Moorhead, MN 
Riverfront Park Share



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Potential

1    7/9/2014   7/14/2014
Review By: TEDIUM
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 1.1 Years
Pros: Never crowded
A nice step up in difficulty from Woodlawn
Scenic
GREAT uses of elevation, especially considering the area.
Diverse types of shots
Cons: Practice basket at tee 1 was missing. (All other baskets were still there, so course is still playable)
Almost all signage is missing, on most holes you're looking for a bent metal pole in the grass.
Some tees seem to be permanently buried under all the river muck, a few just had a 2x4 stuck in the ground to mark the end of the tee.
Lots of flood muck and debris.
Mosquitoes were absolutely brutal.
Other Thoughts: Ok, so first off, when I played this course it was only about a week or so after a flood, so the roadway to the park was still closed, but we parked at Usher's House and just walked in. I agree with pretty much everyone else on here, why in the world did they only make 13 holes? Anyway, the fairways were all mowed, although baskets for holes 8 and 10 are actually on the side of a hill where they can't mow, so even retrieving your disc can be a challenge. Oh, and be careful teeing off on 12, you're RIGHT by the river; I lost my DX Hydra due to griplock, and since the Hydra floats I got to see my disc get swept away by the strong river current. Overall, it is a fun course, and one I definitely plan to return to, just for those few unique quirks, but make no mistake, this course is in ROUGH shape. As any Moorhead local will tell you, even the roads around here are kinda busted, so I don't see the city fixing this park anytime soon. We need to get together a local tournament or something to get this course back up to it's former glory.


1    4/14/2012   11/1/2012
Review By: frolfer97
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18
Pros: -Right across the bridge from Oak Grove so you can play both in one trip
-Nice elevation changes for a Fargo-Moorhead course
Cons: -Very primative course, lots of open dirt fields and brushy areas
-No signage which can make finding the next tee box hard at times
-Basket was missing on one hole, another frolfer told me that it had been stolen
Other Thoughts: This course is still in the development stage. It only has 13 holes? Kind of a strange # but there is definitely room for a full 18 hole course here.

New course, good potential

5+    9/11/2012   9/16/2012
Review By: Anon
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 15.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2013
Pros: - Great design with tons of potential
- Completely uncrowded park
- Challenging distance on almost every hole
- Surprising amount of elevation for a Fargo/Moorhead course
Cons: - Only 13 holes
- River in play on 2-3 holes
- Layout is a bit challenging the first time around, once you have it down it makes sense.
Other Thoughts: Riverfront/Davy is the newest addition to the FM disc golf scene and what an addition it is. Very challenging distance and pin placement on many holes favoring anhyzer shots if you are a right-handed backhand thrower. The distance on these holes feels HUGE compared to other FM courses. A tournament earlier this year resulted in an amazing clean-up job and the park looks better than ever. Hardly any brush to lose your disc in.

Hole 3 rewards a big anhyzer shot that could put a disc in the river if your disc ends up hyzer fading at the end. Hole 12 is a huge hyzer shot that goes right out over the river. The shot is easy enough, the the fact that you are throwing out over water definitely adds a psychological challenge.

I PRAY that whomever designed this gets the funds to add another 5 holes. Having another 18 across the river from Oak Grove (with a walking bridge connecting the parks) would be amazing. There is definitely space to add more holes. 13 just seems like an odd number to settle on.

 

2-4    9/25/2010   6/26/2012
Review By: Mincus14
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice variety and a little more challenging than Oak Grove. The course makes good use of the space its in. Also Oak Grove is conveniently just right across the bridge.
Cons: 13 holes?
Other Thoughts: Easy to play a round here and then a round at Oak Grove.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/18/2010   11/18/2010
Review By: Cradical
Played: 107  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 7.1 Years
Pros: The course has a large amount of change in elevation on a few holes. There is a good mix of wooded and open holes, with a good mix of distances as well. There are a number of fast greens where baskets are on hills, and rollaways could put you ob. The red river comes into play on a few holes, but most of the time it's far enough away you won't be troubled by it.
Hole 10's tee pad is right across the bridge from oak grove, near hole 14. This allows you to play both courses easily in the same round.
This course is usually not crowded as not too many people know about it, plus it's harder than the other courses in the area.
The course has Joey's "frolfware" baskets which are possibly the best catching baskets around.
Signs have been installed at each tee now, and the fairways are all well manicured.
Cons: There's only 13 holes for now, but there is room for expanding and all we are waiting for is funds from Moorhead.
Another big con about this course is that it is right along the red river, so every time it floods, it becomes unplayable for a long period of time.
There are no permanent tee pads at this point.
Other Thoughts: There is no restroom in the area, nor are there garbage cans near many of the holes. The layout makes sense after you play it a few times.
This course has much room for improvement in the future, but it's a great start for more challenging disc golf in the area.

 a little early...

1    6/20/2010   6/21/2010
Review By: CaptainAwesome
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Marked for permanent tees
-Great elevation changes
-Good mix of wooded and unwooded areas
-Present but avoidable water hazards
Cons: -Not finished yet, so you end up in some thick brush on 2 early holes
-2 baskets are on an elevated terrace; a miss = in the weeds
-Hard to navigate without a map (**does anyone have a picture of it or know where it is???**)
Other Thoughts: I played this course after notification on this site from Cradical of its existence. I had never actually been to the park before, so I did some walking to find it- but I wasn't disappointed. I had to ask someone where hole #1 was... I should have asked where the map was instead. I threw where I thought I should, and was very happy with the course the way that I played it. It offers oppurtunities to try out a variety of throws, and the fact that it is right next to Oak Grove makes it that much better. There are some high hills, a number of trees on a few holes, and the river comes into play on 3-4 occasions. When it's complete, I imagine that I'll be spending quite a bit of time there.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.