The Colony, TX 
Bill Allen Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: Marty McFly Hole #12 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 303ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Basket



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Bill Allen

5+    6/17/2014   6/18/2014
Review By: alpha_dave
Played: 67  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee Boxes= Nice concrete pads on holes 1-3 and 10-18, most of which still have the crushed granite surrounding the concrete.
Baskets= mostly in good shape, practice basket on top hill next to parking lot.
Signs & Stuff= Playground near parking lot and holes 1-3, picnic table at hole 8, porta-potty between holes 13 & 14 (usually)
Design= Varied shot design, has a little bit of elevation, some technical holes, a couple of bombers and several ace runs. Once you go "into the woods" on holes 10-13 your score can change drastically. Overall a very fun but still challenging course to play.
Dave's Point= one of my first courses I played, it will always be special to me, so it gets a little extra love.
Cons: Tee Boxes= holes 4-9 still have crushed granite pads, not a fan. Only one set of permanent tees.

Baskets= Mostly in good shape, basket 9 is installed incorrectly, so be sure to check the chains before you putt

Design=I'm not a big fan of hole 18…many players dislike hole 11(I'm not one of them)

Signs&Stuff= several of the signs (9&12) are missing or unreliable.

Dave's Point=I really dislike the granite pads, TC Parks and Rec keeps promising to add concrete to 4-9…..that'll be nice.
Other Thoughts: Ratings Breakdown:

Tee Boxes= .25
Baskets= .75
Signs & Stuff=..75
Design= .75
Dave's Point= 1.0
total= 3.5

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    2/22/2014   2/22/2014
Review By: FarFromPar
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -good mix of open and wooded, short and long
-no two holes feel the same
-good signage
-can use a variety of throws
Cons: -dirt and gravel teepads are worn in on a few holes
-snakes in summer
-a few holes will really punish you for throwing poorly
-can get crowded at times
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses to play. Concrete teepads or alt pin placement would really make this a 4 star or higher course for me. Played many rounds here and it still challenges me. One of the few courses where i feel a good sidearm really helps to have.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    2/22/2014   2/22/2014
Review By: OB Four
Played: 36  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Good variety of shots required
-Good flow b/t holes
-Grounds are well kept
-Challenging, but not overly so
Cons: -The biggest con for me is the dirt tee pads on some of the holes.
-Can get backed up on some of the tougher holes on a busier day
Other Thoughts: Probably one of my favorite courses to play on a regular basis. Has a really great mix of shots required. Has some really good wooded shots that require accuracy, hyzer/anhyzer shots, distance, elevation changes, and a few aceable holes.

Great place to test out a lot of areas of your game.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Big Ballin’ Bill

1    1/19/2014   1/23/2014
Review By: jrrttmrgn
Played: 81  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Bill Allen has many of the things that make a course go from adequate to great. A sense of mystery as to what adventure the next hole will have waiting for you. Big bombs from off hilltops, tight tunnel shots over flowing creeks, technical short drives followed by carefully placed long approaches, Risk/ Reward birdies and holes with multiple lines off the tee pad all make for a round of golf that makes you want to start over and play it again. Baskets are in good shape and course foliage and fairways are conscientiously maintained. There are adequate tables and trash cans which also aid in creating a good experience.
Cons: The cons of the course are few but need mentioning. The tee pads in the middle portion of the course are gravel and can cause slips or falls. Also, a few holes come dangerously close to parking lots and streets. Signs could use some updating as well.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Bill Allen

1    1/19/2014   1/19/2014
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 51  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 2.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of unique shots. Holes are all a challenging distance without becoming overly long. Good flow and navigation. Easy to traverse. Nice 30' circles around the baskets. Holes are separated from each other, so you never seem to be throwing onto other players.
Cons: The gravel tee pads are a bit troublesome for players with a big run up. Hole 13 is very close to a parking lot. You don't throw directly over it, but it's fairly easy for a bh shot to get pushed by the wind into it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Bill Allen

1    8/24/2013   8/29/2013
Review By: BigGAC1
Played: 34  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: wide variety of shots
good baskets
challenging placements
utilizes existing terrain well
Cons: lack of concrete pads
I ended up with poison ivy from here
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing this course, its layed out well, and is fun to play. Definitely worth playing if you're in the area.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

great variety

1    6/21/2012   5/21/2013
Review By: chalos13
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Impressive variety of shots. This course is the definition of using everything you have to work with. Long shots, short shots, tight approaches, this one will test your game.
Cons: Weaves in and out of the park, so there a few places that can get crowded. Some areas that look like they could be very bad for anyone alergic to poison ivy. The pond was almost dry when we played, but it looks like it could be a real swamp.
Other Thoughts: Great course, play it at an off time. People complain about no concrete tees but I can live without them at a park this great. Play this one for sure if you're in the area.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Variety on the course

1    4/27/2013   5/13/2013
Review By: jumbo
Played: 32  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really like this course because it does give you the opportunity to try alot of different shots as most of the holes have pretty interesting lines.

-Good Variety
-A few challenging holes.
-Side-arm Friendly
Cons: -11 is a really tight hole that can backup..
-Some of the water is no-mans land if your disc gets wet.
-The course can get crowded if the weather is nice.
Other Thoughts: Great course that will always stay pretty high on my list.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    5/5/2013   5/5/2013
Review By: Pond-diver
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Shots that will test your accuracy
Long shots
Short tricky shots
Good fun walk
Hole 2 3 6 8 and basically all of back 9 will require some thought
One of my favs in DFW!
Cons: Poison ivy
Snakes
Other Thoughts: Being my home course I will be biased but if you want go test your skills come play here
Very hard pars
I'm always diving In the pond on hole 6 looking for lost disc since I still can't make it over

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

The Colony

2-4    2/8/2013   2/22/2013
Review By: Jimbotten
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Pretty course with a variety of looks and water hazards.
Bomb shots. Windy shots. Precision shots.
Cons: This course has stolen 2 of my discs and 2 of my friends' discs.
The pond hole (which was slyly excluded from the photo gallery) is the main culprit.
A few holes can easily turn your score from par to + 5 because of the precision necessary.
Other Thoughts: New concrete pads on most tees.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.