Raleigh, NC
Cedar Hills Rotary Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
3 / 208ft.   3 / 208ft.   3 / 208ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee: Tight hole, short, errant shots are maximum security.



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Varied

1    6/12/2013   6/12/2013
Review By: chillbro15
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Excellent variety of shots that make it memorable and enjoyable. you need a BUZZZ on this course. unless you have a MAKO. MAKO be good with FOREHAND approach
Cons: cant find holes 17 and 18
kind of sketchy and gloomy and eroded
Other Thoughts: dont lose your disc. do not attempt hole 7

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Thanksgiving Day

1    11/22/2012   11/24/2012
Review By: The Parkers
Played: 40  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 35.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Above average challenge, More than 1 Concrete tee-pad on most holes, Well Planned Design. Fairly easy to find next tee pad from pins.
Cons: Maybe to hard for beginners, Mediocre shots could sometimes be buried or cause slow play because of looking for discs in leafs/thick brush. Vandalism on some of the tee signs and hole makers.
Other Thoughts: Thanks again to DG course review for helping me find a great new course to play (while out of town visiting family in Raleigh, NC). I was seeking a Challenging disc golf course and Cedar Hills delivered!! The only reason I could see why people have rated this course low is because of the difficulty, and maybe the broken tee markers. Overall, its a great course for any skill level and if your just starting simply play the Par posted on the tee signs. I personally would play every hole as a par 3 if I am fortunate enough to come back here again.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    9/29/2012   10/12/2012
Review By: tugboat
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is fantastic! It is mostly composed of fairly technical wooded holes, with a mix of wide and short fairways. Holes 1, 3, 4, and 17 especially are pretty tight, and you will likely choose a midrange to keep out of trouble. Holes 2, 5, 6, 10, 12, and 18 are still wooded, but with wider fairways, and you can throw a (fairway) driver in hopes of parking it close.

In the middle of the course, however, there is a stretch of pretty open holes. 7 is a water shot with 3 separate tees...choose wisely. Hole 8 is a nice RHBH anhyzer around a corner and over OB with a good chance for a birdie. 9 is a very basic hole with a straight shot slightly uphill over a field. OB on left and right makes it a little more interesting, but still an easy par. Hole 11 is an open hyzer around the left bushes for a possible birdie.

A couple of the holes here will get the adrenaline rushing on the tee shot. These are the most memorable holes from the course, and they'll keep you coming back for more:
-2 is a long, blind hyzer down a hill. A perfect shot can leave you in birdie range, but go into the woods, and you'll struggle to save bogey.
-7 is the open water shot. The basket is on a hill close to the water with trees behind it. Too short? SPLASH. Too far? A dangerous putt through trees, downhill with water behind it... lay up for par.
-10 is the hole that I dream of a perfect shot on. Use the back tee for a blind anhyzer, slightly downhill on a tight fairway. Try to have it bend around the corner and flex back just before it hits the trees on the right. Get it just right and you'll have 50' or less for birdie, but a bad shot and you might make 5.
-16 might be my favourite hole. It has a wooden fence along the whole left side of the fairway that guards OB (and a little stream). The fairway starts narrow and ends wide with two basket locations that alternate monthly. If it's on the hill to the right, you should probably throw a stable forehand with a late fade to cut into the hill. If it's hidden in the woods in the back left, you might throw a straight RHBH hyzer flip to stay in bounds and have an easy approach.

So overall, there is no real "signature hole", but several that make this course very exciting and replayable. I highly recommend this course for it's great layout, flow, challenge, and variety of required shots.
Cons: The signs are mostly non-existent, but it's still pretty easy to navigate (the exception being that you might miss hole 8 if it's your first time).

Also, the course is actually pretty busy. On a weekend you might have to wait a couple minutes while the previous group finishes a hole... though having a busy course is actually a great thing!
Other Thoughts: This is the course I learned on and I fell in love with the sport. It's not unbearable for a new player, and still offers a great challenge for those who are more experienced.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging

5+    2/3/2012   2/4/2012
Review By: tylerweik
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Challenging course. Baskets easy to find. Mix of wooded and open holes. Not easy to shoot par. Long holes are challenging for all players while the par 3s can keep your score at a reasonable level.
Cons: Hard to shoot through trees. Not all tees are labeled.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Classic

5+    2/4/2012   2/4/2012
Review By: vegthura
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course. Challenging and long. This is a local classic.
Cons: Can be heavily wooded in parts and lacks signs. That can really suck when vegetation is in full bloom.
Other Thoughts: Not a great beginner course but a nice challenge and always fun overall. Play around the pond if you're not confident.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very Fun Course to Play

2-4    9/3/2011   9/17/2011
Review By: snoborderphx
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice course, very technical, well laid out. Good distance course as well as technical course. My 2nd favorite course.
Cons: It seems like the front 9 is too short compared to how long the back 9 is. I'd like a slight shorter back nine. Some of the pins, like 14, are very long and wide, but don't really offer a technical aspect to it.
Other Thoughts: Also bring water, good shoes, and a good attitude.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 I like it!

2-4    8/10/2009   9/22/2009
Review By: rhino21
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course has a good mix of shots - short, long, left, right. Multiple tee pads. Pretty easy to navigate. Scenic. Good baskets and tee pads.
Cons: OB in play on some holes. One major water hole. Moderate traffic.
Other Thoughts: If you are not skilled/experienced or do not want to risk losing a disc, then you should not try to throw over the water from the back tees on 7 (?).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Brutal but fun

2-4    6/13/2009   7/13/2009
Review By: laxrulz777
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very challenging
Good length
Very little man made hazard play (i.e. roads, fences, etc.) There are a couple places where this could come into play but it would take a pretty strong, bad throw to make it an issue.
Cons: Occasionally crowded (nowhere near as busy as Kentwood but certainly more than Middle Creek or Zebulon)
A few "random throws through the trees" type holes
Other Thoughts: This is a course that feels a lot longer than it actually is. There are some very long, uphill holes that can be quite difficult. The front nine and back nine very much have their own personality. The front nine is more "typical" with a couple interesting holes (one water hole and one simulated water hole).
The back nine on the other hand really punishes a tired disc golfer. There are 2 or 3 400+ holes including a 450ft uphill left turning hole and another 400+ ft hole that looks like they backed the tee box up just to get an extra 6 feet of elevation change. Definitely a nice course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/9/2009   4/9/2009
Review By: CGNecrodice
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very good course.. I've been playing on this course since I started playing and it still presents a challenge to me. Great variety of holes present the opportunity for all kinds of shot. I would definitely recommend playing here
Cons: If you go on a nice day on a weekend the course will most likely be packed. Sometimes you have to wait at each hole to throw but as long as you aren't in a hurry, its not a problem.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great course in the city

5+    3/31/2009   4/1/2009
Review By: kuhlbeans
Played: 48  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are some excellent reviews on this course already so I'll keep the repetition minimal. Good shot variety, mix of woods and open holes, and fairly well maintained. It's my default quick round course in town because I prefer its hole setup to Kentwood's and it is a lot less crowded.
Cons: I don't like the setup of the water hole. The landing area is small so it's easy to go short or long. Long throw goes into woods, but the landing area slants towards the pond so it is easy for a disc to fall and roll back into the pond. Unlike most courses with water I've played there is no decent "safe" area to throw if you don't want to go over the water. Not a very friendly hole for beginner/intermediate players. Also note the caption for this hole in the photo section, the pond is not one that you want to go into to get your disc back.
Other Thoughts: The last review made a couple of points I'd like to respond to. Some signs are missing or in poor shape and the reviewer wondered about vandalism. This has been a problem at the park before, including having standards stolen. The course itself is well maintained though, so it may just be a funding issue until the signs are replaced (the standard was replaced promptly). The reviewer also points out there are "some baskets parallel to kids play areas." This makes it sound worse than it really is. The first hole has basketball courts to one side and a shelter to the other, but they are both guarded by woods and would take a very short, errant drive through trees to get to either. Tennis courts are close to the pin of 5 and tee of 6 but do not really come into play. The playground is well past the standard of 18 and, again, doesn't come into play. The only one that there is any worry is #11 plays parallel to a baseball field. The hole is a slight dogleg left and the field is to the right, but it is possible to throw over the fences and onto the field with a fairly long straight or right drive that fades too late.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.