The Colony, TX 
Bill Allen Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: Marty McFly Hole #17 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 471ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Fairway to Tee



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Holy Guacamole Presto Changeo

1    5/16/2011   5/20/2011
Review By: Donovan
Played: 235  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 29.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow! The change from an easy 9-hole course to a fun 18-hole course is impressive. The hard work really shows. This course has OB, water, a drop-off creek, open-holes, wooded holes, ace runs, protected baskets, some elevation, and a great layout. The variety of hole length and type of hole (woods, elevation, open, water) is really mixed. Playing this 18-hole layout for the first time was pretty cool. I was surprised often at what hole was next. It was not a predictable layout. That made it exciting. The baskets are great and the tee sign were excellent. The crushed granite tee pad "boxes" were actually great to throw on. I enjoyed this option, as they were not too slick and not too rough. Parking was great and there were plenty of trashcans along the way.
Cons: Navigation only get's you hung up a little now and then. Just look for the trashcans to find the holes that are a little harder to spot. BTW, when you get to the drop-off creek hole, you can walk around and cross a bridge just a little further down the sidewalk that is behind you. There are no rest room at this park, but the is a play ground that I am happy to say, doesn't come into play.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here is high. This place is a great time. I am so thrilled with the constant changing of the type of holes, that it feels like it never gets boring. I wish this one was closer to home. I would be playing here much more often. I don't know who Bill Allen was, but it is a great memorial. He would be humbled by the work that was put into this, in his name! Kudos!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Very fun

1    3/20/2011   3/20/2011
Review By: Lorider680
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -Great shot selection
-variety
-seclusion
-course map is perfect
Cons: -kind of hard to find
-the pond shot is meaty
Other Thoughts: This course is great. A disc golfer of any talent level will have fun on this course. Precision is needed on a few holes but possible. Everyone hates the tree on 1
F

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    1/22/2011   2/1/2011
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 8.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: EXCELLENT shot variety. From short to long, lefty, righty, straight, very tight, very open, and everything in between. This course has them all.

The fun factor is high on this course due to the variety.

Water is a factor on many of the holes which adds to the pucker factor.

Good Tee signs.

Large framed and packed crushed granite tee pads. Concrete is coming soon but in the mean time being these are better than a muddy hole.

Good flow that starts and finishes at the parking area.

The shot over the pond is one of the longer water carries I've ever played. You can either go for the birdie if you can throw at least 320' or you can lay up short and then throw over it for a pretty easy three either way. Good risk vs reward hole.

The thorny rough is such that it really rewards accuracy and punishes errant shots. Most throws that are not in the fairway will cost you at least a stroke.
Cons: No concrete teepads (but rumor has it they're coming soon). Not that big of a con since I'm from Austin where all our teepads are dirt.

After hole #11 you have to turn right to get to hole #12. If you go straight down the trail instead of going right you will come to #13's tee, so it feels like #12 was added as an after thought. Then you have a long walk back from #12's basket to the #13 tee.

No restrooms.

The water and rough may make this course a little frustrating for newer players. I played it in the dead of winter and it was pretty brutal. I can only imagine what it's like with leaves on the trees.
Other Thoughts: I played this course when it was an easy little nine holer and am pleasantly suprised by the redesign. Whoever was responsible really got this one right. I might just kick it up to 4.5 after it gets concrete.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/27/2010   12/27/2010
Review By: TYVEK
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: nicely laid out course, good variety of shots, nice area and little to no litter.
Cons: deffinately needs concrete tee pads. it looks like the baskets were not assembled correctly because alot of them had the lower chain ring resting on the bottom of the basket instead of hanging freely like it should.

it also looks like the baskets are not all installed at the same height. it would be nice to see more brush removal.
Other Thoughts: all in all, i had a great time playing this course. since it is a new course it has some kinks to be worked out but all courses do. in a couple years i think this will be a fantastic course to play.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Something for everyone

1    12/7/2010   12/7/2010
Review By: riffraffrasta
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Just like other reviewers said, big variety. Tunnels, Wide open, long short, dog legs, obstacles and hazards.
-Challenge vs. reward is good. Good use of land.
-Good signs, detailed and not vandalized.
-Fairly easy to navigate
-Trash cans
-Crushed rock/dirt tee pads.
Cons: -Tee pads are going to need maintenance soon.
-No restrooms (at least that I saw)
-I'm sure it can get pretty bad after a hard rain
-Drainage areas smell
-Kind of trashy (which is sad because there are A LOT of trash cans.
-The scorecards and maps were gone
-The tree on #1 (dumb)
Other Thoughts: Great course in a neighborhood park. Great place to work on your all around game. Distance, accuracy, finesse and shot choice. Windy days could be frustrating but it was not an issue the day I played. I live in Dallas so the drive is a little far and it is tucked back in a neighborhood pretty far from any major highways. I will definitely play this course again and hopefully soon. Well worth your time if your in the area or close by.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great signage!!!

1    11/5/2010   11/5/2010
Review By: memphisrider93
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I loved the layout of the course incorporating a nice creek a couple little ditches and some water. The signage is AMAZING!!! Every other turn you would have a sign pointing to the next tee. The tee signs are very good also with having the next tee box on it and having good accurate representation of the hole layout.
Cons: Some of the holes have real poor routes such as 11 and especially 12 that has a very wide S as the route that is near impossible to get through. There are a few nasty spots on the course where I encountered some snakes.
Other Thoughts: I would really like to see a Tournamet held out here. I would love to see some good scores out here.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not for newbs

2-4    7/17/2011   10/27/2010
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 59  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2011
3 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: A couple decently fun holes requiring a wide variety of shots - some power holes, some finesse holes. Many difficult holes to par, and some easy birdies.
Cons: Overall, just too many really annoying holes.
Starting off with #1, and the annoying little tree that is right in the line of fire off the tee.
The pond on #6 is a disk swallower, you either need a consistent 350 ft straight drive, or you should lay up. For players with short, but accurate drives (like my wife), it can be too big to get over even with a layup off the tee.
Holes 9-13 have so many trees and tight throwing lanes, it's easy to get frustrated and run up your score if you are not extremely accurate.
Once you get out of the woods after 13, you'll probably have a tough time enjoying the last 5 holes, which would otherwise be fun.
Other Thoughts: I played this course again, and it was a lot better than I remember, or else I've just gotten a lot better.

3 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Much Improved

1    9/14/2010   9/15/2010
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 259  Reviewed: 112  Exp: 28.3 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wow, I was not expecting much, but I found this course to be fun to play.

#1 short, hard left
#2 short, hard right
#3 very short, over the creek, kind of tight. This is a must get birdie.
#4 275 foot hole with a wide open fairway and the basket in the brush with danger on the right.
#5 very long shot over the crest of the hill. This is a good hole with no trees.
#6 Very good hole with a 375 shot across the pond.
#7 Nice open turnover shot. The brush near the basket is unforgiving.
#8 I don't know the line for this one, it is almost a U-turn shot to the right. I bet Thumbers would like this hole.
#9 short little hyzer (almost aced this one)
#10 open shot 3/4 down the fairway with the last 1/4 being about 10ft wide entrance to the green.
#11 very tight slight s curve shot.
#12 Very tight big s curve shot. Impossible 2, lay up for an easy 3.
#13 very hard L shot to the left. Maditory left of a tree to keep you out of the street and parking lot OB on long shots.
#14 most ace-able hole on the course. Short shot over a stinky drainage ditch.
#15 Very nice long hole with trees to the left and right of the fairway.
#16 Nice hole with a lefty and righty shot. The basket is elevated on the side of a hill with a drainage ditch behind it of errant throws.
#17 Nice long hard right shot. Wide open elevated tee shot with the basket past a row of large trees and drainage ditch. .
#18 Nice end of a round with a straight shot though the trees over some OB water (when wet) ditches.
Cons: Tee boxes are crunched granite. The flood last week did some major damage to several of the tee pads.

Some of the hole are just too short. A little more clearing to make some of the holes longer would have been better.

VERY long walk from 12 to 13
Other Thoughts: I will be playing here many more times. I only shot even today and know I can do better. Need to par those tight holes (10-12)


7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good but challenging

5+    9/4/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: Nonbigarmed
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The expansion is a very nice change. Many of the holes have become much more technical and challenging, requiring a higher degree of accuracy instead of just being open to the most powerful throws. I personally liked the 11th and 12th holes, and found their challenge to be more like some of the most difficult courses I have played.
Cons: The 6th hole is not friendly to anyone who would be rated lower than white (using the PDGA player rating system). The shot across the pond is too long for these beginning players, and the grass is much too high. An alternate tee position for these players for this hole would help to alleviate frustrations on this hole.
Other Thoughts: This course used to be a nice, easy 9-hole warmup. It is now a technically challenging 18 that will make a player be very precise with their shooting. The abundance of shade on many of the holes is also quite welcome in the Texas summer.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Update

2-4    8/28/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: bumpspeed
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great selection of holes. What used to be a rinky dink pitch and putt is so much better. You will need most of the shots in your bag.

Use your head. Don't just throw for it. Know where the pin is. This course will bite you for a mis-placed drive or approach.
Cons: Mulituse park. Walkers can be and issue on a couple of holes and kids playing in the grass can get in the way. A buddy to watch out for your drives on hole 5 is nice.

I understand wanting to make some tight holes in the woods, but 11 and 12 could be widened by a foot or so to be a bit more playable.
Other Thoughts: Now that it is 18 holes and ALOT more challenging this is back into my rotaion.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.