Rolla, MO 
Lion's Club DGC Share
Uploaded By: fairweather_fan Hole #3 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 221ft. Par / Distance:
#3 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Rolla's Prime

2-4    8/3/2013   8/27/2013
Review By: Semlly
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Full 18 with a mix of wooded and some clearings. Solid layout and signs that help if you haven't played there before. Multiple basket locations, and a nice mix of length and finesse.
Cons: Some holes seem to be the same layout, being straight and having the basket in the woods off the straightaway.
Other Thoughts: It's definitely a fun course and has everything that you could want to work on for improving or enjoying the game.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Home Course #2

5+    6/19/2013   6/26/2013
Review By: jjacobs445
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - course on well-maintained and exclusive area of park, no traffic with non-players
- very well designed with a few wide open field holes and many tight woods holes
- challenging and technical
- multiple pin positions
- tee signage is very clear with pin positions, par info, distance, and hole layout
- concrete tees
- practice basket with distance markers
Cons: - lack of trashcans leads to a fair amount of trash on course
- dense woods and underbrush make losing discs very easy without a spotter
- pine trees lead to lots of stuck discs and penalties
- can get muddy in places after a rain
- ticks
Other Thoughts: this course lends itself to skill shots and high risk/high reward type situations such as the big hyzer spikes on #2, #12, and #14. holes #13 and #17 require a very straight drive or else you are stuck deep in the trees. a beat in midrange will be your best friend here, as a lot of the holes feature ~200' shots with the basket just off to the right. holes #9, #10, #15, #17, and #18 really allow you to bomb some huge drives, provided you make it out of the woods.

i play this course usually at least three times a week if not more. it's a lot of fun and very technical, so not the most beginner friendly but not that intimidating either. if a few more trashcans are put on the course and not placed in obscure spots, i think the trash problem will subside considerably.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/23/2011   10/23/2011
Review By: Dthunderchicken
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 41 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A well balanced course that will provide a serious challenge to anyone playing. The course has a nice mix of long and short holes.

The short holes are often very short but are sufficiently challenging that you'd better bring your control game and discs. The kinda S curve on #8 is a trip. I love it! (Premium plastic mids and putters rule here.)

The long holes require control but are a little more forgiving. I particularly like that whoever mows the grass, mows a little path to guide the player to the pin. The kiosk and the practice putting area are nice amenities too.
Cons: As others have said, more trash cans and benches would be nice. Watch your step if you get in the rough. The little stumps haven't worn down yet. Playing in flip flops wouldn't be fun.
Other Thoughts: One of the nicest courses I've played on.

Rolla is a collage town with many cheap places to eat and drink. Avoid the Huddle House though.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 New to rolla

5+    2/17/2011   2/17/2011
Review By: AirMcNair
Played: 79  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/7/2011
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is by far one of the best I have played. Not only that but for this course being in such a small town as well as this club just starting out this course is amazing.

You have short technical holes (3, 4, 5, 6, 7,11, &12) long technical holes 8, 13, 14, 17, & 18) long bomber holes (10 & 15) and some elevation (1, 10, 15, &17). A lot of people put emphasis on elevation but this course has enough in all the right places plus it is so technical that you don't really need it.
Cons: There aren't many. I would have to say that lack of trash cans and benches and maybe a course map at hole one or by the practice basket. One bad thing is it can be a mud pit after a bad rain or when 8" of snow and ice melts.
Other Thoughts: This course will easily be a 4.5 once they get trash cans, benches, and a course map up.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Rolla joins the disc golf world

2-4    2/12/2011   2/17/2011
Review By: Gflap
Played: 314  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 5/18/2012
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to find this course as it is just off the main road thru Rolla off hwy 63 at the Lion's club 180 acre facility. Large sign upon entering (2nd entrance on left) "Lion's Club Disc Golf Course". Immediate parking next to practice basket with hole #1 right there. Course is mostly wooded with trees as obstacles even on the more open holes. Gateway Titan baskets are the absolute best in disc golf. Perfect sized concrete teepads adorn this layout. Excellent tee signs handpainted on metal with hole design, distances and A and B pin placements marked with a bolt. (these were just installed prior to their icebowl on 2/12/11) All in all just some fun holes thru a forest of the Missouri state tree, the cedar tree. The Lions club allowed Dave Mac to trim whatever he wanted and once again he delivers with a masterful design. Variety of hole distances ranging from 166 to 600 feet. Beautiful lines to all the pins force players to use their entire arsenal.
Cons: Not much to list here. More trash cans may be needed. Only slight elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: What an awesome time my group had at the Rolla Aces icebowl. Well worth the trip from the St Louis area. The locals were very friendly and enthusiastic about their course and well they should be. Rolla is now within 25 miles of 4 very good championship courses when you include the 3 courses in Vichey just up the road. .

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 WOW

1    11/21/2010   11/22/2010
Review By: REDARMY
Played: 32  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 6.2 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One in our group said this was a design Dave Mac could add to his crown, a la Centralia. I haven't played Centralia yet, but regardless, i have to agree anyway; this course ROCKS!

Variety is covered. Long, short, hyzer, anny, straight, flex, flip, water, low ceiling, high ceiling, into woods, out of woods; your complete game is required.

Gnarly fairways and pins abound. Do NOT enter this course expecting to make par.

Even the easy shots here are hard compared to most of the St. Louis courses.

Nice flat concrete pads, tee signs are good (although they lack maps for the blind pins), directionals in between are great. Even though my group had a guide, navigation would have been pretty easy without.

Parking is right by the first tee, finishing out 18 brings you right back to the same spot, and locals are very friendly.

Even despite the lack of trash cans,litter is virtually non-existent. Between that and the condition of the fairways, it's clear that the Lion's Club is serious about making this a destination course.

Let's hope the virtuous among us keep it that way.

(Honorable mention for the two bridges across the creek on the back 9. Quite pretty and very well done.)
Cons: Nice mailbox before the first tee, but it was empty! No scorecards!

Having the practice basket there is certainly cool, and having a radius of distances is even better, but it'd be nicer if the markers were recessed into the ground, instead of 9'' off the ground where you you can trip over them as you're putting.
Other Thoughts: If you played the old layout at Unger Park in St. Louis, Lion's Club is exactly equivalent, minus the water: An absolute beast that'll humble you unless your arsenal is complete.

I got the **** kicked outta me here, but damnit, it was FUN!

Absolutely worth the trip on its own, but make a day of it and play the 9 at Ber Juan as well, unless you're brave enough to do Lions twice!

No bathrooms or water, and sparse benches available at the course, so rest up/fluid up/vacate beforehand.

An info kiosk, cards in the mailbox, a porta-john, and more benches will easily vault this course into 4.5 disc territory.

As the grooming continues/the amenities get added/paths get beat in, this course will only get better.

Stop thinking about it and go play! If you think you've conquered every St. Louis course, make the trip to Rolla and get humbled.

(Bonus for you St. Louis golfers making the trip down south, the 9-er at Kircher Park in Eureka is an easy side trip to make on the way back up Highway 44.)

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/14/2010   9/16/2010
Review By: giddyup
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/29/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun course to play because of the variety. Every hole gives has a different look and requires a lot of analysis of each shot. It's tough, but good.

The front 9 is mostly short holes in thick woods and the back 9 offers more wide open, long shots. But, even on the open holes, the tee boxes are in the woods, so there are a few obstacles to avoid on approach.

There is a sweet little putting practice area. There is a central basket with posts placed at all different distances around the basket. Each post is marked with the distance, so that's nice.

The Lion's Club continues to clear our a lot of brush making the course look a lot cleaner and will hopefully cut down on the number of lost discs.

They have also put up posts with bag holders on them. Nice touch!
Cons: Litter seems to be more of a problem than when I first stared playing this course. A trash can at each tee would be helpful. But, maybe people are just slobs. Pick up your trash!

There are several areas in need of grass. This course get SLOPPY if it's wet.
Other Thoughts: This course keeps getting better and I imagine it will continue to do so for some time to come. Those old dudes at the Lion's Club have shown their commitment to DG are are very open and friendly towards the players.

This corse requires you to be focused and has a great atmosphere back in the woods. A lot of fun to play!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Cedars and Cicadas

1    7/27/2010   7/31/2010
Review By: FriedOkra
Played: 126  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/11/2012
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: An accurate shot is rewarded on the front nine as the holes were layed out in the woods with narrow openings to the hole. The back nine allowed for some long shots, but even then some of the tee pads were set back in the woods so you had to have an accurate shot to the clearing. Very well thought out in my opinion. The grass portions of the course had just been mowed. Very nice.
Cons: UPDATED REVIEW: The CONS from my previouse review have been fixed as expected. Current cons: a few of the early holes play very close to each other. This is only an issue when the course is busy, but the holes are still very fun. Upgraded rating. PREVIOUS REVIEW: No course map on site. No scorecards on site. No hole numbers at tee or on baskets. Some markers pointing to next tee pad. Remember to print a scorepad from this site before heading out. Perhaps signs are in the plans.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course. I played on a very warm summer morning the entire time being sereneded by cicadas. Hole 8 and Hole 14 were like nothing I had ever seen before. The fairway on hole 8 makes several turns on the way to the basket. The fairway on hole 14 makes a sharp turn back through the woods to the basket. These two holes are the toughest two holes on the course in my opinion. At least I'll know what I'm up against next time I play. Enjoy the new course, it is worth playing for sure. Great Job!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Remember the Titans

1    7/3/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 197  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 11.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lions Park DGC is a challenging course for even skilled players. The shorter front 9 has some technical shots through the woods, and the back 9 offers plenty of opportunity to crush some long drives. This is the first course I have played with Gateway Titan targets, and it was love at first sight! Some reveiwers complained about the approach on hole 14, but if you drive 40 feet further down the fairway it makes a hairpin turn back to the basket. I have never played a hole like this, but I liked it (maybe because I made that 25 foot putt for a 3). I think clearing an earlier approach would render this hole far to conventional.
Cons: Concrete tees and signs would be a nice upgrade. Thick rough is teeming with chiggers and ticks, so be forewarned: keep 'em in the fairway.
Other Thoughts: This course is good already, and will become even better as it is established and improvements are made. I was fortunate to play most of the round with the course designer, Dave McCormack of Gateway Disc Golf. Hearing the reasoning behind the layout was quite enjoyable. Good work, Dave!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course!

1    6/22/2010   6/26/2010
Review By: DriveCrusher2
Played: 20  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/18/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tricky and has challenging holes and very technical, can't try to ace everything, some holes make you play for just a par and go on, others are a little easier, i personally like the holes where u are throwing from the woods into the open field, baskets are awesome, never been on a course that had these cages, when your putter hits the chains it goes in and the basket doesn't allow a lot of bouncing around like other cages do.Fun course, great for unleahing drives, like 10, 15, 17, 18, 13. Favorite hole is hole 16 it just looks beautiful.
Cons: Overgrown brush on the sides of some fairways not many, isn't very high because it hasn't been mowed lately, will be mowed though. ticks are very bad and you will need bugspray, walking distance between 14 and 15, and 4 and 5 is kinda far but not as bad as some courses. 13 and 14 are very narrow fairways can get very difficult placing shots.
Other Thoughts: Great course to come to and a must play for anybody that loves disc golf. Course has been sprayed for ticks it is much better now, need to have spotters as to not lose a disc, the worst holes for this are 8 and 14 and there will be multiple pins eventually, it is a new course so there wont be concrete pads for a while but grass is fine with me.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.