Fargo, ND
Trollwood Park Share
Uploaded By: cutsman Hole #16 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 319ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Troll-rific course

5+    9/7/2013   9/12/2013
Review By: andrewbjur
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9 Years
Pros: 18 Holes
Verity of shots
The city just put a lot time into trimming
Concrete tee pads
Nice Signage
Cons: The river - if it is flooding - the course is closed
Layout is a little confusing at first.
Wind can also be a factor
Other Thoughts: Great club the area.
I had a great time at the 2013 ND State Championships

So So

5+    10/5/2012   5/5/2013
Review By: HiFi
Played: 24  Reviewed: 5
Pros: Good variety
Cons: Some holes feel tacked on and out of place. Random.
Other Thoughts: This course has some holes that have good length, and some that use the trees effectively to make a nice disc golf hole. Others feel completely out of place, basically a tromp through the weeds and brush. Hole 18 is a nice uphill shot to finish things off. Average course but worth checking out if you are in the area.


2-4    9/29/2012   11/1/2012
Review By: frolfer97
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Nice variety of wide open holes and very confined holes
-Usually is not very crowded
-Baskets are marked with their respective hole #
Cons: -Weeds can get very thick on some holes
-Signage is lacking
Other Thoughts: One of the better courses in F-M area

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great new addition to the Fargo disc golf scene

5+    9/10/2012   9/16/2012
Review By: Anon
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 14.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Challenging holes with good distance
- Nice, uncrowded, park in north Fargo
- Great use of every bit of elevation and trees available
Cons: - Brush is still a bit thick on ~5 holes
- A couple holes (14&15) are just long bombs with little to no features.
- Non disc golfers using the park can come into play on a few holes
Other Thoughts: This course is a recent addition to the Fargo scene. I think it has TONS of potential. Holes 2, 6, 16, 17, 18 are definitely "in the woods" and could use some cleaning up. 16 being the worst. Lost discs are definitely an issue on this one but I can see what the course designer is going for. I think with increased traffic and some strategic pruning of trees these holes will be absolutely some of the most challenging in Fargo.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    9/26/2010   6/26/2012
Review By: Mincus14
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenging course with a lot of variety. The river comes into play in a few holes. There are some really narrow treed holes and some more wide open ones too.
Cons: Some of the holes I think are unnecessarily narrow. And one of the holes didn't even have a fairway you just throw into a bunch of trees, I can't remember which hole it was though. Also, lost a disc in the river.
Other Thoughts: Other people might like this course but it's not for me. Definately not a beginner course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/5/2011   11/9/2011
Review By: Cradical
Played: 107  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 6.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Added just last year, this course has really added to disc golf in the Fargo Moorhead area. The designers really did a great job in making a wide variety of shot types with the given available space and trees. Every hill that could have been used is used, which is good because there's only a few hills in Fargo. Also, the tees are placed in a way such that the trees really get in your way, and you have to place each shot.
I also enjoy the fact that a creek and a river really come into play on a few holes, making you think twice about which disc you are throwing. Holes 7 and 15 have the river off to the right of the hole, so if you throw LHBH or RHFH, there is risk of hyzering out into it.
Having this course open recently has really help cutdown the amount of traffic on each of the area courses, considering there were only 2 reasonable courses to play and now there are 4, with Riverfront opening across the river from oak grove.
There are trashcans on some of the holes around the course and there are restrooms near the tee for the 4th hole.
Cons: This course is only temporary right now, so the teepads are made of dirt. Being that it is in the red river valley and runs along the red river, it is usually flooded in the springtime and sometimes into the summer as well. This also means that if it rains, the course will get wet and sticky due to the high content of clay.
This course is also so new that there is still a lot of brush on the sides of the fairways, which is unlikely to change if we keep getting the floods we have been getting which render the course unplayable for most of the summer. The floods also bring a large amount of trash onto the course as well as depositing large trees into the middle of fairways.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Wow...

1    6/23/2010   6/24/2010
Review By: CaptainAwesome
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Temporary Pros:
There are arrows painted on the ground to direct you to the next hole

Permanent Pros:
There is a good map at the start of the course
Great use of the area
Some holes go into the woods, next to a creek, and close to the river for a good challenge
Tees and baskets are both marked with the number of the hole
Cons: You'll have to wait until mid to late May for Trollwood to dry out in order to play it each year
There's poison ivy in the woods in some spots if you veer off-course
Currently grass tees- this may be updated in the future
Other Thoughts: This course was a blast to play, and is now my favorite in the area. Holes 2, 6, 17, and 18 go through the woods- with #6 being nestled into its own part of the woods next to a creek.

Throw left on hole #16- the brush is so thick that you'll never find your disc. Consequently, it's one of 3 or 4 holes that doesn't have large trees in the fairway- so I threw this one as hard as I could.

Also- hole #1 starts on the far west side of Trollwood park, so that you don't have to search for it.

This course was worth the wait.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.