Hattiesburg, MS 
Tatum Trails DGC Share
Uploaded By: Martin Dewgarita   (Taken 3/2011)
Gazebo at Start (Course info posted on back)



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
4.0/5.0

5+    1/2/2017   1/2/2017
Review By: Connor_DiscGolf
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/13/2017
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: •Great Beginners Course
•Challenging Wood Terrain Features
•Long Walking Distance
•Road OB on 1
Cons: •Bad Signage System
•No real Water Hazard
•Short until #18
•Spread apart across the park... Makes navigation confusing
•Needs trims in wooded areas
Other Thoughts: Needs new Tee Signs. Helps to have a local around. Tee Pads needs work.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good technical course

1    5/11/2016   5/11/2016
Review By: billcoke
Played: 102  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.7 Years
Pros: Lots of wooded fairways that are wide enough to be fair, but tight enough to be a big challenge. Good mix of lefty, righty and dead straight holes.
Cons: Signage is lacking. Some of the holes double back on each other.
Other Thoughts: I was able to meet two locals, John & Chris, who were kind enough to play a round with me and show me the layout. Looks like the locals are actively working on this course and more improvements sound like they are on the way.

 

1    12/22/2014   12/23/2014
Review By: DusCas
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What it lacks in distance, it makes up for in technicallity. It's a full 18 hole course with a huge variety of holes. The only water hazard is small so its harder to lose your disc. Hole 13 is close to the first tee pad and makes for nice putt practice, as long as you keep an eye out for players coming through the course. Hole 18 is near 500' so you can give it all you've got. The baskets are kept in great condition and have plenty of chains.
Cons: Most of the tees are natural for now, so weather makes a big difference. Some holes seem impossible to birdie (for a rookie like me).
Other Thoughts: I really liked this course. The layout of the course is nice and the park seems well kept. Signs lead the way to the next hole so you know where your going for your first visit. Chances are you wont have to play alone, because it seems many people play here

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 It grows on you

5+    2/28/2014   3/14/2014
Review By: jtblount2
Played: 38  Reviewed: 12
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -located at a very nice park
-decent mix of holes (open, tightly wooded, most holes turn left)
- nice baskets
- good tee pads considering they aren't concrete
- seems like they are working on it to make pro, am, and novice tees
- very little traffic even though it is located at a busy park
Cons: - no concrete tee pads
- weird technical shots (90 degree turns and such)
- very short ( only one hole over 300 ft)
- very unforgiving
- poor layout especially if you wanna play just 9 (if you wanna end up back at your car, you have to play 13)

Other Thoughts: I personally think this is the best course in Hattiesburg, mainly because I could not navigate the other two courses at all.

There are some strange holes here. #2 and #5 are like 90 degree right turns and tight woods on the right side.

Watch out for a creek near #2 and #17. Shouldn't come in to play but it could happen.

you need a boomerang for hole #3. The basket is very close but you can't through the woods. Just throw the disc up and you should be able to par.

#4 is one of the tightest holes I have seen.

#9,10,18 are the only truly open holes

#7 and # 11 are on top of a hill and you've got a 15' drop

#17 is almost impossible to par

#18 is a long par 3 500'

I recommend parking by 18, since there is a bathroom by the tennis courts and you will have a shorter walk to your car when you finish


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Well... it's worth the price of admission.

1    5/26/2013   5/30/2013
Review By: WSP420
Played: 51  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 14.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice, well maintained park with ample parking.
-Trash cans all around parking areas
-Free to play
-Map of course on the gazebo at Hole #1
-The course flow is O.K. but the way it stays right outside of other used areas is great design. You really shouldn't have a problem with park-goers (parkies?) getting in the way
Cons: -No benches or trash cans on the course
-Several of the holes were just bad - a 90° turn in the fairway on a short hole just makes you feel like you're laying up twice & a 180° horseshoe hole that the tee and the basket are almost side by side is novel but not much else.
-Navigation can be tough at times
-Not a horrible course, I really did enjoy it. It's just not very memorable
Other Thoughts: Out of the 3 locations in Hattiesburg to play disc golf this one is at the bottom of the list for me. Once again, it's a really nice park with an 18-hole course, that seems to stay out of the way, with a nice mix of holes.
If you're stopping to play in Hattiesburg definitely play this one... only if you are able to play Paul B. State Park, too. Don't make this course your only stop.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Half and Half

1    11/12/2012   11/13/2012
Review By: demamazins
Played: 87  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Reminds me of the courses that I learned to play the game initially in Northern California. Tight fairways, heavily wooded to light woods and semi-open. Very little water present, but adds to the difficulty of the holes in which it comes into play.
Cons: No directions to the next hole. Back nine is not marked.
Other Thoughts: If I were to decide between the courses in the Hattiesburg area, I would rather return to Tatum Park, as it will help shape your overall disc game.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  The perfect home course for the Hattiesburg Area

5+    7/1/2012   7/11/2012
Review By: The D.K.
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - No water (Which could be considered a minus for more advanced players), which means I won't be losing too many discs
- Decent hole lengths, nice variance from short to long
- Well marked course
- Nice variance between open and wooded holes
- Drink machines stocked with Gatorade and Powerade on site for a fair price ($1.25)
Cons: - Very technical (which again can be a plus for advanced players), not very forgiving on heavily wooded holes
- No established tee pads yet. they've been in the works for a couple years and no results
- As of right now (July 11, 2012), there are yellowjackets on holes 4 and 7
Other Thoughts: I'm still a beginner, but of the 3 main courses here in Hattiesburg (Paul B., Tatum, and Duncan Lake), Tatum to me is the best candidate for a home course. It's a very laid back course and has the best layout of all the courses in the area. It's easily the most beginner friendly (some would argue Duncan Lake is more so, but I disagree with the unforgiving and intimidating water holes). However, on the wooded holes, one mistake is typically worth two strokes, so a beginner should definitely take their time and play for accuracy over power.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  new course 18 holes

5+    9/24/2011   9/24/2011
Review By: cgrace2
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/7/2012
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: course is a lot better. more holes makes it a better course. with the added holes and this being a free course makes it great. leagues are also starting at this park
Cons: in the woods
Other Thoughts: the course is now 18 holes and 18 is a long long drive at the end

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    7/14/2011   7/18/2011
Review By: Wolfman
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun and very, very challenging course. They are making a ton of improvements and the back nice is almost finished and those holes are awesome!
Cons: Non i can think of off had except when it rains the course can become treacherous!
Other Thoughts: Love the course can wait for it to be done 100%

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  early reviews are not acurate

5+    2/20/2011   2/22/2011
Review By: cameronljames
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: very technical course. not very long holes but difficult to play for advanced levels and down. besides some softball players, mostly nice people. free to play
Cons: nothing to complain about that isnt in the plans to improve such as concrete tee pads, adding the back nine, etc.
Other Thoughts: love the holes on the big mounds. lights from softball fields that partly illuminate course are great for getting in a game as its getting dark.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.