Raleigh, NC 
Cedar Hills Rotary Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
3 / 265ft.   3 / 280ft.   3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Best Course in Raleigh

1    12/15/2009   12/15/2009
Review By: TAKRep
Played: 36  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course had it all: concrete tees, discatcher baskets, elevation, open shots, tight shots, left shots, right shots. It was mostly tightly wooded, but most fairways were legitmate (though hole 17 had you throw through a 4 foot gap between two trees directly in front of the tee). The woods definitely made you regret an errant shot, but did not make it so that you couldn't recover. The biggest pro for me on this course was that it is a huge confidence booster because there are many par 5 holes that could easily be par three. You don't have to be an advanced player to score well at this course. There are some very nice benches beside every hole.
Cons: Many of the tee signs were either heavily vandalized, or had been removed/stolen completely. Some of the stolen signs had been replaced with sheets of paper that said which hole is was and how long. The signs that were still intact and unvandalized though were some of the nicest I've seen. The basket for one of the holes was missing entirely and had been replaced by an orange traffic barrel. One of the baskets has a busy road right behind it, so if you overshoot (like I did), your disc may get hit by a car.
Other Thoughts: I loved this course. It was much more fun than Kentwood and was FAR less crowded. I only saw one other group of players on the course. If you can throw accurately in the woods, you will love this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Average Course

5+    9/7/2009   9/25/2009
Review By: Kiknwitcooper
Played: 42  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 9.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Many good holes it starts out slow but gets tougher as you go along. Many difficult shots from the long pads.
Cons: Wear High socks or long pants, ticks are really bad. If you throw over the water and don't make it, kiss that disc goodbye.
Other Thoughts: Designed by Hall Of Famer Carlton Howard. Lots of Great Disc Golfers started playing Disc Golf here, including Future Hall Of Famer Larry Leonard

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 I like it!

2-4    8/10/2009   9/22/2009
Review By: rhino21
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course has a good mix of shots - short, long, left, right. Multiple tee pads. Pretty easy to navigate. Scenic. Good baskets and tee pads.
Cons: OB in play on some holes. One major water hole. Moderate traffic.
Other Thoughts: If you are not skilled/experienced or do not want to risk losing a disc, then you should not try to throw over the water from the back tees on 7 (?).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Brutal but fun

2-4    6/13/2009   7/13/2009
Review By: laxrulz777
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very challenging
Good length
Very little man made hazard play (i.e. roads, fences, etc.) There are a couple places where this could come into play but it would take a pretty strong, bad throw to make it an issue.
Cons: Occasionally crowded (nowhere near as busy as Kentwood but certainly more than Middle Creek or Zebulon)
A few "random throws through the trees" type holes
Other Thoughts: This is a course that feels a lot longer than it actually is. There are some very long, uphill holes that can be quite difficult. The front nine and back nine very much have their own personality. The front nine is more "typical" with a couple interesting holes (one water hole and one simulated water hole).
The back nine on the other hand really punishes a tired disc golfer. There are 2 or 3 400+ holes including a 450ft uphill left turning hole and another 400+ ft hole that looks like they backed the tee box up just to get an extra 6 feet of elevation change. Definitely a nice course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic Course!

1    4/11/2009   4/29/2009
Review By: zbyrd
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety! Almost completely wooded, but not always shooting through trees. Very challenging in terms of shot selection. Lots of elevation change. Not nearly as busy as Kentwood. Great risk/reward opportunities. There is even a fun hole where you have to throw 220ft over a lake. Not too challenging but it gets your blood pumping, especially if it is your first time throwing over deep water.

Overall this course is excellent because the design is thoughtful and truly challenges your shot selection. Unlike some courses, it never felt as though they just had some land, a bulldozer, eighteen DG baskets, and no idea how to play the sport.
Cons: There are only a couple truly open holes (huge fairway/no woods around) if long bombs are your thing. Like anything in Raleigh, there are a good amount of people relative to non-urban courses.
Other Thoughts: Great course! Go if you get the chance!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 B+ for Bery Bery Nice Tradiitonal Course

2-4    9/21/2005   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 374  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 21.3 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- A
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- B+
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- A
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor...more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage...if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/9/2009   4/9/2009
Review By: CGNecrodice
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very good course.. I've been playing on this course since I started playing and it still presents a challenge to me. Great variety of holes present the opportunity for all kinds of shot. I would definitely recommend playing here
Cons: If you go on a nice day on a weekend the course will most likely be packed. Sometimes you have to wait at each hole to throw but as long as you aren't in a hurry, its not a problem.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great course in the city

5+    3/31/2009   4/1/2009
Review By: kuhlbeans
Played: 50  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 10.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are some excellent reviews on this course already so I'll keep the repetition minimal. Good shot variety, mix of woods and open holes, and fairly well maintained. It's my default quick round course in town because I prefer its hole setup to Kentwood's and it is a lot less crowded.
Cons: I don't like the setup of the water hole. The landing area is small so it's easy to go short or long. Long throw goes into woods, but the landing area slants towards the pond so it is easy for a disc to fall and roll back into the pond. Unlike most courses with water I've played there is no decent "safe" area to throw if you don't want to go over the water. Not a very friendly hole for beginner/intermediate players. Also note the caption for this hole in the photo section, the pond is not one that you want to go into to get your disc back.
Other Thoughts: The last review made a couple of points I'd like to respond to. Some signs are missing or in poor shape and the reviewer wondered about vandalism. This has been a problem at the park before, including having standards stolen. The course itself is well maintained though, so it may just be a funding issue until the signs are replaced (the standard was replaced promptly). The reviewer also points out there are "some baskets parallel to kids play areas." This makes it sound worse than it really is. The first hole has basketball courts to one side and a shelter to the other, but they are both guarded by woods and would take a very short, errant drive through trees to get to either. Tennis courts are close to the pin of 5 and tee of 6 but do not really come into play. The playground is well past the standard of 18 and, again, doesn't come into play. The only one that there is any worry is #11 plays parallel to a baseball field. The hole is a slight dogleg left and the field is to the right, but it is possible to throw over the fences and onto the field with a fairly long straight or right drive that fades too late.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Second Only to Buckhorn DGC...

1    3/21/2009   3/25/2009
Review By: NauticalUrge
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 19.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Different types of challenges on every hole; Maintained pathways, fairways, and baskets; Perfect mixture of woodlands, hills, and valleys; Multiple Tees on some holes (I didn't find all of them); Maintained Concrete Tees; Nice scenery, great for families that love DG.
Cons: Can be muddy even after light rain; Weekends can produce heavy traffic on the course; Mixed Condition Signage; Not all tees have available benches; Caution: Some baskets are parallel to kids play areas.
Other Thoughts: My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the course. The light to moderate wooded landscape provided plenty of shade to play in, but allowed enough light to penetrate the course for perfectly lighted play. The scenery is typical for this type of course, and the elevation changes create a perfect balance to the course, ranging from open flats, to uphill/downhill shots, a few blind fairways, to tight corridor channels.

As with many Disc Golf Courses, Cedar Hills DGC is built into an existing City Park, and nestled in between quiet and serene neighborhoods. Please use caution when playing the course, as some of the fairways parallel baseball and playground areas. On busy days, especially on the weekends, if may become quite dangerous for little kids at the park.


Navigation Tips for Cedar Hills DGC

When you first arrive at Cedar Hills DGC, you'll be coming down Sweetbrier Drive from Millbrook Road. Ignore the brown informational sign that tells you to turn left to get to Cedar Hills Park, and just keep driving down Sweetbrier until it dead ends into the parking lot.

Tee #1 is on the right of the parking lot, nearest the roofed information sign down toward the playground area.

The course is laid out much like Buckhorn DGC in New Hill, NC. So you'll be playing hole after hole while going down a long trail that encircles the entire park.

From what I was able to tell some holes have multiple tees, while others do not. The regular tees are marked with concrete "sun ray" panels (usually used to surround and protect tree roots at local shopping centers and malls). The Pro Tees are indicated by "traditional" concrete tee pads.

Signage is mixed, as it seems that over the years the signs have been weathered down, damaged, vandalized, or completely omitted (theft?).

Hole #11 - Head across the parking lot to the far left corner of the baseball field to find the Tee for Hole #12.

After Hole #18, follow the path to the left toward the kids playground to find the parking lot that you parked in.



Overall, I think that the Cedar Hills Disc Golf Course, locally, is second only to Buckhorn DGC in terms of difficulty, challenge, and elevation utilization. The terrain is well mixed, but with only one water hazard, similar to Hole #17 at Buckhorn DGC. Therefore, the scenery is much more like Cornwallis DGC or Valley Springs DGC in Durham, NC.

There are currently only benches on select tees on the course, and if you are a player which requires plenty of resting areas along the course, this would not be your ideal DGC. You'll also want to bring comfortable shoes that will support your feet on rough terrain, as part of the course require going up and down fairly graded hills.

This is a good beginner to intermediate course, which features a nice mash-up of various challenges. Water hazards and heavy brush and thick thorn bushes provide hazards on select holes. The wide open holes are great for those looking to fully utilize their power drives, while the elevation changes and tight fairways on certain holes will challenge the Technical players.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Technical Course

5+    2/15/2009   3/21/2009
Review By: InfiniteSight
Played: 114  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 12.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course challenges your technical game the entire round. Every hole is different with clear cut routes and some elevation changes. I use my entire arsenal of throws here. At #14's tee pad there is a restroom that has a working water fountain and is open year round. There are benches on most of the holes. The pro tee pads are all concrete and in great shape.
Cons: - The am pads were originally made to wrap around a tree as decoration and have a curve cut into one side of them.
Other Thoughts: Cedar Hills is not beginner friendly due to the level of difficulty. If you are just starting out I recommend going to Kentwood first.

Bug and Tick repellent is a must in the summer.

I like that someone has changed one pin position. (#9) Thank you. If anyone ever needs help changing pin placements please let me know, I would be happy to help.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.