Disc Golf Store
Lynchburg, VA 
Liberty University Share
Uploaded By: KenTyburski Hole #5 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 295ft.   3 / 303ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Challenging, but needs work.

5+    9/17/2013   9/17/2013
Review By: Dantastic
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/23/2014
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: I am working on updating my review and doing a hole by hole evaluation of the course. It will be up in a couple of days.
Cons: - Can become overgrown realllllll quick!
- The signs are inaccurate and terrible.
- Some of the fairways are pretty unforgiving.
- They need to install bathrooms and a water fountain.
- The course honestly needs to be played more. This really isn't a con i guess but the paths just need to be stomped down, but this will come with time.
- There are trees throughout the fairways that just need to go. You can get punished for a perfectly good shot.
- A lot of the holes just do not have a good line. They honestly seem forced on some holes.
- Most of the wooded holes only have one look at them. There is one line. This really isn't a complaint I guess but I am just a fan a courses that give you multiple options.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Forgettable

1    8/18/2012   8/18/2012
Review By: jordanferg92
Played: 36  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Signage with alt tees, map, distance, and pars
2. Front 9 is well maintained
3. Unique large turf tees
4. Unique floating basket on hole 12
5. Great use of elevation changes
Cons: 1. Back 9 was poorly designed and maintained
2. Thick undergrowth on the open holes
3. Basket placement on signs are slightly misleading (pretty typical though)
Other Thoughts: This was an enjoyable course. It really had some unique holes. Hole 12 for example was a floating basket which I have never seen done before. There are also a couple nice short ace runs on this course. Signs leading you to the next tee was a nice thing to see as well as the benches at most holes. However I just can't get past the back 9 and how rough it was. Also be aware that the school is currently undergoing construction and holes 1, 17, and 18 are not currently present. Overall this was a great challenging course, but the back 9 needs work and the construction needs to end before I will be revisiting this course. Definitely worth checking out though.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Tough but decent

1    5/7/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: MarlinRoth
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I got into disc golf while at college at Liberty. My first course that I learned on was Peaks view park, and then Liberty's course was my second course to try.

Basically, it is a huge workout and very tiring. When it is hot outside there is lots of bugs and hiking and you have to be very persistent to not quit before you finish.

I liked throwing a disc off the cliff at tee 17.
Cons: Sometimes it is difficult to find the next tee, at least for the first time through.

Not extremely beginner friendly but has a lot of fun holes.

Only a few holes with minor water hazards.

Some fairways need maintenance.
Other Thoughts: I was exhausted and my friend didn't like the course simply for the hiking aspect of it, but if I can get someone to join me, I will be visiting the course more frequently this year since I'm on that side of campus any way.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/24/2012   1/28/2012
Review By: stoner04
Played: 75  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: New disc catcher baskets
Good blend of open and wooded holes
Excellent signs and flow
Great use of elevation
Beautiful mountains in the distance especially at sunset
Cons: Sports turf tees are not level
need to thin out a few wooded holes
Thick unforgiving rough(thick small trees and briers)
lots of mud
Other Thoughts: Some of the holes offer an opportunity for some spectacular shots but if you miss your line you will be deep in the rough. Do not throw an understable driver on 17 you will possibly kill a student playing on the intramural field. hole 18 is a filler hole so you have a complete course otherwise useless. Eventually this course will be Excellent but give it time unless its on your way.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Horrible tees. Awesome course

5+    1/9/2012   1/11/2012
Review By: frabs
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wide variety of holes/shots
Flows well
Excellent signs
Discatcher baskets
Multiple Tees
Challenging (Easily the hardest course I've played)
Hole 17

Cons: Horrible tees that feel almost dangerous
Thick rough, easy to lose a disc
Physically exhausting
Ugly landscape at times(rock, bulldozer tracks)


Other Thoughts: The biggest problem with this course is the short unlevel gravel tees. A lot of times I barely have room for a run up, or choose not to do one out of fear of rolling an ankle. The course plays through the woods and up a mountain, so you will leave tired. Most of the holes are interesting and can be played multiple ways, so it is worth playing more than once (but not in one day).

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Shut Early, Open Late

1    4/23/2011   5/8/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 359  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Two tee locations/two pin positions per hole.

Other than 1&2, where the signs are missing (the posts remain), the signage is very good. If the two tee locations are far apart, each will have its own sign, otherwise, they'll share one. Plenty of signs along the course to direct you to the next tee.
Cons:
The tees are too small and filled with rough gravel, making for very uneasy footing. Indication of current basket position at teesign would be most useful.

Disc loss chances are high - spotter advised. Some holes on the back nine have very thick shule on both sides of very long, descending fairways, and some holes have your drive disappear around turns and/or open-n-over ridges. Number-15 has both :-( Don't be left on #14, or find mini-ponds, and grassy knolls covered with long tufts of grass.
Other Thoughts:
From entering the wooded slope to find basket-2, to exiting the woods with the drive from tee-11, you'll find a collection wooded shots that wind back-n-forth across two wooded hillocks. Technicians should be pleased by the various combinations of rights/lefts/straights, flats/minor elevation changes, couple across valleys, over ridges, variable tightness ready to challenge them. Number-16 is a left-turner which also plays in a small patch of woods.

After across valley number-1 and the first half of left-turning number-2, you'll need to wait until number-11 to find open skies above your head. The thick woods of the front nine yield to a landscape containing an occasional tree but filled with thick bushes and plentiful ground cover. Quite short 12 and 18 should provide ace runs/birdy opps, while 11, 13, 15, and 17 offer plenty of length and downhill runs.

Favourite hole: #17. With a tee set high on a ridge, you have expansive views to the west. The ridge steadily descends to the left, with a collection of pines planted along it, with the basket 400+ feet away at the end of the treeline. Directly in front of the tee the ridge drops very steeply, with intramural fields on the flat land below you. A very natural flight path would be straight out over the athletic fields many feet below, availing you many seconds to admire the flight of your (hopefully) left-turning disc.

Least favourite hole: #7. Flat and in the woods, relatively open, then at the 200' mark, thick, chaotic smattering of mid-sized hardwoods - seems like only random luck will permit your disc to go much further.

Good course offering both technical work and bombing chances.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    8/23/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: XCaliber
Played: 28  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/11/2011
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great variety of wooded and open holes. Well designed with good use of valleys and hills. Hole 13 is a long downhill bomb that will test any players accuracy. Hole 17 is a beautiful shot over a quasi cliff down about 100 feet to a basket next to the intramural fields. The practice area is nice with a practice basket and a huge field to practice drives in.
Cons: Very easy to lose a disc there. Extreme underbrush and briar patches on a couple of holes. This is getting better as time goes by though. So of the holes in the woods just aren't fair. There's like a 3 foot wide fairway that extends for a couple hundred feet. The tee boxes are awful! You almost lose strokes on your score they are so bad.
Other Thoughts: Tee boxes are crucial. They just have to put some good ones in and soon. The footing is extremely awkward. Good course though just need some big improvement. Hope to see some PDGA tournaments here!

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.