Overland Park, KS 
Cambridge Park Share
Uploaded By: prhodes Hole #5 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Low expectations

1    9/13/2014   9/13/2014
Review By: Dsjoats
Played: 53  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 0.3 Years
Pros: --This place is not maintained as a disc golf course, but does have 9 nice baskets.
--I was able to locate the tee pads for all baskets except for 6.
--#5 and #7 have benches.
--I played early on a Saturday morning and saw a number of rabbits and deer on the property.
--The property is wide open and easy to navigate from basket to basket.
Cons: --The tee pads were built with 4x4 and some sort of black pad. The weeds have grown through the pad and now the tee pads look more like overgrown flower beds. This does make the "tee pads" easy to find as they contain the tallest weeds around.
--A number of the baskets have 6' weeds growing around and through the actual baskets. (Nice use of nature to give us an extra challenge.)
--No fairway whatsoever. The field must have been mowed in the last 6 weeks because the grass/weeds that uniformly cover the property is only about 8-10" high.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy playing new disc golf courses, so stopped by to see if it was as bad as all of the other reviews stated. I was able to play all 9 holes and did enjoy myself, however it felt more like simply throwing discs in a field than playing an actual round of disc golf.

With a weed eater, some weed killer, a bit of mulch and a mower, this could quickly become a decent course.

At this point the course is borderline unplayable. If you are looking to check this course off a list, you can come out and play all 9 baskets. If you are looking to play a round of disc golf on a decent course, go elsewhere. You can have fun here if you set your expectations low and understand what you are going to see.

Unplayable - Has not been maintained!

1    5/25/2014   5/25/2014
Review By: Jayhawker10
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 0.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The baskets all appear in great condition and will go to waste if someone does not purchase them from the church that owns the land. I will be reaching out to them to see what their plans are for using them. Their is ample parking right next to where hole one is, trash cans, but no bathroom. I will not be returning and, instead, go to Blue Valley of Kansas if I want to play somewhere close.
Cons: Pretty much everything. I played the first hole, which gives the appearance that the course has been mowed regularly, but that is not the case. Holes 2-8 are unplayable unless you want to hike through knee high weeds and run a high risk of losing a disc. Even if the weeds are mowed, the tee boxes appear to be in poor to terrible conditions based upon what I saw in teebox 1, 2, and 9.
Other Thoughts: It appears that the church who owns this land does not plan to maintain the course now or in the future. The Discatcher baskets are in great condition and could easily be moved to another location for use on a different course. I would rather see them go to use on a course or to individuals who will use them as opposed to being scrapped when the land is eventually developed. Either way, do not even waste your time going out here unless it is right down the street and you just want to practice on one basket (9 is in a mowed area). I rated it abysmal because it is not playable. In my opinion, a bad rating is still playable in some form.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

For Beginners or Bagging Courses Only

1    9/27/2013   10/2/2013
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 70  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 2.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Located in a nice residential area near the KS/MO line. Apparently, a church is going to soon be built on this property, so hopefully they will keep the course set up. That is pretty cool if the course was the church's idea. There is plenty of parking and a playground next to 1's tee, so it is a good one to bring your family to while you play a quick round.
-Only takes about 15 minutes to play, so doesn't take much time out of your day
-Good course for beginners as there is no obstacles to contend with, simply 9 holes in a field and very minor elevation
-Nice new DISCatcher baskets
-Mulch tees bordered by 2x4's, with rocks with painted hole numbers next to them
Cons: -The course is in a pretty bad location for disc golf. It appears to have been recently mowed in most parts, but the grass is very scratchy and there are hundreds of bugs in the fairways. The middle holes did have some very high grass too.
-Not much variety at all in elevation or distance. Only a few trees in the entire course
-Very tall weeds in the tee pads and through and around the baskets.
Other Thoughts: This course is better than nothing, and that is very cool if the church wanted to have a disc golf course on site. That would be a great way to introduce people to the sport. However, I wouldn't go more than a few minutes out of your way to play here. Only play here if you're bagging courses, as it is located near many other courses. I wouldn't even take a beginner here right now because of the tall weeds.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Definitely won't go back unless changes are made

1    8/3/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: bigreddog
Played: 57  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 2.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first hole and the second half of the last hole are fine, this is all that kept me from giving the course a 0.

Not crowded at all. 10/10

Navigation between holes is super easy, all nine baskets can be seen from the first basket. 10/10

Navigation of the holes themselves is easy, all baskets can be seen from the tees. 9/10

Tees are pretty good for being mulch. They have wooden boards to help prevent erosion. 6/10
Cons: Course Maintenance / Overall comfort level: Terrible, after the first hole, the grass was not mowed at all. Not only is it up to about mid-calf everywhere, it's not even really grass, it's just hitchhikers and other pokey grass. Trees also have lots of sharp thorns if you do throw into them. At least there is one bench at the fifth tee, but it's still by far the worst course in that regard I've ever played. 0/10

Ability to challenge all levels of players: Definitely a beginners only course, not worth going to even just for practicing for more experienced players. 1/10

What elevation there is is not used at all. Hole 2 is the only one that isn't completely flat. 1/10

There is a very small amount of elevation present, not a great place for a disc golf course anyway. 2/10

Overall challenge level: not many trees or obstacles but they do come into play on a few holes. 2/10

Not much variety of shot path required. Third hole forces a left to right shot and telephone poles I guess have a slight effect on four and five. 2/10

I guess there are some variations in distance of the holes. They're all short or very short for experienced players, but since this course is meant for beginners I guess it's not bad. The last hole was the only one I needed a driver on, but there were some I couldn't throw a midrange. 3/10
Other Thoughts: No running water or restrooms but it's not really as important since it's such a short course. 5/10

No Alternate hole positions means playing this course a lot could get boring even if it is in better condition in the fututre

I know it seems like there are quite a few pros to give the course a 0.5, but pretty much none of the pros have to do with the actual disc golf, which is the most important thing to me in rating a course. If it had been mowed and just not as physically uncomfortable, I would say it's a 1.5.

This is the only course out of fourteen that I've ever played and not enjoyed at all (after the first hole) I wanted to quit after the fourth hole

If you're more experienced, don't bother making the drive. If you're a beginner or a more experienced player looking to practice with putters/midranges, you definitely want to head over to Blue Valley of Kansas, it's only about five minutes away and it's a shorter drive if you're coming down US69 highway

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Recently Improved

2-4    3/25/2012   4/1/2012
Review By: thefowl
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: It is a beautiful beginner course. Lots of fresh grass and a nice course around the perimeter of a 16 acres. The course has few trees or obstacles but it makes it easy for practicing drives. Back by basket 4 you can see the Blue River if you walk a few feet south of the basket. It is a peaceful course tucked away at the south edge of Overland Park in a residential area. It is rarely busy so you aren't hurrying to get out of someone's way.

The course had a few problems last fall. One of the Baskets was missing. It has now been replaced with a brand new basket. So now all 9 baskets are there and are professional quality. The tee boxes have brand new mulch in them and there are two nice benches that have been installed along the course. The grass is growing but is being cut regularly on the fairways.

Great to play especially at the end of the day. There is a nice playground for kids to play on.
Cons: No major cons. It could use some more trees along the course for obstacles and shade on hot days. But if you play in the evening the sun is blocked by a hill to the north.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Avoid Until Further Updates

1    8/13/2011   8/15/2011
Review By: gfox
Played: 35  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There were two positives at this course: decent wood chip with 2x4 border tee boxes and real pins.
Cons: Everything else about this course makes me want to never come back. And why should you when there are so many other decent courses in the same area? Unless you live within one to five minutes, or walking distance, there's no real reason to.

This is not a "park." It's a field with no trees and no obstacles in the way of the pin unless you count the trees that border the field. The grass is horrible stubby prickle grass.

You're playing in a giant boring field.

Pin #2 is missing.

Did I mention you're playing a horrible boring field?

There are signs, but they are white cardboard with nothing written on them.

Very little shade.

Other Thoughts: Maybe once the church arrives and do some landscaping and put in new grass, trees, and landscaping, this course might be worthwhile. However, since no construction except the parking lot is complete, don't hold your breath.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 First Course

5+    8/10/2011   8/15/2011
Review By: kshoopman
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2012
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good course for beginners like my wife and I.
Nobody else around.
Tee boxes are fairly nice and with the staight holes easy to find.
Nicely wooded around the edge.
Cons: Basket #2 is still missing and I don't expect the church will be replacing it.
Little to easy even for beginners like myself.
Would like to see a par and distance for each hole.
Other Thoughts: Will continue to just play this course until I feel comfortable playing any others.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 pray for this course

1    7/30/2011   7/30/2011
Review By: jeffreyjeanshorts
Played: 35  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 24.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
nice treeline views
thin rough makes disc easy to find
short holes
future nice course
mint condition baskets
Cons:
no signs benches or hole lengths
no obstacles
straight holes
no basket on #2
flat like my first girlfriend
only good if you live south of 435
Other Thoughts: this could be a goodie if the right improvement are made plenty of land hopefully jesus likes disc golf

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Developing Park

5+    6/15/2011   6/16/2011
Review By: erictheauror
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/5/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Nice tee boxes with mulch.
-Varying lengths of fairways pushes the golfer.
-Beautiful scenery around the course. The tree line helps you to forget you are in Southern KC.
- Great for trying new shots and discs. Easy to find your disc if your shot gets away form you.
Cons: - Only one hole has any sort of obstacle. There are some small trees right in front of the tee box on the 4th hole.
Other Thoughts: Great course with A LOT of promise. There is a basket at hole 2 again. The changes they have been making show they take the course seriously and are committed to making into a first class course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Its a course

1    10/15/2010   10/17/2010
Review By: kcplease
Played: 99  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Its a course, brand new baskets.
-variety of lengths (kinda)
-aces chances
-practice all types of shots
Cons: -teepads are not groomed at all, you have to throw next to them
-fariways are on the rough side, not because the grass is thick, but its really rough and bumpy groud, almost through a construction site
Other Thoughts: If you live close, play here, but if there is any course closer to you than this one, it is not worth the drive.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.