Crosslake, MN
Crosslake Community Center Share
Uploaded By: Barconcern Hole #4 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 179ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Fun course, family-/beginner- friendly

1    11/19/2013   11/20/2013
Review By: TrustYourRubber
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1 Years
This review was updated on 2/14/2014
Pros: -Beginner friendly
-Interesting and new hole layouts
-Rubberized tee-pads and new baskets
-Promising winter venue in lakes area (nice amenities and shorter holes)
Cons: -Only nine holes with no alternate tees
-Lacks significant challenge for experienced players
-Scenery is ho-hum (only interesting view of the surrounding wilderness is an over-look of a swamp)
Other Thoughts: Fun course! Course layout is confusing the first-time through. Course may become stale after a few plays through, especially for experienced players, but I would recommend this course for individuals looking for a great outing with their family and friends!

Beginner player experience - 1.0/1.0 for some fun yet interesting holes
Intermediate player experience - 0.6/1.0 for some interesting lines and hills and tough birdie holes
Advanced player experience - 0.1/1.0 for not offering much other than opportunity to enjoy a round with family and/or friends with less disc golf experience
Setting 0.9/1.0 for being a nice community setting during summer
Overall course experience - 0.8/1.0 for nice amenities, tee-pads, easy-to-walk, and nice baskets

Total = 3.3/5.0

A good getaway from the crowds

2-4    6/1/2013   6/3/2013
Review By: mstephens627
Played: 18  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.8 Years
Pros: - Well maintained course; mowed irrigated, clean
- Variety of shots required ranging from open to tight & wooded, hyzers and anhyzers
- Frequent trash cans
- Holes do not cross each other
- Fairly intuitive course layout to follow... clockwise
- Elevated tee pads to shed water well
Cons: - No signage to inform hole distances or tee number except the hole number on the baskets themselves
-Baskets are not always visible from the tee; a course map or signage would easily remedy this
- Rubber tee pads can be slippery when wet and surfaces are not always even due to settled soil underneath.... otherwise decent to play
Thick understory in woods can make a poorly thrown disc difficult to find at times
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice course overall, in fact a hidden gem as other reviews have said. I played this for fun when I was vacationing in the area and would say that it is fairly challenging. Holes 1, 2, 3 and 9 are open and the rest play in the woods. When I came here it was unclear where I could park since there was some tennis court construction happening. Just take the first left onto the gravel road past the first softball field on Daggett Pine Road and park behind the partial wood wall.

 XLake Community Center

5+    7/13/2011   9/15/2011
Review By: Barconcern
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -About a 5 minute drive from the center of town (camping and hotels)
-The community center next too the parking lot has a nice little map for the course you can grab.
-Several well shaded holes.
-Very little traffic... I have only seen other players once.
-Garbage bins frequent.
-A wide variety of hole types, Space used well.
-Picnic hut with grills and water fountain.
-If you have friends with no discs... the community center has ones you can borrow with a deposit.
-Well kept.
Cons: -No benches
-There are no sign markers, and if you have no map or have are new to the course, you can get lost, or throw at the wrong tee very easily.
-Depending on the season, it can get really hot, buggy, or muddy... come prepared.
-A bit of a hike, lots of up and down (on a hot day, this is a problem).
-The bordering low level natural plant life on many holes makes locating a poorly thrown disc hard.
-If you really mess up your throw on 2 of the holes you will have to go around the baseball field fence to get your disc.
Other Thoughts: I go to visit friends and family almost every season in Crosslake and this course is a must.
In the winter, we strap on the snow shoes, grab the red discs, and go at it...
There is room for improvement...
There needs to be sign markers, benches, and there is space for expansion.
There is camping and hotels close by, and in this little town, this course is a big plus for something to do with spare time...
If you don't have a bike, or a boat, this is one of the few things to do in town.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Little 9 hole course

2-4    6/30/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: Wattenphul-2009
Played: 31  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.7 Years
Pros: Baskets are in pristine condition.
The raised rubber tee pads provide good footing.
The grass was neatly mowed.
I was surprised to see the grass was irrigated too!
Hole 4 provides a challenging dog leg right.
The last hole allows for a use of a driver.
No crowds in this small Minnesota town. I was up in Nisswa for a vacation and decided to hit up a couple courses. This one was a nice suprise.

No real water hazards.
Cons: No maps or tee markers other than the hole number. A course map to look at before you start would be handy.

No benches or trash cans.

First hole is a rather boring straight shot in an open field without any challenges.

No real water hazards.
Other Thoughts: Overall, it was really fun to play. I enjoyed the variety of holes and the small town feel. No crowds, no fees, no overly trodden paths. A wonderfully planned out course. A hidden gem.

 An ideal short 9 hole!

2-4    5/25/2011   5/27/2011
Review By: Dan H.
Played: 80  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course to work on your approach and technical shots with a good amount of sharp dog-legs and blind baskets.

The rubber tee pads and newish baskets are nice.

It's a beautiful layout with a small lake in view on several holes that doesn't pose as a water hazard.

It's just hilly enough to add a bit of a 3 dimensional challenge.

It's lush and irrigated.

Cons: Although Hole 1 is one of the few holes that add the driving length needed for this course to provide a good variety of drives, it is kind of boring and makes a bad introduction to this otherwise wonderful course.

Needs signs for the holes and a course map. I was lucky enough to have met a good local guide.

Mosquitos are bad. Bring bug spray.

Poison Ivy all over the place. I was glad I brought my Ivy Block.

Not a great course for someone looking to improve their driving distance
Other Thoughts: If you are going through this area and can only play one course, play this one! The other 9 holes around are also short but not as well designed or pleasant to play on.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Crosslake DG course

1    4/29/2011   5/1/2011
Review By: nickbunio
Played: 28  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: In this area we need all the courses we can get, so I am grateful that they added this course
Nice tees and baskets
Blind shots add some challenge
Cons: Short
Needs a map (i had to restart a few holes because I started throwing at the wrong basket)
Will be tough to find discs once trees fill in
Other Thoughts: Seems like they are aiming to attract summer tourists rather than serious players. That being said it serves it purpose and will be a nice place to play after work or when I don't have enough time to drive somewhere else. Rumors of expansion, which would be nice.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 crosslake dosc golf

1    10/26/2010   10/26/2010
Review By: discordye
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The rubber pads were good, the terrain is good, the baskets are all super nice, the staff at the community center were all helpful and nice, full of info. The course takes skill, makes using multiple discs possible on many holes.
Cons: It's in crosslake, a very small town, it doesn't get much use by locals, and most of the people who play there are from brainerd and have to carpool because its 40 minutes away, the bugs in summer are bad, when I played the tournament they only had us play 18 holes.
Other Thoughts: If your passing through crosslake mn give this course a try.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/11/2010   10/19/2010
Review By: Rentadot
Played: 45  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/7/2011
Pros: Very pleasant course; it's quite scenic. Challenging holes, some blind drives, but playable for most skill levels. I like the rubber tee boxes.
Cons: As mentioned, the blind drives can be an issue - if you don't know the course and can't see the next basket, you may throw to the wrong basket. a map at the 1st tee would help a lot.
Other Thoughts: This course should get a lot of play next summer as it is the nearest course to many vacation resorts. I know I'll play it again!

Check out the files section for my Google map of the course w/ GPS distances

  Crosslake

2-4    7/5/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: dowens3rd
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7 Years
Pros: The course is well laid out with several different types of challenges. The fairways through the woods are great. Well maintained and wide enough for most players but narrow enough to be challenging. The raised Neoprene tee pads are a great idea. Overall a decent course for most players.
Cons: While the layout is very nice the course is not marked. May want to walk it once to discover where all the baskets are. Either hole markers or a map near the 1st tee may be a good idea. Longest holes are around 300 ft. They plan on expanding so hopefully they will put a couple holes over 400 ft if possible.
Other Thoughts: Overall a well done course and seems appropriate for the area. Great course to play while vacationing up there or to take a drive for something different.

  

2-4    6/26/2010   7/1/2010
Review By: RonM
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Was there for grand opening - Cross Lake Day in the Park - polite staff and community.
Brand new course - open 2 weeks, well laid out with various challenges - excellent course for novices to experiment with discs.
Nice walk through the woods - new sod for the fairways and installed underground sprinklers to keep it green - a cool walk in the summer.
The Neoprene tees, laid on a raised sand bed, were absolutely great - excellent footing.

Cons: No long fairways may discourage golfers who want to challenge their throw length.
Since its up north, there are a lot of mosquitoes and horse-flies.
Talked with maintenance crew - they want to expand to 18 holes some day, so take a little trip and play the course - it'll be worth your time
Other Thoughts: Easy to find - near downtown Cross Lake

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center