Disc Golf Store
Jasper, AL 
North Jasper Park Share
Uploaded By: disczeiger Hole #11 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 295ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Short Shaper

1    8/5/2014   9/15/2014
Review By: tailorholley
Played: 28  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 0.9 Years
Pros: The pavilion is right in the middle of the course, and not far form the parking lot. So it's never a long walk to a hole whether you are playing a tournament or casual round.
The course was very well maintained when I played back in August. Grass was cut, baskets were in good shape (newer disc catchers if i remember correctly), and sidewalks were well managed.
There is a stretch of holes from 7-12 that are very scorable but also are very technical and challenging. By far my favorite holes on the course.
There is a portable bathroom on the course. Always a plus
Pads are concrete Now
Cons: Some of the tee pads were a little short, if you needed to get a good running start for some longer throws.
The course is really short. 5+ holes are 225 or less. One hole is 110 ft.
It is built around a walking trail that is heavily populated. So there tends to be some down time waiting on people to pass by.
Also, 10 is a very long hole, right after some short holes. It causes quite the bog down when the course is busy.
Other Thoughts: Overall I was satisfied with this short, technical course. All my complaints are minor and petty, but I have nothing to wow and marvel at either. It's just a well kept average course in my opinion with friendly people who play there.

Good Starter Course

1    3/2/2013   3/2/2013
Review By: Windsor
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well kept course, good signs, different elevations on some holes so not much of the same ole same ole.
Cons: Too short for a lot of people so it is best for players who are just starting out, not much of a challenge because the course is so open you can have ace runs on over half of the holes, right now they only have dirt teeboxes so if it rains you are screwed.
Other Thoughts: Even though it is a short course and not much of a challenge it is pretty fun to play. When they get carpet for the tee boxes it will be a lot better. If you live close to it you need to play it but if you don't then it's not much worth the drive for right now.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Beginner Course-North Jasper Park, AL

1    8/11/2011   8/12/2011
Review By: kkoether
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well manicured course.
Extremely open course...GREAT for beginners.
Course map at beginning of course.
Cons: Too short of a course for intermediate/advanced players.
Need to print out map prior to playing. Sometimes confusing finding the next hole w/o the map.
Grass tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Would like to see a hole design on the tee signs. That might help???
Overall, a very nice, well-maintained, young course. GREAT for learning the game. If you're looking for a challenge, this course probably isn't for you.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Beginner Course

1    7/27/2011   8/2/2011
Review By: Biggzipp
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: We were on vacation at Smith Lake is Jasper and it was close!
Great course for the whole family to play because it wasn't too difficult
Actually used the terrain rather well, I've definitely seen worse.
Cons: The majority of the front nine are all in 200ft or less range, this is a little bit "weak sauce"
Tee pads are grass
Pretty easy, and will get boring for advancing players
Other Thoughts: This course is what it is. It's not horrible, I think it's a great course for newer disc golfers, and to introduce others to the game. It plays rather quick and easy. It could improve with concrete pads and better signage, and maybe a slight redesign of the front 9 to make it more challenging. Fun day with the family though!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 I Like It!

1    4/17/2011   5/11/2011
Review By: WillA
Played: 28  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nicely manicured. There are several ace runs. The designer used the land well. I especially like hole 5 where the basket is on a hillock to the right of an area that collects water.
Cons: There are too many holes that are VERY short. The signs have no maps and a time or two I was confused about where I was throwing to.
Other Thoughts: This course is great for beginners but enjoyable for more experienced players as well.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good course for beginners...

1    10/1/2010   10/17/2010
Review By: stsren
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 15 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
1. Variety of distances, though most holes on the short side (140' - 380')
2. Good course flow
3. Allows for variety of throws (FH, BH, Hammer / Thumber, etc...)
Cons:
1. No tee pads
2. Some holes too short for intermediate / advanced players
3. No permanent bathroom facilities
4. Limited elevation change
5. Limited benches and garbage cans
6. Pedestrian traffic on walking path
7. Single basket placement / Single tee boxes
Other Thoughts: This is a very young course that is probably intended for people new to disc golf. Most of the trees in the park are small / young, there aren't even carpet / rubber tee pads (just grass without markers for the front of the pad in most cases), and while there is a little elevation change, it's mostly negligible. For a starter course, it's great...but when you compare it to other disc golf courses in the Birmingham area, it just doesn't stack up for players that aren't beginners... Not enough long holes, not enough challenge, no water to throw over, no moderate / extreme elevation changes, and a Port-O-Let.

If you live in the area, this may be the best thing going for you, and there's nothing wrong with that...but if you're visiting from out of town, unless you're a beginner this is one worth passing by.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Excellent beginner course

2-4    8/11/2010   8/12/2010
Review By: emthompson10
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great practice course for beginners. To work on your short game. Par 3 but make sure to par early as you can lose a few stroke on the substantially longer back 9. I am fairly new to disc golf so this course within driving distance will definitely be great practice for short game.
Cons: Clarity of basket markers is an issue. The first round i played at North Jasper Park was the most difficult considering it was getting rather dark and some of the baskets are tucked behind trees from the tee markers. It's manageable but can be frustrating the first round.
Other Thoughts: Overall i would consider this a 4+ course. It seems that most people play from 6pm-dark during the summer and it also seems to be picking up in popularity. My friends love playing and the shorter course can make for more rounds in a day.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Nice course

5+    7/3/2010   7/3/2010
Review By: jwasted
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great course to have fun on, Good beginers course, Very clean and well kept! The front 9 has alot of easier short holes.
Cons: Not as many long holes as I would have liked.Not really any other cons to talk about :P
Other Thoughts: This is a nice safe course to come out and play. A group of 6-9 can get a game in on all 18 in a few hours. Get those birdies early so you can make a few mistakes on the back 9 lol.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Nice Short Course

2-4    6/28/2010   7/1/2010
Review By: disczeiger
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course was very clean, easy to navigate due to holes being so short and very close to each other. Great course for beginners to play without getting too frustrated due to the many short holes, yet despite the obvious constraints of space the course designer utilized the available land well. Nice location with playground close by for small kids and the course is easy to walk.

Good progression of holes. Holes 1-3 are short and wide open, then 4-7 are short but with more trees. Holes 8-10 are longer but still require an accurate shot. The rest of the holes are longer for a beginner (210+), giving them a chance to practice their drives
Cons: Not a big con but tee signs had no maps, however only on one hole my first time was I really unsure of which basket I was throwing at due to the shortness of the holes.

The biggest con right now is the lack of tee pads. There might be plans for the local club to install some in the future, which will greatly improve this already fun course. I easily played without pads, but I had to guess where to tee from. This was hard since I had no one else to watch, so I teed from beside the tee signs. A few holes such as 7 and 8 I felt like I might be teeing off from the wrong spot, as I could not see a clear fairway through the trees. Not a huge con, but something worth mentioning. Didn't detract from the fun.

Final con is for those looking for a challenge. Every hole is birdie-able. Not easily for some, but I've been playing a year and could definitely do it for each. As long as you have a big anny shot for 11 and a 350ft drive for 14 you could shoot -18 on a really great day.

Other Thoughts: I played with my friend on a Monday around 3-5 in the afternoon and the course was completely deserted. However, my other friend who played a different day reported having a group of 10~ in front of his group of 10~ and this being the norm. Guess I got lucky.

Overall a very fun course, but not a challenging one. If you're looking to have some fun, practice your upshots, throw your putter and your midrange a lot, then this is the course for you. Great course for the family and to take a girl along with you. If you're looking for a very technical course or a long course to really get some practice in, look elsewhere.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Great Beginner Coarse

5+    6/29/2010   6/29/2010
Review By: Koola00
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great for beginners and still challenging for more experienced players.
Clean well kept coarse, close to town.
Wide open holes and also holes with trees.
18 hole course.
Cons: Not much for beginners, excellent learning course.
Not many cons here.
Other Thoughts: Excellent clean course, well marked and easy to find your way around the course.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.