Rolla, MO 
Lion's Club DGC Share
Uploaded By: fairweather_fan Hole #16 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 284ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Narrow Passage

1    9/19/2014   9/23/2014
Review By: jjp016
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Provides the opportunity to practice many different shot types. Nice, long tee pads. Fairly easy to navigate.
Cons: Not much opportunity for alternate routes to the basket. You have one narrow path cut into the trees and you have to hit that line.
Other Thoughts: Very good technical course. Very densely wooded. You will be breaking in some discs.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Sunday Play

1    8/31/2014   8/31/2014
Review By: Pbody66
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice layout. I have played many nice courses and this one surprised me given the location. I have driven by it many times but given that you see several baskets in a field next to a park you think "Wide open". Not the case at all. The course only had one hole that threw me as far as directions and that was number two. After you finish hole one just turn to the right and walk out into the field to the tee box and throw to the cut area behind hole one. Other than that it is very well marked, mapped, and has indicators for the current hole location.
Great mix of holes. Challenging with some par fours that are par fours and not just stretched out par threes. You can air it out on several holes that break into or out of the woods into the fields but mostly a placement course. Fair and balanced.
Cons: A map at the beginning showing the overall course layout would have been great. Not much else.
Other Thoughts: I played 12 holes and on the thirteenth tee met a group of three crossing to playing 5 or 6 and was asked to join for doubles. Having not played in a year I agreed to get in more work. Great guys and turned out they were regulars and one was the prez of the local DG club. Had a great time and was really impressed with the course. Back is killing me right now but what a way to get back into the swing err throw of things. Again very impressed with this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Rolla's Prime

5+    8/3/2013   8/27/2013
Review By: Semlly
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2014
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Full 18 with a mix of wooded and some clearings. Solid layout and signs that help if you haven't played there before. Multiple basket locations, and a nice mix of length and finesse.
Cons: Some holes seem to be the same layout, being straight and having the basket in the woods off the straightaway.
Other Thoughts: It's definitely a fun course and has everything that you could want to work on for improving or enjoying the game.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Home Course #2

5+    6/19/2013   6/26/2013
Review By: jjacobs445
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - course on well-maintained and exclusive area of park, no traffic with non-players
- very well designed with a few wide open field holes and many tight woods holes
- challenging and technical
- multiple pin positions
- tee signage is very clear with pin positions, par info, distance, and hole layout
- concrete tees
- practice basket with distance markers
Cons: - lack of trashcans leads to a fair amount of trash on course
- dense woods and underbrush make losing discs very easy without a spotter
- pine trees lead to lots of stuck discs and penalties
- can get muddy in places after a rain
- ticks
Other Thoughts: this course lends itself to skill shots and high risk/high reward type situations such as the big hyzer spikes on #2, #12, and #14. holes #13 and #17 require a very straight drive or else you are stuck deep in the trees. a beat in midrange will be your best friend here, as a lot of the holes feature ~200' shots with the basket just off to the right. holes #9, #10, #15, #17, and #18 really allow you to bomb some huge drives, provided you make it out of the woods.

i play this course usually at least three times a week if not more. it's a lot of fun and very technical, so not the most beginner friendly but not that intimidating either. if a few more trashcans are put on the course and not placed in obscure spots, i think the trash problem will subside considerably.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Chalenging, but good!

1    9/25/2012   3/25/2013
Review By: nealyb
Played: 19  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great baskets and tees, long, challenging, lots of tree cover, tight fairways, well thought out, and great flow!
Cons: Tough, I don't know that that really counts as a Con. I have no really complaints about anything.
Other Thoughts: One of the toughest courses I've ever played. Most of it is in the trees, which means the wind is less of an issue. It takes a pretty long time to play, but it's worth it!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Odd mix

1    12/22/2012   1/10/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large park and doesn't seem to have many conflicts with non-disc uses. Many of the holes play through a wooded area, with shorter but dense trees. A few shots tempt you with up and over routes, but the trees are plenty dense to catch and punish a missed line. The wooded shots offer some nice tight lines and a mix of left and right turning holes. Missing the fairway often leaves some room for creative recoveries but can easily lead to bogies or worse.

The rest of the course plays in open rolling fields. There are really minor elevation changes but overall it feels fairly flat. This part of the course offers some longer shots, with some chances to really air out some long drives.

The alternate pin positions change up some of the holes quite a bit, and at least change many of them slightly. The signage is solid, with hole layout and distance. The concrete tees are a good size and have good grip. Navigation is easy here, with signage as needed and well defined paths.
Cons: The course gets a bit repetitive at times, with lots of short wooded holes about the same length, and some wide open long holes that also feel pretty similar. It felt like there was opportunity to be more creative with the wooded holes and mix up the lengths and hole shapes more. I also would have enjoyed the open holes more if they were more into or out of the woods rather than being wide open with no obstacles.

I wish the pin placements were more consistently marked on the signs, it's always a little annoying to have good signs and to still have to walk the hole to see where the basket is. There are holes in the tee signs with bolts, but a couple were missing and a couple others were in the wrong spot when I played.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course challenging but approachable. It can be a little punishing for less accurate throwers, but it's not a course that's going to eat discs. More experienced players will find some nice challenges and tricky lines to hit, though there's not quite enough variety to make it a top level course. This is a fun layout, and worth a stop if you're in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

College Town DG

1    3/19/2011   12/26/2012
Review By: smokey102977
Played: 22  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.8 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: A decent mix of open and tight fairways with some really tight greens. Close to UMR.
Cons: Blind holes, low ceiling, poor parking location.
Other Thoughts: I only played it once but really didn't get much out of it and it was still under construction.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Get your kicks...

5+    12/11/2012   12/11/2012
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 130  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 20 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lion's Club DGC is a great road trip course. It's a serious layout for serious players and makes a great stop for the road warriors. It has a very challenging setup and punishing rough that requires you to manage the course and use a variety of shots to shoot well. It has some short technical holes and long bomb holes, so there should be at least one shot for everybody. The course has good signs and directional signs so finding your way shouldn't be an issue. The tees are concrete and very long; they are great to get a good run-up from. Each hole has two pin placements and some of them like #8 change the hole considerably. There isn't much in the way of water, but a creek does come into play on #16 and #18 and it can come into play on #14 if you go very, very long. The baskets are Gateway Titans and catch very well. There is a practice basket with marked off putting distances near the parking lot, and the area the course is in is mostly disc golf only (#15 & #17 overlap a bit with a dog walking area.) The local fire department training are is right next to #15, so you get a cool show when they are doing training exercises. Overall, the course makes for a good round of tough golf. Players who enjoy a challenge will really like this course.
Cons: Rolla is set in the foothills of the Ozark Mountains and has a nice rolling topography. Despite that, the disc golf course manages to use possibly the flattest piece of land in town for all but 3-4 holes. The lack of elevation in the wooded portion of the course really limits the course.

The course seems to have a lot of short, <250' technical holes (#1a, #2b, #3, #4, #5, #6, #7, #11, #12, #16a) and long, >400' bomb holes (#8, #10, #13, #14a, #17, #18.) The pins can be set up so that only #9 and #15 are between 250'-400'. That a lot of dink-dink-bomb-bomb. There could have been a lot more variety in the distances besides "pitch 'n putt short" and "over 400 foot."

The course loops over itself, so hole #3, #4, #5, #6, #11, #12 & #13 are all next to each other. Unfortunately, by doing this they made #11 essentially a repeat of #3 and #12 a repeat of #4. Neither of those shots is so cool that I'm dying to play them again. Given the design there isn't much you can do for the #3/#11 situation, but there is a long walk from #11 to #12 that could have been used to change up hole #12.

Some of the shots are long for the sake of being long. Hole #18 tees off in the woods and you have to keep it in the tunnel for about 100' before the hole opens up. The pins are 589' and 686', so after you clear the cool part of the hole you have five or six hundred feet of wide open to go to finish to an open basket. That hole could be as long with the pin up closer to the creek and be more fun to play. You could say similar things about #10, #13 and #17.

Be careful when checking the tee signs. For some reason, the A placement is not always the short placement. Hole #2, #3, #4, #12, and #14 all list the A placement as the long placement, so if you glance at the sign on blind holes like #2 you will throw to the wrong place.

I generally overlook things like bugs unless it is very severe. Having said that, there are A LOT of ticks on this course during the warm months. You really need to take precautions and check for ticks after a round.
Other Thoughts: I'm pretty sure I have reverse homeboy bias on this course. A lot of the things that bother me about the design I probably wouldn't notice if I played it a few times a year. If there was more of a balance between short/tweener/long shots instead of just short/long I'd grumble a lot less about the design. If some of the short shots were stretched out into the 300'-375' range I think the course would have better variety and would be more in keeping with the challenge of the design. As it is, the course is still very solid and definitely worth the trip.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 first thoughts

1    9/30/2012   10/1/2012
Review By: Bigben932
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.8 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 18 holes. Practice putt area. Easy to find tees, Well marked holes. Concrete tees. Basket markers, Easy to find
Hw 63 at Bingo entrance at lions club park.

See other thoughts for more info
Cons: Lots of brush still. Ticks and mosquitoes. Thick unforgiving brush in some areas.
Other Thoughts: The course consists of lots of narrow hallway low ceiling shots through the woods. Many of the holes are located behind thin pine trees with low thick branches making straight put virtually impossible on the majority of the hole. THIS IS BY NO MEANS A COURSE YOU WILL PAR. I would personally like this course a little more if the hallways were not so narrow and the the brush was totally clear so you can find your discs. DO NOT PLAY ALONE. You need a disc spotter so you don't lose your discs. You also should walk the hole before you tee off to make sure you understand the obstacles and tactics needed for the hole.
I didn't want my personal opinion to affect the rating of this hole so I gave it a modest rating.
The course is a great challenge and requires great finesse and an advanced amount of accuracy.
Takes about an Hour and a half to play with a partner and I par'd 3 of 18 and didn't bother counting the rest.
By no means a bad course but definitely no a golf course style course and more of a challenge course.
I've played this course once and will return every other weekend while visiting the parents.

And please take care not to lose your disc or let your frustrations get the better of you. And help pick up the TRASH!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Mane of the Lion

5+    5/16/2012   5/18/2012
Review By: Prafeston
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front 9 will have you right in the thick of the Lion's Mane. This course is a heavily wooded course where one bad throw can ruin your day! :)

Overall a great course with a variety of holes that will have you reaching for just about every disc you own. Left curves, right curves, S curves, tunnel shots, long, short. You name it and this course has it.

The fairways are well maintained. The chain holes seem very sturdy and are much better than the ones at the other course in town. There are actually kind of two rows of chains...one behind the other and it helps keep the disc in the basket if your shot is straight on and hits the pole behind the chains. I've had a disc pop out of a basket at the other course in town cause it went straight through the chains and right back out! :(

The tees are long, concrete tees that are great to throw from. Each tee also has a nice sign displaying the approximate layout of the hole including two possible locations for the chains. Current chain position is marked with a red bolt. Tee signs also have convenient bag hooks.

There are some really great technical holes in the Lion's mane. Though some of them may seem a bit short they make up for it with how they are weaved through the trees. Make the the easy safe shots for par? Or risk a power shot off the tee for the birdie?

Towards the back 9 there are a few holes where you can really let it loose. Even some of these long ones aren't easy. 13 and 14 are both long and narrow. Throw one with too much hyzer or anhyzer and you just may be spending the next 30 minutes trying to find your disc. 17 is long with a tee location that makes you have to be very accurate with your drive to make it out of the woods and into the open field. 18 is the same way with a wooded/creek area to your right almost all the way to the hole and a wall of trees to the left front of the tee you must avoid to make it out and into the open field.

Another really cool aspect of this course is the putting green which consists of a chain hole just like you'll see on the course and distance markers surrounding the hole so you can practice your putts from 15ft-50ft out. There is also a little park bench table by the putting green.

All in all a very fun course with some memorable and technical holes that will definitely humble you. (I miraculously shot a 5 over once, but an average day would probably be closer to 10-12 over.)
Cons: I really don't have too many cons about the course.

The only big con I have about the course is the brush off to the sides of the fairways on several holes. (It's why I like to call it the Lion's Mane) It's pretty thick in some places and crawling with poison ivy/oak...not to mention the occasional tick. Sure I could just not throw the disc off the fairway, but like I said, I'm a new player and it's just bound to happen...especially in the heavily wooded areas. And even a disc that isn't going far off the fairway can hit a tree and just ricochet off into the thick! (I spend 30 minutes to an hour just looking for discs when I play this course)

There are maybe too many short technical holes. I'm newer to DG and although they help my short game they don't help me feel out my distance drivers.

A water fountain around hole 9 would be great. A nice halfway point for those newbies that don't have bags that have water bottle holders...or possibly around tee 5 and 13 where the paths cross...that way you could get a drink on your way to 5 and 13....or fill up your water bottle on 13 when you are about to run out.
Other Thoughts: I'm quite thankful I have such an amazing course in my town. Though Ber Juan (The other course in town) is nice it's only a 9 hole and not nearly as hard. I love to hit up Ber Juan to warm up my arm and then head to the Lion's Mane and really test my skills.

Others have complained about not having benches and trash cans at every hole and I haven't really seen that as a con. Maybe I've just lucked out, but I've never had to wait at a hole for people in front of me to go and I'm not eating candy bars and drinking 20oz sodas on the course. I've never had a need for a trash can while I'm playing and I've never seen much trash when on the course. There is a trash can by the parking lot/practice green and I believe at least one more around hole 15.

Some people have also complained about no bathroom facilities close by...well the park must have heard the complaints cause I've only been playing for a month or so, but there is at least one port-a-jon around hole 15. Another one would be nice by the parking lot though.

Ok, enough writing! :) You really shouldn't have to be convinced to come play this course. If you live anywhere remotely close it's only one of like 3 or 4 anyways so you don't have many options and if you are coming from farther away you definitely won't be disappointed! Have fun!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center