The Colony, TX 
Bill Allen Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: Marty McFly Hole #11 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 376ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 quick review...

5+    8/22/2010   8/28/2010
Review By: danielvstone
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.9 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: challenging, good variety, fun...

I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS COURSE...
Cons: brand new, so cut into some really overgrown and wild areas... easy to loose discs in brush and weeds.
Other Thoughts: I love to run through this course as often as possible. GREAT, GREAT course.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 extreme makeover

2-4    8/10/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 195  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/15/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great new layout
-layout flows relatively well
-great tee signs with distance, par, and very detailed map
-mostly brand new DGA baskets, great condition
-some trash cans
-large variety of distances and types of shots, good mix of lefty v. righty
-variety of wooded holes and open holes
-water in play
-makes good use of some elevation
-scorecards at first tee with course map on the back (essential for first timers!)
Cons: -tee pads (crushed rock) are in decent condition now since they are new but they'll probably need constant attention to stay that way
-hole 3 really needs a bridge to cross the creek
-trash cans at each tee would be nice but there are many around the course
Other Thoughts: This course has a great new layout that will certainly make it a much more popular DG destination. I never played the old 9-hole layout so I can't compare but the new one is lots of fun. The course flows pretty well but there are a few spots with tricky navigation and/or longish walks. Long walk between 3 and 4, 9 and 10, 12 and 13. Finding the tee for 9 may be problematic as well as figuring out where to go after 11 and 12. Another thing I didn't like about the layout was the walk from basket 15 to tee 16 crosses back over 15's fairway. Back to back groups will have to wait awhile on that hole.

*Navigation is aided by the trash cans. If there is a tee tucked in the treeline, there is usually a trash can on the edge of the trees indicating where to go.

The tees and baskets are in great condition, for now. Most of the baskets are brand new DGA's but the tee pads are crushed rock and I am sure will get worn and rutted with time. Already some are starting to show the mesh underneath and as noted above. Better than dirt in the long run but still problematic.

I really liked the amount of variety in hole shapes. There are a couple hyzer shots (1, 13), a few big right turns (2, 8, 17), and the most of the remaining holes have many obstacles that force you to shape lines. You throw over a pond on 6 and creeks come into play on 3, 14? (is there water in all those bushes?), and possibly 17 and 18 (dried up in the summer?).

My big complaint here is that holes 11 and 12 are completely retarded. The "fairways" are not fair at all: 10' wide tunnel (15' max on 12) carved through thick trees with heavy rough. This would be okay if the shape were playable but they have awkward turns that mean your only option is to lay up a 100' shot in order to have a shot after that. LAME.

Maybe a little trimming will improve 11 and 12 and hopefully some of the amenities will be addressed with time (especially a bridge on hole 3!!). All in all, a great new addition (kind of) to the north Metro area. I made the drive from Denton and it was definitely worth the 30 min drive.

***Update***
There are many new navigational aids on the course. Signs point the way after holes 9 and 12, the main trouble spots. The fairways on 11 and 12 also seem to be a bit more realistic now. Hole 12 is much better, you just need to hit the landing zone and 11 isn't so bad anymore either, especially now that the tee box is finished. Course is in great condition!


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Bill Allen Rundown!!!

1    8/4/2010   8/5/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/13/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great T-signs
-Scorecards w/ map on back provided for you at hole #1.
-Terrain variety - trees, shrubs, hills, water (creeks and ponds)
-Shot Variety - wide open, xtremely tunneled, low ceiling, drastic doglegs, really short and really long holes Has it all.
-Good attempt at t-pads (crushed rock) and quite large.
-Nice surrounding neighborhood and park.
-Very clean park. Really nice.
Cons: -Non-concrete pads.
-Somewhat difficult to navigate your first time through (otherwise fine)
-Could run in to other park goers
-Still a lot of unnecessary brush that could be cleared out.
-Water crossing in hole #3's fairway could use a bridge for sure.
Other Thoughts: Greaty course to play. Bring your technical/finesse game and your big arm. This course has it all. Not a beginner course to say the least. Love that the course is tucked back away in a nice quiet neighborhood.

Definately worth the stop if you're in the area and definately worth a drive if you're not to far.

Very impressed with this course, it's cleanliness, hole variety, and it's use of the land provided. Great obsticles.

Check it out. You won't be disappointed.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 New and Improving

2-4    7/24/2010   7/26/2010
Review By: DGRZ001
Played: 179  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 37.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/29/2010
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good mix of shots - short, long, open, tight. Seems to be good use of available land. The teeboxes are very large and easy to find, once you know where to look. This course, now with 18 holes, is much more challenging and interesting than the previous 9 hole course.
Cons: A few holes seem silly to me, but maybe that is because they are so difficult - Hole #11 comes to mind, mainly the orientation of the teepad, and Hole #14. With the old concrete pads still in place, it is a challenge to navigate the course.
Other Thoughts: I finally was able to finish a complete round out here - I hooked up with a couple other "old men", which helped me to not only slow my pace, but also to help keep me hydrated, which is a MUST this time of year.

This course will challenge you, frustrate you, and have you wanting to come back again. Yes, the course is still raw, and you want to stay on the fairway, but I would rather have the course open now than to wait until it has been manicured.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Quite interesting

1    7/24/2010   7/25/2010
Review By: guardianmol
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a wide variety of shots and you'll get to use all of them in a whole round. Some great chances to air it out, and several risk / reward holes.
Cons: This course is brutal in the mid-part with the heat, because there is 0 shade. As previous posters have mentioned, there really needs to be some clean-up of the edges, I was cleaning burrs off for hours! I'd also like to see concrete teeboxes put in or at least these patted down more.
Other Thoughts: This has the beginnings of a good course in the dfw area. It's still a work in progress, but I'm looking forward to it being completed. The pond can be intimidating because of the reeds around it, but if you just don't over think it, you should be able to clear it. Be careful for snakes!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Its a start

5+    7/16/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/5/2010
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The title says it all. This layout blows the old one away with a few holes not making the cut, resulting in a lower rating. The elevation is used pretty well for what little there is. Many of the greens make for interesting upshots as well as putts. The course doesnt really favor one type of player because there is just about every shot you can throw. It is fairly lefty friendly although where its not, it really isnt! The teepads are crushed granite which is a little different but most are in good shape. Most all of the baskets are brand new and are in good shape. There is far more challenge here then the old layout which will bring alot more players Im sure. Bring your A game and alot of patience for awhile because it still is fun despite quite a bit of negatives.
Cons: Some of the underbrush is BRUTAL! The little sticky tights get old even if you under the basket, both should be taken care of with more play. Holes 12, and 13 need TONS of work and are pretty dumb as they stand now ruining alot of the potential here. Not alot of shade here making for a very hot round. The pond on 6 will eat alot of discs for those who cant clear it, so lay up because its nasty. Many of the teepads are already getting big ruts in them and the grid is starting to show making for some akward footing. More trash cans would be great.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course and it was really ruined to me by holes 12 and 13. When every person playing the course has the same drive <100 feet just to have a chance at your next shot just isnt golf to me and it seems they just tried to do a little too much instead of just letting the land help you out. They have moved the tee for 11 making it more of a hole then before. They are really that bad. I have a feeling that with play many things will be taken care of and the rating will go up but as of now its stuck at a 3.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 In progress

5+    7/1/2010   7/1/2010
Review By: matk26
Played: 59  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good mix of holes and shots. Way more challenging than the previous layout. Tee boxes are well maintained and the park is normally well kept by the city.
Cons: Hole 6 pond is going to eat alot of discs (it has two of mine already). We need a bridge on hole 3 please too. Also there is alot left to clear and trample down now. Time and the designers hard work will take care of that tho.
Other Thoughts: Holes 11, 12, 13 (the basket is in but no tee box yet), 15, and 16 are not fully finished yet. Don't expect a well groomed course yet as its a work in progress. Shoot high and hard on number 6 if you decide to go over the pond since the pond's low pressure causes your disc to drop. Don't over think it or it will psyche you out.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.