Disc Golf Store
Apple Valley, MN 
Alimagnet Lake Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: kjtw55 Hole #12
3 / 347ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Well Designed and Engineered Rec Course!

1    7/25/2011   8/13/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It seemed like every HS kid in the state was here on the sunny afternoon that I played. Group after group were lining up to tee it up. And I saw something I've never seen on a disc golf course before. Two cute high school girls were playing the course alone. What a great opportunity for an enterprising young man! I can see it now. "Oh ladies, Can I show you the course?"
Back to the course, beside being packed to capacity, this is just a great little Rec course. It's mostly short but tight and technical in places. There are three holes reaching over 300'. The baskets were lined with pavers. Lots of engineering and hard work has gone into this course with steps built in places where they are needed, paths are clear and well marked. Many ACE ops as #'s 1, 2, 7, 9 and 10 are all under 200'.

I liked # 4 a lot. It's an open 356' very slight uphill shot across the lawn to a cool engineered basket under the trees, just a very pretty hole. And then following that # 5 is a fun little downhill toss with a slight anhyser at the end.
Cons: The crowds could be a pain. I'd try to play this course at odd hours if I lived around here. It's short and has to be considered a Rec course. The pads in the woods are natural. I wonder if they could use patio blocks or something out there if they can't do concrete.
Other Thoughts: I like this little course a lot. It seems to get a ton of play and I can certainly see why. It's fun, it's easy to shoot under par and there's HS girls playing there. What more could a disc playing HS boy want?

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 I am like metal . . .attracted to Alimagnet!

1    6/17/2011   6/30/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 736  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) 6x6 post with Par, Distance, Hole # . . . Map on another post.

2) Plenty of garbage cans on this course to keep the litter to a minimum.

3) Rules sign at the first tee always a welcome sight on a course.

4) Very nice balance of shots on this course needing to throw some hyzers, some annys and some straight shots. You can get creative on a couple throws also like a roller or and tamahawk.

5) Practice Basket is available on the other side of the parking lot from #1.

6) Nice elevation on this course using the changes in topography very well to create some really unique holes.

7) Directionals are helpful in a few spots.

8) Water in play on the left of the final hole even though it is blind from the tee. You shouldnt go there, but a ricochet can put you there and it may only be around during high rain times because it is well above the actual lake.

9) Great balance of foliage density on this course. Some more open holes, some parklike wooded holes and then some tight wooded fairways. I love this kind of course and it is a true test of all skills.

10) Concrete tees on the first 7 holes but the wooded holes it must not have been allowed.

11) 5' ring of blocks around the basket. Helpful to prevent lucky skip ins, but they also stop low putts or upshots that might normally skip. I could go either way with these if they are good or bad.

12) Wood chipped paths in many spots are always appreciated.

13) Some really unique holes on this course. I have yet to play a hole like #6 and the basket location on #1 is pretty unique too. Then you get into the woods and those are always one of a kind holes. I love seeing good holes, and this course is packed full of them.

14) Nice park with playground, bathrooms, and a shelter . . . I could spend a whole day here!
Cons: 1) Mailbox at the first tee but nothing inside of it. If you are going to provide an amenity at least keep it usable.

2) Discatchers are getting a little older and starting to show some wear. They have their chains painted red in a few spots which may be an Apple Valley thing because they seem to be accentuating the red of the apple all over the place.

3) Stumps and some smaller stuff can create some trippers in a few spots.

4) Long walks between a few of the holes and they head not in the most intuitive directions a few times. The other paths can create some confusion, fortunately they have most of those spots marked with directionals.

5) Concrete really would be great to have in the woods. I just hate teeing off on natural tees especially in the woods when you are trying to have pinpoint accuracy.

6) A lot of compaction around the baskets and bare soil is visible. Woods chips were used in most spots but could be used in a few more areas.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course . . . a friend I met in league in town told me this was his favorite course in the Twin Cities where he used to live . . . I can see why. It isn't the most picturesque, it isn't the most challenging, but I would have to say it is one of the most well balances courses I have played.

I would play this daily if I lived nearby for sure.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Probably my favorite

5+    6/8/2011   6/8/2011
Review By: zippox
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great array of shots.
Well groomed, always.
The next tee off is always easy to find.
Has half of the shots in the woods, and half out of the woods which makes for a nice change of pace.
Cons: The par on some holes seems a little off sometimes.
It can get busy.
I agree that 9 10 and 11 and 12 could use concrete, can get muddy sometimes.
Other Thoughts: Don't throw it into the swamp on the left on your first shot.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Home Course.

5+    5/31/2011   6/2/2011
Review By: Attix
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You can just do the first 7 holes over and over if you dont have time for a full round and they go very fast. Otherwise doing the full 12 is a blast when you have more time.
Cons: Can be very crowded in peak hours and the non regular disc golfers can be very rude and unaware of disc golfing edicate. Keep an eye out for any attempted distruction on the course as I have seen kids jumping on the baskets and damaging what they can.
Other Thoughts: the back woods tees (the last 5) could use either concrete tee boxes or some more wood chips at a minimum. seems like some of them are always completely swamped after a good rain...

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short and cute little course

1    8/26/2010   8/26/2010
Review By: Daveman3000
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great landscaping with alot of pin levels tall and short. wood chip paths and for the most part signs directing you around. A practice basket is always nice.
Cons: Very short course, I don't believe any of the holes should be par 4's. the tees in the woods are banged up, watch your step not to twist an ankle.
Other Thoughts: Great for beginners, busy little course. I will be playing it again, looking to lower my first score.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short Course

1    5/4/2010   6/5/2010
Review By: D21thorpe
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice course through the trees. Lends it self to good skill shots.
Cons: Short course. It was crowded when I played it and from talking to people on the course it sounds like it is always crouded.
Other Thoughts: I liked that the signs gave par for each hole.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 All Around Fun

5+    5/5/2010   5/13/2010
Review By: Chillers86
Played: 105  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Alimagnet has a great mix of wide open fairways and big trees, not to mention it is a great course for beginners as well as advanced players. If you are in a slump, I suggest stopping by to destroy the course. Anybody who plays often should be able to finish under par. I am a little bias towards this course because I learned how to play here, but it is just a fun course to play.
Cons: There are only two issues that I have with this course. First of all, prepare for foot traffic. Since Alimagnet is located in the middle of suburbia you can probably guess there are going to be a ton of people. I recommend going during the week to avoid the crowd. Finally, hole #12 oh do I hate thee! This hole is possibly the worst disc golf hole ever constructed. Its a longer, up hill, S-curve fairway that follows a gravel road. It doesn't help that the tee box is non-existent, and you have to throw on a 50 degree uphill. Props to all those who can make it in three. I have done it once, but had to make a forty foot putt. Good Luck!
Other Thoughts: Just a side note as well, for those of you who enjoy a nice cold beer while chuckin some plastic, avoid this course. Because of the abundance of families around, there are also undercover cops at this park. Don't believe me? Ask my three friends who received a $120 open container ticket, Yay! (insert sarcasm) Anyways, just wait until hole #8 before you crack one open.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Play it if your drving by

2-4    10/15/2009   4/16/2010
Review By: smyith
Played: 134  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 13 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Lots of large mature trees
- Hills play a large part in the design
- Fun fairways that require accurate placement
- Must hit the right gaps to make it to the hole in one shot
- Large level Cement teepads
- Good tee signs
- Stairs are well appreciated in the steep parts
- The rough isn't thick just lots of small trees to get through.
- Practice basket
- Playground for the kids
- Technical
- Bathrooms
Cons: - A pitch-n-putt
- Poor use of land. I think they could've put in a way better 12 hole by adding a bit more length and utilizing the pond.
- Lack of trash cans and benches
Other Thoughts: This is a blast to play. Although its short there are main technical shots. The hills in the park are incredibly well used, if you dont land correctly skips and rolls will happen often. Hole 4 is the only one you get to really let a good rip go. Hole 12 is a brutal uphill with a super tight snakey fairway. I'd like to see someone throw who knows how to park this hole.
Anyways, don't go out of your way to play it but if your driving by or close by stop and play a couple rounds (they go fast).

Favorite hole #8 - A 250' slight left fade hot slightly downhill through the woods. About half way down the fairway it get really tight with only two ideal gaps to hit and then the fairway drops and fades left. A slight flex shot with a slight fade is the ideal line. If you hook in to late or early you'll be in some tough rough to make your approach. If you come in too high you'll blow past the basket and have to make a difficult uphill putt.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Home Course is getting very crouded

5+    4/14/2010   4/15/2010
Review By: paintmyworld
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -good baskets
-decent variety of shots.
-good chances of 'aces' on almost any hole.
-good placement of baskets and tees
-well maintained
Cons: -can get very crouded
-no long tees
-dirt tee offs on the wooded holes
Other Thoughts: I love this course, its my home course and I do very well shooting there, however it has been overrun by little yuppy kids that just 'f' around the course. parking lot is nearly always full everyday from say 3-10pm. GO BEFORE THIS TIME TO AVOID THE HUGE CROUDS.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My home course!!!

5+    11/16/2009   11/17/2009
Review By: discwizard81
Played: 58  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: first seven holes are fairly open and five are nicely wooded. nothing is over 400FT. great beginner course. alot of technical shots through and around trees. alomst all the holes are achieveable for aces, atleast in theory(exception #12) very nice 12 hole course!!! love my home course! only a few blocks away!!!
Cons: when school gets out the course gets hella over crowded. #4 and #5 gets pulled for winter sledding. beward of dog walkers in the woods, the other half of the park is a dog park and they wander over onto holes 8-12.
Other Thoughts: the course i learned to play on. this course can be your best friend or your worst enemy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.