Disc Golf Store
Friday Harbor, WA 
Roche Harbor DGC Share
Uploaded By: sillybizz  
Welcome Sign



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Hidden Gem

1    8/28/2012   8/29/2012
Review By: Dadio
Played: 76  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 30.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very nice course That is about as far out in the San Juan islands as you can go.You can tell this is really a labor of love by local golfers. I wish I had a camera to get pics of some of the benches at the holes, some of the prettiest and most unique that I have seen on a course. Please, Whirlybird, get some pics up.
The course started as 9 holes around a field and 9 holes have been added in the surrounding woods. This is kinda a pro and a con. It's good that they have been able to make it a full 18 and all the holes are good, but the new holes are kinda spread out. They went to where there was a good shot instead of forcing holes so that leads to the new ones being a little spread out. Signs leading to next tee are well placed and forest is thick enough that it is easy to follow the trails.
Oh, yeah, couple of pins are elevated for a different look. Good use of the land available.
Cons: No signs on tees or map on site. There is a map at the kiosk(which they will hopefully put here, hint hint! :-) The only other big con that I had is that the rubber was put down for the tees without gravel or even much leveling. I understand that this is a lower priority, and none of them are truly dangerous, but it was distracting and one of the things keeping this from being a 4 or 4.5.
Other cons are that many of the holes are shorter, altho still challenging due to trees and narrower fairways. Roughs are REALLY rough, which is good, but so are some of the fairways. Shot selection was a little repetitive, but not too bad. Members have been doing alot of work trimming to clean up fairways and greens, again good, but seem to have opened up a couple of the holes too much, 16 in particular. Nice thing in this area is that it will grow back fast.
Last con, and not fixable by golfers. Ferry ride to island is expensive but worth it.
Other Thoughts: This really was a fun course that I greatly enjoyed playing. This would be a great area to go camping, check out whales, and catch a couple rounds on one of the coolest courses I have played in the Puget Sound. With some polishing it is an easy 4, 4.5 with a couple of longer alt tees. I really look forward to visiting this course over the next couple of years to see how it grows. Having talked to a couple of locals I think their passion will lead to this being a beautiful destination course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Young and Growing

1    8/15/2011   9/8/2011
Review By: Jax11
Played: 97  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 5.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Variety in Hole Design
- Distance Variety
- Moderate Elevation
- Various Terrain Used
- Fun basket placements
- Mediocre Rubber Teepads
- Rustic and Secluded
- Beautiful Scenery
- Solid tee-signs, but still confusing layout (see cons)
- Baskets were in good condition
Cons: - Rough was really thick in spots
- Some of the wooded holes were repetitive
- Some of the fairways could use a bit more clearing
- Needs one tee sign per hole, the tee signs from the old 9 hole course still remain and makes navigation a bit confusing the first time around.
Other Thoughts: Overall, Roche Harbor disc golf coure surprised me in a good way. My family traveled out to San Juan Island and one of the main reasons was to play this course. The course designer(s) is definitely knowledgeable and passionate about disc golf. The course design reflects that as you will need every shot in your bag. There were open holes, tight wooded holes, moderate wooded holes and holes that transitioned between these settings. Many shots required the thrower to hit a line, while others were more forgiving. It was a solid blend of challenge and fun. One hole even had an elevated basket on a tree stump that changed a simple hyzer ace run into a hole that had a higher risk/reward green.

The course was however very overgrown and it was difficult to locate errant shots. It became especially frustrating when the shot went errant because of a bad tree kick. I'd imagine this is not much of a problem in the Spring Winter or Fall. My only gripe about the course design is that some of the wooded holes in the middle get repetitive.

As far as the course equipment, the teepads were manageable, concrete could be better. The tee signs were good, but confusing. They left the tee signs from the original 9 holes in the ground. With that said it would not be a problem if we were to play the course again. the baskets were in good condition.

With the clearing of some of the overgrown fairways, clarification with the tee signs, and concrete pads the course could easily be a 4 or 4.5. Its tough to call this course a destination course because of its access-ability. As others have mentioned it is on San Juan Island and must be accessed by a ferry. Looking back, I personality thought it was worth it and would take the ferry to play it again if I was in the area.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Well worth the effort to get here

1    8/7/2011   9/7/2011
Review By: chris deitzel
Played: 184  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 21.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lets just start out by saying that Roche Harbor is one of the most fun disc golf experiences I have had in 17 years of playing. As soon as you pull into the parking lot and see the sign for the course and the shelter that the locals have built, you know that you made the right choice to come and play disc golf here.

The course is very well maintained. Beautiful wood bridge takes you to Hole 1. There are amazing hand-made benches at every hole. Nice wooden walkways to keep you out of the wet areas between holes. Nice hole designs. Really a nice course all around.
Cons: My biggest con is that some of the newer holes have some really nasty rough off the fairway. I imagine that this will be addressed over time. It really appears that there are some dedicated locals who go out of their way to make this course as nice as it it.

Have to take a Ferry ride to get there which is kind of expensive. But if going to the island, make sure you take the time out to play here.
Other Thoughts: I loved this place. I love San Juan Island and this course has a beautiful feel to it. Really nice piece of land on the island. I think this is one of the most fun places that I have ever played at. In a year or two, I bet the new holes will really turn out beautifully. Great course. Don't miss a chance to play here.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Roche Harbor Disc Golf Course

5+    11/8/2010   11/8/2010
Review By: whirlybird
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are a lot of good qualities to this course, and I will try to remain unbiased in listing them. The baskets are new and in excellent condition. The rubber tee pads are holding up well and provide good traction. Unfortunately some brooms kept on the course were blatantly broken and tossed aside this summer by less conscious players. There's always a few right? The fairways located in the field were well mowed for most of the summer but should be hit once more before winter.
The new 9 holes have brought some elevation and shot variance that were surely lacking. Most shots have the room and foresight to be lengthened in time without interfering with the next hole. There is a good flow to the current design though changes are anticipated. Most of the new holes are shorter for now but technical. As obstacles are chosen to be removed, holes will be lengthened and alternate tee pads will be provided. Also, nine additional pins have yet to be placed but will allow for changing it up a little once set. There are some beautiful old second growth trees on the course and it really makes for a good walk. Just walking the course is good exercise and could be as enjoyable as playing. Large, glacial boulders scattered throughout the property remind one of our smallness and are beautiful additions to an already awesome landscape. Many a round is played with Mother Nature the only witness. As time goes on the course will surely get better as the people caring for it learn more of what the property has to offer. Litter is minimal, though present. No trash cans are provided on the course but trash and recycling containers are in the parking lot. Pack it in Pack it out is preferred but impossible to enforce. Most local players will pick up trash someone else left behind. The place is too nice to leave trash lying around and most people realize that. The islands are full of kind, helpful folks and the disc golf community is no exception. BBQ's happen often, breakfast is shared before tourneys and newcomers are always welcomed and offered tips and direction on the course. I'd say that the group of people playing on and caring for the course is the best thing it has going for it. Without all their efforts none of it would have happened and the future goals would never be fulfilled. This course has the potential to capture the imagination of all skill levels and will only improve with time, energy and the feedback from new players.
Cons: Current flaws are few but worth addressing. Seasonally there are issues with water on the course. Luckily it can be managed and used to add character to most affected holes. It does make for some muddy trails at times but that can be easily fixed. Also, some holes are fairly short and not as challenging for better players. In time though, these can be lengthened. Signage is present but could be better and there is currently no map of the course as a whole. Once playing it's easy to navigate but the parking lot should provide better info on course outline. Another drawback is the time and distance most players will need to spend in getting here. Ferry expenses will detour some but I assure you it is worth the trip. Carpooling is a great way to share the cost and it gets more people on the course.
Other Thoughts: First and foremost, appreciation. I feel very lucky to call this course home. I've spent many hours working and playing at the course and will spend many more. There is a beauty in the islands and disc golf fits right in around here. A thousand thank you's should be sent to Roche Harbor Resort for the land use and funding for the baskets and tee pads. Without them who knows what we'd be throwing at. To show our thanks and respect we ask that all players abide by conduct that is considerate to Roche Harbor Resort, to all the ferns and the trees, and to the San Juan Disc Golf community. Enjoy!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.