Lynchburg, VA 
Liberty University Share
Uploaded By: KenTyburski Hole #10 (Taken 9/2010)
4 / 404ft.   4 / 450ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket (B Position)



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    3/2/2013   5/7/2012
Review By: Bhoffman09
Played: 58  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 4/9/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation. Course requires you to have a good whip on the back nine and accuracy on the front in the woods. Big fan of some of the huge, downhill shots on the back nine, too.

Wind comes into play at the end of the back nine/beginning of front nine making it particularly challenging at times. Hole 19 and 20 have precarious basket positions which make them even more challenging in the wind.

I am definitely a fan of the hanging basket hole as well as the updated, 20 hole layout. There was a couple new shots on the back which made great use of elevation and the potential wind factor.
Cons: From a year ago:
Some holes on the front nine. There are a few exceptions, but there are at least 3 different holes which will penalize a player even for a shot down the fairway. It was laughable at how a couple fairways had trees blocking the supposed route to the baskets. Very frustrating to throw and simply hope to get lucky.

// I was surprised to play this course again a year later and find this to still be true. The remodel of hole 6 into two holes was a great adjustment (even though the rough on current 6 is jail), but holes 3 and 9 still have fairways which end about 200 feet from the teepad and from then on it is random trees. This would be a 3.5+ star course for me if about 4 trees were cut down on each of those two holes.
Other Thoughts: With the elimination of some trees on the front nine to create more distinct lines to the basket, this course would be great. It has good variety, requires stamina to traverse the mountain, concentration to hit the narrow gaps, and a strong arm to conquer the longer holes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Did I play the same course as everybody else?

1    5/4/2011   5/4/2011
Review By: Yank it Right
Played: 68  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 15.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Its a new course in Virginia.

Five or six really cool shots, but also 5 or 6 from a design standpoint were odd. and Five or six filler type( or ones that felt the same) holes. (Holes 11-17 are a really good stretch for the course.) I really like the uphill ace run and were it was positioned in the course it felt like the right time for that hole.

Good use of elevation for the most part.

Even what I loved the view from 17 etc... Not a great Golf Hole. At least where the B pin is. Put that pin in the woods with a nice fair lane out of the field into and now you can get some scoring seperation from people going for the pin and by having some trouble on the upshot to the pin. For most players the second shot is not a golf shot either a 80-130 foot upshot.
Cons: - No bathrooms - No trash cans - No signage on holes 1 & 2. -No Benches.

Tee Pads are atrocious. Big bomber holes with 5 foot teepads that are already unlevel and have like #50 gravel in em. (get some crush and run or trail dust and tamp them). Unfortanetly in the rules of disc golf you have to tee from the tee pads but on quite a few of the longer holes i went to the side. Secondly if you're going to make them short don't put a back log on the Tee box so at least you can step onto without a big up and down step.

In the woods there are some specific trees I would remove a designer, but also as a designer and being on a college campus once you cut it its gone and usually you lose some smaller stuff from damage unfortanetly. Hopefully as the course grows in they can trim it up. (Hole 11- low ceiling shot downhill across ravine the short stuff growing up just across the road has to go. Its a low ceiling shot already)

Hole 13 - Long hole downhill out of reach for most am and rec players. Please run a bobcat (its sitting beside the intramural fields) trail into the woods on both sides so you can at least walk through to try and find you disc. If you're out of the fairway you're lost and that really can deject your average rec player.

From a design point in the woods I would have liked to see more demand for different shot shapes. (baskets were in B postion). Almost all the holes were turn right at the end from the whites and were a pro style hyzer-flat shot shape to get there.

Hole 18 is a filler hole (open field no trouble out of reach for rec, but a two for pros no scoring seperation within division. Not really a golf hole) after a great hole 17.
Other Thoughts: I played the white tees only was pressed for time a little and I will play again and edit the review if I feel like I did any injustices. Very few amenities out at the course. - No bathrooms - No trash cans - No signage on holes 1 & 2. -No Benches +signage up for paths to next hole at baskets +signage was up for basket position. - Blind shots/landing areas (alot of em). This course does has potential, but in no way deserves a 4 or 4.5 or 5 rating as is. Could get there, but not even close now.

There were quite a few across ravine shots and downhillers on the Par 4/longer holes, but i was really looking for the hole where you would shoot flat or down and then finish with a uphill up shot with some distance. At times on the times there were holes that end up with shots that are not a golf shot for more advanced players.

Usually I take notes as I play when I am going to review a course and this I didn't so next time I play I will and if necessary edit review, but I feel like it is a fair review in comparison to other area courses.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Liberty Univ.

1    2/11/2011   2/11/2011
Review By: pierregolf
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/14/2011
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: -good ideas on lines
-pretty view/surroundings
-secluded
-baskets and signs
Cons: -short uneven ...scarry tee pads
- tee pads are really short and need some work
- first 6 holes were really tight but i felt like more of a poke and hope and less of a skill shot. #2 was an exception.

- more holes need to be cleared out up high
Other Thoughts: after hole 8 the course seemed to get much better. fun course all and all

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.