Apple Valley, MN 
Alimagnet Lake Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: kjtw55 Hole #2
3 / 176ft.   3 / 176ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Hercules never sleeps

5+    10/26/2011   10/26/2011
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1238  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 6.9 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pitch and putt at its finest. Give your big arm a rest and work on your technical approaches and putting game.

Technical variety. Several short technical lines peppered with a few mostly open holes keeps things relatively interesting, elevation changes keep the game from getting repetitive. Then hole 12 will throw a wrench in your game, just when you were getting this pitch and putt thing down a 300 uphill double dogleg will test your skills on the final hole.

Navigation. Is relatively intuitive, most tees can be found near the previous basket. The only place it can get confusing is after hole 9, take the left path to get to holes 10 and 11, then follow the long trail to the right along the lake to hole 12.

Signage. Each tee is marked with a hole number and distance.

Local Scene. Weeklies, tournaments and gatherings throughout the year with a friendly crowd of people is a nice bonus.

Well maintained. It has always been well groomed and taken care of.

Beginner friendly. This would be a great place to be introduced to the game. Good place to work on lines, relatively tough to lose a disc, though some rough spots will eat discs on occasion, watch out for the swamp behind hole 8.

Potential. I'm not sure if any expansion would ever be in the works for this course. But if this course was looking to expand (alternate tees, alternate pins, additional holes) the land appears to be there.
Cons: Short. If your looking for a championship caliber course, or a place to work out your big arm, this isn't the course for you.

Brick walls. The walls surrounding the basket look nice and control erosion, and it may belong in the "pro" section if you are looking for a quick way to beat a disc in, holes 4 and 7 have taken some chunks out of my plastic.

Vandals. Recently(as of this review) several baskets have been vandalized and apparently has been a history of such activity, so all baskets might not be playable. But along with being well maintained, the park district has made immediate attempts to repair, replace, improve what has been done.

Crowded. Being easy access and good for beginners, this course will see families, mobs of chuckers, that one guy throwing 20 discs on each hole etc. Come early in the morning, or bring plenty of patience. Don't expect a quick round on a weekday after noon.

Tees. Concrete tees on many of the holes, natural tees work fine for the shorter holes, hole 12 is the most frustrating though, the uneven uphill gravel pit makes for a poor teepad on a tough hole.
Other Thoughts: If you're in the Southern Twin Cities Metro, stop by for a round. If you can catch it during a quiet time, it will be a quick enjoyable pitch and putt round.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasantly surprised

2-4    9/24/2011   9/24/2011
Review By: bigbeano
Played: 24  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/21/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice mix of open and wooded holes
-Simple, basic signage but gives you all the required info (and are pretty vandalism-proof)
-Concrete tee pads are decent for the first 7 holes
-Makes good use of the woods
-Course isn't overly easy even though it's relatively short
-Plenty of elevation change throughout
Cons: -Dirt tee pads for the last 5 holes are eroded and can get slick (I slipped on #12 and threw it sideways directly into the woods)
-Course is pretty short as essentially everything is reachable
-You have to share the trails in the woods with people that are walking (oftentimes with dogs who like frisbees and don't give a hoot how long they are taking to get out of your way)
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty nice course for a fairly short municipal course that was put in to a park that was already there. Despite the fact that the course is an after-thought in the park it doesn't really have that feel.
There is a lot of elevation change throughout the course, which adds a fair amount of difficulty to a course that would be really easy without it. The holes throughout the woods are pretty short for the most part, which is a shame because a long hole weaving through the woods could really give this course the signature hole that it lacks. The closest thing to it is #12, which is a deceivingly difficult uphill battle of a hole. There is barely a lane to throw through, and there's very little chance that you're going to end up within striking distance off of your drive.
This course is a lot of fun, it's not too serious of a course so don't take it as such... but it is one of the better courses in a municipal park that I've seen yet. It provides some challenge, which the same cannot be said for a lot of these types of courses. My one complaint is that I'd like to see concrete tee pads in the woods as well. I guess this course can get pretty busy at times, but I didn't run into that problem. It's a nice course to have a quick round on. If you play these types of courses (ones that are located in city parks) give this one a try; it is one of the better ones you'll find.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 alibomber

5+    9/21/2011   9/22/2011
Review By: alimagnetbomber
Played: 34  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/19/2012
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: great course to learn on, has all the shots hyzers annies and some pretty long holes but overall pretty fun easy course great front 7 out in the grass for beginners
Cons: occasionally you might have a dog run through and swipe your disc, also got pretty heavy populated during the summer but the biggest issue is the natural tees on holes 9-12 eroded and not easy to throw from
Other Thoughts: super fun course just watch out for hole 12 she will bite you in the a**

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Fun Course For This Noobie

5+    8/13/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: jrote88
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I'm new to the sport and I really enjoy playing this course. The front seven are open holes that have a good mixture of straight shots and doglegs. The back five snake through the woods and provide more of a challenge with their tighter fairways and greater elevation changes.
Cons: One issue I have with the course is the wait. It's not terrible but there have been times when there were five groups waiting to tee off. Another issue I had was the condition of the back five when we get a lot of rain. Some spots can get water logged.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Well Designed and Engineered Rec Course!

1    7/25/2011   8/13/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1005  Reviewed: 955  Exp: 38.4 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It seemed like every HS kid in the state was here on the sunny afternoon that I played. Group after group were lining up to tee it up. And I saw something I've never seen on a disc golf course before. Two cute high school girls were playing the course alone. What a great opportunity for an enterprising young man! I can see it now. "Oh ladies, Can I show you the course?"
Back to the course, beside being packed to capacity, this is just a great little Rec course. It's mostly short but tight and technical in places. There are three holes reaching over 300'. The baskets were lined with pavers. Lots of engineering and hard work has gone into this course with steps built in places where they are needed, paths are clear and well marked. Many ACE ops as #'s 1, 2, 7, 9 and 10 are all under 200'.

I liked # 4 a lot. It's an open 356' very slight uphill shot across the lawn to a cool engineered basket under the trees, just a very pretty hole. And then following that # 5 is a fun little downhill toss with a slight anhyser at the end.
Cons: The crowds could be a pain. I'd try to play this course at odd hours if I lived around here. It's short and has to be considered a Rec course. The pads in the woods are natural. I wonder if they could use patio blocks or something out there if they can't do concrete.
Other Thoughts: I like this little course a lot. It seems to get a ton of play and I can certainly see why. It's fun, it's easy to shoot under par and there's HS girls playing there. What more could a disc playing HS boy want?

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 I am like metal . . .attracted to Alimagnet!

1    6/17/2011   6/30/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 900  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 7.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) 6x6 post with Par, Distance, Hole # . . . Map on another post.

2) Plenty of garbage cans on this course to keep the litter to a minimum.

3) Rules sign at the first tee always a welcome sight on a course.

4) Very nice balance of shots on this course needing to throw some hyzers, some annys and some straight shots. You can get creative on a couple throws also like a roller or and tamahawk.

5) Practice Basket is available on the other side of the parking lot from #1.

6) Nice elevation on this course using the changes in topography very well to create some really unique holes.

7) Directionals are helpful in a few spots.

8) Water in play on the left of the final hole even though it is blind from the tee. You shouldnt go there, but a ricochet can put you there and it may only be around during high rain times because it is well above the actual lake.

9) Great balance of foliage density on this course. Some more open holes, some parklike wooded holes and then some tight wooded fairways. I love this kind of course and it is a true test of all skills.

10) Concrete tees on the first 7 holes but the wooded holes it must not have been allowed.

11) 5' ring of blocks around the basket. Helpful to prevent lucky skip ins, but they also stop low putts or upshots that might normally skip. I could go either way with these if they are good or bad.

12) Wood chipped paths in many spots are always appreciated.

13) Some really unique holes on this course. I have yet to play a hole like #6 and the basket location on #1 is pretty unique too. Then you get into the woods and those are always one of a kind holes. I love seeing good holes, and this course is packed full of them.

14) Nice park with playground, bathrooms, and a shelter . . . I could spend a whole day here!
Cons: 1) Mailbox at the first tee but nothing inside of it. If you are going to provide an amenity at least keep it usable.

2) Discatchers are getting a little older and starting to show some wear. They have their chains painted red in a few spots which may be an Apple Valley thing because they seem to be accentuating the red of the apple all over the place.

3) Stumps and some smaller stuff can create some trippers in a few spots.

4) Long walks between a few of the holes and they head not in the most intuitive directions a few times. The other paths can create some confusion, fortunately they have most of those spots marked with directionals.

5) Concrete really would be great to have in the woods. I just hate teeing off on natural tees especially in the woods when you are trying to have pinpoint accuracy.

6) A lot of compaction around the baskets and bare soil is visible. Woods chips were used in most spots but could be used in a few more areas.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course . . . a friend I met in league in town told me this was his favorite course in the Twin Cities where he used to live . . . I can see why. It isn't the most picturesque, it isn't the most challenging, but I would have to say it is one of the most well balances courses I have played.

I would play this daily if I lived nearby for sure.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Probably my favorite

5+    6/8/2011   6/8/2011
Review By: zippox
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great array of shots.
Well groomed, always.
The next tee off is always easy to find.
Has half of the shots in the woods, and half out of the woods which makes for a nice change of pace.
Cons: The par on some holes seems a little off sometimes.
It can get busy.
I agree that 9 10 and 11 and 12 could use concrete, can get muddy sometimes.
Other Thoughts: Don't throw it into the swamp on the left on your first shot.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Home Course.

5+    5/31/2011   6/2/2011
Review By: Attix
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You can just do the first 7 holes over and over if you dont have time for a full round and they go very fast. Otherwise doing the full 12 is a blast when you have more time.
Cons: Can be very crowded in peak hours and the non regular disc golfers can be very rude and unaware of disc golfing edicate. Keep an eye out for any attempted distruction on the course as I have seen kids jumping on the baskets and damaging what they can.
Other Thoughts: the back woods tees (the last 5) could use either concrete tee boxes or some more wood chips at a minimum. seems like some of them are always completely swamped after a good rain...

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short and cute little course

1    8/26/2010   8/26/2010
Review By: Daveman3000
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great landscaping with alot of pin levels tall and short. wood chip paths and for the most part signs directing you around. A practice basket is always nice.
Cons: Very short course, I don't believe any of the holes should be par 4's. the tees in the woods are banged up, watch your step not to twist an ankle.
Other Thoughts: Great for beginners, busy little course. I will be playing it again, looking to lower my first score.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short Course

1    5/4/2010   6/5/2010
Review By: D21thorpe
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice course through the trees. Lends it self to good skill shots.
Cons: Short course. It was crowded when I played it and from talking to people on the course it sounds like it is always crouded.
Other Thoughts: I liked that the signs gave par for each hole.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center