Reedsville, WI 
Lower Cato Falls County Park Share
Uploaded By: jhgonzo Hole #18 (Taken 6/2010)
4 / 360ft.   3 / 405ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Long Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Fun, Easy yet Hard course

5+    7/15/2015   7/15/2015
Review By: Horsman
Played: 100  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 9.2 Years
Pros: This is a fun easy yet challenging course set out smack dab in the middle of no where WI. Lots of fun shots that can reward or kill you.
- On site "bathrooms" Out Houses
- Easy to get to. The course is in the middle of no where so when you see the park you know it.
- Plenty of parking for any situation.
- Nice concrete Teepads that are level with the ground so if you need a run up, you got it.
- Has its fair share of distace along with short holes. While distance isnt really the deciding factor on if you birdie of not.
- Pin placements here are pretty much perfect if yolu ask me. Every thing is in a place where you have to play a good shot to have a look at a birdie. There might only be 1 or 2 holes where you dont have try as hard to get a birdie but even then you can find trouble.
- Large, oversized benches on almost all holes. I love them. Im 6'6" and these things were built for me. They are great.
- There are a lot of holes out there that are very risk reward. You can choose to lay up on a majoirty of them but even then a par is not guaranteed. Because of this there are a lot of 2's out there but also a lot of 4's
- There is some OB that gets put into play on a few of the holes for tournament time and it just ups the risk reward factor. Perfectly placed.
Cons: - There are a few holes out there that have the tees too close to a different pin or fairway. So errant shots might have a chance to ruin someones day.
- Im not sure if wind can be a con but when it gets windy this course get tough. A lot of the holes are completely in the open and with the wind up it gets hard.
Other Thoughts: Theres not too much bad about this course. Since they have been putting work into it you can easily tell how much better the course has gotten. It went from a course that was Meh to a course that is a lot of fun to play. I really enjoy this course now and look forward to playing it every year, once a year for the Silver Cup

Beautiful park course

5+    5/10/2014   5/28/2014
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 128  Reviewed: 89  Exp: 4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Absolutely stunning park course sort of out in the middle of the country. The first 2/3 of the course is relatively open, taking use of the few obstacles in place. The last 1/3 of the course is wooded, and provides some very interesting shots, especially from the longs.

Great concrete teepads at both shorts and longs. Descriptive tee signs and solid catching baskets.

The park is almost always in pristine condition, which is really a huge part of the allure. What elevation there is here, is used well.
Cons: Tee signs only on one teepad at each hole.

The main gripe with this course is the open nature of a LOT of the holes. Distances do vary, which helps, and the few obstacles are used well. There are some younger trees on the course, so that should help in the future.
Other Thoughts: This is a great place for a round to work on different shots. While it plays open for a good while here, it still holds a high replay value....which is probably due to it's serenity. If you're out here alone, you'll feel alone.

The short tees are great for beginners, and the long tees add distance for intermediate players. I'd have to think advanced players would get bored here after a couple rounds, though. This is definitely not the beatdown some other courses in the area can be.

With Silver Creek and Rollin' Ridge both within 20 minutes, it's in a great spot to be included in a day of spectacular plastic chuckin'.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent course, well worth the trip!

1    9/4/2012   9/4/2012
Review By: Bferks12
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: >Good signs at each whole with an accurate picture of the hole
>Concrete tee pads were very nice
>The back 9 offered the most challenge, and this made the course better in my opinion
>Good use of the elevation in the park for the course
>Use of woods was good on the back 9 especially
>The view of the falls were nice
>Offered more risky landing spots with more easily accessible spots, making the course fun to play.
> Hole 6 was the best hole in the whole park in my opinion
>Multiple tee boxes for pros vs amateurs
Cons: >Lots of bugs
>Front 9 was relatively easy, since it did not have any obstacles or trees
>lack of trees or obstacles
>The holes were very straight forward and not many doglegs, since you could see the basket from the tee box on most holes
>Hole 12 had a big cliff that if your disk fell off, the likeness of getting it back is slim.
Other Thoughts: There was some new trees planted on some holes, which will be an improvement when they grow in. This was one of the best courses i have played, and me and my brother had fun playing this course. The only thing we didn't like was that there was a lot of alcohol being consumed during play, especially the people in front of us who carried a 18 pack of beer around with them.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic, Expensive Looking, Mostly Open

5+    6/2/2012   6/14/2012
Review By: Ace D
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 15.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New course with some of the nicest tee pads, benches, signs, and baskets around. Very well groomed. The falls (more like rapids) are cool to see and you can hear them from most of the course. A couple bomber holes for big arms to flex, and a few tighter, wooded holes tacked on to the end. I have never seen the course even remotely busy.
Cons: Some holes still need time to mature beyond large, wide open fields in order to make a well balanced course. The course and surrounding land are mostly open farmland so the course can be one of the more windy ones out there.
Other Thoughts: Many of the more open holes have had trees planted, so there will be more obstacles and scenery in years to come.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/7/2012   4/11/2012
Review By: AdamE
Played: 236  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 11.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The falls is just a short walk behind hole 13's tee. While it isn't a big falls it's still worth checking out.

Lower Cato Falls has two sets of nice trapezoidal shaped concrete tees per hole, tee signs with distances from both tees and the signs indicate where the basket is on the picture. The baskets are blue and in great condition and there's a practice basket near the parking lot.

The course starts out with a great hole where the basket is behind a large group of evergreen trees and you get to choose either the hyzer or anhyzer route. After that the next 10 holes are mostly open field shots. The last 7 holes are short and wooded or semi wooded holes that force you to hit your line and reward you with a birdie when you do.

There are navigational signs where needed to direct you to the next hole. When I was here, there was plenty of mulch spread around the tee pads and the park looked very well cared for.

The course has slight elevation changes on many of the holes.

The shot diversity is ok, two holes force anhyzer shots. There's a good mix of hole length and dual pads do a good job of catering to players of all skill level.
Cons: The first 11 holes are mostly open and boring.

The 4 holes in the woods are rather short, half of them are 200 ft or less.

From the parking lot, the practice area is off to the right and hole 1 is across the road to the left. It took me a minute to find hole 1, but after that navigation was a breeze.

The short tee doesn't change the shot, but I imagine they're there to shorten the course for new players.
Other Thoughts: This is a great place for new and rec players, but it doesn't provide a challenge for more advanced players. While this course has some fun wooded holes towards the end of the round, the majority are wide open making the course fairly boring.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice Courses

5+    10/28/2010   3/28/2011
Review By: discgolfoholicray
Played: 48  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.9 Years
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Great Course. Great Baskets and placements, Great Tees, Benches, layout and nice and quiet.
Cons: More trees should be planted on alot of the open farways and more garbage cans need to be put by the benches. There should also be more alternate pin placements.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 C+ = Slightly above average…..and slightly disappointing

1    6/26/2010   2/27/2011
Review By: Dave242
Played: 374  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 21.2 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: As much as I would like to give this course an above average (2.5) rating, I just cannot see how this course is anything but slightly below average. It has so many things going for it (beauty, elevation, amenities, equipment) but too much of the course is uninspiring.

What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18 hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C-
(Hole 1 long is cool with the basket tucked behind a very dense grove of cedars. It had me excited at the get-go after I shorted my drive and was punished with a bogey 4. I failed to execute.....and I paid! To my dismay I was bored out of my mind on the next (unlucky) 13 holes as they were wide open with only 1-2 forcing you to do anything special and basically zero/zilch/nada punishment if you messed up your drive. Fortunately, the course ends incredibly strongly with 5 GREAT wooded holes - 4 making use of fantastic terrain!)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me (I rate only from the long tees). I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == A-
(This course seems perfectly tailored to me with almost all holes in the wheelhouse of excitement for me. A couple holes are a little short (but that adds the deuce-or-die challenge/fun) and just one is out of my range (the 420 hole 9). If there was more challenge than simply grip-it-and-rip-it on holes 2-13 this course would be an A+ in this category.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == C-
(Again, holes 1 and 14-18 are spectacular and a ton of fun and challenge, and are test of real DG skills. And....the other holes drag the playing experience down the tubes.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B+
(This course is in a quiet and remote area and is very tranquil. The rolling hills and lush greenness are stunning. If there were more trees breaking things up in the open areas it would feel much more secluded and would make all the walking and boring golf a little more tolerable. One neat aspect is a fast moving river WAY down a steep wooded hill that you can see if you look towards the sound of rushing water on a few of the holes.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == NA

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A nice addition to Manitowalk in the Park!

1    9/3/2010   10/27/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 851  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice signs and very well built. Hole #, Par, and distances listed on each sign along with a hole sponsor. Well thought out investment . . . lets hope they last longer than most tee signs.

2) Massive trapezoidal dual concrete teepads are the best in the business. I love these pads and what they offer to the course. They also used the mulch around the teepads effectively and that really adds to the playability, sustainability of the tee complexes from reduced erosion, and also the look of the course from reduced compaction and soil exposure. This is just another thing this course did the right way!

3) DGA Powder Coated Blue baskets as seems to be the norm for this part of Wisconsin.

4) Maintenance seems to be a priority on this course. The turf was mowed well, the mulch was in place, and the property was very clean.

5) Benches in many spots, picnic tables available for a mid round snack, garbage cans available in multiple spots, mulch used around tees and baskets, all in all they have just about every amenity that can be asked for.

6) DIstance variation from 195-420 on the slongs and 148-347 from the shorts. It is always nice to see distance variation as it makes you think different shots and throw approaches to some baskets. I like this variety and is becoming more and more a requirement for me to thoroughly enjoy a course. Repetition can be a fun killer!

7) The alternate basket on Hole #12 deserves .25 discs just for having this available. The basket is always in too which is even cooler allowing for people to play the normal basket or the long on any given day.

8) Practice basket is available up by the first tee area and there is enough room to practice putting but it is close to some playground areas which would inhibit approaches and longer putts from being doable when multiple people are around.

9) Good directional signs are available in a few spots where the flow could get confusing. Another thing they did right here.

10) Rest rooms available in the parking area are much appreciated. Grills also available for your Johnsonville Brats! I could spend a whole day here!

11) Retaining walls built around a few of the tees to help the erosion and also keep the area level at the end of the tee pad. Much appreciated and well done. Way better than most retaining walls that seem to be built on courses.

12) Overall this course is beginner friendly. Many of the holes will not challenge the better players, but some will and I do think the potential is there for improvements to some of these boring holes. Regardless all skill levels could enjoy this course.
Cons: 1) The front 9 holes are somewhat boring. I do appreciate the more wide open holes coming early as it gives everyone a chance to warm up their arms, but the overall impression of this 9 is that is too easy, not real imaginative, and somewhat boring. I know the property dictates what you can do, but this could have been an incredible course if some better land was used. It is not the designers fault in my opinion, he did what he could with the land, it simply brings down the overall impression of this course.

2) #5 and #6 are somewhat rough and could use some cleaning and maintenance to make them better holes.

3) The openness of the first 11 holes is the biggest con on this course. Sure there are woods available and some of the baskets are close to the woods, but overall it would be nice to see some trees planted on a few of these open fields. I only fear that they might not survive all the plastic driver hits. If they could tighten up some fairways and maybe put a little more trouble around the baskets on these holes they would have a much better front 9. They aren'y horrible but the overall impression is overwhelming in how much better holes #12-18 are compared to 1-11.
Other Thoughts: I am glad to see this course included int he Manitowalk in the Park despite the fact I may never play that tourney because of a conflicting golf tourney the same weekend every year. Silver Creek is awesome but Indian Creek is just horrendous. If only you could take the back 9 here and the back 9 at Indian Creek and you might have a decent 18.

I like this course a lot, it was built properly, all things were well thought out in advance, they invested in all the amenities from the beginning. It is well designed for the property and it has a nice variety overall. I would like the challenge to be more ever present but maybe they can invest in some nice hardwood trees to make the more open holes better.

While the overwhelming feeling of this course is positive, it is hard to overcome the blandness of the first 11 holes. If they were able to improve these holes with some trees, or add holes on some of the better terrain on the property this course could be one of my WI favorites. If it stays the way it is, it will remain a well maintained, average challenge, and average design (no offense to the designer, he did what he could I am sure) with all the amenities one looks for on a course. I do wholeheartedly agree with others that tucking some of those baskets into the tighter wooded areas would make this course better. Why not make some 50-100' approaches into these native wooded areas. Afterall, you would likely only be removing buckthorn in a lot of these locations!

The long tees most certainly will add some challenge, but it doesn't really alter the open boring feel of the front 9.

I guess what I am saying is a few thousand dollars of an investment in some trees might be worth it. Hey the county surely has a tree spade, maybe they could just spade in a bunch of Maples and other hardwoods from some of their other properties to bring the cost way down. It would make this course so much better, but as it is, I did thoroughly enjoy the course. It isn't in my top 50, but it does have that potential. It is above average, I just basically wish the challenge was more used on the beginning holes.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Lackluster underwhelming design, or overly conservative parks department rules??

1    7/18/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: superberry
Played: 191  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 17.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hole #12 long pin position! This hole offers some of what everyone should love about disc golf. It plays mainly through a manicured park lawn with awful rough on either side. It even has elevated tees. Then the long pin is off into the edge of the woods and on a steep little ledge with risky green rollaways written all over it. This long pin position shines (weird hole though with both the long and short pin positions in place permanently - what if you aced the short pin while going for the long pin - would YOU count it?)
Hole 16 is an excellent wooded hole (17 is pretty close too). Both play slightly uphill under a tight canopy of woods and offer great RHBH anny or RHFH drives and pretty disc flights. These two also offer more distance than the simple 200' straight wooded holes 14 and 15. But take a look left when walking over the bridge on #17 and imagine if there were more holes using that type of terrain!!
The terrain of the park in the woods and sloping down to the river is absoutely gorgeous. I think we should all hold out hope that their will be a relaxation in the parks department and they will allow some expansion into these areas, and the design will actuallu utilize much more of this beautiful and challenging terrain for a real disc golf course.
#18 looks pretty nice as a hole, a large willow frames up a required right to left drive, but don't go left too much or you'll be in the corn field (and those children of the corn sure are creepy).
Huge benches here make the kids feel like they're in a movie about giants.
The park is well outside the city, quiet and secluded. No need to worry about kids stealing discs like at Silver Creek.
Cons: Wide open hay fields used with wide open mowed park lawns way too much here for full length boring and spectacularly underwhelming fairways. These boring holes don't even require huge distance (one hole over 400').
Looking at what could have been with the terrain of the wooded areas is something that saddens my disc golf heart. Basically holes 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 are a complete waste (ESPECIALLY 2-4, the hayfield holes)! Holes 1, 5, and 6 get a bit better, but are still underwhelming and could have been better laid out with more risky greens (wide open greens abound here and I am NOT a fan!). A few elevated greens and tees could spice things up a bit, but you're still throwing over hay until 20 years from now when the transplanted trees mature nicely and offer SLIGHT obstacles.
The park gravel road is about the only thing to contend with on many holes (still WIDE open holes) and it is not even marked as OB on the tee signs - it should be!
The finish on concrete tees is absolutely awful! Here is yet another instance where I think all the concrete lovers (and natural tee haters) are so terribly off base. These tees have nothing more than a veru light broom finish. They also appear to still have the glaze on them from being sprayed to improve curing. Hopefully the glaze wears off, but the finish is still not as rough as it needs to be. The grass and woodchips were SLIGHTLY damp from some rain 6 hours before our round, and we were slipping all over the tees (me with a full length runup approach and hard RHBH plant step, and my wife with a 2 step RHFH)!
It is such a shame to see litter and broken glass on such a new course. Really?!?! You drive out of your way to play a course, something you must like to do at some level because you made a conscious effort to play in the 85 degree humid days we've been having. Then you proceed to litter your cans and bottles all over the course. PACK OUT YOUR TRASH YOU TRASH!!!
There are no water hazards here.
There are no defined OB per the signs.
There is no extreme elevation (sharp ravines or long/high hills).
There are multiple tees but only single pin positions.
The course is by far more open than wooded.
There are only par 3 holes here. No long wooded holes, or real long open holes.
Other Thoughts: It is definitely not as good overall as the other courses I've rated a 3. Some of the highlights of this course really shine (#12 long pin, #16, #17), while a huge majority of it is such a waste. I agree entirely with jhgonzo about the poorly chosen locations for the hayfield hole greens. I couldnt' help but think "why isn't this basket tucked 50' into these AWESOME woods?! It really came to light when we finished hole 11 and were walking to 12. Just off the road on the left is a little washout creek that forms a peninsula in the woods - great spot for a green! With half of the holes being a complete waste, the course really deserves a 1.5 at best. I really like a few of the holes, and I'm holding out hope though for more wooded and sharp elevation goodness! And hoping the trashy litterbugs can keep garbage in check!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Some fun, some boring

1    7/3/2010   7/9/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course begins in open rolling grassy areas with some scattered areas of trees off the fairways to catch errant drives. The back nine goes into some thick woods for some tighter more technical shots to add some variety. There is some minor elevation change throughout the course, and it's used pretty well to create a little more challenge and interest. One hole has an alternate basket further in to the woods than the short pin that offers a great roll away green down a steep little hill (I think it's hole 12 with 2 baskets). The wooded holes do a nice job of mixing up the shot shapes, with a good balance of right and left turning holes. The front nine has some good length with a couple holes you can rip a drive on, and the back nine has less length and more technical challenges.

For such a new course, the amenities here are quite good. There are dual concrete tees that are large and textured. Each hole has a nice tee sign showing the hole layout and the distance to the pin from both pads. There are next tee signs where needed, there are a couple non-obvious walks but they are clearly marked so the course is very easy to follow. The baskets are new and catch great. There is a putting area by the parking lot with enough space to throw some approaches at the pin.
Cons: The front nine gets a little boring, too many of the holes are wide open with only wind as an obstacle. Apparently tree planting is planned, so this could slowly get better. There isn't enough length variety on either section of the course to keep both nines from feeling a bit repetitive. There were some potential alternate pin placements throughout the front nine that would make it much more interesting with baskets that could be put into the edge of wooded areas or near elevation changes for a little more challenge. The dual tees are nice, but they don't change up the course much, they only change the distance a little on most holes so it's not worth an extra round to play both sets of tees. It would be nice to have signs at both sets of tees, but I know that's expensive and even more maintenance required.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course, and clearly is still improving. It could use a little more variety and some more creative pin placements, but it's not a bad place to play. Beginners will find the course approachable, with not too much length or challenge from the shorts. More experienced players won't be truly tested, but there are some fun shots here. Don't plan a whole trip around this course, but if you're in the area it's not a bad stop. By one tee there is a path down to the river for a view of the falls, it's worth a quick walk down.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.