Rolla, MO 
Lion's Club DGC Share
Uploaded By: fairweather_fan Hole #14 (Taken 6/2010)
4 / 426ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Chalenging, but good!

1    9/25/2012   3/25/2013
Review By: nealyb
Played: 19  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great baskets and tees, long, challenging, lots of tree cover, tight fairways, well thought out, and great flow!
Cons: Tough, I don't know that that really counts as a Con. I have no really complaints about anything.
Other Thoughts: One of the toughest courses I've ever played. Most of it is in the trees, which means the wind is less of an issue. It takes a pretty long time to play, but it's worth it!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Mane of the Lion

5+    5/16/2012   5/18/2012
Review By: Prafeston
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front 9 will have you right in the thick of the Lion's Mane. This course is a heavily wooded course where one bad throw can ruin your day! :)

Overall a great course with a variety of holes that will have you reaching for just about every disc you own. Left curves, right curves, S curves, tunnel shots, long, short. You name it and this course has it.

The fairways are well maintained. The chain holes seem very sturdy and are much better than the ones at the other course in town. There are actually kind of two rows of chains...one behind the other and it helps keep the disc in the basket if your shot is straight on and hits the pole behind the chains. I've had a disc pop out of a basket at the other course in town cause it went straight through the chains and right back out! :(

The tees are long, concrete tees that are great to throw from. Each tee also has a nice sign displaying the approximate layout of the hole including two possible locations for the chains. Current chain position is marked with a red bolt. Tee signs also have convenient bag hooks.

There are some really great technical holes in the Lion's mane. Though some of them may seem a bit short they make up for it with how they are weaved through the trees. Make the the easy safe shots for par? Or risk a power shot off the tee for the birdie?

Towards the back 9 there are a few holes where you can really let it loose. Even some of these long ones aren't easy. 13 and 14 are both long and narrow. Throw one with too much hyzer or anhyzer and you just may be spending the next 30 minutes trying to find your disc. 17 is long with a tee location that makes you have to be very accurate with your drive to make it out of the woods and into the open field. 18 is the same way with a wooded/creek area to your right almost all the way to the hole and a wall of trees to the left front of the tee you must avoid to make it out and into the open field.

Another really cool aspect of this course is the putting green which consists of a chain hole just like you'll see on the course and distance markers surrounding the hole so you can practice your putts from 15ft-50ft out. There is also a little park bench table by the putting green.

All in all a very fun course with some memorable and technical holes that will definitely humble you. (I miraculously shot a 5 over once, but an average day would probably be closer to 10-12 over.)
Cons: I really don't have too many cons about the course.

The only big con I have about the course is the brush off to the sides of the fairways on several holes. (It's why I like to call it the Lion's Mane) It's pretty thick in some places and crawling with poison ivy/oak...not to mention the occasional tick. Sure I could just not throw the disc off the fairway, but like I said, I'm a new player and it's just bound to happen...especially in the heavily wooded areas. And even a disc that isn't going far off the fairway can hit a tree and just ricochet off into the thick! (I spend 30 minutes to an hour just looking for discs when I play this course)

There are maybe too many short technical holes. I'm newer to DG and although they help my short game they don't help me feel out my distance drivers.

A water fountain around hole 9 would be great. A nice halfway point for those newbies that don't have bags that have water bottle holders...or possibly around tee 5 and 13 where the paths cross...that way you could get a drink on your way to 5 and 13....or fill up your water bottle on 13 when you are about to run out.
Other Thoughts: I'm quite thankful I have such an amazing course in my town. Though Ber Juan (The other course in town) is nice it's only a 9 hole and not nearly as hard. I love to hit up Ber Juan to warm up my arm and then head to the Lion's Mane and really test my skills.

Others have complained about not having benches and trash cans at every hole and I haven't really seen that as a con. Maybe I've just lucked out, but I've never had to wait at a hole for people in front of me to go and I'm not eating candy bars and drinking 20oz sodas on the course. I've never had a need for a trash can while I'm playing and I've never seen much trash when on the course. There is a trash can by the parking lot/practice green and I believe at least one more around hole 15.

Some people have also complained about no bathroom facilities close by...well the park must have heard the complaints cause I've only been playing for a month or so, but there is at least one port-a-jon around hole 15. Another one would be nice by the parking lot though.

Ok, enough writing! :) You really shouldn't have to be convinced to come play this course. If you live anywhere remotely close it's only one of like 3 or 4 anyways so you don't have many options and if you are coming from farther away you definitely won't be disappointed! Have fun!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 LION's

1    4/5/2012   4/5/2012
Review By: birdman101
Played: 53  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an amazing course. Has just about everything a course should have.

This course requires just about every shot you can think of. Plays in and out of the woods, and has some risk reward type shots.

There are hardly any straight shots, so you have to think about it a little bit. Some shots offer a big hyzer line up and over, if you have or think you have the distance to reach the openings. There are also a variety of lefty and righty holes. I found myself throwing a lot of turnover type shots and forehands.

The concrete teepads are plenty long, and are in great shape. The teesigns give distance, par, a general layout of the hole, and there is a nut/ bolt system to tell you which position the pin is in. This makes navigation a synch. There are also tons of little signs with arrows and numbers to help guide you on your journey.

The 2 bridges across the creeks are great and in nice shape.

The gateway titans are still in phenomenal shape, and the extra pin position on each hole will change it up enough to keep the course interesting if you play it often.
Cons: I didn't see many trashcans, so that could be a problem, but i didn't see much trash laying around either.

There are a few baskets and tees in close proximity to each other, so some errant throws could get close to other disc golfers.

The course was muddy in spots showing that draining isn't quite fixed yet, and some of the paths could use some mulch on them.

The benches seemed awfully low to the ground, but they were there.

Other Thoughts: This is an awesome course, i wish it was closer to where i lived or we had a similar course to it.

Some of the holes seem really short, but they make up for it in the lines you have to hit to get that short distance.

a few of the walks between holes seem a little long but I think the use of the land pays off for them.

hole 8 sticks in my mind. It has an s shaped fairway that requires accuracy or a big arm to go up and over the trees

Hole 16 is another one that stuck out its relatively short, but requires a turnover shot to get across the creek, or a lay up.

Those 2 holes force you to think a little bit about what you want to do and whether or not to risk it.

This course kicked my butt but i will defiantly go back and play it again if and when i get the chance.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Home Town Enjoyment

1    9/24/2011   9/24/2011
Review By: KCDISCDOG
Played: 43  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very fun course. Challenging tunnel shots through cedar forest.. Long open shots, Basket placements that make you think trough your shot and bag.. There was no swampy ground and my mother said it rained hard 2 days ago, so maybe they have worked out some drainage problems this summer.. It was a gorgeous to to play Disc golf with the wife and dogs... The course was easy to follow through the shaded paths with markers to the next concrete T boxes, colored bolts mark the basket location. Pro's will feel challenged, beginners will feel as though this course is doable.. I really enjoyed this day trip to my home town for some great food and DG!!
Cons: Maybe a few more trash cans.. Benches would really be great there was a good crowd ahead of us playing an early morning local tournament of some sort... More parking, we had to park on the side, in the grass.. No big deal but I'm sure a course this great will only continue to get busier :)
A large map at the start of the course would be great for reference before you begin your play..
Other Thoughts: If your in town about noon you will definitely want to stop for a Maid-Rite burger.. Play a couple of rounds and stop for some Pryors Pizza on the way out.. You couldn't ask for a more pleasurable day trip for some Disc Golf ...Enjoy and have fun !!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Route 66 Aces Home Course

5+    2/17/2011   2/18/2011
Review By: noahrienks
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: There are many things I love about this course: tight, technical shots between trees, new concrete tee pads, new signs for hole layout, and some very challenging DG! My favorite holes are 2, 4, 5, 7, 9, 14, and 16. Dave Mac really Put some time and thought into this course. I have relearned the game again because of this course, and no matter how many times I've played it, there are always new dimensions or subtle things that cause you to adjust or tweak you're approach...it forces you to think about every shot.

This course has vastly improved over the last year, and a ton of brush has been cleared out. The new signs have Alt tee placements, and bolts to show which pin is being played.
Cons: Only 4 waste baskets on the course. Poor drainage; course turns into a mud pit after rain or snow...bring your hiking boots!

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 This is a winner

5+    6/19/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: odysseus81
Played: 72  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 17.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/23/2010
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is very unique as far as wooded courses go. It is carved out of the woods (although there are still some very nice and interesting "open" shots). There have been hundreds of trees cut down and probably thousands of branches. They have cut a canopy of about 10-15 feet up the trees to where you don't have stray branches sticking out (if you stay in the fairway). This is great because while there are many tough, tight tee shots, a great shot is rewarded. There are almost no places on the course where it isn't fair. The whole course is great, but I really love the back nine...it is full of variety and forces you to throw every shot you have. The front nine is quite a bit shorter,, but is still quite challenging regardless of your skill level. I love the final 3 holes...great finishers for a great course. The course has long concrete tee pads that were installed this week and are very nice. They have really taken their time crafting this course making small changes and improvements as the course has been played. Initially, there was a significant tick and poison ivy issue out there, but having played it 30 times or so, I have never gotten poison ivy and the eliminated the tick issue months ago.
The practice basket has something very unique in that the have created an outward spiral with distances marked on stumps that are in the ground to let you practice from specific distances. A very nice extra touch.
The baskets are Gateway Titans, which are just fantastic baskets to throw at. The chains are very fair in grabbing the discs and they are definitely baskets built to last a long time.
Cons: About my only complaint with the course is the re-placement of tee #8. The hole is pretty redonkulous from there---
The course does not have any tee signs yet which is really the only missing touch left as far as I am concerned. Even without the tee signs, the course is very easy to navigate as there are going to be (already started in some places) mulched paths taken you from each basket to the next tee, as well as stumps in the ground pointing you in the right direction.
Other Thoughts: This is by far, my favorite course within 150 miles, and it is probably my favorite course out of those in the St. Louis area as well. It certainly holds up well against the best St. Louis has to offer. This course is a gem and definitely will be well worth the visit to play, regardless of where you are coming from. I count myself blessed to live 10 minutes away=)

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 New Home Course!!!

5+    6/19/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: cooktastic
Played: 62  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/23/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is brand new (baskets dropped yesterday)...so it is still a work in progress. I will definitely be revisiting this review and revising it once they address some of the issues that I know they are planning on addressing as the course progresses. I am thrilled that my home town finally has a legit 18 hole course to call my home course. We have a nice little complimentary 9 holer across town for about 9 months now...but before that you had to drive an hour or more to play anywhere. This course (when completely finished with the nice touches they are planning) is going to be really special. It has a little of everything. It is tightly wooded on almost all of the holes...with a few exceptions where you can stretch it out and throw some really long drives. And the tightly wooded holes have some very narrow fairways to thread the needle. The front nine is very RHBH anhyzer friendly. The baskets are Gateway Titans which I love. Those things will catch anything....very grabby. If you get a spitout on one of those you did not make a great effort. They also put PVC pipes sticking about 5 or 6 feet and really help with seeing the baskets. I love little touches like that on a course. They also have a couple of really nice bridges put in over creeks that they put a lot of work into...they look really nice. I love hole 16 (with the bridge before the basket). I think it is my favorite hole on the course. Great anhyzer shot over a creek (about 250 out???) up into a tight little clearing in the woods.
Cons: It really needs some more brush cleared out in areas (I know they are in the process of doing this). They also need to run a brush hog in a couple of those holes right off the fairway (lots of poison). At least I knew this and wore long pants and shirt today...even though I lost 10 pounds of water weight. You also need to spray for bugs out there. I swear this is a major metropolitan area for ticks out there. It must be an epicenter of population or something cause they are everywhere. There are a few of the teepads that need some work evening out. I know this will be taken care of when concrete ones are put in...but in the meantime a couple have some dangerous uneven spots and even a couple of stumps. Hole 14 has had a little 'clearing' cut through the end of the fairway brush in the cutback to the basket. I like the approach...but it is like playing pinball through the next shot. It is a completely luck shot to get it through there. I don't care if it is a tight window in there...but there at least needs to be some kind of window instead of a tree cut out here and there. Obviously when they get around to putting in the signs and benches and all the ammenities it will just make this course that much more special.

UPDATE: Most of my gripes have been addressed. Hole number 14 is no longer an 'unfair' pinball type shot at the end of the fairway...they have cleared out a nice window through the woods to the basket and opened up the green a bit to give you more space to putt all the way around it. Also, the concrete is in now and the pads are very nice. 12 foot long so plenty of run up room. Still no hole layout signs but rumor has it that those are still in the works?
Other Thoughts: I have only played it once...but I already really like it. Even in it's infancy I can tell this is a special course. It's great to have a home 18 now.

UPDATE: The more I have played this course...the more grateful I am that this is in my backyard to play anytime I want. I really like the balance of the course layout and just look forward to playing the game I love out here.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.