The Colony, TX 
Bill Allen Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: Marty McFly Hole #3 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 167ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee: Basket is across the creek. You need to cross the bridge and head around the woods to get to the it.



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Big Ballin’ Bill

1    1/19/2014   1/23/2014
Review By: jrrttmrgn
Played: 82  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Bill Allen has many of the things that make a course go from adequate to great. A sense of mystery as to what adventure the next hole will have waiting for you. Big bombs from off hilltops, tight tunnel shots over flowing creeks, technical short drives followed by carefully placed long approaches, Risk/ Reward birdies and holes with multiple lines off the tee pad all make for a round of golf that makes you want to start over and play it again. Baskets are in good shape and course foliage and fairways are conscientiously maintained. There are adequate tables and trash cans which also aid in creating a good experience.
Cons: The cons of the course are few but need mentioning. The tee pads in the middle portion of the course are gravel and can cause slips or falls. Also, a few holes come dangerously close to parking lots and streets. Signs could use some updating as well.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Bill Allen

1    1/19/2014   1/19/2014
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 52  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of unique shots. Holes are all a challenging distance without becoming overly long. Good flow and navigation. Easy to traverse. Nice 30' circles around the baskets. Holes are separated from each other, so you never seem to be throwing onto other players.
Cons: The gravel tee pads are a bit troublesome for players with a big run up. Hole 13 is very close to a parking lot. You don't throw directly over it, but it's fairly easy for a bh shot to get pushed by the wind into it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Bill Allen

1    8/24/2013   8/29/2013
Review By: BigGAC1
Played: 34  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: wide variety of shots
good baskets
challenging placements
utilizes existing terrain well
Cons: lack of concrete pads
I ended up with poison ivy from here
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing this course, its layed out well, and is fun to play. Definitely worth playing if you're in the area.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

great variety

1    6/21/2012   5/21/2013
Review By: chalos13
Played: 34  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Impressive variety of shots. This course is the definition of using everything you have to work with. Long shots, short shots, tight approaches, this one will test your game.
Cons: Weaves in and out of the park, so there a few places that can get crowded. Some areas that look like they could be very bad for anyone alergic to poison ivy. The pond was almost dry when we played, but it looks like it could be a real swamp.
Other Thoughts: Great course, play it at an off time. People complain about no concrete tees but I can live without them at a park this great. Play this one for sure if you're in the area.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Variety on the course

1    4/27/2013   5/13/2013
Review By: jumbo
Played: 32  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really like this course because it does give you the opportunity to try alot of different shots as most of the holes have pretty interesting lines.

-Good Variety
-A few challenging holes.
-Side-arm Friendly
Cons: -11 is a really tight hole that can backup..
-Some of the water is no-mans land if your disc gets wet.
-The course can get crowded if the weather is nice.
Other Thoughts: Great course that will always stay pretty high on my list.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Love it!

5+    7/2/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: JeffWC15
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I have only been playing for about 3 months now but I absolutely LOVE this course. The front 9 is much easier than the back 9. I average about 2 over on the front but about 10 over on the back. #11 eats my lunch everytime but it is nice to have a beastly hole on each course you play. Good variety of holes on this course and it is soooo much fun playing. I consider this my home course!
Cons: The only cons that I see on this course is that some of the tee boxes need new gravel on them. Especially #3 and #10! Other than that I see nothing wrong with the layout of this course.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Almost Perfect

5+    5/24/2012   5/26/2012
Review By: DiffikultD
Played: 20  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In a part of Texas where it's hard to find great scenery, this is one of the most beautiful courses in the area. It's in a great neighborhood, and although it's in a mixed-use park, you rarely find yourself encroaching on someone else's good time, and vice versa.

While most courses might have one "signature" hole, this track has at least three. If disc golf was a televised sport, the return from commercials would show hole six (especially when the reeds are at their full height), fifteen, or seventeen.

It's worth repeating what most of the reviewers have said: This course demands, and rewards, a variety of shots. Don't be intimidated by the long holes if, like me, you don't have the biggest arm. As long as you stay out of trouble, you can post a decent score here.

It's rarely crowded here, compared to some of the popular courses in the area. Even when the smallish parking lot is overflowing, the layout prevents stack-ups between holes. (Speaking of the parking lot, if it's full you can park at a much bigger gravel lot right next to the 14th tee. You'll finish 13 right back at the same spot.)
Cons: I only have one major complaint about this course, and (surprise!) it has to do with the tee boxes. It's not just that they don't provide good footing, or that they can be downright dangerous if you slip too close to the end. It's the fact that so much time and effort went into building them that way. I throw from the grass whenever I can. I happen to like the way my feet are attached to my legs.

The only hole layouts I have a problem with are #11 and #12. I have no issue whatsoever with a hole that is difficult by design, but #11 is ridiculous. Even a very good throw can be disastrous, especially since they designated this hole as a par 3, while the par 4 #12 - even with its double dog leg - is a full 80' shorter and actually more likely to be reached in 3. Still, you have to consistently hit a gap approximately three feet wide. With all the trees that were removed for these holes, they could have easily taken out four more, and both holes would STILL be difficult pars.

No, there aren't any bathrooms, but I'm a guy and there's plenty of secluded, wooded areas, so that's not a big deal to me.

Snakes, numerous locust trees. Warning: those locust tree spines will go right through your shoe if you step on a fallen branch. If you lose a disc in the pond on #6, it belongs to the copperheads, water moccasins, and the gigantic snapping turtles.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course, so I might be a little biased in its favor. I've been playing it since it was a nine hole, and it was a GREAT nine hole course (with concrete pads). The first time I went there after the expansion to eighteen holes I hated it. This was where our group came after work to drink a few beers and play for a dollar a stroke. For the third round you could only use one disc. Anyway, since it's the closest course to me, I kept going back, and each time it's gotten better and better. Now, it's my second favorite course in the DFW Metroplex, behind Harry Myers in Rockwall.

Yes, the tees are frustrating, and yes, it's challenging, but after a round or two you will know that you just experienced pretty much everything that this great game has to offer.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    9/4/2011   10/14/2011
Review By: lajoie24
Played: 30  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/30/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is my favorite course in the area. It has an incredible combination of holes. You have ace runs on 3, 9, and 14 while praying to get pars on 10, 11 and 12. You'll have drives in the open, over trees and ponds, creek side, through forests, uphill and downhill. It never seems to be too crowded. The course is well maintained.
Cons: Tee boxes. Put some concrete in those tee boxes. They're currently some sort of decomposed granite/sand mix. Rolled an ankle on one of the holes. Since then, I'll drive off to the side of a few of the tee boxes because of the compromised footing
Other Thoughts: I would easily up my rating if they installed some concrete. Get out there anyways. You'll love it!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nicely done

5+    6/2/2011   6/2/2011
Review By: mike_james
Played: 54  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Youll use every shot in your bag, which makes it fun. Nice variety of distances for big arms and finesse players. Great use of the whole park. A windy day won't kill you here.
Cons: Long. Takes a while to play a round. The walk to play holes 4-9 is a death march in the heat. Watch for snakes, and I was attacked by bees here.
Other Thoughts: Strong, challenging course. Big boy course. Wish they would have just kept the old front 9 and put 9 more in the back. Love this place though.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Very fun

1    3/20/2011   3/20/2011
Review By: Lorider680
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -Great shot selection
-variety
-seclusion
-course map is perfect
Cons: -kind of hard to find
-the pond shot is meaty
Other Thoughts: This course is great. A disc golfer of any talent level will have fun on this course. Precision is needed on a few holes but possible. Everyone hates the tree on 1
F

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.