Blue Springs, MO 
Wilbur Young Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #15 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 199ft.   3 / 367ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Short Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Variety

1    8/7/2013   8/7/2013
Review By: djpatch28
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Variety
2 tees and 2+ pin locations
Concrete pads and great, bright baskets
Easy to follow, with arrow bricks.
Cons: #10's pond! (Grrrr, I want my driver back)
Going across a parking lot to get to #8 and #9
Other Thoughts: My daughter's first play and my 4th. Very good challenge!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun, challenging short-to-mid distance course

1    3/31/2013   4/2/2013
Review By: kcmike
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Excellent signage, two concrete tees on each hole. Baskets painted bright orange, which was a big help with all the terrain.
- A big variety in play from hole to hole. One hole may play to the left down a hill, right up a hill, a straight shot with narrow window, and water hazards.
- Fairways are clear of hazards like stumps, roots, etc. The trees just to the side of the fairways have either been thinned out or weren't too thick to begin with. Even if you miss the fairway, you shouldn't be spending a ton of time looking for discs.
- Great course to work on your mid/short game. You'll be able to tee off with a mid or fairway driver several times. Accuracy is important on this course, so this is a great place to work on that.
- Arrows at the base of each basket pointing you to the next tee box.
Cons: - A bit difficult to navigate, as you're consistently surrounded by trees and the next tee isn't always in plain site.
- Course is very tightly packed, which in itself isn't a bad thing- just be careful you know which pin you're throwing to. Look at signage closely or you may wind up throwing to the wrong basket.
- Didn't see a public restroom on the grounds, and very few places to sit down. The course plays pretty quickly, so it wasn't a deal-breaker for me, but on a 100-degree day or if you're playing multiple rounds, those things might be more important.
Other Thoughts: Course is pretty easy to get to. From I-70, take Adams Dairy Parkway south and take your first left AFTER 40 highway. You may want to bring a throwaway disc or two the first couple times you play. There are two or three holes with small ponds that you'll be throwing over or close to.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 nicely maintained

1    10/12/2012   10/14/2012
Review By: blowers04
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
-Great scenery.
-VERY well maintained course.
-Great signage make the course easy to follow.
-Well placed pins make all the holes challenging.
Cons:
-Water hazard on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: This overall is one of the nicest courses I have played. It is very well maintained and very clean. They have good signage to direct you around the course. The only thing I didn't like was the pond. Could have something to do with the two discs I sunk in it... Overall great course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Get schooled!

1    3/28/2012   3/31/2012
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 120  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 6.6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is set on a school property, along pretty heavily wooded hillside with ponds, streams, and little bridges crossing here and there. It's a terrific setting for a course.

There are two concrete tee pads for every hole (except one), but the short pads are obviously intended for kids since some of the distances are under 100 feet. If you're old enough to drive, you better be throwing from the long tees. There are multiple positions for most holes.

The fairways vary from pretty open to very tight, but most are pretty wooded. There is a high degree of risk/reward on this course. On a couple holes I nailed the gap and got the birdie. Other times I got a ricochet and ended up with a 5. I never felt the fairways were unfair; I earned my bad scores.

He course didn't favor righties or lefties. In fact on several holes, you needed to throw right to left and left to right on subsequent shots.

Navigation here was okay. I'd bring a map, or pull up the online map on your phone if you can.

The tee signs were good, showing distances and basket locations. Baskets are all orange and stand out against the green background.
Cons: You could lose a disc on two of the holes along the pond, but neither forces you to throw over the pond.

Water drains down the hills here, and in a couple places it was a little wet, even without much rain in the few days before.

You can't play here during on school days during the day.
Other Thoughts: A good sign of the quality of a course is how much time you spend thinking about it after you play it. I was disappointed I couldn't play a second round to try out these holes again, and my shots and decisions kept running through my head for days after playing.

If you can't fathom throwing anything but your Boss or Nuke off the tee, this might not be your kind of course. But if you love risk/reward and thinking about the different options every fairway presents (which sometimes means playing it safe with a midrange or even a putter), you'll have a good time here. And you might be wondering why your school never had a course like this.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Put Away the Max D

1    3/24/2012   3/26/2012
Review By: Shimmie
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
Pros: Beautiful and well managed course. Easy to locate holes and pins. Many very tight fairways that demand well placed drives and upshots. A wide variety of straight and dog leg left and right. Put away your warp speed max driver and be ready to practice with your best fairway driver and mid range discs. It was a very muddy day but they put down hay and it really helped footing and kept my feet dry. Multiple tee pads and pin placements can really people learn the course. They do have water holes however each hole had a safer route that will help keep your disc dry.
Cons: My only con for this course is that the tunnel shots are very repetetive and a couple more wide open holes would help give this course a little more diversity. Also the holes play back into one another so keep your head on a swivel and pay attention to where you are throwing. Even this can be difficult as most of the baskets you will be throwing blind from the tee box.
Other Thoughts: Unless you are really experienced player then this course can really help to make you humble and understand the importance and staying in the fairway.

 Manicured goodness

1    5/11/2011   5/27/2011
Review By: bettsjc
Played: 38  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 5.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wilbur Young Park DGC is a beauty of a new course. It appears this is the last disc golf option before heading east of the Kansas City suburbs. It sure was worth stopping by this one.

WYP is equipped with Mach 5 baskets, with a bright orange weather coating, and boy do they stand out. Two layers of chains, which catch discs very well. 2 pin placements(3 on hole 9) per hole, with one basket per hole, it is interchanged between positions. Tee pads are concrete, with a pro and am option at nearly every hole. Tee signs are amazing, in-depth map of each hole, par and distance from each pad to each basket position.

Fairways are grassy, trees are mostly evergreens, and all is kept nicely manicured. The course was extremely clean, as far as litter and brush/limbs. Its the type of course which I would expect to be located at a disc golf country club. This may wear off a bit as the course ages, but will not take away from the fun factor.

There is a challange factor here, with some elevation, tight lines and water in play. Bring a throwaway disc just in case you feel like going for it.

Maybe the best feature of this course is the color system used on the tee signs. Each hole has a red or blue tee position. Just underneath the tee signs is a color card which is kept in the color of the basket position. No having to walk up the fairway to see which position you might be shooting at.

There are a few trash cans located at various tee pads, and seem to be collecting all of the trash, dispite being labeled, "shrink wrap only". Great idea, IMO!
Cons: Just a few, basically nit-picky cons. Just things to look out for, not meant to keep anyone away.

Tee pads are slick when wet. Not sure if there is a sealer on the pads, or if it may be a synthetic blend of concrete. A brushed texture may have helped.

Distances on some of the tee signs are incorrect. Alot of this assumption is based on the locations of both tee pads vs basket location.

Navigation was a bit of an issue. I ended up playing ...6, 7, 10, 11, 8, 9, 12, 13... There are also some blind shots, but I would imagine a few rounds on this course would be an instant cure to that.
Other Thoughts: This course is on the same area of land as the local high school, so use discresion on other activities you may take part in.

Ponds come into play on 4 holes, including a shot along a pond, and a couple over a pond.

The course design is very clean, as if the park was built for the course. It appears that it wasn't cut out of the woods, but rather uses all obsticles which existed prior.

Follow the directions on the course info page, and it will get you right to the first tee(sinage is visible from parking lot). Nice pavilion between 18 and 1 and the parking lot gives you a nice place to wait on your card or take a break between rounds. Bright map of the course located at the beginning.

If you are in the area, it is definately worth your while to check this one out. Nice park, nice neighborhood, nice course. It will be a great time!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 "This is like trick shot after trick shot." said Nick.

2-4    6/8/2010   6/22/2010
Review By: seymourdiscgolf
Played: 126  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 12.7 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: WOW, this is an AWESOME course if you like tunnel shots. The variety of technical shots is very interesting for the avid player. Course has just enough elevation changes. A few water hazards get you pumped for more. Sparsely populated trees in the fairways make you carefully choose the right disc to navigate the gaps. Short tee pads make it fun for all ages.
Cons: WOW, this is a HORRIBLE course if you don't like tunnel shots. The variety of technical shots makes it difficult for the newer player. Course has just enough elevation changes. A few water hazards get could eat a disc or two if not careful. Densely populated trees in the fairways make you choose a bright disc to more easily navigate to it in the rough. Short tee pads are too short.
Other Thoughts: HAPPY DISCIN'!!!

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.