Raleigh, NC 
Cedar Hills Rotary Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
3 / 380ft.   4 / 450ft.   4 / 450ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Brutal but fun

2-4    6/13/2009   7/13/2009
Review By: laxrulz777
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very challenging
Good length
Very little man made hazard play (i.e. roads, fences, etc.) There are a couple places where this could come into play but it would take a pretty strong, bad throw to make it an issue.
Cons: Occasionally crowded (nowhere near as busy as Kentwood but certainly more than Middle Creek or Zebulon)
A few "random throws through the trees" type holes
Other Thoughts: This is a course that feels a lot longer than it actually is. There are some very long, uphill holes that can be quite difficult. The front nine and back nine very much have their own personality. The front nine is more "typical" with a couple interesting holes (one water hole and one simulated water hole).
The back nine on the other hand really punishes a tired disc golfer. There are 2 or 3 400+ holes including a 450ft uphill left turning hole and another 400+ ft hole that looks like they backed the tee box up just to get an extra 6 feet of elevation change. Definitely a nice course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic Course!

1    4/11/2009   4/29/2009
Review By: zbyrd
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety! Almost completely wooded, but not always shooting through trees. Very challenging in terms of shot selection. Lots of elevation change. Not nearly as busy as Kentwood. Great risk/reward opportunities. There is even a fun hole where you have to throw 220ft over a lake. Not too challenging but it gets your blood pumping, especially if it is your first time throwing over deep water.

Overall this course is excellent because the design is thoughtful and truly challenges your shot selection. Unlike some courses, it never felt as though they just had some land, a bulldozer, eighteen DG baskets, and no idea how to play the sport.
Cons: There are only a couple truly open holes (huge fairway/no woods around) if long bombs are your thing. Like anything in Raleigh, there are a good amount of people relative to non-urban courses.
Other Thoughts: Great course! Go if you get the chance!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 B+ for Bery Bery Nice Tradiitonal Course

2-4    9/21/2005   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.4 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- A
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- B+
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- A
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor…more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/9/2009   4/9/2009
Review By: CGNecrodice
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very good course.. I've been playing on this course since I started playing and it still presents a challenge to me. Great variety of holes present the opportunity for all kinds of shot. I would definitely recommend playing here
Cons: If you go on a nice day on a weekend the course will most likely be packed. Sometimes you have to wait at each hole to throw but as long as you aren't in a hurry, its not a problem.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great course in the city

5+    3/31/2009   4/1/2009
Review By: kuhlbeans
Played: 48  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 9.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are some excellent reviews on this course already so I'll keep the repetition minimal. Good shot variety, mix of woods and open holes, and fairly well maintained. It's my default quick round course in town because I prefer its hole setup to Kentwood's and it is a lot less crowded.
Cons: I don't like the setup of the water hole. The landing area is small so it's easy to go short or long. Long throw goes into woods, but the landing area slants towards the pond so it is easy for a disc to fall and roll back into the pond. Unlike most courses with water I've played there is no decent "safe" area to throw if you don't want to go over the water. Not a very friendly hole for beginner/intermediate players. Also note the caption for this hole in the photo section, the pond is not one that you want to go into to get your disc back.
Other Thoughts: The last review made a couple of points I'd like to respond to. Some signs are missing or in poor shape and the reviewer wondered about vandalism. This has been a problem at the park before, including having standards stolen. The course itself is well maintained though, so it may just be a funding issue until the signs are replaced (the standard was replaced promptly). The reviewer also points out there are "some baskets parallel to kids play areas." This makes it sound worse than it really is. The first hole has basketball courts to one side and a shelter to the other, but they are both guarded by woods and would take a very short, errant drive through trees to get to either. Tennis courts are close to the pin of 5 and tee of 6 but do not really come into play. The playground is well past the standard of 18 and, again, doesn't come into play. The only one that there is any worry is #11 plays parallel to a baseball field. The hole is a slight dogleg left and the field is to the right, but it is possible to throw over the fences and onto the field with a fairly long straight or right drive that fades too late.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Second Only to Buckhorn DGC...

1    3/21/2009   3/25/2009
Review By: NauticalUrge
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 18.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Different types of challenges on every hole; Maintained pathways, fairways, and baskets; Perfect mixture of woodlands, hills, and valleys; Multiple Tees on some holes (I didn't find all of them); Maintained Concrete Tees; Nice scenery, great for families that love DG.
Cons: Can be muddy even after light rain; Weekends can produce heavy traffic on the course; Mixed Condition Signage; Not all tees have available benches; Caution: Some baskets are parallel to kids play areas.
Other Thoughts: My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the course. The light to moderate wooded landscape provided plenty of shade to play in, but allowed enough light to penetrate the course for perfectly lighted play. The scenery is typical for this type of course, and the elevation changes create a perfect balance to the course, ranging from open flats, to uphill/downhill shots, a few blind fairways, to tight corridor channels.

As with many Disc Golf Courses, Cedar Hills DGC is built into an existing City Park, and nestled in between quiet and serene neighborhoods. Please use caution when playing the course, as some of the fairways parallel baseball and playground areas. On busy days, especially on the weekends, if may become quite dangerous for little kids at the park.


Navigation Tips for Cedar Hills DGC

When you first arrive at Cedar Hills DGC, you'll be coming down Sweetbrier Drive from Millbrook Road. Ignore the brown informational sign that tells you to turn left to get to Cedar Hills Park, and just keep driving down Sweetbrier until it dead ends into the parking lot.

Tee #1 is on the right of the parking lot, nearest the roofed information sign down toward the playground area.

The course is laid out much like Buckhorn DGC in New Hill, NC. So you'll be playing hole after hole while going down a long trail that encircles the entire park.

From what I was able to tell some holes have multiple tees, while others do not. The regular tees are marked with concrete "sun ray" panels (usually used to surround and protect tree roots at local shopping centers and malls). The Pro Tees are indicated by "traditional" concrete tee pads.

Signage is mixed, as it seems that over the years the signs have been weathered down, damaged, vandalized, or completely omitted (theft?).

Hole #11 - Head across the parking lot to the far left corner of the baseball field to find the Tee for Hole #12.

After Hole #18, follow the path to the left toward the kids playground to find the parking lot that you parked in.



Overall, I think that the Cedar Hills Disc Golf Course, locally, is second only to Buckhorn DGC in terms of difficulty, challenge, and elevation utilization. The terrain is well mixed, but with only one water hazard, similar to Hole #17 at Buckhorn DGC. Therefore, the scenery is much more like Cornwallis DGC or Valley Springs DGC in Durham, NC.

There are currently only benches on select tees on the course, and if you are a player which requires plenty of resting areas along the course, this would not be your ideal DGC. You'll also want to bring comfortable shoes that will support your feet on rough terrain, as part of the course require going up and down fairly graded hills.

This is a good beginner to intermediate course, which features a nice mash-up of various challenges. Water hazards and heavy brush and thick thorn bushes provide hazards on select holes. The wide open holes are great for those looking to fully utilize their power drives, while the elevation changes and tight fairways on certain holes will challenge the Technical players.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Technical Course

5+    2/15/2009   3/21/2009
Review By: InfiniteSight
Played: 113  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course challenges your technical game the entire round. Every hole is different with clear cut routes and some elevation changes. I use my entire arsenal of throws here. At #14's tee pad there is a restroom that has a working water fountain and is open year round. There are benches on most of the holes. The pro tee pads are all concrete and in great shape.
Cons: - The am pads were originally made to wrap around a tree as decoration and have a curve cut into one side of them.
Other Thoughts: Cedar Hills is not beginner friendly due to the level of difficulty. If you are just starting out I recommend going to Kentwood first.

Bug and Tick repellent is a must in the summer.

I like that someone has changed one pin position. (#9) Thank you. If anyone ever needs help changing pin placements please let me know, I would be happy to help.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My Home Course

5+    8/26/2009   3/12/2009
Review By: jab7575
Played: 95  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2009
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well maintained course. Clean with minimal debris or litter
-Overall easy to navigate from hole to hole
-Pro & Am tee boxes on holes 7, 8, 10, 12, 13, 15, 16, & 18
-Alternate basket locations on several holes. Holes 6, 9 & 16 are changed most often but infrequently. Basket positions are occasionally switched from two possible locations on each of the aforementioned holes
-Some variety of short and long holes. Although not the longest course in the area there are some holes where a big arm is very beneficial. Holes 13 & 18 in particular.
-Hole 7 offers water hazard. Fun hole to play from Pro or Am pads. You must throw over pond with basket resting approximately 15-20 feet past water line. Straight shot from Am pad. Anhyzer from the Pros (RHBH)
-Able to throw different shots. Anhyzer, hyzer, tomahawk, thumber, etc...
-Good vibe from the locals
-Bathrooms & water fountain available at hole 14 which is easily accesible from hole 1 up the wooden walk way to right of playground
-Ample parking and two parking lots. One at hole #1 and second at #12
-Benches throughout the course located at tee boxes. Hole 13 Pro pad has more than ample seating. Hole 15 boasts the most spacious bench & features bag rack. Several 3-4 person benches throughout course
-Park also offers tennis/basketball courts, playground, & baseball/softball field.
-Tournaments at this course are frequent especially in the Summer. Weekly doubles, monthlies, PDGA events, etc...
Cons: -Can get crowded at times but not a serious problem. If waiting on hole 1 be polite and let the group at #2 tee off.
-Some tee boxes could be replaced but not an overall issue. Some of the Am boxes are old concrete decorative tree surrounds. Although functional they will make you a bit weary as there are decrorative cut outs in the concrete.
-Some tee signs need to be replaced. Most are stll very legible. One or two of the signs have faded signficantly and are no longer beneficial. Aesthetically new signs would be an improvement
Other Thoughts: This is my home course. Fortunately I live only a couple of minutes from hole 1. Cedar Hills is a fun course that offers quite a challenge. A great round can quickly be tarnished on this course.. Holes 2, 13, & 18 can add unwanted strokes very quickly if you are not careful.
-From basket at hole #4 follow path to right of basket. Crossing parking lot road to #5 tee box
-After finishing hole #6 you will see #7 Am pad. To get to Pro pad simply walk past Am pad and turn right. There is a path to the Pro pad behind Am tee box and bench. It is easily overlooked as #6 basket is past the path.
-From water hazard basket #7 follow path to the left of basket. Follow path to the right and follow to hole 8 tee boxes
-After putting out at basket #8 follow to right of basket into open. You will see basket 9 to left. Go right.
Tee boxes for hole 10 are to right of #9 basket across parking lot street.
-After 10 follow path to the right
-Tee box for hole 12 is to right of basket just past corner of parking lot.
-Head left of basket 13 towards bathrooms to arrive at hole 14 tee box
-From basket #16 stay on hill and follow paths to right. You kind of go back the direction you came in but you stay on top of hill. The path splits in 3 directions. All 3 paths lead to hole 17 tee box.
-From #17 there are two paths to the right of the basket. The path directly to right of basket leads to Am pad. Turn right before arriving to Am pad to get to Pro pad. You can also take alternate path approximately 50ft prior to the basket. Path is also to the right and leads to Pro pad.
Great course! Go play some disc golf!!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Old school

5+    3/28/2007   2/17/2009
Review By: craigg
Played: 183  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 33.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've seen this course in probably 4 or 5 different configurations since about 1987 when I first started playing tournaments.
The property occupies a hilly, wooded plot in a community park. There are other facilities, including a BBall court, Tennis Courts, a tot lot, and a baseball field, and the course weaves around them all without ever bringing any of them into play. From that standpoint - the course has always made very good use of the land available. There is a pond that comes into play on one hole (hole 7 I believe), and there is a creek that has the potential to come into play on a few holes, but it's rarely a concern.
There is a nice variety of shots required here - and for a long time, this was the toughest course in Raleigh. It's length is not really severe enough to keep up with disc technology - and as such - it has been relegated to local league play, and smaller events.
With control and accuracy at a premium, high tech plastic only goes so far on this course.
Cedar Hills is a great place to teach new players, and has other great amenities for regular play. It's located pretty conveniently (just a little outside the "beltline"), there are bathrooms, picnic tables, and plenty of parking.
Cons: The teepads are (mostly) made of old tree surround paver blocks - which drain well, but are a little small, and a little uneven. The newer teepads are poured in place concrete and are better than the old ones. The site seems to suffer from strong storms - as both hurricanes and ice storms have trashed the course multiple times - requiring relocation and re-design (funny though - every time it happens - the course gets better!)
Other Thoughts: Being in the woods - makes the course a nice shady walk. The hills are mild, so while they offer some challenge to some of the shots - they don't create a difficult walk. This is a course I've travelled to many times, so it's a little sad that it's no longer considered good enough to host the areas top events. But that's ok - it just means there's a quality place for the locals to play when the big event comes to town.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course...nasty pond...

5+    1/12/2009   1/12/2009
Review By: tomschillin
Played: 145  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 19.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/13/2009
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course winds around a couple of softball fields, a basketball course, 2 tennis courts, and a nice new playground. It's got a great variety of up and down, left and right shots, and plenty of trees throughout...in fact there are really only 2 holes that are open (#9 & 11)...the first 4 holes weave amongst themselves and all 4 are birdieable, with the second being the most difficult, it's a long slight left with about a 20 foot drop in elevation...it's a great shot if you can keep your Buzz on the right edge of the tree line and let it fade left. After #4 you walk across the entrance road to #5 which is a moderately long up-hill that plays next to some tennis courts. #6 & #7 are both ace runs, with #7 having one of the nastiest lakes around, i won't even let my dog swim in it. #10 from the white tees is one of my favorites, a nice little down hill with trees tight on both sides, it's a beautiful little tunnel shot...#12 is another nice hole, slight downhill, straight, lots of trees. #14-#16 are the best 3 holes in a row on the course, all 3 are makeable in 2, but all 3 are also easy to bogey.

There are benches on most holes, trash cans on a few, nice restrooms in the middle of the park that are easy to get to from most holes.
Cons: Nasty pond on hole 7...

The tee signs are crappy, only because they've been vandalized to no end...and the short tee pads are recycled cement pavers, and while I'm all for recycling, these things are unsafe and very easy to twist an ankle on.
Other Thoughts: I just don't understand why it is that a course designer would put the toughest hole on the course at the very end...it's very frustrating and kind of disheartening to get into the last hole at even or better, only to double bogey the last hole and finish over par...it drives me crazy...but i do like this course, other than the last hole...

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.