The Colony, TX 
Bill Allen Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: Marty McFly Hole #4 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 237ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee: Basket is tucked away in the tree line.



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4

2-4    12/25/2015   12/26/2015
Review By: sommelier73
Played: 32  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.3 Years
Pros: Well designed, technical course with some arm-stretching holes thrown in for balance. Tee pads and baskets are all in good shape, and the park seems fairly popular. The creative layout of the course forced me to use all the shots in my bag, which I like. There are also three holes that are marked as par 4 which seem generous.
Cons: There are some low spots that collect water after a heavy rain, so parts of the course turn into a shoe sucking mud pit. Also, hole 6 plays across a pond that forces you to carry 300' from the tee, or go swimming.
Other Thoughts: We came out on Christmas and there were a bunch of people out using the park. We had some folks stroll down the fairway of 11, just enjoying the views. There were a couple of guys using hole 18 for putting practice, and a family using the 15th fairway for batting practice. All in all, I would recommend this course for anybody, but beginners should bring diving equipment.

A good bit of water

2-4    11/21/2015   11/23/2015
Review By: Elimster
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2
Pros: It's a nice, challenging course. Has technical shots, with some long easier shots. Good layout, you can find the next hole fairly easily, and a nice park.
Cons: The signs have either worn away or the papers are no longer there on many of the holes. Many you cannot see from the tee, this in and of itself is not a bad thing just makes you scout if you don't know the course.

 Bill Allen

5+    6/17/2014   6/18/2014
Review By: alpha_dave
Played: 100  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee Boxes= Nice concrete pads on holes 1-3 and 10-18, most of which still have the crushed granite surrounding the concrete.
Baskets= mostly in good shape, practice basket on top hill next to parking lot.
Signs & Stuff= Playground near parking lot and holes 1-3, picnic table at hole 8, porta-potty between holes 13 & 14 (usually)
Design= Varied shot design, has a little bit of elevation, some technical holes, a couple of bombers and several ace runs. Once you go "into the woods" on holes 10-13 your score can change drastically. Overall a very fun but still challenging course to play.
Dave's Point= one of my first courses I played, it will always be special to me, so it gets a little extra love.
Cons: Tee Boxes= holes 4-9 still have crushed granite pads, not a fan. Only one set of permanent tees.

Baskets= Mostly in good shape, basket 9 is installed incorrectly, so be sure to check the chains before you putt

Design=I'm not a big fan of hole 18...many players dislike hole 11(I'm not one of them)

Signs&Stuff= several of the signs (9&12) are missing or unreliable.

Dave's Point=I really dislike the granite pads, TC Parks and Rec keeps promising to add concrete to 4-9.....that'll be nice.
Other Thoughts: Ratings Breakdown:

Tee Boxes= .25
Baskets= .75
Signs & Stuff=..75
Design= .75
Dave's Point= 1.0
total= 3.5

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/22/2014   2/22/2014
Review By: FarFromPar
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -good mix of open and wooded, short and long
-no two holes feel the same
-good signage
-can use a variety of throws
Cons: -dirt and gravel teepads are worn in on a few holes
-snakes in summer
-a few holes will really punish you for throwing poorly
-can get crowded at times
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses to play. Concrete teepads or alt pin placement would really make this a 4 star or higher course for me. Played many rounds here and it still challenges me. One of the few courses where i feel a good sidearm really helps to have.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    2/22/2014   2/22/2014
Review By: OB Four
Played: 43  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 7/7/2016
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Good variety of shots required
-Good flow b/t holes
-Grounds are well kept
-Challenging, but not overly so
Cons: -Stickers in the summer like crazy
-Does not drain well
Other Thoughts: Probably one of my favorite courses to play on a regular basis. Has a really great mix of shots required. Has some really good wooded shots that require accuracy, hyzer/anhyzer shots, distance, elevation changes, and a few aceable holes.

Hole by hole breakdown:
1. Depending on the weather, the green can be fast. So, you'll want to adjust your shot accordingly for the skip or lack thereof. I've seen this hole played successfully with everything from a midrange to a 12 speed driver. Just a pure hyzer shot.
2. The most conventional way to play this shot is the forehand hyzer through the gap, and let the skip get you close to the pin. The easier route if you have the shot, is the thumber.
3. Ace run hole. Just a straight shot to the pin, putter or mid depending on your playing style.
4. There is the gorge on the right side of the fairway that many of discs have been thrown into. The only true risk is is you misjudge the wind and your putter/mid turns over. Can usually play the straight shot with a putter/mid or a fairway driver for more of a hyzer route.
5. Typically, unless you have over 500ft of power, just trying to blast out your first shot as far as possible to make for the easiest upshot for a 3. The green is on a hill and makes for a fast green if you hit the left side of the green. Not too many 2's taken here.
6. The wind comes into play a lot on this hole. Not a long shot over the water, but the wind can change that in a hurry. Depending on your power, it's a very two-able hole. I've seen the hole successfully played for the birdie with anything from a fairway driver to a distance driver, just depends on your line preference and playing style.
7. Feels like this should be an easy birdie hole, but the wind can make things a little rough, esp for the backhand thrower. The easiest play is the right hand forehand hyzer if you have the throw and let it skip into the green for the 2. Otherwise for the RHBH player, it's downhill and not a hard throw to get a putter or mid down there. The wind is usually in play though and can turn over the slower molds more easily into the rough.
8. Not the easiest of two's, but not the hardest either. Can be had with either the backhand mid turnover shot or a pure forehand hyzer. Usually trying to play a little right and high of the tree off the tee.
9. Just a straight to fade shot with a putter or mid.
10. I've seen this shot played many of ways. None really a guaranteed two. But pick your favorite gap shot, and let it rip.
11. Typically, most ppl want to play to the placement shot off the tee and get about halfway down the fairway for a more manageable three. Not too many ppl are two-ing this hole without an amazing throw in. Personally I prefer the putter or mid shot off the tee and then another putter shot for the upshot.
12. Playing a hyzer skip with something overstable just trying to get yourself an easy upshot. Can be a crapshoot as to where you land though.
13. I've seen this two parked with a thumber, but if you don't have that shot, you're typically putting out a placement shot with an overstable mold hoping to get as much skip towards the green as possible for an easy upshot for three.
14. Simple hyzer shot.
15. I've seen a two look on this hole a handful of times, but it's rare. Best shots I've seen were flex shots or hyzerflips down the fairway. Typically just trying to get yourself in position for the easiest second shot for a par though.
16. Seemingly a simple shot here. Usually taking a fairway here and just trying to hit the right gap and allow the disc to settle in near the basket. Can be a fast green depending on weather.
17. I've seen this hole 2'ed once in person, very rare. Typically just aiming for the gap at the bottom of the fairway trying to allow for an open upshot. Really want to avoid sawing off your drive and going into the rough on the left or landing short right, as the trees will make for a hard upshot.
18. I've seen this played a number of ways. None of which seems to be any better than the other. Hyzerflip to straight or a flat shot with a straight disc through the gap will work, there's a backdrop that can help, so you can use pretty much any speed of disc you'd like, as it'll stop you from going too far if you come in hot.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Big Ballin’ Bill

1    1/19/2014   1/23/2014
Review By: jrrttmrgn
Played: 101  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 12.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Bill Allen has many of the things that make a course go from adequate to great. A sense of mystery as to what adventure the next hole will have waiting for you. Big bombs from off hilltops, tight tunnel shots over flowing creeks, technical short drives followed by carefully placed long approaches, Risk/ Reward birdies and holes with multiple lines off the tee pad all make for a round of golf that makes you want to start over and play it again. Baskets are in good shape and course foliage and fairways are conscientiously maintained. There are adequate tables and trash cans which also aid in creating a good experience.
Cons: The cons of the course are few but need mentioning. The tee pads in the middle portion of the course are gravel and can cause slips or falls. Also, a few holes come dangerously close to parking lots and streets. Signs could use some updating as well.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bill Allen

1    1/19/2014   1/19/2014
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 62  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of unique shots. Holes are all a challenging distance without becoming overly long. Good flow and navigation. Easy to traverse. Nice 30' circles around the baskets. Holes are separated from each other, so you never seem to be throwing onto other players.
Cons: The gravel tee pads are a bit troublesome for players with a big run up. Hole 13 is very close to a parking lot. You don't throw directly over it, but it's fairly easy for a bh shot to get pushed by the wind into it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Bill Allen

1    8/24/2013   8/29/2013
Review By: BigGAC1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 6.9 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: wide variety of shots
good baskets
challenging placements
utilizes existing terrain well
Cons: lack of concrete pads
I ended up with poison ivy from here
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing this course, its layed out well, and is fun to play. Definitely worth playing if you're in the area.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 great variety

1    6/21/2012   5/21/2013
Review By: chalos13
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Impressive variety of shots. This course is the definition of using everything you have to work with. Long shots, short shots, tight approaches, this one will test your game.
Cons: Weaves in and out of the park, so there a few places that can get crowded. Some areas that look like they could be very bad for anyone alergic to poison ivy. The pond was almost dry when we played, but it looks like it could be a real swamp.
Other Thoughts: Great course, play it at an off time. People complain about no concrete tees but I can live without them at a park this great. Play this one for sure if you're in the area.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Variety on the course

1    4/27/2013   5/13/2013
Review By: jumbo
Played: 39  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really like this course because it does give you the opportunity to try alot of different shots as most of the holes have pretty interesting lines.

-Good Variety
-A few challenging holes.
-Side-arm Friendly
Cons: -11 is a really tight hole that can backup..
-Some of the water is no-mans land if your disc gets wet.
-The course can get crowded if the weather is nice.
Other Thoughts: Great course that will always stay pretty high on my list.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.