Forest Junction, WI 
Freitag Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: icedpuck Hole #7 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 235ft.   3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Sign



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
  

2-4    8/1/2009   8/3/2009
Review By: alex
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: very challanging and fun to play with people who know what their doing.
Cons: only 9 holes. some spots are over grown and easy to lose your discs. really buggy
Other Thoughts: i played with people that had no idea what they were doing so i spent more time looking for there discs then acualy playing but i want to go with someone who can plan and keep up

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Crazy Woods - Awaiting more

5+    9/15/2008   7/15/2009
Review By: superberry
Played: 170  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 16.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/25/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you like insanely wooded courses, this one is for you. We're talking about 460' Double-S curve holes through some awesome woods. This course is nice and quiet, no garbage, no vandalism, and scenic. Well created holes that will force you to execute many accurate and precise throws.
Cons: Only 9 holes - always a bummer. No elevation or water hazards. With both of those features and 9 more holes, this would be AMAZING, but it can't be. I'd suggest getting creative out there, digging a pond, and elevating some tees or pins - then it would be cool! There are these concrete pads in steel forms that seem to be just drug out and dropped in place (i.e. not buried). So, you tee off from a very narrow and raised pad (about 4'x8' and 5" high). They are pretty brutal and limit drives due to the small size and worry of stepping off the edge. Like I said in the Pros, there are insanely long fairways that make you throw multiple times because discs aren't meant to follow a flight path like that. If you're off fairway (which is entirely too easy) you have a HORRIBLE recovery. You really are better off throwing much shorter and controlled shots here. Aand I think that is a CON only because if there is no way the normal flight of some type of disc and some throwing style cannot navigate through the fairway on a drive, you should not be punished. There ought to be one person out of 100 at least who can execute a flight through the design of the fairway and yield a deuce on a hole with a decent putt (my design opinion). But, just consider a few of these holes (probably 4-5 of 9) to be true par 4's and play your placement drives and upshots accordingly. The tee signs are very nice, so much that I've thought of going with the same company.
Other Thoughts: For about 4 years now I've been hearing that 18 holes are designed and planned, with an interior 9 hole loop in addition to the existing loop. I think lack of play and loss of interest from the park owners/designers is contributing to slow growth and lack of progress here. If things would pick up it would be nice. (I believe these woods are more difficult than Winter Park in Kewaunee!)
UPDATE: I played in September and there are now 18 baskets in place! Time has finally come! However, I feel the undergrowth and fine tuning, as well as the need to kill off TONS of poison ivy will take some considerable additional effort that may take a while. I cannot wait to play all 18 and will update my score once I do.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wow

1    6/28/2009   6/28/2009
Review By: theycallmejg15
Played: 24  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 15 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tee pads.. woods if you like woods(trying to think of any is hard)
Cons: Tough to figure out where the baskets are on each hole. had to walk the holes to find them.
The woods is completely overgrown. You really need to watch where you throw. Signs aren't up at every hole.... not for beginners.. take the extra drive to a better course.
Other Thoughts: This place as some major potential but it needs extreme work. Don't waste your time. Bug spray is needed if you go.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 toughest/craziest course ever

5+    10/11/2008   3/11/2009
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 740  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.6 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: You will say it is the toughest/craziest course you ever played. No one ever there. If you want a course to yourself, this is the place to come. If you want a course where single digits over par (for nine holes) is a decent score, this is the place to come. In terms of toughness, the rating for this course could be a five. In terms of reward for good shot, the rating could be a one. I will compromise with a three.
Cons: Come with the intention of keeping your frustration level in check. The fairways are tiny to nearly non-existant. Keep in mind that this is the same for everyone who may play here. You will get many an opportunity to practice your "save a stroke" shots from rough; rough. The course is swampy in spring and mosquitoes can be bad. Bring bug spray.
Other Thoughts: The individual responsible for allowing this course to go in, has been very restrictive regarding tree removal. As time marches on, the fairways are slowly being enlarged by designer and crew. Play will also help with this. Eventually there will be small ponds to navigate. Sometime this summer, 2009, there should be 18 baskets in, and the back nine has been cleared wider than the front.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.