Lucedale, MS
Lucedale City Park DGC Share



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Pheasantly Surprised

1    1/16/2012   1/16/2012
Review By: ohtobediscing
Played: 144  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 34.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/3/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For a course plotted by 2 high-school students, I'm duly impressed. Excellent use of plateaus, elevation gain and loss, and side-hilling are evident. New trees and other recently-planted vegetation will increase the difficulty on #s 2, 3, and 9---the only holes that could be considered "open".
Its a short, inventive course, not quite a pitch-and-putt unless you're very good, and it does favor RHBH somewhat. Its also mostly clear of undergrowth and you're unlikely to lose a disc[rarely, in deep leaves], so its great for novices.
The course circles clockwise, mostly outside the area of other types of human intervention. Maturely wooded except for #s 2-3, although you're not much hidden from other users of the park.
A really cool large central firepit near tee #8 that is usually stocked with some wood. Kids playground, bathroom in the west half of the park, trash cans near all these.
Review title comes from the pheasant that shot out of the brush left of hole #3. Woodsy river bottomlands just to the east, so seeing waterfowl, coons and deer are not unusual in the morning hours.
If the local constabulatory will stand it, this could be a great night course.
Cons: The 3'x3' tees are a disappointment, considering how well the course is laid out. I'm sure with the cost of baskets that the budget was tight for the youngsters who put this course in. I played behind them for a little extra distance.
No alcohol.
Watch your footing in the plethora of leaves and acorns.
Not enough room from other people for mutts who like to roam, so keep 'em leashed.
Other Thoughts: The course is in the section of park EAST of Mill Road. Park on Park St. just east of Mill Rd. 1st tee is just east of the parking lot. I wouldn't drive 80 miles to play it, but I've been in town several times helping a friend with horse duties and its worth the time for a round or three. Lots of stores/eateries within a mile.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great 9 Hole Course

2-4    9/30/2011   9/30/2011
Review By: BamaBlake
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very peaceful, very clean, calls for different types of shots, layed out and designed well.
Cons: Teeboxes are basically worthless because they are about 3 feet long. The chains on the baskets are single layered and can spit a disc out easily. The course is sort of out of the way and is only 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: I live in Mobile and this course is about a 35-40 minute drive, but it is definitely worth playing. When we go, we play it around 3 times or so. If you are around the area, I would recommend giving this course a shot.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Quick 9-holer

1    12/19/2010   12/19/2010
Review By: MikeK
Played: 179  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 18.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A decent amount of shade which is valuable in the Deep South. A little bit of elevation and nice greens. The park is pleasant and close to downtown Lucedale.
Cons: Tee pads are the worst tee pads anywhere, only about 2-3 feet square, and players have to step up on to the pads, since they are not flush to the ground at all. The M-14's aren't the worst catching baskets, but they don't have number plates or any identifying numbers at all on the baskets. All the holes are relatively straight---not much variety in player disc selection is required.
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 is closest to Park St, not Mill St, like the directions to the course indicate, so take Depot Street or Beaver Dam Road to Park Street to get to the parking lot by Hole 1.

If you like to know what kind of trees you're throwing around, this park is for you. There's signs identifying several of the tree varieties on the course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Needs better tee-pads

1    12/16/2010   12/16/2010
Review By: Nathanbr2
Played: 50  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Very nice layout, great use of the given land, enspecially evevation

2) moderately challenging, but not an "extreme" course.

Cons: 1) Standstill Teepads (3ft X 3ft concrete slabs). For most holes I had to use the grass around the tee to tee off

2) Only 9 holes. for an out of the way course, 9 holes is a long drive

3) No benches, trashcans, ect

4) tee pads are only marked by a number, and can occasionally be confusing
Other Thoughts: for the most part the layout made sense (played in winter, easy to find the next tee), and was actually a decent course. But having to drive from the grass beside the SHORT teepads really turned me against this course. Not a bad play, but need bigger teepads

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/26/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: Dan39465
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's free... I liked the layout. Great variety between holes. Makes great use of the terrain.
Cons: Hardly any markings at all... If you've never seen a pole hole before you wouldn't know that it was a disc golf course. Each hole has a white post with the hole number on it but that's it. No distances, pars or hole layouts. On several holes you have to hunt for the target before teeing off. And when you hole out, you have to hunt for the next tee. Tee pads are small and don't allow for a good run up.
Other Thoughts: With some superficial improvements the rating could go way up.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.