Raleigh, NC 
Cedar Hills Rotary Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16
3 / 260ft.   3 / 275ft.   3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee: Swamp hole, Don't go left, creek is OB. Don't go short right.Just throw it perfect, OK?



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    9/29/2012   10/12/2012
Review By: tugboat
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is fantastic! It is mostly composed of fairly technical wooded holes, with a mix of wide and short fairways. Holes 1, 3, 4, and 17 especially are pretty tight, and you will likely choose a midrange to keep out of trouble. Holes 2, 5, 6, 10, 12, and 18 are still wooded, but with wider fairways, and you can throw a (fairway) driver in hopes of parking it close.

In the middle of the course, however, there is a stretch of pretty open holes. 7 is a water shot with 3 separate tees...choose wisely. Hole 8 is a nice RHBH anhyzer around a corner and over OB with a good chance for a birdie. 9 is a very basic hole with a straight shot slightly uphill over a field. OB on left and right makes it a little more interesting, but still an easy par. Hole 11 is an open hyzer around the left bushes for a possible birdie.

A couple of the holes here will get the adrenaline rushing on the tee shot. These are the most memorable holes from the course, and they'll keep you coming back for more:
-2 is a long, blind hyzer down a hill. A perfect shot can leave you in birdie range, but go into the woods, and you'll struggle to save bogey.
-7 is the open water shot. The basket is on a hill close to the water with trees behind it. Too short? SPLASH. Too far? A dangerous putt through trees, downhill with water behind it... lay up for par.
-10 is the hole that I dream of a perfect shot on. Use the back tee for a blind anhyzer, slightly downhill on a tight fairway. Try to have it bend around the corner and flex back just before it hits the trees on the right. Get it just right and you'll have 50' or less for birdie, but a bad shot and you might make 5.
-16 might be my favourite hole. It has a wooden fence along the whole left side of the fairway that guards OB (and a little stream). The fairway starts narrow and ends wide with two basket locations that alternate monthly. If it's on the hill to the right, you should probably throw a stable forehand with a late fade to cut into the hill. If it's hidden in the woods in the back left, you might throw a straight RHBH hyzer flip to stay in bounds and have an easy approach.

So overall, there is no real "signature hole", but several that make this course very exciting and replayable. I highly recommend this course for it's great layout, flow, challenge, and variety of required shots.
Cons: The signs are mostly non-existent, but it's still pretty easy to navigate (the exception being that you might miss hole 8 if it's your first time).

Also, the course is actually pretty busy. On a weekend you might have to wait a couple minutes while the previous group finishes a hole... though having a busy course is actually a great thing!
Other Thoughts: This is the course I learned on and I fell in love with the sport. It's not unbearable for a new player, and still offers a great challenge for those who are more experienced.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 cedar me please

2-4    7/28/2012   8/14/2012
Review By: sharkking15
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.7 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: nice course
good variety of different style holes
works well around park
practice hole
Cons: mad amount of trees
watch out for roots
could use mor signage/markers
Other Thoughts: good course to challenge you, best to use overhand and side arm throws, careful for the pond, sont want to go in that water DIRTY!!! fun course to play when you have sometime off and eant to get away and let out some stress.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Cedars and Hills

5+    5/28/2012   5/28/2012
Review By: New013
Played: 138  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/31/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - I think there's a decent mixture of shots out there. On about half of the holes you'll need to the work disc in some manner with the rest being basically straight.

Many holes give you different options on how to attack the fairway by giving you wooded but defined fairways with a high canopy.

Some solid elevation changes on the course, a few areas that drop off quickly mid fairway and behind the baskets.

The course does a good job of creating risk/reward with the greens and basket locations, several baskets are near OB or sit right on the crest of a hill.

Some tricky OB placement on a few holes that can cause danger if you run at the basket.

It's not a long course but the longer holes are mixed in nicely to keep everything from being shorter shots. There's a few par 4's thrown in the mix where you'll need to place your drive in a good place to get an easier approach.

There's multiple tee pads on some holes and some holes have alternate baskets. The longer pads can really stress the accuracy of your shot or make you move the disc more.

I'd say the course leans towards more of a technical style but the course isn't overly difficult, you will need to place your shots really well to grab birdies though. Casual players should have a good time here and not be overwhelmed.

Overall from a strict design standpoint the course is really well done.

Equipment - The main teepads are concrete and pretty big. The baskets are older but most still catch pretty good There are benches and traschans throughout the course. Navigation isn't an issue because there are defined pathways and most basket to tee walks are short.

Atmosphere - The course is in okay shape despite its age, there is litter around the course but it's not that bad. You'll see everything from old trees to rolling hills and a small pond. The course does a good job of keeping most of the holes away from other park activities and pedestrians out of the way.
Cons: Layout - There's not enough mixture in terms of open to wooded. Many of the wooded holes are more of the defined fairway types but I like to have some longer bomb holes thrown in the mix.

About half of the shots are basically straight on. That's probably the biggest drawback to the design.

You play a few holes in close proximity to parking lots/park road.

Equipment - The signs haven't been redone in a long time and they should be; some just aren't there anymore The short pads are not high quality.

Atmosphere - The park is older and its age shows when you're out there. There's a growing erosion problem on some parts with a lot of exposed routes and in a way parts look run down because it's seen so much use. It's a really beautiful park in the fall but not one of the more pristine courses in the area.

The course gets lots of traffic, think about what time you go.

You're never really secluded out there and that's one thing I look for in courses. You're next to parking lots, playgrounds, ball fields quite a bit even though the course was designed well to keep people using those facilities out of the way.
Other Thoughts: It's a fun course and that's the biggest thing going for it. Really well designed but showing it's age. Needs some TLC.

Favorite Holes -

#2 - It's a big RtoL Fade shot down a tunnel that dumps down a hill. It's a fun and good looking hole

#7 - It's the pond hole and from the long tees you'll need a good drive to get it across and close. Watch out for putts coming back towards the pond.

#11 - Big hyzer on an open hole with OB behind the basket and woods on the left. Fun shot.

#13 - Up hill and long, probably the hardest hole on the course and you'll feel good with a 3.

#18 - Good finishing hole that requires a precise drive from the long tee to set up the approach.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 One of my Favorites!

5+    4/10/2011   5/24/2012
Review By: jmitch
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Love the mix of holes, some easy and harder.
Like how the course starts with shorter holes and gets longer to help me get going with a cold arm (get your deuces early!)
Nice throw over hold with basket close to water.
Cons: Some of the holes need some maintenance (overgrown).
Better tee pads

Other Thoughts: great course, I usually play there while I'm in Raleigh visiting family.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/14/2012   4/23/2012
Review By: _MTL_
Played: 105  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 21.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good use of elevation
- Great tee pads
- Extremely fair
- Good mix of holes
- No bad holes
- Practice basket for putting
- Get's lots of play
Cons: - Not very scenic
- Tee signs are eitehr damaged / missing
- Somewhat difficult to navigate
- Very busy park
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a just good solid course. This is the type of course that you don't get overly excited to play, but you don't mind playing it either. The shots are fair, are very unique to each other and require a lot of different discs to be used off the tee (in 18 holes, I throw 13 different discs off the tee). The course is very shaded, so on hot days, it's a good place to play.

It's a fun course to play that still challenges you, but doesn't destroy you, so to speak. If you are in the area, check it out. But don't make a special trip to play it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging for all levels

2-4    4/7/2012   4/9/2012
Review By: kdizzle1337
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Several long tee's
-Tight wooded shots
-Lots of birdie possibilities
-Water hole!
Cons: -Signage missing or destroyed.
-Some foliage have overgrown the fairway in spots
Other Thoughts: My favorite raleigh course so far! And the only one with a water hazard.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging

5+    2/3/2012   2/4/2012
Review By: tylerweik
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.8 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Challenging course. Baskets easy to find. Mix of wooded and open holes. Not easy to shoot par. Long holes are challenging for all players while the par 3s can keep your score at a reasonable level.
Cons: Hard to shoot through trees. Not all tees are labeled.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Classic

5+    2/4/2012   2/4/2012
Review By: vegthura
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 16.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course. Challenging and long. This is a local classic.
Cons: Can be heavily wooded in parts and lacks signs. That can really suck when vegetation is in full bloom.
Other Thoughts: Not a great beginner course but a nice challenge and always fun overall. Play around the pond if you're not confident.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very Fun Course to Play

2-4    9/3/2011   9/17/2011
Review By: snoborderphx
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.8 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice course, very technical, well laid out. Good distance course as well as technical course. My 2nd favorite course.
Cons: It seems like the front 9 is too short compared to how long the back 9 is. I'd like a slight shorter back nine. Some of the pins, like 14, are very long and wide, but don't really offer a technical aspect to it.
Other Thoughts: Also bring water, good shoes, and a good attitude.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun course needs love.

5+    9/4/2012   6/6/2011
Review By: Urban Bobcat
Played: 51  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/30/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Raleigh's best course in town!
- Great elevation changes.
- True water hole.
- Generous par lengths. (See cons)
Cons: - Signage missing on many of the holes.
- At times this is a problem considering
how much elevation change there is on
the course. No sight of the basket without
trekking up the fairway.
- No direction given to next tee at most baskets.
- We slowed the people behind us a few
times asking where we needed to go for
the next tee. A simple arrow here and
there would help the occassional
confusion. Some of the next tees are
across parking lots, etc.
- Generous par lengths.
- While this is also a pro, considering that
it made for a good looking scorecard, I
would consider a few of the holes to be
shorter than their designated par. The
first par 5 left my friend shooting birdie.
It was only his second time ever playing,
so this seems to give advantage to
unseasoned players. In addition, a few of
the holes that would clearly seem to be
par 3s were instead par 4s due to a slight
incline.
- Trash cans needed more often.
Other Thoughts: Besides the course's need for signage and garbage cans, I loved the layout. The last time I played this course I had no idea what I was doing in the sport. Now that it has become a passion of mine, I can really respect the design and use of elevation at Cedar Hills. Most of my DG time in Raleigh has been spent at Kentwood Park, but after Cedar Hills there's no turning back. Everyone in town should be thankful to have such a fun and challenging layout nearby!

That being said, the course is in poor shape nearly every time that I visit. Apparently Raleigh doesn't have much of an active DG club, otherwise this course could look as nice as it plays. Over three years, why isn't new signage in yet? With it being such a mature course, I'm sad to see it look so raw every time that I visit. Correct tee pads should be marked where there are multiples, clean up and add a few more benches, signs at the tees, and possible repaints for the basket stripes should be considered. This course is too fun and important to Raleigh disc golf to see in consistently sad shape. If RDGC steps it up here, I could easily award the course a 4 out of 5.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.