Albuquerque, NM 
Brent Baca Memorial Share
Uploaded By: AlexBradford Hole #18 (Taken 9/2011)
4 / 460ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Approach: Basket in brush behind large tree stump



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
In the desert

5+    1/28/2014   11/23/2013
Review By: Mako8
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/29/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is pretty easy to navigate for a first timer. There were maps in the box at the beginning and the tee pads are concrete circles that are visible. Arrows on the tee pads point you to the basket and with a glance at the map baskets are easy to find. Fun and challenging shots that require a lot of different discs and throws to get you there. The blind shots are easily marked on the map which make them "easier". Wide open area is utilized well and "recycled" metal shelves and structures are put around baskets to make shots more challenging. Great terrain, lots of walking and exercise.
Cons: Best to play in morning, course is exposed and gets hot! Weeds can be overgrown which can make finding discs difficult and deceiving. When I played there were cracks in the ground big enough to fall in; be careful falling in them will cause sprained ankles or worse. Erosion is very bad here. Lots of helicopters flying around at all times of day and the dump nearby will make flies unbearable around certain trash cans on the course. The mondo hole on this course (18 I think) has an OB on the left side; don't get it over the fence it is rough and overgrown.
Other Thoughts: Course is exposed and gets hot, bring a hat and plenty of water. It helps to have a spotter on this course distances and bushes are very deceiving. Watch out for the huge cliffs on the arroyo. Pro tees have obstacles in the way which cause you to have to hyzer or anny around the obstacle. This is a fun course that I would play again. Enjoy!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun, but open

1    12/27/2012   1/22/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 754  Exp: 12.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large open area. There is an arroyo running through part of the course, and it's used for a couple nice basket placements with rollaway potential. It's deep enough that you can really pay for an errant shot that ends up down in the bottom. A couple other really minor elevation changes are in play as well. The tees are large circular concrete pads, and the signage is enough to navigate the course fairly easily.

There is a nice mix of hole lengths, from shorter reachable holes to a few long bomber shots where you get to really air out some drives. It's nice to get to watch the disc fly a long way, and you definitely have that opportunity here. Lots of man-made obstacles add to the challenge of a mostly open set of shots. My favorite was the hole with the vertical railroad ties, one side was much denser than the other and put a premium on placing your shot on the correct side. The rusty metal scaffolding was another fun obstacle that allows for recovery shots but definitely punishes an errant drive.
Cons: Despite great creativity by the course designer(s), the holes still play very open. There just isn't much opportunity for tight technical shots so you aren't forced to shape any specific lines. That leads to a little bit of a repetitive feeling that's a bit unavoidable on this property. The signage could use a little more info, especially on the longer shots. We had to look at the info online to know how far and where to throw.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course a little long, but not terribly punitive. More experienced throwers will find some nice shot placement challenges and some good chances to air out longer drives, but won't really need technical line shaping skills to score well. I thought this was a very unique course, and would definitely recommend a stop if you're in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Hop out of the airport and head south

1    8/24/2012   8/30/2012
Review By: ClayParrot
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/17/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located just south and close to ABQ. Man made objects really help a few holes out as the previous reviewer mentioned the obvious - this is the desert and these obstacles help things. Several baskets right under and very protected by the few trees along the arroyo make for precise approaches if you wish to make a par (and nearly tap in at that).

Liked the way the last few holes end the round, including the face artwork on the (propane?) tank.
Cons: Several baskets right under and very protected by the few trees along the arroyo make for precise approaches if you wish to make a par (and nearly tap in at that). [Hmmm....pro or con?]

Several holes that I think were just way too long. Very dusty (it is the desert, I know) and a bit boring.
Other Thoughts: At least you don't have to go back and forth and back and forth across the arroyo. Just once across and once back for the round.

Unfortunately, the only course in ABQ I played, so not sure if it is the best or not. Giving it a 3 as I really don't like to play ones rated lower and I am happy that I did play this one.

Be careful when trying to find this one --- if you look at a map it appears you can simply drive south on University before you make the turn on Los Picaros, but there is no access off of University. You need to get to Los Picaros from Broadway and then Bobby Foster Rd.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Well...best in ABQ anyway...

2-4    7/15/2011   7/15/2011
Review By: Ghetto Leprechaun
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very nice, thick paper, map/scorecards provided.
-Very fluid course. You can usually see the next tee from the pin you're at, and it's not far away. The map is more for seeing where the pin is at while at the tee rather than trying to find the next tee.
-Signs w/faded par and distance and map at each pro tee. (Starting to fade but still legible.)
-Nice man made obstacles. This is the desert, there's nothing but a tree or two and some bushes. Someone went to great lengths to add railroad ties, metal things (you tell me what those things are!), a wire fence around one pin (neat idea.), etc.
-Nice, long, open driveways.
-Out in the middle of nowhere! No chance of hitting a car in a parking lot, or a person having a picnic or something. No bums/drug addicts (that's a jab at you, Roosevelt Park!). Nice and quiet/peaceful.
-Very nice, big, concrete tees. (Not that is rains much but concrete is always better than dirt.)
Cons: -Not enough technical shots.
-If the wind is blowing things are going to get very, very difficult.
-Not much shade. (It is the desert after all.)
Other Thoughts: This course is a 5 for ABQ but compared to other courses, such as Sipapu, no way this gets a 5. For me, there are too many straight, unblocked drives. I prefer technical over long drives. (May have something to do with my lack of straight distance in my drive haha). I would prefer more technical shots though. Overall, best course in ABQ, hands down. (Roosevelt has the best potential but too many cons such as design and foot traffic so Brent Baca wins.)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf Meets Mad Max Meets Harsh Desert Conditions!

1    3/31/2011   4/5/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 682  Reviewed: 634  Exp: 36.3 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Mad Max reference that previous reviewers have referred to is just so perfect that I just had to use it in my title. This course just has that "feel." Everyone talks about the manmade obstacles but no-one has really described the one that I consider the best idea.

NOTE TO COURSE DESIGNERS ANYWHERE! THIS IS IS ONE GREAT IDEA ! The # 3 basket was just sitting out in the middle of this vacant field. The designers went to much effort to bury railroad ties standing upright in the ground around the basket. There are probably eight RR ties of varying heights, standing approx 3'-7' tall surrounding the basket. We've all played courses with a basket standing all alone out in the middle of a field. This is a really unique way to transform that rather boring hole into a rather unique hole. You could bury poles of any thickness/height or mix and match. It'll take some grunt work on the part of your group but it'll will certainly add to your course.

Now off my soap box and back to Brent Baca course. The course sits out in the middle of an industrial area. Out where the treatment plants, recycling and auto wrecking yards are located. It has the feel of a very large industrial vacant yard crossed with scrubby desert terrain. And then the whole course is criss-crossed with a large deep arroyo.
The tee-pads are amazing large circles of concrete, 10 feet across. I played alone early in the morning and was able to follow the course fairly easily. The # 4 basket sits just above this deep arroyo. My short putt hit the side and rolled down into it forcing me to climb down the banks and play up again. At certain times of the year, my putter would have been a wash-a-way.
# 12 was probably my favorite hole. It's just a short 255' throw over the metal frames but then the basket is enclosed in a small fenced corral. Shades of Winthrop Gold in South Carolina!
And then I found # 17 to be an interesting hole. It's just a routine 265' throw to a basket set in some trees except there is a large industrial gas tank of some kind (approx the size of RR car) lying on it's side. And painted on the end facing you are two large eyeballs. They look like woman's eyes to me. And this tank is right where I wanted to hyser my throw into the basket. And naturally I banged my throw off her forehead!
Cons: The terrain has more of a run down vacant lot feel to me than a desert feel. It could be really hot and dusty out there in the heat of a New Mexico day. Finding discs in some of that scrub could be difficult. There were some man made obstacles right in front of some of the round teepads forcing you to either throw a bigger hyser or anhyser than you might have wanted to. I thought they were unnecessary and sometimes unsightly. The pads were big enough that you could easily throw around them. The course is a heck of a long ways away from civilization.
Other Thoughts: It's certainly one unique course. The man made obstacles are innovative and creative. Congratulations to the course designers for thinking out of the box and all their hard work. You've built something here where there was nothing. Other course developers should take note and borrow a few of these ideas. I've already passed word to John, one of the head honchos at the Las Vegas, NM club. His course has numerous holes that could benefit from some of these man-mades.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Semi-Deserted Desert

2-4    4/3/2010   4/10/2010
Review By: DrDipsomania
Played: 52  Reviewed: 12
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Perhaps biased by the deficiencies of the other courses in the area, I found this course to be very enjoyable. Moderately challenging, the real fun in this course is in its variety. The openness of the terrain and the large circular tee pads are conducive not only to long, open throws, but technical shots and dog legs left and right, making way for hyzers, anhyzers, forehands, backhands, tomahawks - whatever your strength may be (or if you want to work on a weakness). The man-made obstacles really add to the appeal of the course, apart from adding character & challenge to an otherwise bland landscape. Well marked, with big fat arrows on the tee pad to point you in the right direction, and some mini-maps (hand-drawn) on the tee markers to indicate direction and mandatory shots. Baskets are all flagged and easy to locate. Wide open: I've only ever seen one other group on the course as the same time as I've been out there.
Cons: As with any course in the area, best not to play in windy conditions. Not super challenging; other than one very long hole (700'+) and a few mandatory shots, nothing really presents itself as difficult; plus, with plenty of make-able birdie opportunities, you can easily compensate for a bad hole or two. Lack of trash cans coupled with slovenly people/players makes for a lot of garbage and debris on the course. Adjacent to 1) an off-road/atv area (with some overlap onto the course), 2) the airport, 3) an air force base, and 4) a recycling plant; for as out of the way as it seems, it sure is crowded in around a lot of crap. No maps, contrary to what was indicated on the bulletin board at hole #1; and there was a 2-month old note in there from another player indicating that they needed more maps. Still, there was a permanent map on the bulletin board; didn't end up needing it, though, as the layout is pretty fluid.
Other Thoughts: Bring water, it gets hot and there's no source on site. Love hole #4: nothing is as cool as flinging a forehand anhyzer along the edge of an arroyo right up to the pin.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Be Prepared

1    5/31/2009   7/13/2009
Review By: RocCityDiscer
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 12.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very cool circular concrete tee pads on every hole add an artistic touch along with man made obstacles on a few holes.
-Distances marked on every hole but no signs
-Logical flow of hole layout makes navigation pretty manageable
-Nice mix of holes both short and long gives some birdie chances and some holes you really have to work for a three.
Cons: -Some pin placements seemed absolutely unfair. So much cover that you pretty much have to go past the hole and shoot back to it. With a little tree trimming my rating would definitely jump to a 3.5 or even a 4.
-Noise from the nearby recycling plant and off-road vehicle park take away from the solitude of the course.
Other Thoughts: I would call this a definite must play if in the Albuquerque, NM area.
- Can be very hot not a lot of shade, bring water
-Throw bright discs only. Thick sage brush can hide your disc very well
- Very windy so be prepared for that.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.