Disc Golf Center
Oak Ridge, TN 
Secret City DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #2 (Taken 11/2012)
3 / 231ft.   -- / 231ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Mid-Range Focus, Fast

2-4    3/27/2013   4/2/2013
Review By: Gibbsinator
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Multiple Tee pads. Par is capable for many players with some effort. Helps hone tighter more technical throws. Fast course. Fair Maintenance. Excellent signage.
Cons: Pads are mulched, better than dirt though. Course is strongly affected by rain. Trees can be challenging for new players. Drivers won't get used effectively. 9 Holes
Other Thoughts: Course can be played in about 30-40 minutes alone. Fun little course if you love your mid range.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Difficult and challenging course

5+    10/31/2012   10/31/2012
Review By: Firebird911
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Very technical and heavily wooded. I love this course because it is all about the ability to control your disc instead of throw it as hard as you can in a general direction. If your not accurate with your shots then you definitely need to play here a lot. After playing at Carl Yearwood daily for a while I find all other courses simple and un-challenging. There is also several benches added on holes 3, 4, 6 and 7.
Cons: No concert tee pads.

0 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Crazy old Carl

1    5/19/2012   5/26/2012
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Carl Yearwood is a typical, city park, 9-hole course. It serves as an appetizer course, giving you a little taste of everything, so you want to go play one of the city's 18 hole courses.
- This is a more wooded than average nine-hole course. It ranges from some trees on holes #1, 2 & 6 to heavily wooded, tight layouts on #4, 5 & 9.
- There are several fun hole layouts on the course. The two most notable for me were #6 & 7. #6 tees off in the woods to a fairway and tee that's much more open. There are four basket layouts for this hole, and the one I played set up nicely for one to be aggressive for a birdie chance. #7 is a wooded hole throughout, with thick tree coverage on the right side. The basket is on a slight mound, protected by trees. There's a thin line between great tee shot and a tee shot that leaves you fighting for par.
- Good tee signs. They clearly show you the multiple hole tee & basket locations. Most tees are clearly marked by colored, wooden markers. A couple holes were missing them however, but you usually could see where the grass was worn.
- This course definitely puts the emphasis on accuracy. If you can throw straight, you'll save yourself a lot of headaches by staying in the fairway, and in turn, not having to search for discs in the thick rough on most holes.
- For such a relatively small park, the course is almost completely isolated from everything else. About the only thing you'll have to deal with are walkers, plus close proximity to two different roads on #1 & 8.
- This was a smaller park with not a lot of facilities - ball field, skate park, picnic tables and restrooms. That should also help DGers not have to deal with many people.
Cons: There was a couple confusing layouts. Some holes had two baskets on them (what's the deal with one regular basket and one hanging basket 25 feet apart on #9), some had poorly marked tees, and some really could use arrows helping you find both tees (#5 comes to mind).
- The rough on some of these holes was really thick, that you could really spend some time searching for a disc if you get a bad bounce off a tree.
- #4 is a poorly designed hole. The 'fairway' is a cluster of trees. The luck factor seems to play as much, if not more, of a factor as skill. At least, there's enough spacing for putts/short shots, that you should be able to save par. #9 was similar, but that one at least had narrow paths around the trees, making the hole tough but fair.
- I'm listing this as a con, but some might argue it's a positive. The course seems a little confusing in terms of who it's trying to appeal to. It's short like a beginner-friendly course, but it's also heavily wooded, and has narrow fairways, which would seem to be aiming for a more experienced player.
- The course is lacking in basic amenities. I only noticed seats on #7, and don't recall seeing trash cans. But I do recall seeing trash.
Other Thoughts: If all nine holes were as tough, and decently-laid out as the last 5, this would be a pretty decent, and fun, course. Instead, you feel like you want to rush through the beginning just to get to the good part.
- There wasn't enough variety in the holes in terms of distances or even overall feel. From the short tees and baskets, holes ranged from 160 to 249 feet, from the longs they ranged from 216 to 303.
- To its credit, Yearwood had a much bigger risk/reward factor than what you'd see at most nine-holers. Good, aggressive shots will get rewarded with birdie putts, while bad ones will leave you scrambling for par or worse.
- It'd be nice if the basket positions were clearly marked at the beginning, or consistent. My buddy and I had to walk the fairways on several holes to determine which layout we were throwing to.
- #6 & 7 was the best stretch of holes. These holes are isolated from the rest of the park, giving a good disc golf feel. And with a couple of good shots, you should be seeing two birdie putts.
- Overall, a decent nine-hole course. There's nothing really bad or good here, just a lot of consistency. It's not as good as Admiral Farragut, but still alright.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Yearwoods

1    11/6/2011   11/9/2011
Review By: kinger
Played: 37  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
~Tight wooded layout
~Decent flow, easy navigation
~Multiple tees to allow for longer mixed rounds
~Clean, well maintained park
~Putter & midrange friendly
~Technical from start to finish
Cons:
~Uneven, dirt tees
~Longer holes and more variety would be beneficial
~Hole 1 is a short walk from the parking lot (bring map)
~A bit cramped in the space provided
Other Thoughts:
Stopped by for a mid morning 9 while on my way home from a weekend visit in Oak Ridge. Brought my bag, but quickly realized I could have been fine with only a few discs. All in all a quaint wooded 9 hole course with multiple options that would allow for a full 18 if you mix it up a bit. Overall the park is on the small scale, but the design seems to make full use of the wooded landscape. Primarily an approach and put course, but the terrain and placement still make for challenging pars on most holes. Easy to find and navigate once you find the first hole. Number 9 finishes close to the parking lot which is good. Hanging alternate basket on the last hole over a small creek is a very nice touch.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Review for Pin position #3

5+    7/28/2011   7/28/2011
Review By: wire5
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The new placement of these pins is exactly what this course needed.

Pros:
Short, but technical. This is great, me and two friends met up to play the new pins positions this morning and managed to get 2 games in around an hour and a half

3 Pin positions and 3 tees each (if you include the sadists' Fearwood tees) pin. This means a lot of variety.

Great flow, even with all the additions everything still flows well, and the pins, while not always visible, are still lined up pretty well for the tees

Secluded. This is one of my biggest winning points on a course. I can't stand when I'm at a course and every few seconds I see heads poping up, people coming behind me, etc. This course is not too terribly played and when it is doesn't "feel" busy.

Signage. The shortest Tee on each hole has a sign on it, which, as of today, is marked with pin 3 (though just in sharpie).
Cons: It's short. I know I put this as a pro, but sometimes this course is a bit of a tease. Getting you nice and warmed up just to have it end.

The Tee's are dirt, This seems to bother quite a few people. I personally don't mind, and perfer them over gravel or grass (except after rains)

The short tee's are easy to find, the longer ones can be a little harder to find if you don't look at the signs. Also "Fearwood" is almost impossible to find on some holes.

The place does flood a little when it rains a lot.

Other Thoughts: I could see this being a problem, but I've never noticed it. But the place looks like a mosquito breeding ground.

Also some of the holes are a bit of a joke (namely hole six, pin position one, short tee), while others seem impossible, thanks to a few areas with "walls o trees." But I like the mix it provides.

I find hole 7 pin 3 more fun (and ironiclly easier) from the fearwood tee.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Better than a two...

1    1/26/2011   3/9/2011
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Clean. Safe. Technical. Unique 'signature hole' (Hanging basket over a creek on #9). Quick play. Ample parking. Shelter. Walking track and playground.
Cons: Ground tees. Could use a couple of trees taken out (and this is coming from a guy who enjoys wooded holes!). Lack of elevation.
Other Thoughts: This was the first course my son and I took in while having a w/e trip to the Knoxville area. We enjoyed playing this course as it was quick and rewarded accurately released tee shots. Still, an errant throw can turn what appears to be an easy deuce into a bogie; so let the buyer beware!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/6/2010   12/6/2010
Review By: coolhand
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: great little nine hole course. very very interesting shots. very very wooded. a lot of fun though. good wind down course after playing the mounds. one of the better nine hole courses i've played.
Cons: some holes are a little too wooded.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun 9 holes

1    8/27/2010   8/27/2010
Review By: adrake
Played: 90  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I felt that it was a fun course for only being 9 holes. I don't understand all the bad reviews on this one. Yes, it is short and it may be a little repetitive, but I think the designer did very well with the small amount of space and only getting to do 9 holes. The course is technical and fun. Lots of opportunity's for birdies. I played it twice in a row and had the chance to birdie every hole.
Nice practice basket.
Holes are labeled well.
I like the use of the small amount of woods they have. Course is worth playing if you are passing through, but not necessarily if your going out of your way, because it is only 9 holes.
Overall, it was worth playing, I had a good time.
Cons: Could make a little better use of space. There is a practice basket and I think that could be another hole. They could have a few more holes I think, or just make a few of them longer. Hole one is hard to find unless you use the map on here. I found it easily because I looked it up on here first.
No concrete teepads
Other Thoughts: No concrete teepads but the ground was nice and flat.
Took me a little over 30 minutes to play because it was so short.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/22/2009   2/16/2010
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This 9 hole course is in a very small city park that makes pretty good use of the land that was there to work with. The baskets are in pretty good shape. It is mostly wooded with a creek in play on a couple of holes. There is a decent variety of moderately wooded, densely wooded, and a couple of more open shots. Hole #9 is unique with a hanging basket over the creek and ends up back at the parking lot. The course finishes stronger than it starts as the ending holes are a little more interesting.
Cons: The natural tees were just ok at best, and were marked with ball golf type markers that to me were too narrow to feel comfortable. Also, some of the tee markers were hard to find, broken, or were missing one or both of the markers. A couple of the fairways (#3 and #4) were ridiculously narrow. Also, there is barely any variety in length from hole to hole.

Hole #1 was difficult to find (use the map linked on this site, that would have been helpful); you have to take a walk around the ball fields behind the skate park to find tee #1. You can't see any tees or baskets from the parking area.
Other Thoughts: If you want a quick round where you only need a couple of discs this is a good place for that. I personally found this course to be pretty boring and occasionally frustrating. It does make pretty good use of the small space available and would be serviceable if that is all I had, but it just lacks any real excitement. I would not recommend driving out of your way to play this course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course for precision.

5+    11/24/2009   1/21/2010
Review By: Musicaldelial
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good course to practice your precision on. There isn't alot of room to let a distance driver rip 300 yards, so all you really need is a mid-range and a putter. The hidden tees give an extra challenge for the more advanced players. The hanging basket on hole 9 is a nice touch, as well. The flow of the course is set up nicely, You dont have to worry about getting lost here. Everything seems to be pretty linear. It generally takes around 30 minutes to play if you are alone or with a small group. This makes it good for a quick game to pass the time.
Cons: There isn't alot of variety here. Most of the holes are in dense wooded areas. One bad throw can throw off your entire game. Once again, there is only one hole that is open air, and thats on 8. Other than that, prepare to dodge trees.
Other Thoughts: Its a good course for practice on your precision throwing. If you are looking for variety, so to Groves park on the other side of town, but if you want a wooded excursion, this is a course that's fit to you.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.