Disc Golf Store
Raleigh, NC 
Cedar Hills Rotary Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16
3 / 260ft.   3 / 275ft.   3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee: Swamp hole, Don't go left, creek is OB. Don't go short right.Just throw it perfect, OK?



Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
 Old school

5+    3/28/2007   2/17/2009
Review By: craigg
Played: 183  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 33.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've seen this course in probably 4 or 5 different configurations since about 1987 when I first started playing tournaments.
The property occupies a hilly, wooded plot in a community park. There are other facilities, including a BBall court, Tennis Courts, a tot lot, and a baseball field, and the course weaves around them all without ever bringing any of them into play. From that standpoint - the course has always made very good use of the land available. There is a pond that comes into play on one hole (hole 7 I believe), and there is a creek that has the potential to come into play on a few holes, but it's rarely a concern.
There is a nice variety of shots required here - and for a long time, this was the toughest course in Raleigh. It's length is not really severe enough to keep up with disc technology - and as such - it has been relegated to local league play, and smaller events.
With control and accuracy at a premium, high tech plastic only goes so far on this course.
Cedar Hills is a great place to teach new players, and has other great amenities for regular play. It's located pretty conveniently (just a little outside the "beltline"), there are bathrooms, picnic tables, and plenty of parking.
Cons: The teepads are (mostly) made of old tree surround paver blocks - which drain well, but are a little small, and a little uneven. The newer teepads are poured in place concrete and are better than the old ones. The site seems to suffer from strong storms - as both hurricanes and ice storms have trashed the course multiple times - requiring relocation and re-design (funny though - every time it happens - the course gets better!)
Other Thoughts: Being in the woods - makes the course a nice shady walk. The hills are mild, so while they offer some challenge to some of the shots - they don't create a difficult walk. This is a course I've travelled to many times, so it's a little sad that it's no longer considered good enough to host the areas top events. But that's ok - it just means there's a quality place for the locals to play when the big event comes to town.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course...nasty pond...

5+    1/12/2009   1/12/2009
Review By: tomschillin
Played: 147  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 19.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/13/2009
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course winds around a couple of softball fields, a basketball course, 2 tennis courts, and a nice new playground. It's got a great variety of up and down, left and right shots, and plenty of trees throughout...in fact there are really only 2 holes that are open (#9 & 11)...the first 4 holes weave amongst themselves and all 4 are birdieable, with the second being the most difficult, it's a long slight left with about a 20 foot drop in elevation...it's a great shot if you can keep your Buzz on the right edge of the tree line and let it fade left. After #4 you walk across the entrance road to #5 which is a moderately long up-hill that plays next to some tennis courts. #6 & #7 are both ace runs, with #7 having one of the nastiest lakes around, i won't even let my dog swim in it. #10 from the white tees is one of my favorites, a nice little down hill with trees tight on both sides, it's a beautiful little tunnel shot...#12 is another nice hole, slight downhill, straight, lots of trees. #14-#16 are the best 3 holes in a row on the course, all 3 are makeable in 2, but all 3 are also easy to bogey.

There are benches on most holes, trash cans on a few, nice restrooms in the middle of the park that are easy to get to from most holes.
Cons: Nasty pond on hole 7...

The tee signs are crappy, only because they've been vandalized to no end...and the short tee pads are recycled cement pavers, and while I'm all for recycling, these things are unsafe and very easy to twist an ankle on.
Other Thoughts: I just don't understand why it is that a course designer would put the toughest hole on the course at the very end...it's very frustrating and kind of disheartening to get into the last hole at even or better, only to double bogey the last hole and finish over par...it drives me crazy...but i do like this course, other than the last hole...

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 3.75

2-4    12/2/2008   12/22/2008
Review By: kerplunk
Played: 31  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.8 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I would give this course a 3.75 if possible. Pretty good mix of shots, has more long holes than other courses I've played in the Triangle (for big arms). Pretty easy to figure out, although signs directing you to the next tee would be helpful in many cases. Water shot is fun without being too risky (I only throw ~225 -250 and if I don't psyche out I get over with no problem)
Cons: In my opinion, this course seems to favor long, straight shots over "technical" shots (especially from the non ankle breaking tees), although there are obviously some exceptions, and I am biased by my short throw. This course does not offer the great scenery of some of the other Triangle courses- I like views of lakes and woods way more than backyards. Signs to lead you to the next tee would be helpful in some places.
Other Thoughts: This course is great, but I like Buckhorn, Valley Springs, UNC, and Wellspring/Cedarock more, for various reasons. In general, I just find this course a little bit boring compared to others.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Excellent course

5+    10/13/2008   10/18/2008
Review By: Infidel
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 25.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very rugged course. Put on your hiking boots and if Summertime, bring water because you'll get a workout. Some very good players developed their game at this course, as it challenges just about every aspect of your game. Tight fairways on just about every hole, risk and reward and placement shots, and lots of elevation changes. Really only one hole (9) lets you "air it out" and that hole has OB on both sides of the fairway! The course flows very well, and although tee signs have seen better days, you can navigate the course by following the foot traffic. Hole 7 is a very cool "over the water" shot, so for advanced and better players, bring a disc you don't care to lose. You'll likely use every disc in your bag, including putter drivers, for tight downhill shots (3 or 4 holes). Lots of memorable shots. Not as buggy as you would expect for a wooded North Carolina course. You'll want to play again.
Cons: Very rugged course. Lots of jagged rocks. DX and less expensive discs will get chewed up. Tee signs have seen better days. Short tee pads are somewhat awkward due to its "art deco" design (good idea-bad idea). If you are used to playing open type courses, this course may frustrate you. Not that it's a unfair course, but to score well, several holes require power AND accuracy. Whack a few trees, and it may seem like the course is "ganging up" on you. I know this feeling well.
Other Thoughts: During the summer, the club hosts the largest disc golf league I've ever heard of (sometimes +100 players), with monstrous ace pools. I recommend playing in the league at least once, but if you're not into that, you may want to avoid the park during that time. Every hole will have six 'em's on it, so you'll do a lot of waiting.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorites

5+    9/24/2008   9/24/2008
Review By: kunipshunfit
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I love this course. Generally speaking it's pretty tight compared to some of the other courses I've played (Valley Springs, UNC etc). There are 2 very tight shots that are a lot of fun to try your hyzers on or to try a nice tunnel shot! This is the course I really use to judge my learning curve. You have shots that will test all aspects of your game. Nice Hyzers (Hole 2,11) Annie's (Hole 8) and some Wide open shots (Hole 9).

Generally speaking the course provides a nice workout and great opportunity to challenge yourself with various window's to place your shots.

The course plays much differently in the fall, Windows open up, but the leaves on the ground can eat your disc's! :)
Cons: The only bad thing's I could say about this course are the AM tee boxes need work, they are the pre-stamped kind that have the nice holes where you can definitely sprain an ankle. Beyond that the Sign's on the holes needs to be better marked.

You can get around the Stamped pads by playing the Pro tee's, and the Sign's would just be nice for first timer's.
Other Thoughts: I'm an AM player, I tend to play everything from the Pro Tee's with a few exceptions (Lake shot and hole's 13 and 18) I find it incredibly fun and challenging at the same time. Just don't go in the lake! :) no bueno there!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good place to play

5+    8/4/2008   8/4/2008
Review By: johnt1969
Played: 166  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 31.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2008
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cedar Hills is a really nice course. With the exception of a couple places on the course most of the distances between pin, tee and fairway are good. This course is mostly in the woods and it will require you to have good accuracy. All of the holes present some kind of challange. Most are gettable in 2 but you have to be able to make the shot. The tee pads for the long tees are in good shape but pads for the short tees are bad. There are tee signs on the holes but most have been vandalized or completely destroyed. The entire course is easy to navigate though.
Cons: The tee signs need to be replaced. The tee pads for the short tees are really bad. They're precast concrete grates with slots in them that you're feet can occasionally get stuck in. There's a couple places where you could get hit by discs because pins and tee pads are too close together (Hole 1&2 comes to mind). The course is in a multi use park and even though it is mostly by itself there is always someone walking through it. There is also a baseball field that comes in to play.

The park itself is known to be not the safest place in Raleigh. Last year there was a dead guy found on the disc golf course and there are often fights on the basketball courts that are to the left of hole 1. With that in mind it's probably not the best place to leave your bag on the tee while you go scout the shot. But it's not so bad that I have ever felt uncomfortable playing there.
Other Thoughts: The course design here is solid and it's a fun place to play. It's definitely worth stopping at if you're coming through town. There's also a very popular random draw doubles event every tuesday in the summer.

A comment regarding my evaluation of courses. I am not trying to insult or hurt any ones feelings when I review a course. I'm just trying to evaluate the course on what I feel are important characteristics of a good course. Disc golf has become a large enough sport that I feel we should strive for better than we have now. Just putting 18 holes in a park isn't enough. 18 pole holes does not make a disc golf course. It requires tee's, signs, maps, solid course design and constant maintenance. Any less than that and we will never advance the sport to a reputable level.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, but could be maintained better.

3/29/2008   3/29/2008
Review By: jaysonwhelpley
Played: 41  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Decent marking or easy to figure out, the first five holes are well marked with a map and descriptions, but the signage is spotty after crossing the road. Moderately challenging holes due to trees and elevations. Easy to get around and get to. Facilities available, etc.
Cons: Signage could be better on holes after the 5th hole.

The layout of the hole near the lake is not good at all; if someone isn't confident in throwing over a contaminated lake it's crappy to have to throw all the way around it.
Other Thoughts: Any other complaints are completely personal and had to do with the cold rain combined with the sand on some of the holes.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Rotary Park

5/10/2004   9/24/2007
Review By: doubled23
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Lots of angles and multiple fairways. Big water hazard and good use of elevation up and down.
Cons: A few holes in the front 9 are very short.
Other Thoughts: I proposed on the 6th tee of this course! There's a large playground for kids, basketball and tennis courts and nice bathroom facilities.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.