Crosslake, MN 
Crosslake Community Center Share
Uploaded By: tonyroberts Hole #6 (Taken 6/2014)
3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Approach



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Fun Course for anyone

1    8/22/2015   8/24/2015
Review By: bukosknr
Played: 29  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 0.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Very well maintained.
-Quiet, clean and watered.
-Beginner friendly
-Rubber teepads
-No Crazy hazards (Very low risk of losing a disc)
-Quality Baskets are in great shape.
Cons:
-Couple of the rubber Teepads had sunken in spots so just be careful and walk your throw line so you dont' step into a hole.
-No signage and a couple holes required a quick walk up to make sure we knew where the pin was.
Other Thoughts:
The course was pretty fun and was nice and quiet. Played through the woods on some parts and around through the fields on others. Its a nine hole shorter course with a nice little walk through the park and woods. The course has a lot of variety and lets you have a bunch of different shots.

Hole 1 starts behind the parking lots and there a rubber teepad and then a basket straight ahead.

Hole 4 you start playing in the woods and the pin is off to the right side, NOT up that hill like it may look.

Hole 6 you play Up the hill and to the left.

Hole number 8 is on the right side of the path, not straight ahead the one ahead is actually hole number 3.

Hole 9 is a longer throw and a beginner like me can use a driver actually. One could end up on the softball / baseball field and I think there is an opening in center field.

I really think this is one of the nicer courses and a good word (as others have used it as well) is to call it a hidden gem. I brought some new people with me and they had a blast! The bugs weren't an issue for us in Late August - but it was also windy.

It plays through some open and through the woods, and even with the wind it really didn't affect us too much while in the woods. Couple nice places to throw longer and then some technical through the trees (like 8)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short 9 for beginners

1    8/6/2014   8/6/2014
Review By: bfeylia
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.2 Years
Pros: -clean course
-2 or 3 holes where you can let loose with a driver (at least for a beginner like me)
-no devastating hazards; you won't lose disks
Cons: -bugs! wear lots of bug spray
-hard to know where the next tee-off spot is the first time through (esp. for holes 2 and 3)
Other Thoughts: It's free, well kept, and is a perfect course for beginners like me. I really enjoyed it. Next time I'll wear more bug spray.

 A good getaway from the crowds

2-4    6/1/2013   6/3/2013
Review By: mstephens627
Played: 18  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.2 Years
Pros: - Well maintained course; mowed irrigated, clean
- Variety of shots required ranging from open to tight & wooded, hyzers and anhyzers
- Frequent trash cans
- Holes do not cross each other
- Fairly intuitive course layout to follow... clockwise
- Elevated tee pads to shed water well
Cons: - No signage to inform hole distances or tee number except the hole number on the baskets themselves
-Baskets are not always visible from the tee; a course map or signage would easily remedy this
- Rubber tee pads can be slippery when wet and surfaces are not always even due to settled soil underneath.... otherwise decent to play
Thick understory in woods can make a poorly thrown disc difficult to find at times
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice course overall, in fact a hidden gem as other reviews have said. I played this for fun when I was vacationing in the area and would say that it is fairly challenging. Holes 1, 2, 3 and 9 are open and the rest play in the woods. When I came here it was unclear where I could park since there was some tennis court construction happening. Just take the first left onto the gravel road past the first softball field on Daggett Pine Road and park behind the partial wood wall.

 XLake Community Center

5+    7/13/2011   9/15/2011
Review By: Barconcern
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -About a 5 minute drive from the center of town (camping and hotels)
-The community center next too the parking lot has a nice little map for the course you can grab.
-Several well shaded holes.
-Very little traffic... I have only seen other players once.
-Garbage bins frequent.
-A wide variety of hole types, Space used well.
-Picnic hut with grills and water fountain.
-If you have friends with no discs... the community center has ones you can borrow with a deposit.
-Well kept.
Cons: -No benches
-There are no sign markers, and if you have no map or have are new to the course, you can get lost, or throw at the wrong tee very easily.
-Depending on the season, it can get really hot, buggy, or muddy... come prepared.
-A bit of a hike, lots of up and down (on a hot day, this is a problem).
-The bordering low level natural plant life on many holes makes locating a poorly thrown disc hard.
-If you really mess up your throw on 2 of the holes you will have to go around the baseball field fence to get your disc.
Other Thoughts: I go to visit friends and family almost every season in Crosslake and this course is a must.
In the winter, we strap on the snow shoes, grab the red discs, and go at it...
There is room for improvement...
There needs to be sign markers, benches, and there is space for expansion.
There is camping and hotels close by, and in this little town, this course is a big plus for something to do with spare time...
If you don't have a bike, or a boat, this is one of the few things to do in town.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 An ideal short 9 hole!

2-4    5/25/2011   5/27/2011
Review By: Dan H.
Played: 80  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course to work on your approach and technical shots with a good amount of sharp dog-legs and blind baskets.

The rubber tee pads and newish baskets are nice.

It's a beautiful layout with a small lake in view on several holes that doesn't pose as a water hazard.

It's just hilly enough to add a bit of a 3 dimensional challenge.

It's lush and irrigated.

Cons: Although Hole 1 is one of the few holes that add the driving length needed for this course to provide a good variety of drives, it is kind of boring and makes a bad introduction to this otherwise wonderful course.

Needs signs for the holes and a course map. I was lucky enough to have met a good local guide.

Mosquitos are bad. Bring bug spray.

Poison Ivy all over the place. I was glad I brought my Ivy Block.

Not a great course for someone looking to improve their driving distance
Other Thoughts: If you are going through this area and can only play one course, play this one! The other 9 holes around are also short but not as well designed or pleasant to play on.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/11/2010   10/19/2010
Review By: Rentadot
Played: 63  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/7/2011
Pros: Very pleasant course; it's quite scenic. Challenging holes, some blind drives, but playable for most skill levels. I like the rubber tee boxes.
Cons: As mentioned, the blind drives can be an issue - if you don't know the course and can't see the next basket, you may throw to the wrong basket. a map at the 1st tee would help a lot.
Other Thoughts: This course should get a lot of play next summer as it is the nearest course to many vacation resorts. I know I'll play it again!

Check out the files section for my Google map of the course w/ GPS distances

  Crosslake

2-4    7/5/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: dowens3rd
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.3 Years
Pros: The course is well laid out with several different types of challenges. The fairways through the woods are great. Well maintained and wide enough for most players but narrow enough to be challenging. The raised Neoprene tee pads are a great idea. Overall a decent course for most players.
Cons: While the layout is very nice the course is not marked. May want to walk it once to discover where all the baskets are. Either hole markers or a map near the 1st tee may be a good idea. Longest holes are around 300 ft. They plan on expanding so hopefully they will put a couple holes over 400 ft if possible.
Other Thoughts: Overall a well done course and seems appropriate for the area. Great course to play while vacationing up there or to take a drive for something different.

  

2-4    6/26/2010   7/1/2010
Review By: RonM
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Was there for grand opening - Cross Lake Day in the Park - polite staff and community.
Brand new course - open 2 weeks, well laid out with various challenges - excellent course for novices to experiment with discs.
Nice walk through the woods - new sod for the fairways and installed underground sprinklers to keep it green - a cool walk in the summer.
The Neoprene tees, laid on a raised sand bed, were absolutely great - excellent footing.

Cons: No long fairways may discourage golfers who want to challenge their throw length.
Since its up north, there are a lot of mosquitoes and horse-flies.
Talked with maintenance crew - they want to expand to 18 holes some day, so take a little trip and play the course - it'll be worth your time
Other Thoughts: Easy to find - near downtown Cross Lake

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Crosslake Community Center

5+    6/29/2010   7/1/2010
Review By: NoLimitsMN
Played: 34  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.1 Years
Pros: The tees and pin positions are well set up to create the need a good fair amount of technical skill and creativity, yet still playable by those starting out. Wooded holes provide good shade cover and cool playing on warmer days. Newer course with rubber tee pads and mach 2 baskets.
Cons: Horsefies and mosquitoescan be a bother in the wooded holes at times. Only other drawback so far is that, although it is the nicest 9 hole course around, it is only 9 holes!
Other Thoughts: They have plans to expand but need two things: people out their using the course, and donations.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center