Blue Springs, MO 
Wilbur Young Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #12 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 207ft.   3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Short Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice course for a wide range of skill levels!

1    6/27/2014   6/27/2014
Review By: chaddyboy_2000
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Almost every hole has two tee pads, a long and a short, as well as several potential pin placements. This allows for great variety depending on how you want to play it, and makes the course interesting for both skilled players and beginners.

I also really enjoy wooded courses, and the whole course snakes around in a wooded area. The fairways range from being fairly open, to being very narrow, to just being full of trees with no real "right" path to the basket. Also, on of the few wooded courses I've played where the fairways aren't dirt; most of the course has nicely mown grass.

The use of the water here was well done on the couple holes where it comes into play. You can either be bold and launch across, or you can be conservative and lay up or go around. You also don't need a rocket arm to get across, but it's just long enough to perhaps make you nervous about losing a disc.

Great signage at each hole showing all the distances and pin locations. Also, navigation is pretty easy due to brick arrows placed at the base of each basket. You would easily lose your way if they weren't there, so it was much appreciated.

The bright orange baskets are always appreciated as well! Very visible!
Cons: I mentioned that the multiple tee boxes was a plus. It seems like some of the short boxes are ridiculously short, making them not at all interesting to play. There are several holes where it seems they could have just stuck with a single tee box, as I can't imagine anyone ever wanting to play the short one. Some are within 100 feet and a completely clear shot.

At least on my last trip, an overwhelming number of holes required a left-hand fade, so variety wasn't that great on that particular visit. It seemed like the course could have been better had they varied the pin placements differently, so it may not always be an issue depending on which pins are currently in use.

Also, if you like some wide open holes, you won't find them here. I personally don't mind a more technical course, but sometimes it's nice to just be able to launch one, and some people may be frustrated at the lack of opportunity for that here. I was regularly overshooting everything with my drives here.

The course could also use some benches and garbage cans.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a solid, shorter technical course to practice your precision! Also a friendly place to bring newer players to play the shorter tee boxes with them.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun & Technical

1    5/26/2013   5/27/2013
Review By: Tclarencebrown
Played: 41  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was a fun yet challenging course. The designer did a great job of using the hills, woods and surrounding rec facilities to create great lines. Each hole had a big tee sign which made it a bit easier to find your way to the next hole. The baskets were new and the tee pads were extra long.

Every hole but one had multiple pin locations and tee pads.
Cons: Although the tee signs were big, they did not clearly identify which hole location was being used. I feel that the distances were off as well.

At times the course was hard to navigate but not impossible.
Other Thoughts: Make sure you walk up on holes to double check to see if the sign illustrations are accurate.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Longer Down Under

1    11/23/2012   11/23/2012
Review By: jayhawker737
Played: 48  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/3/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are some great technical shots, but also some very good longer shots with limited obstacles.
Good signage.
Cons: Sometimes hard to follow where the next teepad is after you finish the hole.
Land is limited.
The woods are pretty thick if you get caught in them.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing the course, but it is so far away from all the other KC courses, I wont be able to play it very often.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Challenge!

1    11/10/2012   11/10/2012
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 14.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Technical? Did you say TECHNICAL??? You can't HANDLE the technical!!!!

Okay, so given that it's a technical course, where are the goodies? To start with, teepads. Two for each hole (I played the longs), all in great shape and more than long enough.

Then, tee signs. Clear, pretty, clean (not defaced), and accurate.

Next, pins. Bright orange, multiple placements on each hole.

Navigation: Good overall map at the start of the course, next-tee bricks in place at the base of each pin.

Miscellaneous: Good, sturdy bridges where needed, wood chips to mark many of the pathways.

Course design - an excellent, short technical course. A couple of water hazards (I managed to feed each of them a driver) and a good variety of LH and RH shots. Lots of uphill and downhill, a few holes with both.
Cons: The usual amenities were the main thing that this course lacks. There are few benches (I saw a few stumps here and there), no water, no restrooms, no bag-hangers.

No long bomb opportunities - I don't recall seeing anything over 500 feet, even long tee to long pin placement. That's probably because the land area is small and it was all the designers could do to shoehorn 18 holes of any size into it.

Speaking of tightness, there are many places where kick-outs could wind up in the middle of an adjacent fairway, so if you can't hit the lines, keep track of your disc and holler "fore" if you see it sailing off into oblivion.
Other Thoughts: This course would rate 4.0 or 4.5 were it not for the missing amenities. Overall I was very impressed and I'm planning to return - my first round here was awful (20-40 mph wind but hey, I played cr@ppy and that's all there is to it) and I feel a distinct need to salvage my honor! I consider myself a fairly good technical DGer but this place taught me that I ain't all I'm cracked up to be.


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/8/2012   7/12/2012
Review By: tmattoon
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The baskets are orange so easy to spot on the heavily wooded course. Two tee pads and multiple pin locations on almost every hole. One or two open water holes mixed into the very technical course. Heavily wooded so it's a nice change from other nearby courses with tons finesse shots and not much need for power.
Cons: Not to many open wholes. If you are having an off day could get frustrating with hitting trees. Easy to loose discs on almost every hole.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Watch out for the water

2-4    1/14/2012   1/23/2012
Review By: ccunning
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is a challenging course with a lot of obstacles, water traps, and mature trees. The short tees are good if you want to avoid the water traps and not lose that nice disc in the water. As a beginner this course might be a little more than you bargin for. More experienced players will enjoy this course's challenges
Cons: The water. There are several holes with water traps very close or in the field of play. If you aren't careful you might throw a disc in the water.
Other Thoughts: A good challenging course which a wide variety of holes to play through.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Very Technical Course

2-4    9/3/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: crimsonsation
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very well done course. There are two different tees on most of the holes; there are one or two that only have one tee, but they are below 200 feet. The baskets are really nice. They are bright orange and very necessary because all of the foliage which makes it tough to find the baskets. All of the holes from the black (long) tees are very technical which is good and bad. I think this course would be much more fun in the winter when most of the leaves are dead, but it makes for a good challenge in the summer. The tee signs are very nice. They have a nifty way of telling you which hole location is in use. There is a blue/red card underneath the sign which indicates which hole location is in use. There is a major use of elevation which is nice. No hole is flat, which makes for a lot of variety.
Cons: This course will tear you up if you aren't very good at tunnel shots or controlled shots. You have to keep the disc low on most every hole to avoid the low hanging trees. The fairways are very narrow and mostly wooded. There are a few open holes, but you are mostly in the woods which makes it rough for beginners.
Other Thoughts: I'm not a beginner by any means and this course tore me up. I was happy to go +16 on pro pars so it is a very tough course. I guess what I'm saying is to not start out on this course, try out the other Kansas City area courses first, then come play this one if the other ones aren't challenging enough for you.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Fun course, lets you use your whole bag of shots

1    7/13/2010   7/13/2010
Review By: Swervy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Interesting course with lots of potential. 2 sets of tee boxes and several holes had 2 baskets to give you options. Baskets were bright orange which made them easier to locate. Each tee box had a very detailed colored map which gave you all the hole measurements.

Course was in good shape, considering the amount of rain over the weekend, they were mowing and weedeating, but were not in our way. Well taken care of. Lots of shade, which is great if you happen to be out in the middle of day playing when it is hot.

Really enjoyed the elevation changes and the way the course made you think about each shot, instead of just see how far you can throw it.
Cons: The back nine holes are not marked as well as they could be. We got mixed up a few times today. I printed the map out, and it helped. Some of the holes did not have a 2nd basket.

If you don't like tight tunnel type shots, then several of the holes will give you problems.
Other Thoughts: Overall a very nice course that I will make sure to play again. A welcome addition to the KC area. If you like to think about how to make your approach shot, you will enjoy this course. Bring some bug spray just in case. We did not have any issues today, but could see how mosquitoes could be bad in the evening, or if you have to hunt some disc's in the wooded area.

On directions, when you arrive at the school, turn in, and immediately turn left again...go straight and stay to the left as you wind back to behind the ball fields. That is where the first tee begins.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Big Chigs Day Out

1    6/13/2010   6/17/2010
Review By: kendall
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great new course. Two sets of pads at each hole. Water comes into play on a couple holes but nothing crazy. Some good tunnel tree shots. A good mix of hyzer and anhyzer shots so bring your "A" game.
Cons: Lots of water makes for lost's of mosquitos. first time players might have a hard time finding the next tee box (take picture of the map on your phone if you can).

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.