Blue Springs, MO 
Wilbur Young Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Porkchop Hole #18 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 97ft.   3 / 261ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Long Tee

Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
 Very Technical Course

2-4    9/3/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: crimsonsation
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very well done course. There are two different tees on most of the holes; there are one or two that only have one tee, but they are below 200 feet. The baskets are really nice. They are bright orange and very necessary because all of the foliage which makes it tough to find the baskets. All of the holes from the black (long) tees are very technical which is good and bad. I think this course would be much more fun in the winter when most of the leaves are dead, but it makes for a good challenge in the summer. The tee signs are very nice. They have a nifty way of telling you which hole location is in use. There is a blue/red card underneath the sign which indicates which hole location is in use. There is a major use of elevation which is nice. No hole is flat, which makes for a lot of variety.
Cons: This course will tear you up if you aren't very good at tunnel shots or controlled shots. You have to keep the disc low on most every hole to avoid the low hanging trees. The fairways are very narrow and mostly wooded. There are a few open holes, but you are mostly in the woods which makes it rough for beginners.
Other Thoughts: I'm not a beginner by any means and this course tore me up. I was happy to go +16 on pro pars so it is a very tough course. I guess what I'm saying is to not start out on this course, try out the other Kansas City area courses first, then come play this one if the other ones aren't challenging enough for you.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Fun course, lets you use your whole bag of shots

1    7/13/2010   7/13/2010
Review By: Swervy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Interesting course with lots of potential. 2 sets of tee boxes and several holes had 2 baskets to give you options. Baskets were bright orange which made them easier to locate. Each tee box had a very detailed colored map which gave you all the hole measurements.

Course was in good shape, considering the amount of rain over the weekend, they were mowing and weedeating, but were not in our way. Well taken care of. Lots of shade, which is great if you happen to be out in the middle of day playing when it is hot.

Really enjoyed the elevation changes and the way the course made you think about each shot, instead of just see how far you can throw it.
Cons: The back nine holes are not marked as well as they could be. We got mixed up a few times today. I printed the map out, and it helped. Some of the holes did not have a 2nd basket.

If you don't like tight tunnel type shots, then several of the holes will give you problems.
Other Thoughts: Overall a very nice course that I will make sure to play again. A welcome addition to the KC area. If you like to think about how to make your approach shot, you will enjoy this course. Bring some bug spray just in case. We did not have any issues today, but could see how mosquitoes could be bad in the evening, or if you have to hunt some disc's in the wooded area.

On directions, when you arrive at the school, turn in, and immediately turn left again...go straight and stay to the left as you wind back to behind the ball fields. That is where the first tee begins.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 "This is like trick shot after trick shot." said Nick.

2-4    6/8/2010   6/22/2010
Review By: seymourdiscgolf
Played: 142  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 13.6 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: WOW, this is an AWESOME course if you like tunnel shots. The variety of technical shots is very interesting for the avid player. Course has just enough elevation changes. A few water hazards get you pumped for more. Sparsely populated trees in the fairways make you carefully choose the right disc to navigate the gaps. Short tee pads make it fun for all ages.
Cons: WOW, this is a HORRIBLE course if you don't like tunnel shots. The variety of technical shots makes it difficult for the newer player. Course has just enough elevation changes. A few water hazards get could eat a disc or two if not careful. Densely populated trees in the fairways make you choose a bright disc to more easily navigate to it in the rough. Short tee pads are too short.
Other Thoughts: HAPPY DISCIN'!!!

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Big Chigs Day Out

1    6/13/2010   6/17/2010
Review By: kendall
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great new course. Two sets of pads at each hole. Water comes into play on a couple holes but nothing crazy. Some good tunnel tree shots. A good mix of hyzer and anhyzer shots so bring your "A" game.
Cons: Lots of water makes for lost's of mosquitos. first time players might have a hard time finding the next tee box (take picture of the map on your phone if you can).

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.