Disc Golf Store
Akron, PA 
Roland Park Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #5 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 298ft.   3 / 298ft.   3 / 298ft.   3 / 298ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Close to Home

2-4    7/3/2013   7/9/2013
Review By: Jwillier
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great variety in kinds of holes
Well maintained
27 Holes
Cons: Tee signs are still a little confusing
That pond is a magnet for my discs.
Other Thoughts: I like the variety in this course a lot. The holes in the woods are quite difficult and present a challenge to most who play. I also like the fact that it is 27 holes. If I don't feel like messing with the water and losing a disc, I just play 18...holes 10-27.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome, Good, and ugly....

5+    5/10/2012   5/23/2012
Review By: Airubus
Played: 35  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very good mix of elevation, open shots, over water shots, wooded shots, left to right, right to left....etc oh and the face there are 27 holes is great! most baskets have an arrow on them pointing to the next tee. Multiple pin positions, and tees for longer and shorter drives.
Cons: As many times as ive played it....i gotta say it. there needs to be better teesigns. i know Bill is working on it, so i cant knock it too much as i know with time they will come. but expect to see 4x4 lumber with sharpie writing on them. thats about as good as it gets. The front 10 or so holes may have you spinning in circles trying to find out where to go.
Other Thoughts: Bill Giebel has REALLY dedicated his life to disc golf. The additional holes to Roland park showcases his love of the sport, and his ability to design good holes.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Amish Country Adventure

1    6/24/2011   6/26/2011
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 177  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 22.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What does your palette desire today? Basking in the sunshine on the lawn or a stroll under the woodsy canopy? This course offers both.

The first 12 holes play out in the open with moderate elevation changes, partially around a lovely pond. This pond and some moderate tree line and shrubs (schule) shape the (mostly wide open) fairways to keep things honest. If you go into the schule, be prepared to add some strokes.

Holes 13-27 are in the woods and provide a mix of reasonably groomed fairways, some clear, some heavily treed, but ALL are lined with a punishing rough, that you will want to avoid. Elevation plays into a great number of these holes as well.

The real treat is that 19-27 have dual tees and pins on most holes which adds real challenge and variety for intermediate to pro level players.

The front 12 holes would be more accommodating to beginners, and to the lovers of grip and rip play. Some of them, however, have additional long tees that add challenge. With due respect, they are fun and utilize the terrain effectively but aren't as interesting as the woodsy counterparts.
Cons: Navigation was confusing for me, being a newbie so definitely print a map, you will need it. There are posts at most tees, but no signs indicating the hole number. I do recall tiny numbers on most of the baskets, though.

The vegetation on the edges of the fairways (even the open holes on the the front 12) was BRUTAL! This is no fault of the course designer, as the holes 19-27 are young and also a local PA guy told me that the rains have been really heavy this last spring, causing a rapid growth of vegetation that is unusually early and heavy. So, damn thee Mother Nature! Anyhow, anything that went a foot off the fairway could get lost in the thick thorny hell. It felt like having deep water off the edge of the fairway, which made me weary to use any plastic that was precious or wasn't really bright. Anyhow, I'm sure many of these issues will fade with normal weather, maintenance, and wear and tear. Unfortunately, I was alone and could not send a spotter out.
Other Thoughts: I give real props to the designer for a nice mix of inspiring (and long) holes in the woods. It's the start of a great thing. Keep it up!

Hopefully, they can at least carve hole numbers and distances on the tee poles until they get proper signage.

Oh, about the map- I recommend using the 2nd one listed (Unofficial Alt Layout), for some reason the first one had circles indicating both the tee and the pin and I kept getting them mixed up! Maybe I'm just a silly dummy.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Needs The Final Spit-N-Polish

1    7/17/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 347  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
27 holes. The long-n-wide-n-flat-n-graded rubber teepads on13-18 were excellent. Variety - about 40% of the holes are on the (wide) open side of things, another ~40% have challenging-but-generous, tree-scattered fairways found in small pockets weaving through a wood, while the remainder are on the multi-tree-length-of-hole tight-side of the spectrum. Met course POC Bill Geibel, and he was very helpful.
Cons:
Some holes are multi-tee, some holes are multi-basket, but w/o any information, other than the hole-#, at the tees themselves, it is impossible for a visitor to know what options are available. The tees on the open front-12 are concrete, but a bit short and deteriorating, while the tees on the back-9, though marked, are a work-in-progress - some are carpet, most are dug-out pits. After finishing #27, natural walk back to car is down #19's fairway.
Other Thoughts:
Course initially plays in the sloping open space, with a pond, then moves into the woods and tracks/paths, of a large public park. The first 12 holes are mostly open, but have some type (change of elevation, hedgerow, water, a few trees) of challenge to the hole. Holes 13-18 are wooded throughout, some thickly, some along the sides with scattered trees at various points, minor elevation changes, relatively tight. The new holes are 19-27 (actually, 19 is an old basket but approached from the opposite direction than previously). The remainder play similarly to each other - grassy fairways surrounded by trees and brush, gentler elevation changes, fair blend of left/right/no-turning throws needed, trees causing shot-shaping early and/or middle and/or late, longer than the previous, tighter holes - very nice blend compared to the early-open and middle-tight.

On #4, the basket is up-n-over the bank of the pond, between the two rightmost trees. The pond ends at the lamppost further right, so if you want to avoid the water altogether, be right of this post. Need to re-trace your steps from basket-4 to find tee-5, which has the pond to its back and goes down to a basket in the far left corner of a field. No basket-27 the day we played, so the designer told us to play to long basket #18. Small orange flags help you navigate 19-27, but essentially 19-23 take you away from the road/parking lot/tee-1/pavilion, and 24-27 bring you back, finishing near basket-18/tee-19.

If you find yourself parking in a small gravel cul-de-sac near the pond, you'll find short tee-10 to your left. Tee-1 is actually up the hill, to the right of the pavilion, which is to the right of basket-10.

Playable, navigable, and enjoyable the day I played (7/17/10), but finishing the back nine tees and having informative tee signs throughout will certainly make this course shine.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.