Farmington, ME
Troll Valley DGC Share
Uploaded By: jmsayward Hole #3 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee: Dogleg right



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
It all Started Here. (4 Me)

5+    12/11/2013   12/13/2013
Review By: Chris Main
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 0.7 Years
Pros: Course design & maintenance top notch. Concrete pads with good signage, (easy to play first time alone). All amenities a player could ask for at the clubhouse. Leagues year-round.
Cons: There are quite a few areas (due to the geography & water table) where water seeps effect the fairways. It can get soft and muddy, and given the season can make muck boots mandatory.
Other Thoughts: The owners are friendly and enthusiastic, I always look forward to spending time chatting with them after my round and expect you will as well.

You've got to pay the Troll Toll

2-4    7/15/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: StringPeachIncident
Played: 22  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 8.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Freshly Groomed Fairways
*Solid Cement Tee Boxes
*Par-3 Golf Course Turned Disc Course!
*Nice Variation Between Woods and Field
*Good Elevation
Cons: *$5 to play
*Wet and Semi Swampy in Spots
*There arent more holes!
Other Thoughts: A solid course close to Farmington with fun shots up and down hills sprawling through open fields and then up into the woods. Its a fun 18-Hole Par 3 golfcourse for disc, what could be better.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun Course

2-4    7/21/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: Rhyno14
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5
Pros: This course offers a variety of shots. You will use every disc in your bag on this course. Baskets are great and course is in good shape. Owners are friendly. Good place to spend the day playing some challenging disc golf!
Cons: Tee pads are in rough shape. Some are split in the middle and they appear to be in rough shape.
Other Thoughts: Pro shop is ok, discs are over priced and there is a small selection to choose from. You would be better off buying your replacement discs elsewhere. Course is also a camp ground so it is an excellent place to spend the weekend!

 no trolls at troll valley

2-4    4/30/2012   5/8/2012
Review By: BO555
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: friendly staff,well layed out course,well stocked snack shop,this place is also a camp ground (good for thoes weekends where you just want to get up early and start banging some chains!!!!)
Cons: some holes are a bit soggy this spring.
Other Thoughts: would love to play this course late summer or early fall when its all dryed up.and hope they start getting more players for there monday eve mix doubles turnys.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Pretty Good

2-4    9/11/2010   9/11/2010
Review By: Streetfighter
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course offers a challenge on most holes, birdies don't come often. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It's for more of an experienced player, as the holes are often long. 7 Dollars for a day pass.
Cons: The brush on the side of the course is pretty thick on some holes. A few holes have very unreasonable expectations and trees in front of the tee that one is bound to hit off even the lightest of drives.
Other Thoughts: Pretty good fun and it's well maintained. Definitely worth playing.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course!

2-4    8/18/2010   8/22/2010
Review By: discdawg
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation and terrain, has a great mix of downhill & uphill runs, left doglegs, right doglegs, straight shots, grip it and rip it distance tee shots, and technical snaky shots. Extremely well manicured at this time, friendly staff and good facilities.
Cons: Some of the back nine lacks true fairway, but the course just opened and is still being carved out.
Other Thoughts: Good chances for birdies on this one as pars are reasonable and there are some short holes. Could have a few muddy spots when it rains. Short hole = 185, long hole = 505. Keep your disc out of the trees and you'll do great!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Not in yet but looking great

1    8/7/2010   8/7/2010
Review By: ejwernet
Played: 71  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is in process of being installed. I showed up to play it in late July thinking it was in as it was listed on the PDGA site. Not so, but the owner walked me around (on his on volition!) about a third of the course to show me what was going on. The use of fairways, elevation and natural terrain will make this a go-to location. I did not see any reasons that the course won't eventually be fantastic!
Cons: Once it is in, this list might happen but until I really get to play it, I can not tell you any bad parts.
Other Thoughts: I just wish I was going to be in Farmington within the next couple of months to see this course and play it. Why didn't they think of this stuff when I was in college 20 years ago?!!! It would have been a great thing to do in Farmington!!!!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.