Columbus, IN
Cera Land DGC Share
Uploaded By: lukejones Hole #4 (Taken 4/2013)
4 / 260ft.   4 / 276ft.   4 / --   4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Amazing company fringe benefit

2-4    8/4/2013   8/7/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 150  Reviewed: 121  Exp: 2.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Man, I wish I worked for Cummins! The disc golf course here is nice, but the other park activities looked amazing. Take a look at the link! This course is available for non-members to play, for only $5, which was OK with me because I got to see what a well-done 'wellness' facility can be.

Now, the disc golf course has nine good DGA baskets, and adequate length to challenge the Rec level or casual player, plus enough park trees to keep it decently interesting. There should be no way to lose a disc in the rough here, and you'd have to really grip lock one on hole 2 to get into the water.

The primary (holes 1-9) tees were marked by good signs indicating major obstacles and distances, as well as a map to lead you to the alternate (holes 10-18) tees. Brick markers indicated where to throw (see pics). The course plays quickly, so benches were not needed. The park was clean and excellently maintained.
Cons: There isn't too much variety or challenge in the shots required, with the land being mainly flat to slightly rolling near the lake, and not enough trees to force a great deal of precision. The DG course wouldn't be a 'destination' for anyone Intermediate or above looking for a challenge. And paying $5 per play would get old. This course is really for the members, after all.

Tees are getting a bit 'root-exposed', and could use an upgrade for safety.
Other Thoughts: On a beautiful Sunday with the park loaded with folks enjoying the pool, lake, cookouts, etc. (but nobody else on the DG course), I did leave a soldier behind here, which I think was picked up by a non-player walking by, or hanging out near the shelter by hole 1. Reminds me to keep my feathers numbered for just such an emergency (h/t Foghorn Leghorn).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good course to learn disc golf

5+    11/28/2012   11/28/2012
Review By: lukejones
Played: 43  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 1.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/30/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets are in good condition and a student at the local high school did an excellent job on his senior project updating the signage, touching up painting where needed on the baskets, and adding mulch around the baskets.

Lots of trees to add plenty of challenge to several holes.

As a beginner, I have found this course to be quite challenging to get pro par on several holes. So far, I've probably played 20+ times and it hasn't gotten too old.

Some water on holes #2 and #5, but only in place with a big pull (RHBH) drive.

There are 9 baskets, but 2 sets of tees makes it nice to make it more like an 18 hole course.

Holes #5 and 8 make for a good challenge to get pro-par. Rec par is 5 which is quite easy.

The park this course is in is very quiet and beautiful. This course is rarely played by anyone I've seen since picking up the sport in August this year so, unless I'm out there, you'll have the course to yourself likely.
Cons: My first time out, I found the course difficult to navigate, but quickly figured it out as the tees are not too far apart. The tees for the back 9 are hard to find if you've not played the course before.

Several of the tees are not level, and some have tripping hazards like tree roots so you'll have to be careful with runup drives (which aren't necessary on most holes).

Geese mess is everywhere on hole 2 so bring a towel to clean off your disc!

Private course

The course doesn't require a lot of variety of shots apart from straight or weak hyzer drives (RHBH) and keeping it under the tree line.

A large storm with lots of wind came through about a month ago and knocked down a fair amount of branches which are yet to be removed (as of 11/28/12).

Also, there are still a lot of leaves everywhere, so keep an eye where your disc lands because I have had difficulty time to time finding my disc buried under some large leaves!
Other Thoughts: I might be biased and overly generous in my review, but this is my home course!!! I've recently tweaked my own layout to bring the water into play and make it more interesting. Very fun place to learn.

Ceraland is a park owned and operated by Cummins Inc. and CERA stands for Cummins Employees Recreation Association. I happen to work for Cummins so this makes for a great way to get out after work and get some exercise while having fun.

If someone is interested in joining me at the course and is not a member, feel free to get in touch with me and we may be able to meet up some day.


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    9/10/2012   9/12/2012
Review By: AdamH
Played: 182  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/30/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ***You must be a member or with a member of the park to play this course, they do not issue day passes.***

Cera Land (Cummins Employee Recreation Area) has nine baskets, nice signage and dual tees. The signs are by the tees for the front nine and the tee for the back nine is close by and indicated on the sign. Tees are markers on the ground and have the hole number on it which is a useful.

The course plays across some small rolling hills and there are large mature tree to navigate on every hole. There's no underbrush to worry about and the lake is off to your right on one hole so you'd really have to shank a drive for it to come into play.

There's a nice variety of hole difficulty here from some easy birdies to a few tough par 3's, although the tee signs show rec par rather than pro par to keep it more beginner friendly.
Cons: The tees are grass/dirt and a few have roots in the tee area.

The alternate pad doesn't change the shot on many of the holes.

The shot variety isn't very good. One hole forces a turnover shot for a RHBH player and the rest are straight or hyzer shots, although there are multiple routes to the basket through the mature trees.
Other Thoughts: This is a great place for players of all skill levels and there's virtually no chance of losing a disc. Being the only course in Columbus, I'm sure it would get a good amount of play if it wasn't in a private park.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Good starter course

5+    7/2/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: MiniYou
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a good course to start playing disc golf on. There aren't too many challenges or dangers except for a one hole with a water hazard. It is very rarely played, so no waits should ever be expected.
Cons: Obviously, there is an eventual limit to the number of times you can play a course, and this one is not overly playable. Also, there are very few courses anywhere nearby.
Other Thoughts: The course record is 14-under the listed par, with holes in one being registered on both the first and last holes (pars 4 and 3).

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.