Disc Golf Store
Blue Springs, MO 
Wilbur Young Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #10 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 294ft.   4 / 479ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Short Tee: OB pond short of pin



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Put Away the Max D

1    3/24/2012   3/26/2012
Review By: Shimmie
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
Pros: Beautiful and well managed course. Easy to locate holes and pins. Many very tight fairways that demand well placed drives and upshots. A wide variety of straight and dog leg left and right. Put away your warp speed max driver and be ready to practice with your best fairway driver and mid range discs. It was a very muddy day but they put down hay and it really helped footing and kept my feet dry. Multiple tee pads and pin placements can really people learn the course. They do have water holes however each hole had a safer route that will help keep your disc dry.
Cons: My only con for this course is that the tunnel shots are very repetetive and a couple more wide open holes would help give this course a little more diversity. Also the holes play back into one another so keep your head on a swivel and pay attention to where you are throwing. Even this can be difficult as most of the baskets you will be throwing blind from the tee box.
Other Thoughts: Unless you are really experienced player then this course can really help to make you humble and understand the importance and staying in the fairway.


1    2/18/2012   2/18/2012
Review By: astomps
Played: 53  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/16/2012
Pros: -Very technical course, shots require lots of accuracy
-built on rolling hills which provide elevation changes and blind up shots
-Signage is very good, signs even list the current tee position which is excellent
-newer baskets
-tee pads are longer than most
-17 is a very fun hole over a small water hazard
-obviously maintained regularly by parks dept.
-2nd set of tee pads for newer players/children/weaker arms; good course for an entire family, also a good starter course
-Bricks at foot of baskets for navigation to next tee
-lots of people always list bad neighborhood as a con; this seems to be a in a very safe area
-newer course
Cons: -multiple holes that you are throwing right at a tree or a group of trees...no fairways on some holes
-virtually no chances to air it out and watch it fly
-par 3 fest
-Course is very tightly organized, moderate chance of not seeing someone due to hills and with a bad shot or a tree ricochet, hitting someone with a disc
-navigation could be confusing the first time through due to 2 tee pad setup
-no benches, bag hooks or restrooms that I could see
Other Thoughts: I feel the water hazard angle is exaggerated. On 7, it is very easy to avoid because it is open air. On 10, it takes a bad shot or a massive hook to go in and there is also a large pine tree that I threw right into just to stop the disc and go for a par. and on 17, that is just a great hole and even a throw into the water is not the end of the world. It is shallow and disc would be retrievable. the 7/10 pond however would probably be the last time you saw the disc if you go into the middle of it.

yes there are a lot of tunnel shots which is a con, but not a massive one. My main complaint would be the lack of distance the tunnel shots cover. ~300 max basically

Overall a very nice course, not far from KC metro, avoids all the KC metro course problems

 Watch out for the water

2-4    1/14/2012   1/23/2012
Review By: ccunning
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is a challenging course with a lot of obstacles, water traps, and mature trees. The short tees are good if you want to avoid the water traps and not lose that nice disc in the water. As a beginner this course might be a little more than you bargin for. More experienced players will enjoy this course's challenges
Cons: The water. There are several holes with water traps very close or in the field of play. If you aren't careful you might throw a disc in the water.
Other Thoughts: A good challenging course which a wide variety of holes to play through.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Technically awesome

5+    12/30/2011   12/30/2011
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 109  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 9 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: pro and am pads at each hole except 8 which is a short hole as is, signs are awesome, with markers for which spot basket is in, clearly marked signs teepads. Bricks with arrow pointing toward next tee at bottom of each hole placement, Mach 5 with orange top and basket easy to see catch great. Land is great, design is great
Cons: Nope
Other Thoughts: Course is very technical, there are a lot of golf shots, good place to work on your game, if you are a local playing the short tees is an excellent way to work on short game. If you are east of KC this is a must play. When playing after 7 hoe 8 and 9 are a short walk across the road. then come back across the road to 10 after finishing 11 walk back toward tee 1 and 12 is right there

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Manicured goodness

1    5/11/2011   5/27/2011
Review By: bettsjc
Played: 38  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 5.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wilbur Young Park DGC is a beauty of a new course. It appears this is the last disc golf option before heading east of the Kansas City suburbs. It sure was worth stopping by this one.

WYP is equipped with Mach 5 baskets, with a bright orange weather coating, and boy do they stand out. Two layers of chains, which catch discs very well. 2 pin placements(3 on hole 9) per hole, with one basket per hole, it is interchanged between positions. Tee pads are concrete, with a pro and am option at nearly every hole. Tee signs are amazing, in-depth map of each hole, par and distance from each pad to each basket position.

Fairways are grassy, trees are mostly evergreens, and all is kept nicely manicured. The course was extremely clean, as far as litter and brush/limbs. Its the type of course which I would expect to be located at a disc golf country club. This may wear off a bit as the course ages, but will not take away from the fun factor.

There is a challange factor here, with some elevation, tight lines and water in play. Bring a throwaway disc just in case you feel like going for it.

Maybe the best feature of this course is the color system used on the tee signs. Each hole has a red or blue tee position. Just underneath the tee signs is a color card which is kept in the color of the basket position. No having to walk up the fairway to see which position you might be shooting at.

There are a few trash cans located at various tee pads, and seem to be collecting all of the trash, dispite being labeled, "shrink wrap only". Great idea, IMO!
Cons: Just a few, basically nit-picky cons. Just things to look out for, not meant to keep anyone away.

Tee pads are slick when wet. Not sure if there is a sealer on the pads, or if it may be a synthetic blend of concrete. A brushed texture may have helped.

Distances on some of the tee signs are incorrect. Alot of this assumption is based on the locations of both tee pads vs basket location.

Navigation was a bit of an issue. I ended up playing ...6, 7, 10, 11, 8, 9, 12, 13... There are also some blind shots, but I would imagine a few rounds on this course would be an instant cure to that.
Other Thoughts: This course is on the same area of land as the local high school, so use discresion on other activities you may take part in.

Ponds come into play on 4 holes, including a shot along a pond, and a couple over a pond.

The course design is very clean, as if the park was built for the course. It appears that it wasn't cut out of the woods, but rather uses all obsticles which existed prior.

Follow the directions on the course info page, and it will get you right to the first tee(sinage is visible from parking lot). Nice pavilion between 18 and 1 and the parking lot gives you a nice place to wait on your card or take a break between rounds. Bright map of the course located at the beginning.

If you are in the area, it is definately worth your while to check this one out. Nice park, nice neighborhood, nice course. It will be a great time!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Masterpiece!

1    10/29/2010   4/25/2011
Review By: Olorin
Played: 303  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.3 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
My Enjoyment: 9.2 (out of 10)

Design
*Terrain- this course is much more wooded than most of the KC metro courses, so it adds nice variety to the area. Even though there are many trees, it's more open with nice grass, so I classify this terrain as Mixed rather than Woods,
* Tees- 2 sets. Black are long, white are short. Holes from the short tees are quite a bit shorter, so they'd be very good for lower skill levels.
*2 basket positions for each hole (plus a 3rd position on hole 9). Combine this with the 2 sets of tees and you have tremendous layout variety! The layout I played had baskets in a mixture of short and long positions.
*Elevation changes are fantastic. They have the ideal balance of 9 Up and 9 Down with quite a few Down-Up or Up-Down holes in the mix.
*Fairway designs are consistently excellent. Almost all of the fairways are well cleared.
*Beauty-the course is on a beautiful piece of property!
*Length variety is excellent. The layout I played had 2<199/ 8 of 200-299/ 6 of 300-399/ 2 >400
*Greens- offer many nice challenges.
*Water- there's some water too, on 4 holes. On hole 17 I absolutely loved the beauty that the pond added!
*Being close to a high school is a great way to introduce younger players to the game!

Basics
*Tee signs- simply fantastic! World class with colorful hole maps.
*Tee pads- long and wide concrete. Excellent!
*Baskets- awesome orange dipped DGA Mach Vs!
*The additional basket on hole 1 allows you to play either position any time you want. Awesome!

Amenities
*Map of the course- a fantastic colorful, accurate map is available online! There's also a gorgeous large course map and a rules sign at the start of the course.
*Current basket position marker- they use an ingenious system of red or blue tags on the tee signs to show what position the basket is in.
*When I played they were constructing a pavilion to use during tournaments. Nice!
*Wood bridges- even though the course is new they've already installed some nice bridges. This park has lots of resources!
*Tree protectors- some vulnerable trees trunks have a wire grid wrapped around them to protect them from disc hits. A thoughtful touch!
Cons:
These are very small points and not really a big deal:
-Many baskets were hard to see from the tee (but the map shows you where to look). In the configuration I played I couldn't see 1, 4, 5, 7, 10, 11, 12, 15, 16.
-Navigation: overall the course flows well, but at a few points it was unclear where the next tee was. Looking at the map easily showed me the way, so I'd suggest the first timers print out a map to bring with them.
-On a few holes car noise from the road nearby (AA) detracts a little from the feeling of being out in nature.
Other Thoughts:
Long tees Course Level = Blue (most suited for Advanced players rated 925-975)

For such a new course it amazes me how much work they've done and how far they've already come. I could quibble and suggest a few small improvements such as adding a practice basket as well as more benches and trash cans, but I wouldn't be surprised if those already in the plans anyway.

This course solidifies John Theiss' status as a Master Course Designer! Well done, sir. This is the kind of course that I was sad to finish, and it's now among my Top Favorites. Wilbur Young rivals Waterworks as my favorite course in the KC metro area. It's that enjoyable! If I had limited time and could only play one course in the area I'd be hard pressed whether to choose Wilbur Young or Water Works. They each have different character, so the choice would come down to what type I wanted to play that day. I had a fantastic time from start to finish and I'd highly recommend people to play here for a first class experience!

A note about my rating: My rating is a subjective measure of my enjoyment of the course, on the day I played it, and it is NOT intended to be a measure of the quality of the course. My Enjoyment Ratings are given "on the curve" in relation to all other courses I've played.

Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole ratings and a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my review philosophy and rating notes at Disc Golf Course Reviews

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 fun course

1    3/23/2011   3/23/2011
Review By: KansasBoy
Played: 56  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/2/2011
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very technical shots required on most holes. Drives need to be on target and on distance. I really enjoyed playing this course. The fairways are not ridiculously tight just nicely challenging.

I really like this course. Even though the holes are generally short, they are very well laid out. Most holes require a placement drive so that you're in position for a midrange. It makes a nice change from most of the other courses in the area where I typically just drive as far as I can. it's a lot of fun to play. I need to do it more often.

A lot of blind pin placements. blue/red markers under the signs indicate pin location.

Most baskets have bricks with arrows on them indicating the direction of the next tee.

Water is in play on a few holes especially the very tricky hole 10.
Cons: No benches.
Tee signs are not particularly accurate. It seems as if they were drawn from the designed course and not the course that is actually there. Since a lot of the baskets aren't visible from the tee, this was a little annoying. It would be great if someone could update them. They're not horrible just not really accurate enough.

Didn't see a water fountain.
Other Thoughts: The short tees are really short (several of them are under 100 feet). This would be a great course to take beginners and children. The short tees are so short I have to assume it was designed with this in mind, and that makes it unique for the area.

The pond on 17 is a lot deeper than it looks, so watch out for the huge overhanging tree on the left.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course even for Rookie

1    11/25/2010   11/25/2010
Review By: KCVinnie
Played: 51  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm a new player and have played 3 other courses in the KC area and I enjoyed this course the most of any of the other ones I have played. I didn't have to feel like I had to throw my arm off to get to most pins, however, I had to be very accurate through many twists and turns. If you feel like you can throw a good midranger and can throw a somewhat controlled driver, you will enjoy this course.

Plenty of trees and elevation and I can't remember any repetitive holes. Really enjoyed the course, but I also played well, so that helped.
Cons: I'm just not a big fan of the water being in play. One hole required a very tough left to right tee shot to avoid water and the other hole was short and for me to play it correctly is a putter to the short tee and then a putter around the pond to the pin. If you like water challenges, then I don't see any real cons.
Other Thoughts: Course is fairly well marked, although a map would be handy on the back. Definitely worth the drive from other parts of the city to get out there and play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Very Technical Course

2-4    9/3/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: crimsonsation
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very well done course. There are two different tees on most of the holes; there are one or two that only have one tee, but they are below 200 feet. The baskets are really nice. They are bright orange and very necessary because all of the foliage which makes it tough to find the baskets. All of the holes from the black (long) tees are very technical which is good and bad. I think this course would be much more fun in the winter when most of the leaves are dead, but it makes for a good challenge in the summer. The tee signs are very nice. They have a nifty way of telling you which hole location is in use. There is a blue/red card underneath the sign which indicates which hole location is in use. There is a major use of elevation which is nice. No hole is flat, which makes for a lot of variety.
Cons: This course will tear you up if you aren't very good at tunnel shots or controlled shots. You have to keep the disc low on most every hole to avoid the low hanging trees. The fairways are very narrow and mostly wooded. There are a few open holes, but you are mostly in the woods which makes it rough for beginners.
Other Thoughts: I'm not a beginner by any means and this course tore me up. I was happy to go +16 on pro pars so it is a very tough course. I guess what I'm saying is to not start out on this course, try out the other Kansas City area courses first, then come play this one if the other ones aren't challenging enough for you.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Fun course, lets you use your whole bag of shots

1    7/13/2010   7/13/2010
Review By: Swervy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Interesting course with lots of potential. 2 sets of tee boxes and several holes had 2 baskets to give you options. Baskets were bright orange which made them easier to locate. Each tee box had a very detailed colored map which gave you all the hole measurements.

Course was in good shape, considering the amount of rain over the weekend, they were mowing and weedeating, but were not in our way. Well taken care of. Lots of shade, which is great if you happen to be out in the middle of day playing when it is hot.

Really enjoyed the elevation changes and the way the course made you think about each shot, instead of just see how far you can throw it.
Cons: The back nine holes are not marked as well as they could be. We got mixed up a few times today. I printed the map out, and it helped. Some of the holes did not have a 2nd basket.

If you don't like tight tunnel type shots, then several of the holes will give you problems.
Other Thoughts: Overall a very nice course that I will make sure to play again. A welcome addition to the KC area. If you like to think about how to make your approach shot, you will enjoy this course. Bring some bug spray just in case. We did not have any issues today, but could see how mosquitoes could be bad in the evening, or if you have to hunt some disc's in the wooded area.

On directions, when you arrive at the school, turn in, and immediately turn left again...go straight and stay to the left as you wind back to behind the ball fields. That is where the first tee begins.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.