Hattiesburg, MS 
Tatum Trails DGC Share
Uploaded By: Martin Dewgarita Hole #1 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / --   3 / 139ft.   3 / 260ft.   3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
It grows on you

5+    2/28/2014   3/14/2014
Review By: jtblount2
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -located at a very nice park
-decent mix of holes (open, tightly wooded, most holes turn left)
- nice baskets
- good tee pads considering they aren't concrete
- seems like they are working on it to make pro, am, and novice tees
- very little traffic even though it is located at a busy park
Cons: - no concrete tee pads
- weird technical shots (90 degree turns and such)
- very short ( only one hole over 300 ft)
- very unforgiving
- poor layout especially if you wanna play just 9 (if you wanna end up back at your car, you have to play 13)

Other Thoughts: I personally think this is the best course in Hattiesburg, mainly because I could not navigate the other two courses at all.

There are some strange holes here. #2 and #5 are like 90 degree right turns and tight woods on the right side.

Watch out for a creek near #2 and #17. Shouldn't come in to play but it could happen.

you need a boomerang for hole #3. The basket is very close but you can't through the woods. Just throw the disc up and you should be able to par.

#4 is one of the tightest holes I have seen.

#9,10,18 are the only truly open holes

#7 and # 11 are on top of a hill and you've got a 15' drop

#17 is almost impossible to par

#18 is a long par 3 500'

I recommend parking by 18, since there is a bathroom by the tennis courts and you will have a shorter walk to your car when you finish


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  The perfect home course for the Hattiesburg Area

5+    7/1/2012   7/11/2012
Review By: The D.K.
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - No water (Which could be considered a minus for more advanced players), which means I won't be losing too many discs
- Decent hole lengths, nice variance from short to long
- Well marked course
- Nice variance between open and wooded holes
- Drink machines stocked with Gatorade and Powerade on site for a fair price ($1.25)
Cons: - Very technical (which again can be a plus for advanced players), not very forgiving on heavily wooded holes
- No established tee pads yet. they've been in the works for a couple years and no results
- As of right now (July 11, 2012), there are yellowjackets on holes 4 and 7
Other Thoughts: I'm still a beginner, but of the 3 main courses here in Hattiesburg (Paul B., Tatum, and Duncan Lake), Tatum to me is the best candidate for a home course. It's a very laid back course and has the best layout of all the courses in the area. It's easily the most beginner friendly (some would argue Duncan Lake is more so, but I disagree with the unforgiving and intimidating water holes). However, on the wooded holes, one mistake is typically worth two strokes, so a beginner should definitely take their time and play for accuracy over power.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    7/14/2011   7/18/2011
Review By: Wolfman
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun and very, very challenging course. They are making a ton of improvements and the back nice is almost finished and those holes are awesome!
Cons: Non i can think of off had except when it rains the course can become treacherous!
Other Thoughts: Love the course can wait for it to be done 100%

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  early reviews are not acurate

5+    2/20/2011   2/22/2011
Review By: cameronljames
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: very technical course. not very long holes but difficult to play for advanced levels and down. besides some softball players, mostly nice people. free to play
Cons: nothing to complain about that isnt in the plans to improve such as concrete tee pads, adding the back nine, etc.
Other Thoughts: love the holes on the big mounds. lights from softball fields that partly illuminate course are great for getting in a game as its getting dark.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

much better now.

2-4    5/27/2013   7/21/2010
Review By: magictenor1
Played: 99  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 14.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2013
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Course is fairly well marked. Good mix of wooded and open holes. restrooms available in the park. Some interesting holes where the basket is on the edge of a steep hill
Cons: natural tees. A couple of the holes have long walks in between and are hard to find. There are still some holes where the angle of turn is so severe that you can't get to the hole with your throw. The other non-blue tees can be hard to find. I did not see the novice tees that are listed at all.
Other Thoughts: This is a totally new course from when I reviewed it before. It was only 9 but is now 18. this is now a fun course and I enjoyed playing there. there are things I would change but it's worth the trip to play there.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.