Raleigh, NC 
Cedar Hills Rotary Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16
3 / 260ft.   3 / 275ft.   3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee: Swamp hole, Don't go left, creek is OB. Don't go short right.Just throw it perfect, OK?



Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Very Fun Course to Play

2-4    9/3/2011   9/17/2011
Review By: snoborderphx
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.8 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice course, very technical, well laid out. Good distance course as well as technical course. My 2nd favorite course.
Cons: It seems like the front 9 is too short compared to how long the back 9 is. I'd like a slight shorter back nine. Some of the pins, like 14, are very long and wide, but don't really offer a technical aspect to it.
Other Thoughts: Also bring water, good shoes, and a good attitude.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun course needs love.

5+    9/4/2012   6/6/2011
Review By: Urban Bobcat
Played: 51  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/30/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Raleigh's best course in town!
- Great elevation changes.
- True water hole.
- Generous par lengths. (See cons)
Cons: - Signage missing on many of the holes.
- At times this is a problem considering
how much elevation change there is on
the course. No sight of the basket without
trekking up the fairway.
- No direction given to next tee at most baskets.
- We slowed the people behind us a few
times asking where we needed to go for
the next tee. A simple arrow here and
there would help the occassional
confusion. Some of the next tees are
across parking lots, etc.
- Generous par lengths.
- While this is also a pro, considering that
it made for a good looking scorecard, I
would consider a few of the holes to be
shorter than their designated par. The
first par 5 left my friend shooting birdie.
It was only his second time ever playing,
so this seems to give advantage to
unseasoned players. In addition, a few of
the holes that would clearly seem to be
par 3s were instead par 4s due to a slight
incline.
- Trash cans needed more often.
Other Thoughts: Besides the course's need for signage and garbage cans, I loved the layout. The last time I played this course I had no idea what I was doing in the sport. Now that it has become a passion of mine, I can really respect the design and use of elevation at Cedar Hills. Most of my DG time in Raleigh has been spent at Kentwood Park, but after Cedar Hills there's no turning back. Everyone in town should be thankful to have such a fun and challenging layout nearby!

That being said, the course is in poor shape nearly every time that I visit. Apparently Raleigh doesn't have much of an active DG club, otherwise this course could look as nice as it plays. Over three years, why isn't new signage in yet? With it being such a mature course, I'm sad to see it look so raw every time that I visit. Correct tee pads should be marked where there are multiples, clean up and add a few more benches, signs at the tees, and possible repaints for the basket stripes should be considered. This course is too fun and important to Raleigh disc golf to see in consistently sad shape. If RDGC steps it up here, I could easily award the course a 4 out of 5.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable

5+    2/25/2011   2/25/2011
Review By: vonDrehle
Played: 45  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.6 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - This course has a very good variety of holes and elevations that require you to use different types of shots you might not usually use.
- Many of the holes will reward accuracy and touch over pure power which is very nice
- Benches on many of the holes and the occasional bag hook that an Eagle Scout put in (Though I think he could have done 18 :D)
- It has some legitimate par 4's that require 2 good shots for a chance at birdie.
Cons: - Many of the signs have been vandalized or are simply missing. This is a shame because I bet most don't realize 8 is actually an island hole using the large logs as the OB line.
- I found some of the holes on the back nine a little repetitive on the lines of just having to throw straight and down hill.
- The course can be crowded at times and occasionally you may have someone park at one of the other lots and start their round in the middle of the course.
Other Thoughts: I have been playing this course since I have been a student at NC State and I have always enjoyed it. It is a great course to just take out your mid-range disc and work on your technique. If you are in the Triangle area I would definitely recommend giving this course a try.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/20/2011   2/22/2011
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very enjoyable course! There is a nice mix of everything to keep it interesting the whole way. There is a nice flow and beaten paths so you never feel like a map is needed.
Other Pros:
- great use of elevation
- clean and beautiful with garbage cans
- benches and nice tee pads, some pro tees
- fairways are very reasonable
- risk/reward with a water hole
- variety including open/wooded, turns, and distances
-nice playground and tennis courts centrally located to the course
- extremely friendly locals
Cons: The biggest con is the tee signs are heavily vandalized. There are a few blind shots where the tee signs would help but overall it really didn't effect us because the fairways are well defined and easy to figure out. Also, it started getting crowded by 9 am.
Other Thoughts: My favorite hole was #7 over the pond, it is just far enough to make you nervous but the basket is near the water so an overshoot puts you in the trees. I love the risk/ reward of that hole! The park is tucked in a very nice neighborhood. I had a great time and was very pleased with my entire time here.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Some super wooded holes, poorly upkept due to area

1    11/11/2010   11/16/2010
Review By: superberry
Played: 169  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 16.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/21/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pretty decent mix of hole type, although predominantly wooded. The wooded ridges on holes 12-18 are the greatest on the course and some of the best in the area. #9 and 11 offer an open hole, and also some elevation so they are not boring. #9 also has a road on the right that should be played as OB, and going long on #11 could put you OB in a parking lot or softball field on the right. The overall play of course offers a good mix of left/right/straight holes, with both gradual and drastic direction changes.
The wooded ridges that make up this park are prime for disc golf. You get some slight uphill and downhill, some halfpipe style fairways, and opportunity to place pins in risky areas for rollaways.
Downhill tunnel style holes present themselves on 10 and 15. Both around 300' or so, they require a nice touch shot to thread the needle downhill and not float high or into the thick rough on either side.
A few risky greens can be found, but there could be so many more. #1 and #16 had good risky greens (both on the same ridge). Alternate pins would throw in some
Lots of small things made for some memorable holes and I'd say two signature holes (12 & 16). #12 was a great 370' slight downhill through a bit of a washout style ravine, like a halfpipe style fairway. You'll need a bit of an S-curve, but then not too much fade to the left because the super busy road could come into play. #16 is the best on the course, playing uphill along a ridge running the entire right side, and thick rough and OB the entire left side. Then the green is protected by large pines, AND it is on a slope for risky rollaways! #13 is a nice long uphill hole that allows you enough room to work your drive for some distance without kicking into the thicker woods, but then funnels down a narrower tunnel to the green (#18 is similar). #7 offers a throw completely across a nasty murky pond to a pin perched close to the edge. Easy straight midrange throw, but lots of psychological risk. #5 has a great big tree framing up the approach to the green and some tennis courts right that could be OB. #17 is a nice tight uphill hyzer off the long tee, but not Winter Park tight. #8 throws across a transmission line right of way and a steel lattice tower.
Cons: Location smack in the middle of the city. All the noise really detracts from a peaceful round and being able to lose yourself. The road along hole 12 is super busy and noisy, and can be heard thru hole 15. the entire park is in the middle of residential area, notably a backyard close to pins 3 and 4, and a house complete with incessantly barking dog on hole 9.
Vandalism. Lots of broken signs, busted up baskets, burned things, graffiti, etc.
Tee signs consisted of a mixed bag of styles and most were vandalized in some manner and unreadable, while a few were just missing. Good tee signs with distance and a depiction of the hole are a minimum in my mind. Extras like great graphic, elevation, etc are bonus points.
It appeared to me that there was only one pin position. I did see some extra sleeves on a few holes, but due to horribly disfigured, vandalized, and missing signs, it was tough to figure out what was really available with the hole design.
Navigation was a bit tough. Not that it will ever be a problem again, but something even simple like tape or paint on the basket pointing the way to the next tee would be useful.
It appeared that there was only one tee on most of the front 9 (except #8), and there were 2 tees on most of the back nine (except 14, 17, maybe more). I guess I didn't pay close enough attention, but this mix of tees was odd to me, could be confusing for a new player or any player, and is difficult to play especially because the tee signs were so beat up.
Other Thoughts: I played whatever long tees I could find and from what I could tell, there was only one pin placement. Playing #16 tee safari style to pin #1 would be a neat hole. Rating this course is extremely difficult for me. It has a lot of good character, fun and even gimmicky things, and pretty good balance and variety. But the location sucked and contributes to vandalism which really takes away from the course with missing tee signs, and your ability to enjoy your round. Here is a prime instance I wish for a 0.25 point scale because a 3.25 would fit well. But, I think I'm gonna be generous. I did not regret playing here on my business travels at all. It felt great that I squeezed in a round here prior to my flight. Relative to all other courses I've played and reviewed, it falls in better as a 3.5. Go early in the morning on a weekday and you'll probably enjoy the seclusion and the round a bit more than a evening or weekend round. Without many more alternate pin placements introducing some guarded and risky greens, and a full set of 2 tees for more spread in skill/challenge, this course can't earn a 4.
I'd say this is a White/Blue skill level course. I never play as well my first time through a course, but it didn't challenge me too bad to consider it purely Blue.
There is a nice playground for kids to enjoy. I saw many parents there with kids on the morning I played.
(The order of favorites on my Raleigh trip is as follows - UNC, Leigh Farms, Harris Lake, Cedar Hills, Zebulon, Middle Creek, and Valley Springs. UNC and Leigh farms were runaway winners but with vastly different reasons. Harris Lake was repetitive being almost all wooded, but real fun to play and lots of risk. Cedar Hills, Zeb, and Middle creek were all tied around the average for different reasons. Valley Springs was very fun, but repetitively grueling.)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Oldie but Goodie

5+    4/7/2010   4/7/2010
Review By: Toomes
Played: 95  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Despite its age this is a course that still holds up fairly well. The course has been tweaked over the years (before I started playing).
- Well defined fairways. Not a hole on the course that I think is unfair and yet the course only has a couple of open holes (9, 11).
- Highlights include Hole 7 (water shot), Hole 12 (Long Downhill Tunnel Shot)
- Somewhat challenging. Not too many simple deuces. Shooting around 47-48 can get you a 1000 rated round.
- A good variety of shots. Tight gaps on 4 and 17. Two Par 4s. Lefty friendly hole 1, 7,16. Straight downhill tunnel shots on 10, 12, 14. Etc...
- Decent use of elevation for the area.
Cons: - Not very aesthetically pleasing. The year have worn on this course and fairways are worn down.
- No wow factor. This course isn't going to stick out in your mind.
- Signs are old and beat the F up.
- Erosion has beat on this course over the years.
- Pond Hole 7 is kinda nasty.
- Short Tees are tree planters like at Kentwood.
Other Thoughts: Just a solid course. Not pretty, but definitely well defined and fairly challenging.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Cedar Hills

2-4    3/17/2010   3/17/2010
Review By: 1978
Played: 185  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice park. It can be very challenging. There are a wide variety of hole types and a lot of elevation change. The course plays around a nicely kept community park and is heavily wooded. The course has been played enough so that you aren't completely in jail off the tight fairways. Hitting a line and throwing the right shot are a must here. Some holes are around 200' but unique pin placements make them play much more difficult. The use of the pond, especially from the longs, adds a really nice "pucker factor." There aren't as many "cedars" as you would think but they can be disc eaters on some holes. There are very few places to lose discs except the pond. The course director is good about fishing discs out of the lake and returning them to their owner. Write your names on them people!
Tee pads are generous and fairways are fair.
Cons: The course is not linear and it cuts back and forth. Because of this some of the tee boxes are within harms way of adjacent fairways. In some cases the distance between pin and pad are just too close. This is especially a problem on some of the blind uphill holes. While it looks like erosion control had been implemented in the past it could use an update. Most of the topsoil from the fairways is already gone making them full of large roots and rocks that can gouge discs. Tee signs need to be updated many are missing or just plain unreadable.
Other Thoughts: I liked playing here a few rounds. It is important for disc golf clubs to plan for erosion control in the infancy of a course and maintain that later. You can really see how much soil is lost by looking at downed trees. You can see the amount of soil built up behind them. Soil keeps the trees that "make" the course healthy and alive and shoring up teepads when they are poured prevents movement and breakage in the future.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Partly wooded, partly open

5+    9/1/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: ARock
Played: 31  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice mix of open and wooded holes. Nice mix of left to right and right to left holes. Overall a mid length course with only a couple holes that really requires some length. Otherwise, bring your Rocs and mid range discs that you can control with precision. The water hole provides a very nice challenge from the pro teepad. The back nine is very challenging and deuces are very tough to come by.
Cons: A couple holes of "chuck and pray" (defined as holes that are wooded without a distinct path to the basket. No real way to play only 9 holes as the 10th teepad is far from the parking lot. Generally gets pretty crowded, especially on the weekends.
Other Thoughts: For the most part, another great course for dogs to go without leashes. If in the Raleigh area, it's definitely worth checking out.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Quality, Old School course

2-4    12/26/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 102  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 7.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the older courses in NC and you can tell but the old gal has aged well. It's mostly wooded and makes great use of the available elevation. A few sweet, downhill holes get the blood pumping in ace-run anticipation. Nice park, easy to forget you're in Raleigh. Baskets are still in good shape, fairways are very well defined and during the winter there is very minimal risk of losing a disc in the rough. Very good hole type variety. Benches on nearly every hole. Good vibes. Nice water hole. Hard to get lost transitioning from hole to hole. Some holes have separate tees.
Cons: #11's basket is missing, too bad b/c I parked it today, would have been nice to hear the chains but I had settle for the orange traffic cone in its stead. Tee signs are in pretty bad shape but most of the baskets are visible from the tee so no real problem. Could use some more holes to air out the big guns, there's only 2-3 fairly open holes. Either I've gotten tremendously better or some of these par 5s and 4s need to be 4s and 3s.
Other Thoughts: Favorite hole: 12, a nice downhill, straight run about 372'. Throw a hyzer-flip and watch it glide.
Pesky hole: 17, some sentinel trees guard the fairway a scant 15-20' from the tee.

Other than the basket missing, this is easily one of better courses in the Piedmont. It's just a blast to play and one of those courses that are good for practically all skill levels. It would be nice if the tee signs were repaired. Park has all the usual amenities. Duck flies at midnight.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in Raleigh

1    12/15/2009   12/15/2009
Review By: TAKRep
Played: 36  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course had it all: concrete tees, discatcher baskets, elevation, open shots, tight shots, left shots, right shots. It was mostly tightly wooded, but most fairways were legitmate (though hole 17 had you throw through a 4 foot gap between two trees directly in front of the tee). The woods definitely made you regret an errant shot, but did not make it so that you couldn't recover. The biggest pro for me on this course was that it is a huge confidence booster because there are many par 5 holes that could easily be par three. You don't have to be an advanced player to score well at this course. There are some very nice benches beside every hole.
Cons: Many of the tee signs were either heavily vandalized, or had been removed/stolen completely. Some of the stolen signs had been replaced with sheets of paper that said which hole is was and how long. The signs that were still intact and unvandalized though were some of the nicest I've seen. The basket for one of the holes was missing entirely and had been replaced by an orange traffic barrel. One of the baskets has a busy road right behind it, so if you overshoot (like I did), your disc may get hit by a car.
Other Thoughts: I loved this course. It was much more fun than Kentwood and was FAR less crowded. I only saw one other group of players on the course. If you can throw accurately in the woods, you will love this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.