Albuquerque, NM 
Brent Baca Memorial Share
Uploaded By: AlexBradford Hole #11 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 280ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 A fun couse in the middle of no where

1    6/7/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: ryan ranes
Played: 48  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: fun shopts for big arm throwers and manmade obstacles making it look very cool and tricky
with excellent teepads O
Cons: there are no signs so easy to get lost and can get very windy
Other Thoughts: when ur early to the airport u can play this course before hand

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Must See!

5+    4/12/2010   4/14/2010
Review By: iceparrot
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Off the Tee: Large circular concrete tee pads make it easy to rip it how you wish. Natural and Man-Made Obstacles, large arroyos (flash flood canyons) and up/down shots make for interesting shots, but you largely can just rip it, especially if you throw RBH.

Approach and Putting: The baskets are all in excellent condition, and almost every placement is meant to reward accurate approach play, with tough obstacles, both man-made and natural being used to prevent long putts from most angles.

Environment: The course is a great use of open land, and the designers made the most of it by use of man-made obstacles. Throwing into an arroyo is always frustrating, but it does make for good risk/reward on many holes, especially hole #4.

Hole #11 is a great example of the Mad-Max meets disc golf style of the course, with all the obstacles being large uni-strut rusted metal frames. Good design choice.

The layout of the course is pretty easy to follow after it's been played once as the tees always have an arrow that points right at the basket, as well as hand drawn maps with distances.
Cons: It can be dusty and hot, and easy to lose discs if the brush hasn't been trimmed down recently. While some of the holes have well done obstacles that require a different shaped shot off the tee, others just reinforce the standard RBH flight, such as #3.
Other Thoughts: If you play by yourself make sure to bring lots of water and a phone, as there are some dangers to the course, and its rare that others players are on it. *I strongly recommend wearing pants and sturdy shoes* I would also recommend playing this course early in the morning during the summer as there is no water and almost no shade on the course for rest stops.

This course is worth the play
I applaud the designers and maintainers of this course for keeping it in fairly good condition despite its remote location.

This course should be played at least once if you are in the area.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Semi-Deserted Desert

2-4    4/3/2010   4/10/2010
Review By: DrDipsomania
Played: 52  Reviewed: 12
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Perhaps biased by the deficiencies of the other courses in the area, I found this course to be very enjoyable. Moderately challenging, the real fun in this course is in its variety. The openness of the terrain and the large circular tee pads are conducive not only to long, open throws, but technical shots and dog legs left and right, making way for hyzers, anhyzers, forehands, backhands, tomahawks - whatever your strength may be (or if you want to work on a weakness). The man-made obstacles really add to the appeal of the course, apart from adding character & challenge to an otherwise bland landscape. Well marked, with big fat arrows on the tee pad to point you in the right direction, and some mini-maps (hand-drawn) on the tee markers to indicate direction and mandatory shots. Baskets are all flagged and easy to locate. Wide open: I've only ever seen one other group on the course as the same time as I've been out there.
Cons: As with any course in the area, best not to play in windy conditions. Not super challenging; other than one very long hole (700'+) and a few mandatory shots, nothing really presents itself as difficult; plus, with plenty of make-able birdie opportunities, you can easily compensate for a bad hole or two. Lack of trash cans coupled with slovenly people/players makes for a lot of garbage and debris on the course. Adjacent to 1) an off-road/atv area (with some overlap onto the course), 2) the airport, 3) an air force base, and 4) a recycling plant; for as out of the way as it seems, it sure is crowded in around a lot of crap. No maps, contrary to what was indicated on the bulletin board at hole #1; and there was a 2-month old note in there from another player indicating that they needed more maps. Still, there was a permanent map on the bulletin board; didn't end up needing it, though, as the layout is pretty fluid.
Other Thoughts: Bring water, it gets hot and there's no source on site. Love hole #4: nothing is as cool as flinging a forehand anhyzer along the edge of an arroyo right up to the pin.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Unique

5+    8/25/2009   12/25/2009
Review By: mfcastillo17
Played: 77  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great use of the land. I love the disc golf meets mad max reference. Great teepads, great views. Great for big arms, but short teepads allow for smaller arms to enjoy it as well! Great desert landscape. Sweet views of all the US Air Force's latest toys flying overhead to Kirtland AFB.
Cons: Bring water as there are no facilities.
Other Thoughts: This course is a good break for when Roosevelt gets crowded. You can really let it rip out here. You can see bits of this course in the latest Terminator movie as it was filmed on the street leading up to the course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Maintenance Needed

1    7/28/2009   8/3/2009
Review By: Dthunderchicken
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 41.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As others have said, this is a very neat and unique course. Given little to work with the designer came up with a challenging and interesting set up. As was written on an old guest book that I once saw there, "Mad Max meets disc golf".
Cons: Overgrown brush makes even seeing some of the pins a challange.

Trash everywhere. Beer bottles, cans and fast food wrappers are strewn all over the course.

Man made barriers near the tees force one to throw a standard flight.
Other Thoughts: There are very few trash cans so people have been making trash piles near some of the tees.

General trash (fast food wrappers, grocery bags) was blowing throughout the course. Some of this may have come from a recycling plant across the road.

On some holes the brush has become so tall that the pin cannot be seen until you are right on top of it. Even the old map I had was of little help.

I've first played this course in `07 and had a great time. However since then Baca has gone downhill badly.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Be Prepared

1    5/31/2009   7/13/2009
Review By: RocCityDiscer
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 12.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very cool circular concrete tee pads on every hole add an artistic touch along with man made obstacles on a few holes.
-Distances marked on every hole but no signs
-Logical flow of hole layout makes navigation pretty manageable
-Nice mix of holes both short and long gives some birdie chances and some holes you really have to work for a three.
Cons: -Some pin placements seemed absolutely unfair. So much cover that you pretty much have to go past the hole and shoot back to it. With a little tree trimming my rating would definitely jump to a 3.5 or even a 4.
-Noise from the nearby recycling plant and off-road vehicle park take away from the solitude of the course.
Other Thoughts: I would call this a definite must play if in the Albuquerque, NM area.
- Can be very hot not a lot of shade, bring water
-Throw bright discs only. Thick sage brush can hide your disc very well
- Very windy so be prepared for that.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Surprising

1    11/29/2008   12/2/2008
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 98  Reviewed: 98  Exp: 6.1 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice big and artistic tee pads and a well laid out course that takes full advantage of the terrain are the big high lights of this course. I was also pleasently surprised about how much I enjoyed the man made objects that were used to assist in creating new challenges on various different holes. I like hole 14 I believe it is that has distance markers to at least 500 ft to show you how long your drive is. There is a mail box for maps at the first tee. There are things for kids to do in a play area the sits right there on the first tee and last green.
Cons: It felt weird to be driving past salvage yards and then the dump on the way to the course. There is some very nasty brush on a few holes that you will not have fun walking through in order to find a disk, and you will be very lucky to find any disk that does go in there. There is little protection on the course from wind so that becomes a major factor. The course is also right next to a dirt bike/4 wheel/whatever other motorized play vehicle you own and had a couple of them come into the course as I was playing.
Other Thoughts: I played thios course on a very windy day, do not do as I did. They were also out of maps which made finding holes very interesting. I almost did not play but am very glad that I did. I certainly felt like I had gotten a birdie every time I got a bogy. Mid way through my round though I was just taken by how much I was enjoying myself. It was almost like playing again for the first time.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Unlike any other

1    7/26/2008   7/26/2008
Review By: cc0049
Played: 104  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/12/2009
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has some very cool holes. On hole 4 the tee box is literally on the precipace of a 40ft drop-off into an "Arroyo" which is basically a small canyon where water would run through after a rain. You throw along the length of the arroyo, out over the top of it to a basket that is on the edge as well. The arroyo makes the holes around it pretty neat. You can play from inside it if your disc ends up there, assuming it doesn't have flowing water in it at the time. There are some very long holes out here! Long course overall. We were there in March and had nice 60 degree weather and not too much wind. It would be a very tough course in the wind. There are manmade obstacles on just about every hole. They are pretty amusing and really don't obstruct too much at all, but you appreciate the effort. There are a few mandos that I remember that make the holes even more interesting. Desert setting is cool and unlike anything else I've ever played. We had the course entirely to ourselves in the middle of a weekday for about 2 and a half hours! The concrete teepads are circular and huge. They are awesome!
Cons: Don't go by yourself. There is desert brush everywhere that can hide discs easily, especially after a 400 ft drive. Snakes are also common, although we didn't see any when we were there.
Other Thoughts: Fun course. Take a camera and a video camera.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Rustic and Challenging

10/4/2007   5/6/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 9.3 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Disclaimer: I only had time to play the front 9. On the day I played this course, the winds were nearly 20 mph from the south which made for some frustrating play. Holes were well marked and of an interesting variety. Wish I had more time to explore this course more thoroughly, and also recommend that you bring a partner for help in finding discs and just as a general safety back-up. Beautiful desert scenery despite being right next to a wastewater facility. Views of mountains to the north.
Cons: Wear sturdy shoes and socks, very rough and unforgiving terrain. Bring plenty of water. Wind can be an issue here. Spent a lot of time searching for discs in the low brush.
Other Thoughts: Will definitely be back sometime to play this one again. I'm sure I probably played it under the worst circumstances.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.