbh). Again, a brilliant intro to a new aspect of the game for the beginner and a challenging birdie for the experienced player. This theme gets repeated several times.

After a holes intros a new idea it moves into a more difficult version of that theme shortly after. Following up Hole 5 you have Hole 8 which takes the woods theme and narrows the fairway and ends in a dogleg left like hole 1.

In addition this course has nicely maintained fairways, average teeboxes, baskets in good shape and signage. The flow of the course is very good.

The course is in a neighborhood not near any major highways so it is quiet and a few times you get very nice views of the lake nearby.

Cons: Can be busy at times. In places the fairways are showing heavy use. Rough is still pretty bad and it is really the only drawback to bringing new players here. Not fun to find an errant misthrow in spots.

Other Thoughts: The parking lot isn't easy to find so get good directions and look for signs. Has a warmup basket. There is a picnic area near the parking lot and hole 1 so if you are driving from far away bring lunch and watch people play holes 1-4 while you eat.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.