Raleigh, NC 
Cedar Hills Rotary Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 261ft.   3 / 261ft.   3 / 261ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee: Tight, slightly uphill. Throws in the middle are rewarded with a birdie chance.



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
  Excellent course

5+    10/13/2008   10/18/2008
Review By: Infidel
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 25.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very rugged course. Put on your hiking boots and if Summertime, bring water because you'll get a workout. Some very good players developed their game at this course, as it challenges just about every aspect of your game. Tight fairways on just about every hole, risk and reward and placement shots, and lots of elevation changes. Really only one hole (9) lets you "air it out" and that hole has OB on both sides of the fairway! The course flows very well, and although tee signs have seen better days, you can navigate the course by following the foot traffic. Hole 7 is a very cool "over the water" shot, so for advanced and better players, bring a disc you don't care to lose. You'll likely use every disc in your bag, including putter drivers, for tight downhill shots (3 or 4 holes). Lots of memorable shots. Not as buggy as you would expect for a wooded North Carolina course. You'll want to play again.
Cons: Very rugged course. Lots of jagged rocks. DX and less expensive discs will get chewed up. Tee signs have seen better days. Short tee pads are somewhat awkward due to its "art deco" design (good idea-bad idea). If you are used to playing open type courses, this course may frustrate you. Not that it's a unfair course, but to score well, several holes require power AND accuracy. Whack a few trees, and it may seem like the course is "ganging up" on you. I know this feeling well.
Other Thoughts: During the summer, the club hosts the largest disc golf league I've ever heard of (sometimes +100 players), with monstrous ace pools. I recommend playing in the league at least once, but if you're not into that, you may want to avoid the park during that time. Every hole will have six 'em's on it, so you'll do a lot of waiting.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorites

5+    9/24/2008   9/24/2008
Review By: kunipshunfit
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I love this course. Generally speaking it's pretty tight compared to some of the other courses I've played (Valley Springs, UNC etc). There are 2 very tight shots that are a lot of fun to try your hyzers on or to try a nice tunnel shot! This is the course I really use to judge my learning curve. You have shots that will test all aspects of your game. Nice Hyzers (Hole 2,11) Annie's (Hole 8) and some Wide open shots (Hole 9).

Generally speaking the course provides a nice workout and great opportunity to challenge yourself with various window's to place your shots.

The course plays much differently in the fall, Windows open up, but the leaves on the ground can eat your disc's! :)
Cons: The only bad thing's I could say about this course are the AM tee boxes need work, they are the pre-stamped kind that have the nice holes where you can definitely sprain an ankle. Beyond that the Sign's on the holes needs to be better marked.

You can get around the Stamped pads by playing the Pro tee's, and the Sign's would just be nice for first timer's.
Other Thoughts: I'm an AM player, I tend to play everything from the Pro Tee's with a few exceptions (Lake shot and hole's 13 and 18) I find it incredibly fun and challenging at the same time. Just don't go in the lake! :) no bueno there!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good place to play

5+    8/4/2008   8/4/2008
Review By: johnt1969
Played: 166  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 31.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2008
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cedar Hills is a really nice course. With the exception of a couple places on the course most of the distances between pin, tee and fairway are good. This course is mostly in the woods and it will require you to have good accuracy. All of the holes present some kind of challange. Most are gettable in 2 but you have to be able to make the shot. The tee pads for the long tees are in good shape but pads for the short tees are bad. There are tee signs on the holes but most have been vandalized or completely destroyed. The entire course is easy to navigate though.
Cons: The tee signs need to be replaced. The tee pads for the short tees are really bad. They're precast concrete grates with slots in them that you're feet can occasionally get stuck in. There's a couple places where you could get hit by discs because pins and tee pads are too close together (Hole 1&2 comes to mind). The course is in a multi use park and even though it is mostly by itself there is always someone walking through it. There is also a baseball field that comes in to play.

The park itself is known to be not the safest place in Raleigh. Last year there was a dead guy found on the disc golf course and there are often fights on the basketball courts that are to the left of hole 1. With that in mind it's probably not the best place to leave your bag on the tee while you go scout the shot. But it's not so bad that I have ever felt uncomfortable playing there.
Other Thoughts: The course design here is solid and it's a fun place to play. It's definitely worth stopping at if you're coming through town. There's also a very popular random draw doubles event every tuesday in the summer.

A comment regarding my evaluation of courses. I am not trying to insult or hurt any ones feelings when I review a course. I'm just trying to evaluate the course on what I feel are important characteristics of a good course. Disc golf has become a large enough sport that I feel we should strive for better than we have now. Just putting 18 holes in a park isn't enough. 18 pole holes does not make a disc golf course. It requires tee's, signs, maps, solid course design and constant maintenance. Any less than that and we will never advance the sport to a reputable level.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, but could be maintained better.

3/29/2008   3/29/2008
Review By: jaysonwhelpley
Played: 41  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Decent marking or easy to figure out, the first five holes are well marked with a map and descriptions, but the signage is spotty after crossing the road. Moderately challenging holes due to trees and elevations. Easy to get around and get to. Facilities available, etc.
Cons: Signage could be better on holes after the 5th hole.

The layout of the hole near the lake is not good at all; if someone isn't confident in throwing over a contaminated lake it's crappy to have to throw all the way around it.
Other Thoughts: Any other complaints are completely personal and had to do with the cold rain combined with the sand on some of the holes.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Rotary Park

5/10/2004   9/24/2007
Review By: doubled23
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Lots of angles and multiple fairways. Big water hazard and good use of elevation up and down.
Cons: A few holes in the front 9 are very short.
Other Thoughts: I proposed on the 6th tee of this course! There's a large playground for kids, basketball and tennis courts and nice bathroom facilities.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.