Lynchburg, VA 
Liberty University - East Share
Uploaded By: KenTyburski Hole #14 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 270ft.   3 / 356ft. Par / Distance:
Hole#14 Blue Tee

Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Rolling Hills and Great Views

1    10/19/2015   10/20/2015
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 127  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Rolling hills and more top-of-the-world shots than I have ever seen on a course. The top of the world shots do not have a repetitive feel as there are different types (11, 13, & 16).
-The scenery here is beautiful. Great views of the surrounding mountains. For most of the course you have that secluded feel and the course was not crowded at all. I was there on a weekday evening and literally had the course to myself.
-The course loops back around to the parking lot. It would be nice if it were a figure-8 with the front 10 ending at the parking lot, but that's not really possible with the current layout.
-The lines here are challenging, but fair.
-None of the holes are throw-away holes. Every hole is unique and has it's own set of challenges whether it is uphill, down hills, dangerous pin position or a hanging basket.
-The raised basket on hole 20 was a nice touch.
-All of the signs were there and every hole had two tees providing you with multiple options. The shots from both tees are so varied that it does not seem to favor either right-handed or left-handed.
Cons: -This is not your typical "Course at a university." This course is strenuous. Lots of uphill walking.
-The turf-style tee pads weren't terrible, but not the best either. I'd really prefer concrete tees.
-Just a few more directional signs are needed (The transition after hole 15 comes to mind).
-Some of the rough here is exactly that, rough. It several holes seem to invite the potential to lose a disc (hole 13, hole 16).
Other Thoughts: Overall, I really could not find a lot to complain about with this course. The flow is pretty good, the hole lengths and difficulty vary, there are multiple tee pads giving the disc golfer two looks on each hole. This course is well worth a stop if you are in the area or passing through.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Dependence U

1    8/11/2015   8/17/2015
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 134  Reviewed: 123  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/15/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 20 DisCatcher baskets and dual turf tees. The short grass turf tees are fantastic when wet. Nice tee signs. Some benches. Almost zero underbrush in the woods.

Good use of elevation and variety of straight and left/right turning shots. Course is more wooded than open. Good workout hiking the course.
Cons: Safety on holes 16 and 17, they put up some nets, but I still nearly went on the field on both holes and were actually drives that put me in the circle. Hole 19 is huge downhill that plays over the new parking lot. Some of the holes in the front 11 play a little close together. The turf tees with the longer grass were a little slick.

Directional aids were hard to find in a few spots. Course Tip - when in doubt of where the next tee is, walk uphill and keep walking uphill. Only one loop of hole back to parking lot.

In the summer the coupe holes in the field don't get mowed although it's not that hard to find discs. Hole 13 is a monster downhill and might be the signature hole although I didn't play it because the fairway was lined with waist high weeds. I probably could have played with little issue in retrospect because the landing area was not as bad. If you don't throw over 350' you might not hit the landing area and have to search through the rough in the fairway.

Finding the course. The address listed here takes you to the opposite of the campus. You need to be on the other side of the highway on the east campus and you will see signs for the course.
Other Thoughts: When I arrived at the course, the siren started sounding off with a repeated weather warning to take immediate cover inside. I checked the radar and looked like the worst had already past, so I waited out the rest of the storm in the vehicle about 20 minutes. After that the weather was calm yet steamy hot. I marveled at the huge spinning radar on top the mountain and that you climb nearly up to it on the course. This course is serious mountain climb and was grueling in the heat in the middle/end of the course.

The course is generally on the short side although there are a couple longer holes. The course is fairly technical, it's fair for the most part from the short tees, while some of the long tees seemed a little too much luck. You will hit some trees playing here at any rate.

Apparently there is another 20 hole course on the other side of campus with Prodigy baskets and is supposed to be more fair and mostly wooded.

Overall Liberty ironically felt restricted. If the course had some more room to itself I feel like it could be a great course. I never played the course before the recent redesign, although from the old map I think I would have much preferred to play the older design. There's not much that is going to wow you here, but if you are in the Lynchburg area and looking to play a course, this would be an ok pick.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Better in the offseason

1    5/30/2015   6/1/2015
Review By: bigdisc
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.2 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great physical workout with a lot of holes that will challenge your ability to throw an accurate tunnel shot. Also a couple neat hole designs that take advantage of the mountainous terrain.
Cons: This course is nearly unplayable in the summer months to anyone that isn't very good at disc golf. Fairly tight holes mean that your disc drifting out to the left or right will find you searching through tick and mosquito infested overgrowth often. Some of the holes at the beginning and end are either partially open or in woods with only trees and no weeds or bushes. These holes were enjoyable, albeit pretty forgettable (most are in general). A long stretch of holes in the middle will eat you alive (the bugs will, anyway, as you search for your disc) if you're not dead on with your throws. Also the signage on the course can be confusing, as it shows two basket locations but only one basket is present and sometimes not visible from the tee. You'll find yourself walking up a bit to scope out some of the holes and figure out which basket is there.
Other Thoughts: I recommend playing this course in fall through early spring when the growth thins out if you want an optimal experience.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good course

1    12/8/2014   12/8/2014
Review By: baronbrapp
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Signage directs you to each teepad, with one glaring exception on hole 15-16.
- Good hole maps at each tee, complete with small bag hangers.
- A good workout over hilly terrain.
- Good mix of shots and elevation change. The front nine is mostly line shaping in the woods on the side of a hill. The back nine is more open with many downhill shots through mountain meadows, finishing with a very nice open 20th and final hole that could host a big gallery during a tournament.
- pads are long artifical turf in decent shape. They are small and some of them are bumpy.

Cons: - a little difficult to find. The address on this site is incorrect. The course is on Liberty Mountain Road.
- the course map in the link on this site is out of date, with the big difference being holes 15-20.
- plenty of parking, but it is signed as permit until 4pm. There were tons of vacant spots so I doubt they care. I parked before 4pm and I wasn't ticketed.
- bring your own water. You'll need it! Couldn't find a restroom either
- the course is very hilly, which may be a con for some due to difficulty.
- as another person stated, remember to walk UP the ridge from 15 basket to 16 tee. It is a long unmarked walk.
- The woods on the front 9 have no underbrush and you probably won't lose a disc. However, on the back nine there are a few fairways lined with dense new-growth trees. Picking your way through them is practically bushwhacking. Thorny in spots. I lost a disc in a thicket despite 20 minutes looking.
- Holes are plenty long overall but no real bombers.
Other Thoughts: - Park on the west side of the big lot and walk past the pond to the practice basket, which is next to a grassy berm. The first tee is visible to the southwest of the practice basket. They also put in a practice tee across the pond from the practice basket.
- My list of cons is quite long, but really this is a very good course. I would be happy to call this my home course. Definitely worth a stop when passing through.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Play it before it's redesigned!

1    10/25/2014   10/27/2014
Review By: splatbaseball51
Played: 125  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 6.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Take my review with a grain of salt because this course will be redesigned, and i would suspect so much so that this page will be extinct and a new course will be added.

Shot variety was excellent. There seemed to be an even amount left/right and straight shots. There was also ample amount of elevation changes to lengthen/shorten holes.

The most challenging course in the area as well. You'd have to drive quite a ways to test your game as much as you will here.

Each hole has 2 tee's as well as 2 pin placements, lending itself to a great variety of shots. Tees were made from astro-turf, which is what I grew up playing on. They're usually fine unless it has just rained, then they become a hazard. Overall, not the worst tee material.

Tee signs were professionally made and informative. Some of them, however, seemed to have incorrect distances. Don't take them too seriously.

There are a few eclectic shots that add a little something unique to the course. Hole 12 is very short and has a hanging basket suspended between 2 poles. Hole 16 is straight down a steep hill. If you try to float a putter down, you'll likely overshoot it.

Thinking back, although the expression is often overused, I used nearly every disc in my bag on the tee pads. Shot variety is definitely there, and you could encounter water on a few holes, namely hole 14. It doesn't immediately appear to have water, but the patch of vegetation to the left and before the hole has a small pond in it. Careful.
Cons: Vegetation is pretty nasty off of the fairways, and probably my main issue with the course. It would be extremely easy to lose a disc in several spots and I would be hesitant to play alone. In fact, I played in a party of 3 and lost a disc on hole 4 due to the leaves, not even vegetation. Just be careful with your shots and keep a good line on the shanks.

If I hadn't been playing with a local, It would have been difficult to find the next hole in a couple of spots. Hole 16 comes to mind immediately. You'll want to walk down the hill from 15's basket, but that's the wrong direction. Walk up the hill for a while from there to find 16.

There were only a couple of benches on the course. With a course that requires as much up/down hill walks as this, it would have been nice to have a some more.

It's not the easiest course to find. You'll have to drive all the way to the end of the road (past the lacrosse fields on your left) and into a really large parking lot. Drive all the way to the end of that and you'll start seeing baskets.
Other Thoughts: I've been meaning to play this course for a while now and I made the effort mostly on word that the course is undergoing a redesign sometime in the VERY near future.

This is easily the best course in Lynchburg, and for many miles around as well. I anticipate a new course within a few months, so go play this one now.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Challenging, but needs work.

5+    9/17/2013   9/17/2013
Review By: Dantastic
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/23/2014
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: I am working on updating my review and doing a hole by hole evaluation of the course. It will be up in a couple of days.
Cons: - Can become overgrown realllllll quick!
- The signs are inaccurate and terrible.
- Some of the fairways are pretty unforgiving.
- They need to install bathrooms and a water fountain.
- The course honestly needs to be played more. This really isn't a con i guess but the paths just need to be stomped down, but this will come with time.
- There are trees throughout the fairways that just need to go. You can get punished for a perfectly good shot.
- A lot of the holes just do not have a good line. They honestly seem forced on some holes.
- Most of the wooded holes only have one look at them. There is one line. This really isn't a complaint I guess but I am just a fan a courses that give you multiple options.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your "A" game!

5+    9/13/2013   9/14/2013
Review By: JMcCon
Played: 15  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 14.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Challenging but fun.
-Many different types of shots and variety of turns and distances.
-Easy to navigate course.
-Good workout due to the hilly terrain.
-Nice disc catcher baskets and each hole has two tees with nice tee boxes (astro turf).
-Peaceful setting.
-Much better since they cleared out many of the disc trapping weeds and briars.
Cons: Only thing I can say is, this is not a beginner course. It is a lot of wooded holes with tight narrow alley ways. Also it can be a hike because it is basically on the side of a little mountain.
Also bring plenty of "Off" spray because the ticks and chiggers are bad if you throw your disc into some spots off the fairways.
Other Thoughts: Great course and a must play when in Lynchburg, Va.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Lynchburg's must-play course

1    5/23/2013   5/23/2013
Review By: crazyeyes1052
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -The signage is probably among the best I've seen anywhere in terms of getting you from one hole to the next.
-I love the elevation change and the use of it on several holes where you throw over a valley or straight down a steep incline.
-Very nice scenery set on the hills above Liberty University. There's a bench on 12 or 13 that lets you overlook Lynchburg.
-Very challenging fairways that really make you work for a good placement as many of the holes do not allow you to drive right for the pin.
-Nice balance of open and tight fairways.
Cons: -While the fairways are challenging, they are also incredibly frustrating and some take blind luck to work through
-Lots of opportunities to lose discs in tall grass and thick parts off of the fairway
-While getting from one hole to the next is clear, the signage for the tee pad and pin locations can be misleading. Combine that with the tees not being visible for most holes is also frustrating.
Other Thoughts: I was in town for business and wanted to check out the local courses. I was very impressed with Liberty's course in terms of the challenges it posed and good balance of shots. A lot of the issues I had, I think, are isolated to first time users of the course and don't really take away from the course itself being very good.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 course needs work

2-4    3/1/2013   4/1/2013
Review By: quiggdisc1
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: this course is set in a beautiful place and is a great place to take pics. and some great shots that you wont find anywhere else.
Cons: this course needs alot of work. lots of trees and thorns. there are more than a few shots that have no fairway at all. you are looking at a tree line and just kinda have to guess on a good way to go. the tee signs are nice but very misleading. and no bathrooms.
Other Thoughts: beautiful but lots of trees and thorns

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.


1    8/18/2012   8/18/2012
Review By: jordanferg92
Played: 40  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Signage with alt tees, map, distance, and pars
2. Front 9 is well maintained
3. Unique large turf tees
4. Unique floating basket on hole 12
5. Great use of elevation changes
Cons: 1. Back 9 was poorly designed and maintained
2. Thick undergrowth on the open holes
3. Basket placement on signs are slightly misleading (pretty typical though)
Other Thoughts: This was an enjoyable course. It really had some unique holes. Hole 12 for example was a floating basket which I have never seen done before. There are also a couple nice short ace runs on this course. Signs leading you to the next tee was a nice thing to see as well as the benches at most holes. However I just can't get past the back 9 and how rough it was. Also be aware that the school is currently undergoing construction and holes 1, 17, and 18 are not currently present. Overall this was a great challenging course, but the back 9 needs work and the construction needs to end before I will be revisiting this course. Definitely worth checking out though.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.