Apple Valley, MN 
Alimagnet Lake Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: kjtw55 Hole #5
3 / 291ft.   3 / 286ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 All Around Fun

5+    5/5/2010   5/13/2010
Review By: Chillers86
Played: 105  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Alimagnet has a great mix of wide open fairways and big trees, not to mention it is a great course for beginners as well as advanced players. If you are in a slump, I suggest stopping by to destroy the course. Anybody who plays often should be able to finish under par. I am a little bias towards this course because I learned how to play here, but it is just a fun course to play.
Cons: There are only two issues that I have with this course. First of all, prepare for foot traffic. Since Alimagnet is located in the middle of suburbia you can probably guess there are going to be a ton of people. I recommend going during the week to avoid the crowd. Finally, hole #12 oh do I hate thee! This hole is possibly the worst disc golf hole ever constructed. Its a longer, up hill, S-curve fairway that follows a gravel road. It doesn't help that the tee box is non-existent, and you have to throw on a 50 degree uphill. Props to all those who can make it in three. I have done it once, but had to make a forty foot putt. Good Luck!
Other Thoughts: Just a side note as well, for those of you who enjoy a nice cold beer while chuckin some plastic, avoid this course. Because of the abundance of families around, there are also undercover cops at this park. Don't believe me? Ask my three friends who received a $120 open container ticket, Yay! (insert sarcasm) Anyways, just wait until hole #8 before you crack one open.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Play it if your drving by

2-4    10/15/2009   4/16/2010
Review By: smyith
Played: 177  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 15.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Lots of large mature trees
- Hills play a large part in the design
- Fun fairways that require accurate placement
- Must hit the right gaps to make it to the hole in one shot
- Large level Cement teepads
- Good tee signs
- Stairs are well appreciated in the steep parts
- The rough isn't thick just lots of small trees to get through.
- Practice basket
- Playground for the kids
- Technical
- Bathrooms
Cons: - A pitch-n-putt
- Poor use of land. I think they could've put in a way better 12 hole by adding a bit more length and utilizing the pond.
- Lack of trash cans and benches
Other Thoughts: This is a blast to play. Although its short there are main technical shots. The hills in the park are incredibly well used, if you dont land correctly skips and rolls will happen often. Hole 4 is the only one you get to really let a good rip go. Hole 12 is a brutal uphill with a super tight snakey fairway. I'd like to see someone throw who knows how to park this hole.
Anyways, don't go out of your way to play it but if your driving by or close by stop and play a couple rounds (they go fast).

Favorite hole #8 - A 250' slight left fade hot slightly downhill through the woods. About half way down the fairway it get really tight with only two ideal gaps to hit and then the fairway drops and fades left. A slight flex shot with a slight fade is the ideal line. If you hook in to late or early you'll be in some tough rough to make your approach. If you come in too high you'll blow past the basket and have to make a difficult uphill putt.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Home Course is getting very crouded

5+    4/14/2010   4/15/2010
Review By: paintmyworld
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -good baskets
-decent variety of shots.
-good chances of 'aces' on almost any hole.
-good placement of baskets and tees
-well maintained
Cons: -can get very crouded
-no long tees
-dirt tee offs on the wooded holes
Other Thoughts: I love this course, its my home course and I do very well shooting there, however it has been overrun by little yuppy kids that just 'f' around the course. parking lot is nearly always full everyday from say 3-10pm. GO BEFORE THIS TIME TO AVOID THE HUGE CROUDS.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My home course!!!

5+    11/16/2009   11/17/2009
Review By: discwizard81
Played: 66  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: first seven holes are fairly open and five are nicely wooded. nothing is over 400FT. great beginner course. alot of technical shots through and around trees. alomst all the holes are achieveable for aces, atleast in theory(exception #12) very nice 12 hole course!!! love my home course! only a few blocks away!!!
Cons: when school gets out the course gets hella over crowded. #4 and #5 gets pulled for winter sledding. beward of dog walkers in the woods, the other half of the park is a dog park and they wander over onto holes 8-12.
Other Thoughts: the course i learned to play on. this course can be your best friend or your worst enemy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Your Friendly neighborhood disc course

5+    9/15/2009   9/15/2009
Review By: reverand_redbeard
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: this course is very well kept, the city of Apple Valley has spent alot of time and money maintaining the course and equipment (if a basket is vandalized it will be fixed within a day or two)
This course also has a great mix of easy to difficult holes, I love to bring my girlfriend here because its not intimidating to her but making par on every hole can be still be difficult for me.
Cons: This course plays more of a tight technical style, i only wish that they had more room for a couple of longer holes, or holes that made use of the lake and pond the course runs next to, there needs to be more risk/reward type shots

it could also really benifit from concrete tee pads on #9, #10, #11, and #12
Other Thoughts: beer is now legal at this park, they lifted the ban on alcohol this spring, but don't abuse the privilage this course is under alot of scrutinee by the neighbors and the police, they are all just looking for one reason or another to shut it down.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/19/2009   7/14/2009
Review By: Cradical
Played: 108  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 9.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The baskets and holes are really well kept. The next hole is always easy to find and the course has a good flow. Most fairways aren't near enough that you could be hit by an errant throw.
There is a bit of variety of shots from heavily wooded shots to wide open shots. There is a little bit of elevation change on a few of the holes, but mostly on the wooded holes.
There is at least two blind tee shots in the woods. With the amount of thick brush on some of them, a spotter could be nice if you lack consistancy.
Cons: This park is VERY busy at night and on weekends. I remember the first time I tried to play it I ended up just turning around because there were 15+ people waiting.
Most of the tee shots are either putter or midrange shots. There are a few you can use a driver on but that's the exception.
Hole 12 doesn't seem like a good hole for disc golf. With the amount of stuff that's in the way, it makes a birdie nearly impossible. Looking at the stats on here, nobody has birdied it and the average is over 4. To me, if this hole had some sort of path this course would be much better.
Also this course would be much better if there were a few more holes, there seems to be ample room.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, but crowded

5+    6/17/2009   6/19/2009
Review By: CwAlbino
Played: 68  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 16.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained
Good mix of open and closed holes
Some difficult lines to hit, and trees to make it challenging.
12 ends the course with an extremely challenging hole
Cons: Pretty much a birdie or nothing course except hole 12
Can get very crowded and wait time is long
Other Thoughts: The residents around the park hate the course. I've heard stories of some guy mowing his lawn and when a disc was thrown near his yard, he entered the park and ran over the disc with the lawn mower, then returned to his yard.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/16/2009   6/16/2009
Review By: ea6le
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Vey fun course, fairly easy first 4 holes. They're making updates along the course slowly but surely. Wooded past the 5th hole with beautiful scenery.
Cons: Some of the tees are in pretty rough shape, other than that great course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Frequent Player

5+    5/5/2009   5/6/2009
Review By: AliMagnetLocal
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very scenic course, a lot of diversity. The first four holes are fairly easy with some freedom to throw far on holes 3 and 4 (if you are an amatuer player like I am). Hole 5 always proves to be a bit of a challenge, 8 9 and 12 are also a bit challenging but very fun. Large trees again make some great scenery. Very easy to get from hole to hole. Hole 10 has two starting points, although the old starting point is not used as frequently and is a little difficult to find.
Cons: Can become crowded on the first seven holes, and because it is a public park occasionally people walk through where you need to throw. Recently a lot of the brush has been cut down to make it easier, taking away from the natural beauty of the place as well.
Other Thoughts: A few hills here and there make it a good work out and after playing it always feels great. I live close by so it is pretty much a daily relaxant for me. A few more holes around the lake would be nice, although a lot of landscaping would be required to do so. If you do not want to play through the woods, a fun "extra" hole is from the basket on hole seven to the practice basket.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great

2-4    10/10/2008   3/29/2009
Review By: jonas
Played: 38  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2010
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course, it gives some great open holes as well as some amazing wooded holes. Hole #11 is worth trip to this course.
Cons: For first timers, it is easy to get lost in the woods. There is only 1 or two holes were you can really let your disc fly. Hole #12 seems a little excessive to finish the course.
Other Thoughts: Can be busy, you should try to hit it on the off hours.
Parts of the course can remind you of Northern Minnesota!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.